The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > Tools, Tutorials & Resources
Reload this Page Tutorial Convert Midi to Sappy file (E/R/S/FR/LG)
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Daily Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read


Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1    
Old April 23rd, 2013 (4:31 AM).
Eren Jaeger's Avatar
Eren Jaeger Eren Jaeger is offline
Pianoist
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: EARTH
Gender: Male
Nature: Serious
Posts: 154
Things you need
Mid2agb.exe (converts)
Sappy (where to insert)
Midi file (to convert)
---------------------------
This should be easy won't take 2 minutes.
Okay, step by step. If you need Midi go to here
1. click start and Open run. Should be at the bottom right.
2. type cmd and press enter
3. type CD (location) I'll explain.
If you have your mid2agb folder to your desktop or to any other
location. It should be like this for example "CD Desktop" or to where
your folder maybe to document, my computer etc. If your folder at the desktop
and your folder has another folder it should be like this.
Spoiler:

4. You should end at your Mid2agb folder look at the first image spoiler it ends in mid2agb folder. (NOTE: Midi must be at Mid2agb folder)
5. Time to convert, type Mid2agb.exe(space)(Midi File name) It should be like this.
Spoiler:

6. Now hit enter then this should appear.
Spoiler:
If "Mid2agb Complete, no problem."
Didn't appear means it doesn't work or it said "error" means it's not capable.

7. Success! Inserting? As the title says (Convert midi to Sappy file)
----------------------
IF YOU CAN'T UNDERSTAND - WATCH THIS.
Inserted music here.
__________________
Music is art
Reply With Quote

Relevant Advertising!

  #2    
Old April 27th, 2013 (6:33 PM).
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
http://GoGoJJTech.com (WIP!)
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 17
Gender: Female
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 2,444
You could just drag the midi ONTO mid2agb.exe lol
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3    
Old April 28th, 2013 (2:46 AM).
Eren Jaeger's Avatar
Eren Jaeger Eren Jaeger is offline
Pianoist
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: EARTH
Gender: Male
Nature: Serious
Posts: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by gogojjtech View Post
You could just drag the midi ONTO mid2agb.exe lol
I know. for some reasons, other midi doesn't work on by just dragging it on
mid2agb.exe. so you go lol out while this tutorial is not for you. chow~
__________________
Music is art
Reply With Quote
  #4    
Old April 28th, 2013 (6:39 AM). Edited April 28th, 2013 by Team Fail.
Team Fail's Avatar
Team Fail Team Fail is offline
burning passion
ModeratorCSEO
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: yes
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Posts: 12,512
An even faster way than using the CD prompt: Right-click in the mid2agb folder while holding the Shift key, then click on the "Open Command Prompt here". Takes all the guesswork out of browsing via cmd.

Although, as stated earlier, dragging and dropping works 99.9% of the time, unless you want to try some of the features mid2agb has that doesn't happen in a normal conversion (options).
__________________
CONTENTS
001
  THE LAB
002
  VISITOR MESSAGE
003
  PRIVATE MESSAGE
004
  PUSHING BUTTONS
005
  PUSHING BUTTONS BLOG
006
  ALT
007
  PHO
008
  PAIR 1
009
  PAIR 2
010
  TWITTER
011
  TF'S MUSIC STUDIO
012
  PC DISCORD - #GENERAL
SEEN
151

OWN
151
DATA
CRY
AREA
QUIT
Reply With Quote
  #5    
Old April 28th, 2013 (8:34 AM).
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
http://GoGoJJTech.com (WIP!)
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 17
Gender: Female
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 2,444
I know that certain MIDIs dont convert when dragged, and the reason is that certain instruments play the same note too close together. I know this because I tested this several times. I put the same note real close and it didnt work, but on the same file I changed the notes and even though they were still very close together, it worked. You should add that for people with that problem. Hope this helps
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 5:37 AM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2016 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2016 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.

Acknowledgements
Use of PokéCommunity Assets
vB Optimise by DragonByte Technologies Ltd © 2016.