Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #24826    
Old April 30th, 2013 (08:31 PM).
kearnseyboy6's Avatar
kearnseyboy6
Aussie's Toughest Mudder
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Two questions please!

Is there a way to change fire reds girl (red) and boy (blue) text colour when you talk to them?

Also are we limited to only the colours in Diegoisawesome script tutorial that he mentioned?
__________________
HOLIDAYING CURRENTLY!!
  #24827    
Old April 30th, 2013 (08:38 PM).
LaDestitute's Avatar
LaDestitute
Razor Sharp
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: West Coast, USA
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Not sure about number two, but I remember reading in R&D that text color is linked to overwrite sprites, so certain classes of trainers (including the player?) have certain text colors. Look into that, then?
  #24828    
Old May 1st, 2013 (01:29 AM).
QuartierGenerale
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
I need to insert a large number of fakedex in my hack and i want to use PokePic for this...i'm able to easily change the palette, so this is not a problem. The only problem is the size of the new fakemon: often my fakemon are bigger than the replacing one...PokePic ask me to expand the rom for this; doing so works fine, but when in PokePic i return to the image i don't see it anymore..is it only a pointer problem?

I've heard that expanding rom make the rom not available for ips patch...for me is not a great problem, today downloading a 16MB files is a snap But are there any other annoying problems related to this expansion? like script overriding or some else?

I'm going to enter the fakemon only at game complete and i'm planning a large number of backup, but is not conceivable that i need to test the entire game every 4/5 fakemon inserted.

Thanks a lot for help
  #24829    
Old May 1st, 2013 (02:25 AM).
LaDestitute's Avatar
LaDestitute
Razor Sharp
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: West Coast, USA
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Start with a fresh rom or your last backup, if you have to.

1. Download the Advanced Series Tools from here.
2. Open up the Advanced Pokemon Sprite Editor program after unzipping the file.
3. Load your rom into the program.
4. In the dropdown box under "Species Name:", look for the Pokemon sprites you want to replace. You can also use their Gen III national pokedex number.
5. Go to "File>Export Image" at the top and save it. Edit your sprites into it using GIMP, Photoshop, Paint dot Net, etc. With the normal front sprite in the first 64x64 block, the shiny version in the second 64x64 block, the normal back sprite in the third 64x64 block, and the shiny back sprite in the fourth and final 64x64 block. Save the sprite.
6. Click the "Edit" button and click the "Import All" button.
7. Click the "Synchronise Palettes" button and then click the "OK" button.
8. Click the button that says "Find Free Space". See the offset that appears under "Write to Offset:"?
Copy that into the "Start Offset:" field and click "Set Write Offset".
For example: I got the offset 0x1F7F44. So, in the "Start Offset:" field, I typed in 0x1F7F44.

Click the button that says "OK", and exit the program. You're done. Hopefully, if you followed my instructions, your sprite came out fine.
  #24830    
Old May 1st, 2013 (03:45 AM). Edited May 1st, 2013 by karatekid552.
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by QuartierGenerale:
I need to insert a large number of fakedex in my hack and i want to use PokePic for this...i'm able to easily change the palette, so this is not a problem. The only problem is the size of the new fakemon: often my fakemon are bigger than the replacing one...PokePic ask me to expand the rom for this; doing so works fine, but when in PokePic i return to the image i don't see it anymore..is it only a pointer problem?

I've heard that expanding rom make the rom not available for ips patch...for me is not a great problem, today downloading a 16MB files is a snap But are there any other annoying problems related to this expansion? like script overriding or some else?

I'm going to enter the fakemon only at game complete and i'm planning a large number of backup, but is not conceivable that i need to test the entire game every 4/5 fakemon inserted.

Thanks a lot for help
Don't use pokepic, please. It is sooo buggy, and the method described above is so much safer and it is a lot faster since Wichu's sprite editors will index your images for you and it can import all 4 sprites at once.

Quote originally posted by kearnseyboy6:
Two questions please!

Is there a way to change fire reds girl (red) and boy (blue) text colour when you talk to them?

Also are we limited to only the colours in Diegoisawesome script tutorial that he mentioned?
1) This page ( http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=239025 ) describes how the colors are distributed to different over world sprites.

Now, to change these colors, it is actually pretty simple. All of the text colors are contained withen the same palette as the overworld text box. So, if you can find that, then you can edit it. If you can't find it (please actually give it a try, we have too many lazy people here) just post again and I will help you.

2) You are limited to the amount of colors, but by changing the colors in the tut, then you create your own set of text colors.

Quote originally posted by LaDestitute:
Okay, got past the issue of editing the intro sprites.

Two questions:
1. How would I change a Pokemon's hatch rate to instant and then back to normal? I want the starters in my hack to hatch from eggs, but not have it where their able to abuse the idea to get instant starters later on.

2. How would I make an item that either has an affect only on a certain Pokemon, or can be held only by said Pokemon and that the held item changes their battle/icon sprites? I have a hermit crab Pokemon that can swap out shells for stat boosts, while their defense stats are normally low without one.
1) There is a special (search through JPAN's study of the special and special2 commands) which will cause the egg in a specific slot to hatch.

2) That will require ASM and is basically form changes. These are quite difficult to use and the only person to be completely be successful in them is Jambo, but, as I have said before, he does not wish to share them at the present point in time.

If you really want to know why Jambo does not want to share this, it is because he has done a lot of work for the good of the rom hacking community, but a lot of people have disrespected him and all people want is more from him. This is also why his title is "thinking about quitting...". He just can't take some of the people anymore.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #24831    
Old May 1st, 2013 (09:03 AM).
Reisen's Avatar
Reisen
Lunar Rabbit
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: 永遠亭
Age: 15
Gender: Female
Nature: Quiet
Send a message via Skype™ to Reisen
Quote originally posted by QuartierGenerale:
I need to insert a large number of fakedex in my hack and i want to use PokePic for this...i'm able to easily change the palette, so this is not a problem. The only problem is the size of the new fakemon: often my fakemon are bigger than the replacing one...PokePic ask me to expand the rom for this; doing so works fine, but when in PokePic i return to the image i don't see it anymore..is it only a pointer problem?

I've heard that expanding rom make the rom not available for ips patch...for me is not a great problem, today downloading a 16MB files is a snap But are there any other annoying problems related to this expansion? like script overriding or some else?

I'm going to enter the fakemon only at game complete and i'm planning a large number of backup, but is not conceivable that i need to test the entire game every 4/5 fakemon inserted.

Thanks a lot for help
karatekid552 is right. Pokepic is extremely glitchy, and is practically obsolete. Wichu's sprite editor is better by far.

Also, most proprietary hacks nowadays use expansions. To answer your questions:

1. Expanding a ROM doesn't mess up a ROM as long as the FF bytes are appended at the end of the file, so no internal data is changed. This data can later be accessed with the regular pointers, except they use 09 instead of 08 as the ending byte. This can be seen in scripting, where new scripts past the old file boundary use 09xxxxxx instead of 08xxxxxx.

2. Yes, IPS is only able to patch two files of the same filesize. Either you can expand a clean ROM and create an IPS off of that, or just use UPS or APS, which contain larger filesizes, but are more comprehensive and filesize-dynamic.
__________________
  #24832    
Old May 1st, 2013 (09:47 AM). Edited May 1st, 2013 by QuartierGenerale.
QuartierGenerale
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Thanks a lot, i was not aware about Wichu's sprite editor...i'll look at this so

So i've only change the pallette colors (so no size change) and when i click on write to rom i see a dialog with start offset set to 0x0 and write to offset too. So i think i need to find a free space for saving data...but is not a good way to do this...the best way is simply replace the old space when the data are not bigger, otherwise i use many and many free space putting hundreds of new fakemon
  #24833    
Old May 1st, 2013 (03:20 PM).
Reisen's Avatar
Reisen
Lunar Rabbit
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: 永遠亭
Age: 15
Gender: Female
Nature: Quiet
Send a message via Skype™ to Reisen
Quote originally posted by QuartierGenerale:
Thanks a lot, i was not aware about Wichu's sprite editor...i'll look at this so

So i've only change the pallette colors (so no size change) and when i click on write to rom i see a dialog with start offset set to 0x0 and write to offset too. So i think i need to find a free space for saving data...but is not a good way to do this...the best way is simply replace the old space when the data are not bigger, otherwise i use many and many free space putting hundreds of new fakemon
The original ROM has 386 Pokemon, which only take up a small amount of space within the ROM. The entire range of data used by the game doesn't even exceed half of its filesize. If you expand the ROM, then you'll almost never run out of space.
__________________
  #24834    
Old May 1st, 2013 (04:04 PM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by DeltaSalamence:
The original ROM has 386 Pokemon, which only take up a small amount of space within the ROM. The entire range of data used by the game doesn't even exceed half of its filesize. If you expand the ROM, then you'll almost never run out of space.
Just to add to this, XSE 1.1.1 will expand your rom for you. There is a rom expander option in one of the top menu's. I have never used it, but it is there and I haven't seen any complaints about it.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #24835    
Old May 1st, 2013 (04:45 PM).
robin22gongon's Avatar
robin22gongon
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Want to know? VM me.
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to robin22gongon
Questions!

1) Is there a single tool that lets you patch all .ips/.ups/.aps for the Windows? I found one but it's only for Mac OS.

2) In FR, I want to make a POKéMON uncatchable so I set it's catch rate to 0 but every once in a while, and very rare occasions, I can still catch it with a POKé Ball itself. How do I deal with this?
__________________
LET'S PARTY!
  #24836    
Old May 1st, 2013 (04:48 PM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by robin22gongon:
Questions!

1) Is there a single tool that lets you patch all .ips/.ups/.aps for the Windows? I found one but it's only for Mac OS.

2) In FR, I want to make a POKéMON uncatchable so I set it's catch rate to 0 but every once in a while, and very rare occasions, I can still catch it with a POKé Ball itself. How do I deal with this?
1) I don't know of one, but I just put all three patching tools in one folder and do them one at a time. It isn't really all that much of a hassle.

2) I'm pretty sure this is possible and I do believe that there is a thread around here dealing with this. Probably in R&D....

Edit: Read through this thread: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=250580
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #24837    
Old May 2nd, 2013 (03:21 AM).
Gyrath's Avatar
Gyrath
Pokemon Lurid Creator
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Western Australia.
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Hello, everyone! After searching for a tutorial that helped me with this I couldn't find one.
I wanted to insert some of WesleyFG's "MarnianRegion" tiles into my fire-red rom but keep the same colours his using. Out of all the many tutorials I've read and watched they all requested that you change the colour of the tile you want to insert to the colour the palette provides by default. Could I get an answer to help do this myself or can anyone do this for me.

Thanks!
__________________
I see a red door and I want it painted black.
  #24838    
Old May 2nd, 2013 (03:49 AM).
Reisen's Avatar
Reisen
Lunar Rabbit
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: 永遠亭
Age: 15
Gender: Female
Nature: Quiet
Send a message via Skype™ to Reisen
Quote originally posted by Gyrath:
Hello, everyone! After searching for a tutorial that helped me with this I couldn't find one.
I wanted to insert some of WesleyFG's "MarnianRegion" tiles into my fire-red rom but keep the same colours his using. Out of all the many tutorials I've read and watched they all requested that you change the colour of the tile you want to insert to the colour the palette provides by default. Could I get an answer to help do this myself or can anyone do this for me.

Thanks!
Ok..

To do this, you need to open the tiles in a paint program.
Use the color picker, and change the RGB of each corresponding pixel to the closest multiple of eight.

Then change the colors of the palette in AdvanceMap's Block Editor to match these colors.

Next, do Save Tileset. Place the new tiles on the Tileset in your paint program, and then save.
Back in the block editor, do Load Tileset.

Done!
__________________
  #24839    
Old May 2nd, 2013 (04:14 AM).
Gyrath's Avatar
Gyrath
Pokemon Lurid Creator
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Western Australia.
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Quote originally posted by DeltaSalamence:
Ok..

To do this, you need to open the tiles in a paint program.
Use the color picker, and change the RGB of each corresponding pixel to the closest multiple of eight.

Then change the colors of the palette in AdvanceMap's Block Editor to match these colors.

Next, do Save Tileset. Place the new tiles on the Tileset in your paint program, and then save.
Back in the block editor, do Load Tileset.

Done!
Thanks! So what would I do if one tile has more colours than of the tile you are changing? What would you have to do in the palette editor?
__________________
I see a red door and I want it painted black.
  #24840    
Old May 2nd, 2013 (06:52 AM).
Reisen's Avatar
Reisen
Lunar Rabbit
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: 永遠亭
Age: 15
Gender: Female
Nature: Quiet
Send a message via Skype™ to Reisen
Quote originally posted by Gyrath:
Thanks! So what would I do if one tile has more colours than of the tile you are changing? What would you have to do in the palette editor?
Unfortunately, the GBA processor can only support 16-color palettes. There are two sloppy ways and two organized ways to deal with this:

The sloppy ways:

1. Add another color, replacing a color used by some other tile in the tileset.

2. Merge two of the colors in the tile that you are using together.

The organized ways:

1. Rescratch the tile by yourself, using less colors.

2. Choose a different tile.

Eventually we'll be able make the GBA support 256 color palettes, but with that will come VBA changes (which I can take care of). That will be a long time from now, considering that we barely understand 40% of the data and routines in the game image, and we'll possibly have to rewrite VBA for that kind of support.
__________________
  #24841    
Old May 2nd, 2013 (08:49 AM).
LFCAmmy's Avatar
LFCAmmy
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Gender: Male
Send a message via Skype™ to LFCAmmy
i want to hav all pokemon from all generation in my hack bt i dont know how to do it....does anybody knows how to do it.....plz help me
__________________
Hello guyz is there any one who knows how to change the tiles????? M thinking of changing the tiles and starting from vry beginning if any one knows how to change tiles and make a title screen plz contact me......and yeah the route will look same as the screenshot only tiles and ow's will be different anyways thx in advance
  #24842    
Old May 2nd, 2013 (09:13 AM).
Majesticz
» keepin' it simple
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Age: 22
Nature: Brave
Quote originally posted by LFCAmmy:
i want to hav all pokemon from all generation in my hack bt i dont know how to do it....does anybody knows how to do it.....plz help me
You'll need ASM to realize a huge feature like this. Also, I recommend you to take a look at Jambo51's FireRed 649 patch.
  #24843    
Old May 2nd, 2013 (09:22 AM).
Jambo51's Avatar
Jambo51
Glory To Arstotzka
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote originally posted by DeltaSalamence:
2. Yes, IPS is only able to patch two files of the same filesize. Either you can expand a clean ROM and create an IPS off of that
This is wrong. IPS can only support a maximum filesize of 16 megabytes because the address reference is only 3 bytes long.

For an expanded ROM you have to use UPS/APS.
__________________
Hey guys, please check out my recreations of the gen 1 and 2 music on my custom engine at my SoundCloud! - Here!
  #24844    
Old May 2nd, 2013 (11:03 AM).
QuartierGenerale
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Ok good...last question about this: my rom have many and many script; i've noticed that once every houndred a script generated with a dynamic offset go to override an existing script...so the FSF is very good, but not perfect. Using Wichu's editor what are the chance that an override happen? And i need to save rom every single pokemon change or i can modifiy in a row 10/20 pokemon and than replace in only one time?

Thanks another time
  #24845    
Old May 2nd, 2013 (12:48 PM). Edited May 2nd, 2013 by Majesticz.
Majesticz
» keepin' it simple
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Age: 22
Nature: Brave
As long as there is enough free space (FF) it will most likely just overwrite these. The tool itself works fine, you can modify 50 or something in a row without any problems.
  #24846    
Old May 2nd, 2013 (02:28 PM).
KosmoF's Avatar
KosmoF
Diehard Pokemon Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Scotland, United Kingdom
Age: 32
Gender: Female
Nature: Naive
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to KosmoF Send a message via Yahoo to KosmoF Send a message via Skype™ to KosmoF
First off, I'd to thank all those who created the various hacking tutorials for Fire Red However, there are a couple of things I can't seem to find, both I really need for my hack... the Pokemon in Oak's tutorial, and determining the rival's party.

1. My hack is based around the EEVEELUTION and I was wondering if someone knew how to change the NIDORAN Female, including her cry, to EEVEE.

2. I've added a new rival and I wanted her starter Pokemon to match the one not chosen at Oak's lab. For example, in my test file, I chose FLAREON and my rival has VAPOREON; therefore Samantha should start with Jolteon, but if I had chosen Jolteon myself she's supposed to start with VAPOREON etc.

Is there a specific type of script I need to use, or do I just have to create the three, alternative, party set-ups in A-trainer?

The scripting program I'm using, and learning scripting with, is hackmew's XSE.
__________________
All my love to the staff and other members!

Kos
Pokemon Eevee's Elementals version
  #24847    
Old May 2nd, 2013 (03:55 PM). Edited May 2nd, 2013 by GoGoJJTech.
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech
http://GoGoJJTech.com (WIP!)
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote originally posted by KosmoF:
First off, I'd to thank all those who created the various hacking tutorials for Fire Red However, there are a couple of things I can't seem to find, both I really need for my hack... the Pokemon in Oak's tutorial, and determining the rival's party.

1. My hack is based around the EEVEELUTION and I was wondering if someone knew how to change the NIDORAN Female, including her cry, to EEVEE.

2. I've added a new rival and I wanted her starter Pokemon to match the one not chosen at Oak's lab. For example, in my test file, I chose FLAREON and my rival has VAPOREON; therefore Samantha should start with Jolteon, but if I had chosen Jolteon myself she's supposed to start with VAPOREON etc.

Is there a specific type of script I need to use, or do I just have to create the three, alternative, party set-ups in A-trainer?

The scripting program I'm using, and learning scripting with, is hackmew's XSE.

1. Ok, this can be done by doing this: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showpost.php?p=7550436&postcount=313
2. You do need to create 3 separate trainers and call the correct one either by setting a var or flag depending on the starter you chose.

3. Aside from your question, I figured out that the footprint behavior byte is 21, not 6.
__________________
  #24848    
Old May 2nd, 2013 (03:58 PM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by KosmoF:
First off, I'd to thank all those who created the various hacking tutorials for Fire Red However, there are a couple of things I can't seem to find, both I really need for my hack... the Pokemon in Oak's tutorial, and determining the rival's party.

1. My hack is based around the EEVEELUTION and I was wondering if someone knew how to change the NIDORAN Female, including her cry, to EEVEE.

2. I've added a new rival and I wanted her starter Pokemon to match the one not chosen at Oak's lab. For example, in my test file, I chose FLAREON and my rival has VAPOREON; therefore Samantha should start with Jolteon, but if I had chosen Jolteon myself she's supposed to start with VAPOREON etc.

Is there a specific type of script I need to use, or do I just have to create the three, alternative, party set-ups in A-trainer?

The scripting program I'm using, and learning scripting with, is hackmew's XSE.
1) An old tool called Intro Ed by MewThree will do the trick for the sprite. For the cry, refer to the quick research thread in R&D where, near the end of the thread, there is a nice post by Darthatron.

2) The easiest way is with A-Trainer and just to create three different trainers and then set a var to 0, 1, or 2 based upon what pokemon is chosen, and then compare that var later when deciding which battle to use.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #24849    
Old May 2nd, 2013 (06:49 PM).
Gyrath's Avatar
Gyrath
Pokemon Lurid Creator
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Western Australia.
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Quote originally posted by DeltaSalamence:
Unfortunately, the GBA processor can only support 16-color palettes. There are two sloppy ways and two organized ways to deal with this:

The sloppy ways:

1. Add another color, replacing a color used by some other tile in the tileset.

2. Merge two of the colors in the tile that you are using together.

The organized ways:

1. Rescratch the tile by yourself, using less colors.

2. Choose a different tile.

Eventually we'll be able make the GBA support 256 color palettes, but with that will come VBA changes (which I can take care of). That will be a long time from now, considering that we barely understand 40% of the data and routines in the game image, and we'll possibly have to rewrite VBA for that kind of support.
Thanks for the information.
__________________
I see a red door and I want it painted black.
  #24850    
Old May 2nd, 2013 (07:57 PM).
kearnseyboy6's Avatar
kearnseyboy6
Aussie's Toughest Mudder
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote originally posted by karatekid552:
1) This page ( http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=239025 ) describes how the colors are distributed to different over world sprites.

Now, to change these colors, it is actually pretty simple. All of the text colors are contained withen the same palette as the overworld text box. So, if you can find that, then you can edit it. If you can't find it (please actually give it a try, we have too many lazy people here) just post again and I will help you.

2) You are limited to the amount of colors, but by changing the colors in the tut, then you create your own set of text colors.
Hey, sorry I have been staring at this for days and changing some values in the offset 0x464300 but seem to be getting no where... I'm sorry to ask but I can't find the data. I know they are 4-bit entries for an overworld but I can't see the slightest resemblence in similar overworlds or even search a colour. Eg the red is FF0000 I assumed?
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 11:29 PM.