Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > Tools, Tutorials & Resources
Reload this Page [Tutorial] HackMew's Knowledge

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #101    
Old April 7th, 2012 (06:42 PM).
NintendoBoyDX NintendoBoyDX is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 94
This is way more complicated than it needs to be... 080440F4 is the shiny decision routine. Go to 0804411E and replace it with 00 20. This is the spot that it checks whether the value is greater or less than 7. Replacing that will make the value always 00 right before the check, and that means all pokemon will be shiny. Much easier to replace 2 bytes.

just throwin that out there
Reply With Quote
  #102    
Old April 10th, 2012 (05:56 PM).
YouListeningROMs's Avatar
YouListeningROMs YouListeningROMs is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 24
With ASM, how would you do modulo?
Reply With Quote
  #103    
Old April 10th, 2012 (10:39 PM).
NintendoBoyDX NintendoBoyDX is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 94
Quote originally posted by YouListeningROMs:
With ASM, how would you do modulo?
There are a couple of ways in fr. There is software interrupt 0x6, which is a bios function call that does division and modulo. There is routine 081E4018 developed by gamefreak, that does division and modulo as well.

R0 = dividend
R1 = divisor

returning
R0 = quotient
R1 = modulo answer

081E4684 is another routine made by gamefreak that does modulo only.

A few other math routines:
081E460C: another division routine
081E3B9C: square root, calls swi 0x8

I've stumbled across a few others that I dont remember..
Reply With Quote
  #104    
Old April 11th, 2012 (03:57 AM).
YouListeningROMs's Avatar
YouListeningROMs YouListeningROMs is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 24
Quote originally posted by NintendoBoyDX:
There are a couple of ways in fr. There is software interrupt 0x6, which is a bios function call that does division and modulo. There is routine 081E4018 developed by gamefreak, that does division and modulo as well.

R0 = dividend
R1 = divisor

returning
R0 = quotient
R1 = modulo answer

081E4684 is another routine made by gamefreak that does modulo only.

A few other math routines:
081E460C: another division routine
081E3B9C: square root, calls swi 0x8

I've stumbled across a few others that I dont remember..
Thank you for your assistance.
Reply With Quote
  #105    
Old November 13th, 2012 (08:07 AM).
truekidmoney truekidmoney is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Gender: Male
Posts: 3
Hey guys i have a question how do i get the results lesson1.bin this:
03 B5 03 48 00 68 03 49 80 89 08 80 03 BD C0 46
0C 50 00 03 D0 70 03 02
into my rom?
Reply With Quote
  #106    
Old November 13th, 2012 (08:13 AM).
hashtag's Avatar
hashtag hashtag is offline
the man in black
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Salisbury, England
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Posts: 6,684
Use a Hex Editor and insert the bytes into free space ending with a 0, 4, 8 or C.
__________________
#
Reply With Quote
  #107    
Old November 30th, 2012 (07:55 AM).
CallarinCreator's Avatar
CallarinCreator CallarinCreator is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 5
kan u post something on xse? it aint wantin to work for me. it will work. but it shuts down after like a second.
__________________
iiiiiiii uummm.... i scared.

house of EVIL!!! muhuahahahahhahahaha!!!!!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #108    
Old November 30th, 2012 (09:27 AM).
Deokishisu's Avatar
Deokishisu Deokishisu is offline
Mr. Magius
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: If I'm online, it's a safe bet I'm at a computer.
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 437
Quote originally posted by CallarinCreator:
kan u post something on xse? it aint wantin to work for me. it will work. but it shuts down after like a second.
O poor English, struck down in its prime.

Anyway, this is because of the auto update feature. Since Hackmew's site is down, it tries to update, fails, and closes. To fix it, go into your .ini file and change it so that the AutoUpdateCheck equals zero.

So that line should look like this:
AutoUpdateCheck=0
Reply With Quote
  #109    
Old January 30th, 2013 (04:52 PM).
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
http://GoGoJJTech.com (WIP!)
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 1,967
These are extremely helpful ( and long ) well great job hackmew
__________________
I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
The SoulSilver Music Patch - The Black Music Patch - Mega-Huge Sappy Tutorial
Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Pokemonhackersonline Profile - Youtube Channel

Join us in the romhacking chat
Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
Reply With Quote
  #110    
Old February 3rd, 2013 (12:37 AM).
Chaos Rush's Avatar
Chaos Rush Chaos Rush is offline
im sexy and i know it
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Taylor Swift
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 1,282
I decided to take a crack at HackMew's ASM challenge, and I succeeded!


This is what I modified the routine to:
Code:
.text
.align 2
.thumb
.thumb_func
.global lesson1

main:
	push {r0-r1, lr}
	ldr r0, .PLAYER_DATA
	ldr r0, [r0]
	ldr r1, .VAR
	ldrh r0, [r0, #0xC]
	strh r0, [r1]	
	ldr r0, .PLAYER_DATA
	ldr r0, [r0]
	ldr r1, .NEXT
	ldrh r0, [r0, #0xA]
	strh r0, [r1]
	pop {r0-r1, pc}


.align 2
.PLAYER_DATA:
	.word 0x0300500C
.VAR:
	.word 0x020270B6 + (0x800D * 2)
.NEXT:
	.word 0x020270B8 + (0x8000 * 2)
And the XSE script:
Code:
#dynamic 0x800000
#org @main
callasm YourASMoffset
buffernumber 0x0 LASTRESULT
buffernumber 0x1 0x8000
msgbox @msg MSG_FACE
end


#org @msg
= Your Trainer ID is [buffer2].\nYour Secret ID is [buffer1].
Going to do my best to get ASM down...
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #111    
Old February 3rd, 2013 (06:46 AM).
FBI agent's Avatar
FBI agent FBI agent is offline
If my PM box is full, VM instead :x
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Unknown Island
Gender: Male
Posts: 817
Quote originally posted by Chaos Rush:
I decided to take a crack at HackMew's ASM challenge, and I succeeded!


Spoiler:
This is what I modified the routine to:
Code:
.text
.align 2
.thumb
.thumb_func
.global lesson1

main:
	push {r0-r1, lr}
	ldr r0, .PLAYER_DATA
	ldr r0, [r0]
	ldr r1, .VAR
	ldrh r0, [r0, #0xC]
	strh r0, [r1]	
	ldr r0, .PLAYER_DATA
	ldr r0, [r0]
	ldr r1, .NEXT
	ldrh r0, [r0, #0xA]
	strh r0, [r1]
	pop {r0-r1, pc}


.align 2
.PLAYER_DATA:
	.word 0x0300500C
.VAR:
	.word 0x020270B6 + (0x800D * 2)
.NEXT:
	.word 0x020270B8 + (0x8000 * 2)
And the XSE script:
Code:
#dynamic 0x800000
#org @main
callasm YourASMoffset
buffernumber 0x0 LASTRESULT
buffernumber 0x1 0x8000
msgbox @msg MSG_FACE
end


#org @msg
= Your Trainer ID is [buffer2].\nYour Secret ID is [buffer1].


Going to do my best to get ASM down...
Spoiler tags, pls!
Also, you don't need to load player data twice.
It should till work without doing this the second time:
ldr r0, .PLAYER_DATA
ldr r0, [r0]

EDIT: I lied, the way you did it, you did need to load it twice (or subtract :D).
__________________
...

My name forum name is FBI Agent, though you can call me FBI because it's shorter.

Some of my stuff:
ASM request/resource thread
ASM tutorials thread
ASM Workshop
Reply With Quote
  #112    
Old February 9th, 2013 (08:22 PM). Edited February 11th, 2013 by karatekid552.
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Almost all of the reference links for the ASM tutorial are broken. I have found a few of them, would it be alright for me to post them here? Or should I pm them to DrFuji/giradalkia to add to the end of the tut?

Edit: only two are broken.... Wow, I remember that being a lot more last time....

Edit2: I guess since no one has objected it is fine for me to post the links here:


Assembly Wikipedia: (So easy to find it really wasn't broken, but whatever) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Assembly_language

ARM7DTMI Technical Manuel: http://infocenter.arm.com/help/topic/com.arm.doc.ddi0210c/DDI0210B.pdf

Tonic: Whirlwind Tour of ARM Assembly: http://www.coranac.com/tonc/text/asm.htm


Hope these help anyone who wants to learn ASM.
__________________

Paired with Simba
Reply With Quote
  #113    
Old May 17th, 2013 (10:12 AM). Edited May 17th, 2013 by Kurapika.
Kurapika's Avatar
Kurapika Kurapika is offline
Grudgebearer
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Lavendar Town - Morocco
Gender: Male
Nature: Naughty
Posts: 395
Since I see people asking questions here, I have a problem using ldr with cmp. I am making a code that compares two words, one located in the RAM and the other located in the ROM. so what I do:
Spoiler:
ldr r1, .word1 ldr r1, [r1] ldr r2, .word2 ldr r2, [r2] cmp r1, r2 beq YayTheyEqualz ...
The problem is, the jump never occurs even when the words are equal... So I tried this:
Spoiler:
ldr r1, .word1 ldrh r1, [r1] ldr r2, .word2 ldrh r2, [r2] cmp r1, r2 beq SecondHalf ... SecondHalf: ldr r1, .word1 ldr r1, [r1, #0x2] ldr r2, .word2 ldrh r2, [r2, #0x2] cmp r1, r2 beq YayTheyEqualz ...
And this 2nd code works correctly but takes more space and it is more complicated. So, I'm wondering if ldr and/or cmr commands have some particular behaviour that makes the first code not working??? Or am I just doing something wrong?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #114    
Old May 17th, 2013 (03:30 PM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by Kurapika:
Since I see people asking questions here, I have a problem using ldr with cmp. I am making a code that compares two words, one located in the RAM and the other located in the ROM. so what I do:
Spoiler:
ldr r1, .word1 ldr r1, [r1] ldr r2, .word2 ldr r2, [r2] cmp r1, r2 beq YayTheyEqualz ...
The problem is, the jump never occurs even when the words are equal... So I tried this:
Spoiler:
ldr r1, .word1 ldrh r1, [r1] ldr r2, .word2 ldrh r2, [r2] cmp r1, r2 beq SecondHalf ... SecondHalf: ldr r1, .word1 ldr r1, [r1, #0x2] ldr r2, .word2 ldrh r2, [r2, #0x2] cmp r1, r2 beq YayTheyEqualz ...
And this 2nd code works correctly but takes more space and it is more complicated. So, I'm wondering if ldr and/or cmr commands have some particular behaviour that makes the first code not working??? Or am I just doing something wrong?
Would you mind giving us all of the ASM in the regular format? It is really tough the read this way.
__________________

Paired with Simba
Reply With Quote
  #115    
Old May 17th, 2013 (04:31 PM).
Kurapika's Avatar
Kurapika Kurapika is offline
Grudgebearer
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Lavendar Town - Morocco
Gender: Male
Nature: Naughty
Posts: 395
code 1: code 2: The first one doesn't jump to TheyAreEqualz even when it should, the second code works perfectly for me. (Sorry, for some reason, line skips are removed from my posts ;_; I think it's just my ****** Internet -.-')
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #116    
Old May 17th, 2013 (06:00 PM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by Kurapika:
code 1: code 2: The first one doesn't jump to TheyAreEqualz even when it should, the second code works perfectly for me. (Sorry, for some reason, line skips are removed from my posts ;_; I think it's just my ****** Internet -.-')
From looking at your code, both routines are loading different things. Parts are loading words and others are loading half-words and neither lines up with the other routine. That is probably where your problem lies. A word is 4 bytes and a half-word is 2 bytes. Take that as you wish.
__________________

Paired with Simba
Reply With Quote
  #117    
Old October 4th, 2013 (08:38 AM).
Kurapika's Avatar
Kurapika Kurapika is offline
Grudgebearer
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Lavendar Town - Morocco
Gender: Male
Nature: Naughty
Posts: 395
Spoiler:
.word 0x020270B6 + (0x800D * 2)
Assigns the word (32 bits) 0x020270B6 + (0x800D * 2) = 0x020370D0 to .VAR. If you're wondering about the "weird" format, I made that to make it easier changing the variable used. Note however this would work only for temporary variables, 0x800D onwards. For the previous temporary variables, just increase the main address by 2 (in the example above, you would change it to .word 0x020270B8 + (0x8000 * 2), if you were to use variable 0x8000).

But does this way work for any other variables other than the 0x8000 family?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #118    
Old October 4th, 2013 (09:22 AM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by Kurapika:
Spoiler:
.word 0x020270B6 + (0x800D * 2)
Assigns the word (32 bits) 0x020270B6 + (0x800D * 2) = 0x020370D0 to .VAR. If you're wondering about the "weird" format, I made that to make it easier changing the variable used. Note however this would work only for temporary variables, 0x800D onwards. For the previous temporary variables, just increase the main address by 2 (in the example above, you would change it to .word 0x020270B8 + (0x8000 * 2), if you were to use variable 0x8000).

But does this way work for any other variables other than the 0x8000 family?
The others are DMA protected. Check my battle bg changer to see how to check vars of others. There is an in-game decrypter function.
__________________

Paired with Simba
Reply With Quote
  #119    
Old October 4th, 2013 (09:57 AM).
Kurapika's Avatar
Kurapika Kurapika is offline
Grudgebearer
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Lavendar Town - Morocco
Gender: Male
Nature: Naughty
Posts: 395
Oh damn!
I'll check your tutorial, thank you bro!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #120    
Old December 2nd, 2014 (08:03 AM). Edited December 2nd, 2014 by Christos.
Lance32497's Avatar
Lance32497 Lance32497 is offline
LanceKoijer of Pokemon_Addicts
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Criscanto town-Ginoa Region xD
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 485
I got the error 'thumb' not recognized as an internal blah blah
Reply With Quote
  #121    
Old December 2nd, 2014 (01:47 PM).
FBI agent's Avatar
FBI agent FBI agent is offline
If my PM box is full, VM instead :x
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Unknown Island
Gender: Male
Posts: 817
Quote originally posted by Lance32497:
I got the error 'thumb' not recognized as an internal blah blah
You need to navigate in the command prompt to the directory containing "thumb.bat" and the rest of those files. From what it looks, you're trying to run it from a directory which doesn't have it.

I would move all the files into 1 folder and do:
cd path\To\File
thumb source.asm compiled.bin


Next time:
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=339708
__________________
...

My name forum name is FBI Agent, though you can call me FBI because it's shorter.

Some of my stuff:
ASM request/resource thread
ASM tutorials thread
ASM Workshop
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 10:49 PM.