The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.

Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #25201    
Old May 25th, 2013, 03:40 PM
Jambo51's Avatar
Jambo51
Glory To Arstotzka
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote:
Originally Posted by robin22gongon View Post
Actually, he is using Ruby. Is it still the same?
Honestly, no idea. I looked at the code for Ruby's Pokédex and it made me cry. It's THAT bad.

At a guess, I'd say it works like you'd expect, with one set of data being for regional and another being for national. One thing I do know is that you can't have any duplicate entries. That can cause crashes or simply cause the dex not to work properly.
__________________
Hey guys, please check out my recreations of the gen 1 and 2 music on my custom engine at my SoundCloud! - Here!
  #25202    
Old May 25th, 2013, 03:52 PM
zork787's Avatar
zork787
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Gender: Male
Ok i'm trying to edit the Gengar and Nidorino in the Fire Red opening, but when I change the sprites that are a tilemap, the tilemap goes all over the place and I have no clue how to fix it

I'd post an image of what I'm talking about but I can't post links yet :/
  #25203    
Old May 25th, 2013, 04:25 PM
robin22gongon's Avatar
robin22gongon
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Want to know? VM me.
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to robin22gongon
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jambo51 View Post
Honestly, no idea. I looked at the code for Ruby's Pokédex and it made me cry. It's THAT bad.

At a guess, I'd say it works like you'd expect, with one set of data being for regional and another being for national. One thing I do know is that you can't have any duplicate entries. That can cause crashes or simply cause the dex not to work properly.
Oooohh... It's that bad. If that made you cry, it really IS bad.

Quote:
Originally Posted by zork787 View Post
Ok i'm trying to edit the Gengar and Nidorino in the Fire Red opening, but when I change the sprites that are a tilemap, the tilemap goes all over the place and I have no clue how to fix it

I'd post an image of what I'm talking about but I can't post links yet :/
Actually, I haven't seen anyone hack that animation yet except the Logo where it says "GAMEFREAK". That's why you haven't seen any tut around here did you? The only thing we can do about that right now is skip it.

Oh and try using Darth TME for creating your tilemap. Maybe that can help.
__________________
LET'S PARTY!
  #25204    
Old May 25th, 2013, 04:27 PM
SKRON
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: May 2013
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jambo51 View Post
Honestly, no idea. I looked at the code for Ruby's Pokédex and it made me cry. It's THAT bad.

At a guess, I'd say it works like you'd expect, with one set of data being for regional and another being for national. One thing I do know is that you can't have any duplicate entries. That can cause crashes or simply cause the dex not to work properly.
But..I tried to set Bulbasaur to 1 in the regional as well as the national in Ruby. It didn't work. When you say duplicate..what exactly do you mean?
  #25205    
Old May 25th, 2013, 04:36 PM
robin22gongon's Avatar
robin22gongon
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Want to know? VM me.
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to robin22gongon
Quote:
Originally Posted by SKRON View Post
But..I tried to set Bulbasaur to 1 in the regional as well as the national in Ruby. It didn't work. When you say duplicate..what exactly do you mean?
He said something like what I said in one of my posts.

Quote:
Originally Posted by robin22gongon View Post
Actually, even I don't really know how it works but, I think it works in the opposite way like setting for example, you want Bulbasaur to be #1 in regional dex, try setting him to #1 on the national dex. That's how I think it works. Oh, if that doesn't work. Try it again in the usual way you should do it, not the one I stated above and make sure, if you made Bulbasaur #1 in regional dex, swap his place with Treecko, the original #1 in the regional dex.

You know like for example:
#1 Treecko => #203 Bulbasaur (Not sure) will be
#1 Bulbasaur => #203 Treecko.
__________________
LET'S PARTY!
  #25206    
Old May 25th, 2013, 04:48 PM
zork787's Avatar
zork787
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by robin22gongon View Post
Actually, I haven't seen anyone hack that animation yet except the Logo where it says "GAMEFREAK". That's why you haven't seen any tut around here did you? The only thing we can do about that right now is skip it.

Oh and try using Darth TME for creating your tilemap. Maybe that can help.
ah that should help a bit hopefully, though it does seem that the Japanese Hacking community knows how to hack it as I've seen a few Japanese hacks (mainly Moemon and Touhou puppet Play) with a modified intro, so there is something we've missed if they can do it.
  #25207    
Old May 25th, 2013, 04:55 PM
robin22gongon's Avatar
robin22gongon
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Want to know? VM me.
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to robin22gongon
Quote:
Originally Posted by zork787 View Post
ah that should help a bit hopefully, though it does seem that the Japanese Hacking community knows how to hack it as I've seen a few Japanese hacks (mainly Moemon and Touhou puppet Play) with a modified intro, so there is something we've missed if they can do it.
Then I definitely think it's a problem with your tile map. Are you using the original tile map found in the game using unlz? if you are making a custom one, that's definitely the problem.
__________________
LET'S PARTY!
  #25208    
Old May 25th, 2013, 04:59 PM
SKRON
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: May 2013
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by robin22gongon View Post
He said something like what I said in one of my posts.
Swapping the numbers? I tried that too, to no avail..I know I'm doing something wrong or missing a step, I just can't point out what..because I actually pulled this off once..
  #25209    
Old May 25th, 2013, 05:11 PM
robin22gongon's Avatar
robin22gongon
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Want to know? VM me.
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to robin22gongon
Quote:
Originally Posted by SKRON View Post
Swapping the numbers? I tried that too, to no avail..I know I'm doing something wrong or missing a step, I just can't point out what..because I actually pulled this off once..
Then, do this:

Backup your ROM.
Open your ROM in PGE.
Open Pokedex Order Editor.
.
.
.
.
.
Try everything you can and mess up with it.
__________________
LET'S PARTY!
  #25210    
Old May 25th, 2013, 05:12 PM
zork787's Avatar
zork787
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by robin22gongon View Post
Then I definitely think it's a problem with your tile map. Are you using the original tile map found in the game using unlz? if you are making a custom one, that's definitely the problem.
yeah I'm using a custom one, but it's from one of those Japanese hacks with the modified intro and I'm ripping them directly from the Japanese hack so I don't know whats goin on
  #25211    
Old May 25th, 2013, 05:21 PM
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech
http://GoGoJJTech.com (WIP!)
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
@giradialkia
Just follow my tut on music hacking to get your own instruments.

@Emppuliini
In advance map go to the tile and in var type in 4051
__________________

Last edited by GoGoJJTech; May 25th, 2013 at 05:26 PM. Reason: Your double post has been automatically merged.
  #25212    
Old May 25th, 2013, 05:24 PM
robin22gongon's Avatar
robin22gongon
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Want to know? VM me.
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to robin22gongon
Quote:
Originally Posted by zork787 View Post
yeah I'm using a custom one, but it's from one of those Japanese hacks with the modified intro and I'm ripping them directly from the Japanese hack so I don't know whats goin on
Nonononononoooo! Use the one from the game and edit from there on. :/
__________________
LET'S PARTY!
  #25213    
Old May 25th, 2013, 05:40 PM
SKRON
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: May 2013
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by robin22gongon View Post
Then, do this:

Backup your ROM.
Open your ROM in PGE.
Open Pokedex Order Editor.
.
.
.
.
.
Try everything you can and mess up with it.
I just tried using everything except the kitchen sink. =(
  #25214    
Old May 25th, 2013, 05:59 PM
robin22gongon's Avatar
robin22gongon
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Want to know? VM me.
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to robin22gongon
Quote:
Originally Posted by SKRON View Post
I just tried using everything except the kitchen sink. =(
Then try using the kitchen sink. Maybe that can be the answer. Even small things that look like very worthless can be useful when used right.

And as I said try messing with it like randomly setting this to that, that to this.
__________________
LET'S PARTY!
  #25215    
Old May 25th, 2013, 09:21 PM
Herpahermaderp's Avatar
Herpahermaderp
I liek Mudkipz
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: USA
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Send a message via Skype™ to Herpahermaderp
Where's the player's sprite data, backsprite data, and trainer card sprite data stored at?
__________________
Y: Roak || 1177-8023-4387
  #25216    
Old May 25th, 2013, 11:21 PM
SKRON
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: May 2013
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by robin22gongon View Post
Then try using the kitchen sink. Maybe that can be the answer. Even small things that look like very worthless can be useful when used right.

And as I said try messing with it like randomly setting this to that, that to this.
My friend, thank you for your time, unfortunately, it does not look like this will work
  #25217    
Old May 26th, 2013, 03:03 AM
GoldXD
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Gender: Male
Hello everyone.I downloaded Advance Map,but i can't export pictures.

It says:

ERROR: (EFCreateError)Unable to create file"C:\Users\?????\Desktop\Tileset.dib"
  #25218    
Old May 26th, 2013, 03:32 AM
giradialkia's Avatar
giradialkia
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Ireland
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to giradialkia
Quote:
Originally Posted by gogojjtech View Post
@giradialkia
Just follow my tut on music hacking to get your own instruments.
Yeah, tried that. I'm generally unlucky with tutorials- this is one of those cases, it just hasn't worked for me and doesn't look like it's going to. I have a method to change the instruments (within the song, not the ROM) that works absolutely fine, I just want to know exactly what instruments can be worked with in Ruby so I know how to compose around that; it's an odd way to go about it, but it works for me (so long as I know, again, what instruments I'm working with).
__________________

This one's called 'Red', and it's actually kinda Pokémon themed, so have a listen! Check out the links below for more stuff, if you like this!



This is the Doctor
This is my Soundcloud
This is my bandcamp

My Pokémon Y character is the same as my username. If you see me as a Passerby let me know! I tend to get a lot of Passerby requests and I often wonder if it's people from this site.
  #25219    
Old May 26th, 2013, 01:37 PM
kablam
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: May 2013
Gender: Male
When I set XSE as the script editor in Advance Map and proceed to open up a script, it opens for less than a second and then closes out. This happens no matter what script I try and open.

edit: This actually happens when I open up XSE in its respective file location as well. I have tried downloading from a different source with no luck.
  #25220    
Old May 26th, 2013, 01:49 PM
~Anbuja's Avatar
~Anbuja
Let's Keep It Simple
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: In Snorlax Stomach
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Send a message via Skype™ to ~Anbuja
Quote:
When I set XSE as the script editor in Advance Map and proceed to open up a script, it opens for less than a second and then closes out. This happens no matter what script I try and open.

edit: This actually happens when I open up XSE in its respective file location as well. I have tried downloading from a different source with no luck.
Uhm as far as I know it has somehting todo with the Setting.ini in you XSE folder.
I've forgot which value had to be set to 0 so I'm inculding my Settings.ini in that spoiler.
Just copy paste that over your Settings.ini after opening it in notepad.

Hope this helps


Spoiler:
Quote:
[MRUList]
1=Kinglerscript.rbc
2=stdattacks.rbh
3=std.rbh
4=Gym Guy (Inside).rbc
5=Bug Catcher Kian.rbc
6=Picnicker Suzie.rbc
7=Final (1).rbc
8=BugTrader.rbc
9=BugTrader.rbc
10=Kaplan.rbc
[MRUPath]
1=C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Desktop\AdvanceMap\Ini\
2=C:\Users\Admin\Downloads\XSE\
3=C:\Users\Admin\Downloads\XSE\
4=C:\Users\Admin\Downloads\Get Together 2011\Scripts\Galug Town\
5=C:\Users\Admin\Downloads\Get Together 2011\Scripts\Dusk Forest\
6=C:\Users\Admin\Downloads\Get Together 2011\Scripts\Dusk Forest\
7=C:\Users\Admin\Downloads\Get Together 2011\Scripts\Dusk Forest\
8=C:\Users\Admin\Downloads\Get Together 2011\Scary\Galug Town\
9=C:\Users\Admin\Downloads\Get Together 2011\Scary\Galug Town\Shades\
10=C:\Users\Admin\Downloads\[New]\New Scripts (TC4+)\Poliberg\Gym\
[Templates]
LastPath=C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Desktop\AdvanceMap\XSE
[Options]
HexViewerFilter=0
AlwaysOnTop=0
MinimizeToSystemTray=0
RememberSize=0
IgnoreChanges=0
LineNumbers=1
MenuBar=1
StatusBar=1
Sidebar=1
SidebarAlignment=1
ShowNotes=1
ShowRecentFiles=1
CalcMode=0
InlineHelp=1
AutoUpdateCheck=0
NoLog=0
[Format]
BackgroundColor=-2147483643
ForegroundColor=-2147483640
FontName=Courier New
FontBold=0
FontItalic=0
FontSize=9
[Batch]
LastFile=C:\Users\Admin\Downloads\Get Together 2011\Scripting.gba
FilePath=C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Desktop\AdvanceMap\XSE
STD=1
STDItems=1
STDPoke=1
STDAttacks=1
[TextAdjuster]
TextLimit=34
__________________
  #25221    
Old May 26th, 2013, 04:11 PM
shinyabsol1's Avatar
shinyabsol1
Pokemon DarkJasper!?
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Is there any way to check what direction the hero is facing from a script?
  #25222    
Old May 26th, 2013, 04:24 PM
Spherical Ice's Avatar
Spherical Ice
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Send a message via Skype™ to Spherical Ice
Quote:
Originally Posted by shinyabsol1 View Post
Is there any way to check what direction the hero is facing from a script?
compare PLAYERFACING FACE_UP works if you have XSE and std.rbh installed, but it doesn't always work. Darthatron actually helped me find the location of it which can be manipulated with wbto but try that first.
__________________
  #25223    
Old May 26th, 2013, 04:28 PM
Awkward.'s Avatar
Awkward.
#britanna
 
Join Date: May 2012
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Sassy
Quote:
Originally Posted by shinyabsol1 View Post
Is there any way to check what direction the hero is facing from a script?
Yes, there is. There's a variable called PLAYERFACING (0x800C) that checks the player's direction and stores it to that variable. It stores the values as 1 (down), 2 (up), 3 (left), or 4 (right). To apply it you could use something like this:

Code:
compare PLAYERFACING 0x1 'Checks if the player is facing down
if 0x1 goto @down 'Checks if the player is facing down. 0x1 = yes, 0x0 = no.
You can use it 4 times to check every direction, simply replacing the 0x1 in the first line with 0x2, 0x3, or 0x4, to check up, left, or right, respectively.
  #25224    
Old May 26th, 2013, 04:56 PM
shinyabsol1's Avatar
shinyabsol1
Pokemon DarkJasper!?
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Quote:
Originally Posted by PJBottomz
Yes, there is. There's a variable called PLAYERFACING (0x800C) that checks the player's direction and stores it to that variable. It stores the values as 1 (down), 2 (up), 3 (left), or 4 (right).
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spherical Ice
compare PLAYERFACING FACE_UP works if you have XSE and std.rbh installed, but it doesn't always work. Darthatron actually helped me find the location of it which can be manipulated with wbto but try that first.
Ah! I knew there was a way to do it, but I couldn't remember. I'll give it a try.

Thanks!
  #25225    
Old May 26th, 2013, 07:04 PM
buckeyestilidie
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: May 2013
Gender: Male
Is there anyway to not allow people to enter cheats in the game? I'm making a game or switching some things around in my FR and plan on having a little competition with my friends and wanna make sure no one cheats to win lol is there a particular script or setting?
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 07:51 AM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.