Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Reload this Page [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #25376    
Old June 2nd, 2013 (03:15 PM).
jiminy_jam's Avatar
jiminy_jam
Stuck inside a Net Ball
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Sydney
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Quote originally posted by gogojjtech:
You probably don't have administrative rights.

@jumminy jam
use xse from gamer2020's toolbox then do it. It's the newest version
Is that versiin 1.1.1, or higher?
Ive only got 1.0.0, so that may be the problem. Ha.
  #25377    
Old June 2nd, 2013 (04:21 PM).
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech
http://GoGoJJTech.com (WIP!)
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Of course it's the problem! XSE 1.0 wasn't compatible with most scripts.
__________________
I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
The SoulSilver Music Patch - The Black Music Patch - Mega-Huge Sappy Tutorial
Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Pokemonhackersonline Profile - Youtube Channel

Join us in the romhacking chat
Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
  #25378    
Old June 2nd, 2013 (05:04 PM).
jiminy_jam's Avatar
jiminy_jam
Stuck inside a Net Ball
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Sydney
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
I tried a copy of 1.1.1but that kept crashing, so Ill try the one you suggested when i get home!
Pre-emptiveThanks!
  #25379    
Old June 2nd, 2013 (06:15 PM). Edited June 2nd, 2013 by destinedjagold.
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold
Oh Hai Thar~ 'ω'
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Quote originally posted by jiminy_jam:
I tried a copy of 1.1.1but that kept crashing, so Ill try the one you suggested when i get home!
Pre-emptiveThanks!
I heard that you should edit the Settings file of XSE and change the AutoUpdateCheck to 0.
Spoiler:


edit...
I replied quicker than the two below me.
My time powers are still working! Yesh!
__________________

3DS FC: 0061-1111-6462
TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)


  #25380    
Old June 2nd, 2013 (06:17 PM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by jiminy_jam:
I tried a copy of 1.1.1but that kept crashing, so Ill try the one you suggested when i get home!
Pre-emptiveThanks!
The crashing issue was fixed in Gamer2020s release. It was caused by the autoupdate function trying to reach HackMew's website which had been taken down.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #25381    
Old June 2nd, 2013 (06:21 PM).
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech
http://GoGoJJTech.com (WIP!)
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Thats because in the ini file find autoupdatecheck
It should equal one, so put =0
__________________
I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
The SoulSilver Music Patch - The Black Music Patch - Mega-Huge Sappy Tutorial
Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Pokemonhackersonline Profile - Youtube Channel

Join us in the romhacking chat
Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
  #25382    
Old June 2nd, 2013 (07:00 PM).
SpadeEdge16's Avatar
SpadeEdge16
 
Join Date: May 2012
Gender: Male
does anybody know which movement permission value it was to make the player still stand behind trees while on a second level of ground? when the player stands behind a tree on normal leveled ground hes behind it, but on another level after going upstairs, they appear to be on top of the tree/over it
__________________
  #25383    
Old June 2nd, 2013 (07:58 PM).
SpadeEdge16's Avatar
SpadeEdge16
 
Join Date: May 2012
Gender: Male
So, anyone know whats going on here? i havent used xse in a few months, then the second i open it up, this happens... o-o
Attached Images
File Type: png Untitled.png‎ (643.5 KB, 7 views) (Save to Dropbox)
  #25384    
Old June 2nd, 2013 (11:04 PM).
Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
Satoshi Ookami
Memento Mori
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Quote originally posted by SpadeEdge16:
So, anyone know whats going on here? i havent used xse in a few months, then the second i open it up, this happens... o-o
Read previous posts The issue was the same.
Do what DJG wrote in his post.
__________________
ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack. | Previous Sign 2 | Previous Sign

Anime List | PSN Trophy List
  #25385    
Old June 2nd, 2013 (11:12 PM).
robin22gongon's Avatar
robin22gongon
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Want to know? VM me.
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to robin22gongon
Questions!

1) How do I determine the start and the end of an ASM code? (Hex Editor)
2) How do I determine the start and the end of a script? (Hex Editor)
3) Wait. I'll try to remember them....
__________________
LET'S PARTY!
  #25386    
Old June 2nd, 2013 (11:27 PM).
SpadeEdge16's Avatar
SpadeEdge16
 
Join Date: May 2012
Gender: Male
Quote originally posted by Ash493:
Read previous posts The issue was the same.
Do what DJG wrote in his post.
Do you have an idea of which page its on? or the username so i can search he post? x3
  #25387    
Old June 2nd, 2013 (11:32 PM).
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold
Oh Hai Thar~ 'ω'
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Quote originally posted by SpadeEdge16:
Do you have an idea of which page its on? or the username so i can search he post? x3
On this very same page, a few posts above yours... =/

Quote originally posted by destinedjagold:
I heard that you should edit the Settings file of XSE and change the AutoUpdateCheck to 0.
Spoiler:


edit...
I replied quicker than the two below me.
My time powers are still working! Yesh!
__________________

3DS FC: 0061-1111-6462
TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)


  #25388    
Old June 3rd, 2013 (02:30 AM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by robin22gongon:
Questions!

1) How do I determine the start and the end of an ASM code? (Hex Editor)
2) How do I determine the start and the end of a script? (Hex Editor)
3) Wait. I'll try to remember them....
1) You have to open it up with a debugger that can view all of the code and then follow it everywhere. It is impossible with just a hec editor.

2) This one is easier. You open up the script in XSE or PKSV and go to your first offset. You will have to have a hex <-> command structure reference for this (there is one in XSE if you hit F1) and you can follow each command and how many bytes it uses to see where the script is.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #25389    
Old June 3rd, 2013 (03:02 AM).
robin22gongon's Avatar
robin22gongon
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Want to know? VM me.
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to robin22gongon
Quote originally posted by karatekid552:
1) You have to open it up with a debugger that can view all of the code and then follow it everywhere. It is impossible with just a hec editor.

2) This one is easier. You open up the script in XSE or PKSV and go to your first offset. You will have to have a hex <-> command structure reference for this (there is one in XSE if you hit F1) and you can follow each command and how many bytes it uses to see where the script is.
Hmmm.... Okay.

So how about this one?

Does something like this exist in a clean FR ROM?
Code:
applymovement MOVE_CAMERA @offset
I was digging up Chaos Rush's Hack; DarkViolet and I came across it. I'm confused if it exists in the game itself because if not, XSE's not going to accept it right? (Or just replace it with nop right?)
__________________
LET'S PARTY!
  #25390    
Old June 3rd, 2013 (03:49 AM).
kearnseyboy6's Avatar
kearnseyboy6
Aussie's Toughest Mudder
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote originally posted by robin22gongon:
Hmmm.... Okay.

So how about this one?

Does something like this exist in a clean FR ROM?
Code:
applymovement MOVE_CAMERA @offset
I was digging up Chaos Rush's Hack; DarkViolet and I came across it. I'm confused if it exists in the game itself because if not, XSE's not going to accept it right? (Or just replace it with nop right?)
XSE will accept it. it needs a special 0x113 or something before the command and another special after the command. Just make sure to return the camera to the centre of the hero.

The commands can come from clean ruby roms as well remember.
  #25391    
Old June 3rd, 2013 (03:52 AM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by robin22gongon:
Hmmm.... Okay.

So how about this one?

Does something like this exist in a clean FR ROM?
Code:
applymovement MOVE_CAMERA @offset
I was digging up Chaos Rush's Hack; DarkViolet and I came across it. I'm confused if it exists in the game itself because if not, XSE's not going to accept it right? (Or just replace it with nop right?)
You know how the player is 0xFF? The camera can be moved using 0x7F.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #25392    
Old June 3rd, 2013 (04:03 AM).
Elaitenstile's Avatar
Elaitenstile
I am legend
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Send a message via Skype™ to Elaitenstile
Quote originally posted by karatekid552:
Oh, oh, oh. That would require a little ASM to check if the "b" button is pressed on the screen and to go back to the selection screen.
Rather than ASM, is it possible to modify the script to use multichoice number 1 (Yes/No, commonly used in the Pokémon Center) instead of yesnobox or msg_yesno or whatever? Then I can make a new compare 0x7F statement to go back to the previous script offset.
__________________
~
  #25393    
Old June 3rd, 2013 (04:08 AM).
robin22gongon's Avatar
robin22gongon
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Want to know? VM me.
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to robin22gongon
Quote originally posted by karatekid552:
You know how the player is 0xFF? The camera can be moved using 0x7F.
So I wont need something like custom ASM, custom special or anything like he said?

Quote originally posted by kearnseyboy6:
XSE will accept it. it needs a special 0x113 or something before the command and another special after the command. Just make sure to return the camera to the centre of the hero.

The commands can come from clean ruby roms as well remember.
__________________
LET'S PARTY!
  #25394    
Old June 3rd, 2013 (04:41 AM). Edited June 3rd, 2013 by karatekid552.
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by robin22gongon:
So I wont need something like custom ASM, custom special or anything like he said?
Nope, just a regular applymovement script.

Quote originally posted by ★Hoenn★:
Rather than ASM, is it possible to modify the script to use multichoice number 1 (Yes/No, commonly used in the Pokémon Center) instead of yesnobox or msg_yesno or whatever? Then I can make a new compare 0x7F statement to go back to the previous script offset.
You could, if the intro was a script. As far as I know, the intro is ASM that calls scripting commmands by their routines or it is a routine that calls short scripts.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #25395    
Old June 3rd, 2013 (06:54 AM).
buckeyestilidie
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: May 2013
Gender: Male
Okay so I put in a script that gave my player the aurora ticket and mystery ticket. I've been reading that you have to enter cheat codes to get them to work. I was really hoping that isn't the only way to get them to work as I've worked them around a center axis in my story line. Thanks everyone also for the great help I've gotten here!
  #25396    
Old June 3rd, 2013 (07:51 AM).
nekotina's Avatar
nekotina
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Gender: Female
Quote originally posted by gogojjtech:
You probably don't have administrative rights.
I'm the only user on my computer :/ is there a way to check for that?

EDIT: I just checked and I am the administrator one my computer...
  #25397    
Old June 3rd, 2013 (08:45 AM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by buckeyestilidie:
Okay so I put in a script that gave my player the aurora ticket and mystery ticket. I've been reading that you have to enter cheat codes to get them to work. I was really hoping that isn't the only way to get them to work as I've worked them around a center axis in my story line. Thanks everyone also for the great help I've gotten here!
You just need to clear/set a flag (I can't remember which). Look through the flag lists in my flags, vars, and script tiles tutorial and you should find how to deal with them.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #25398    
Old June 3rd, 2013 (09:24 AM).
kablam
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: May 2013
Gender: Male
Can you use the same person ID for multiple people? For example, if I wanted to make multiple people disappear at once could I use the same flag to hide/show them?
  #25399    
Old June 3rd, 2013 (11:12 AM).
TweenyTodd
Quitting cuz i got a job
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: NOYB
Nature: Sassy
Quote originally posted by kablam:
Can you use the same person ID for multiple people? For example, if I wanted to make multiple people disappear at once could I use the same flag to hide/show them?
Definitely yes. I've done this multiple times.
  #25400    
Old June 3rd, 2013 (11:17 AM).
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech
http://GoGoJJTech.com (WIP!)
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Yes, thats why multiple people disappear in one script.
__________________
I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
The SoulSilver Music Patch - The Black Music Patch - Mega-Huge Sappy Tutorial
Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Pokemonhackersonline Profile - Youtube Channel

Join us in the romhacking chat
Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 01:05 PM.