The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.

Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #25476    
Old June 9th, 2013 (01:07 AM).
Zemekis's Avatar
Zemekis
The Booze Cruise
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: 'Murica
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeltaSalamence View Post
Maybe you saved separate instances of the ROM?

Some hacking tools are programmed to load a copy of a ROM into memory, edit that, and save it when done. If you are using two separate programs, unless both write directly to the ROM, you'd have to finish one task and start another.
Hmmmm, sounds like a good guess, but unfortunately YAPE was the only program I had open at the time, so that couldn't be it. Hopefully somebody familiar with the LZ77 error will see this soon.
I've attached a photo of the error i'm getting.
Thanks for your time again, Delta.
Attached Images
File Type: png Errors.png‎ (49.2 KB, 4 views) (Save to Dropbox)
  #25477    
Old June 9th, 2013 (01:26 AM). Edited June 9th, 2013 by Jambo51.
Jambo51's Avatar
Jambo51
Glory To Arstotzka
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ksiazek Bartlomiej View Post
I have three questions.

1. It is possible to add extra Town Map to Pokemon Ruby? I want add Johto Region to them. (DO NOT GIVE ANSWER LEARN ASM - This is the worst answer) Where is routine to displaying maps.

2. How to set and Johto Wild Battle *Which i repleced with Test theme of Littleroot town* To playing in Johto Areas?

3. It is possible to resize amout of abled SPRITES in Pokemon Ruby? I want add all Johto Leaders without only 6 <Unused sprites> of them.

I need Explain and number of thouse routines. And as I said. I do not need answers like "LEARN ASM" It is not simple as you think.
There are only 2 answers to your first and second questions.

1. Learn ASM and figure out how to do the effect for yourself or
2. Get a willing ASM hacker to help you out.

Both of the first 2 things you want here require ASM (as in, it's not achievable through any other means). It's not my job, nor anyone else's, to do research for your hack on your behalf.

If you don't like this, then tough. Welcome to the real world. I'm sorry to be so harsh, but simply refusing to learn ASM and reiterating your demand for information that likely nobody has (Ruby isn't widely hacked, and almost no ASM hackers hack on Ruby) isn't going to get you anywhere.

Secondly, take it from me, learning to ASM hack is an archetypal example of people turning a molehill into a mountain. It's actually pretty simple to ASM hack at the level of stuff you're doing. Rather than simply telling us it's hard, why not take the word of every ASM hacker I know when they say "it's not as hard as it's made out to be".

As to your third question, that can be achieved by combining some pseudo-ASM (that is to say, limiters research) and a simple table repoint. I don't know where the table is in Ruby, although it's easy enough to find by looking for the pointer to the first trainer sprite in the game (the offset for which can be found by looking at it in unLz.)
__________________
Hey guys, please check out my recreations of the gen 1 and 2 music on my custom engine at my SoundCloud! - Here!
  #25478    
Old June 9th, 2013 (02:55 AM).
kearnseyboy6's Avatar
kearnseyboy6
Aussie's Toughest Mudder
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jambo51 View Post
As to your third question, that can be achieved by combining some pseudo-ASM (that is to say, limiters research) and a simple table repoint. I don't know where the table is in Ruby, although it's easy enough to find by looking for the pointer to the first trainer sprite in the game (the offset for which can be found by looking at it in unLz.)
Hi, regarding this limiters research, are there any tutorials around here that dive into this topic? It would be cool to know how Hackmew and you guys actually finds limiter bytes as they are quite hidden!
  #25479    
Old June 9th, 2013 (03:00 AM).
Ksiazek Bartlomiej's Avatar
Ksiazek Bartlomiej
Rejishan awake...
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Takoabe Town (Region Thonsu)
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Hardy
Can you explain me what Exacly Should I do to repoint them?
__________________
- Thonsu Region will never die when Rejishan take care about them. Even the evilnesse of Team Mystic do not destroy land of Thonsu.

POKEMON DIRTY SUN - Comming Soon.
  #25480    
Old June 9th, 2013 (03:09 AM).
Puffle754
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Wisconson
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
I have a quick question, could someone tell me in detail how I would go about changing the default name selection for my rival in Fire Red?
  #25481    
Old June 9th, 2013 (03:17 AM).
kearnseyboy6's Avatar
kearnseyboy6
Aussie's Toughest Mudder
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Puffle754 View Post
I have a quick question, could someone tell me in detail how I would go about changing the default name selection for my rival in Fire Red?
Download A-text, then search for the default names the search section, "GARY, GREEN... etc" in the order. Add the text then edit it.
  #25482    
Old June 9th, 2013 (03:17 AM).
Spherical Ice's Avatar
Spherical Ice
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Send a message via Skype™ to Spherical Ice
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ksiazek Bartlomiej View Post
Can you explain me what Exacly Should I do to repoint them?
Why should he, there are plenty of tutorials that document how to repoint tables.
__________________
  #25483    
Old June 9th, 2013 (03:20 AM).
kearnseyboy6's Avatar
kearnseyboy6
Aussie's Toughest Mudder
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ksiazek Bartlomiej View Post
Can you explain me what Exacly Should I do to repoint them?
Read the tutorials Advanced Overworld Sprites 2 by karatekid552, this exactly explains how they repointed the table and all frames.
  #25484    
Old June 9th, 2013 (03:23 AM).
Ksiazek Bartlomiej's Avatar
Ksiazek Bartlomiej
Rejishan awake...
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Takoabe Town (Region Thonsu)
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Hardy
But I do not need OVERWORLD sprite changing. But Add extra TRAINER SPRITES in battle scene.
__________________
- Thonsu Region will never die when Rejishan take care about them. Even the evilnesse of Team Mystic do not destroy land of Thonsu.

POKEMON DIRTY SUN - Comming Soon.
  #25485    
Old June 9th, 2013 (03:28 AM).
Puffle754
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Wisconson
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Quote:
Originally Posted by kearnseyboy6 View Post
Download A-text, then search for the default names the search section, "GARY, GREEN... etc" in the order. Add the text then edit it.
Thanks for the quick reply!

Phew, I'm glad to hear it's that easy. I was worried that it was going to be something super complex.
  #25486    
Old June 9th, 2013 (03:28 AM).
kearnseyboy6's Avatar
kearnseyboy6
Aussie's Toughest Mudder
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ksiazek Bartlomiej View Post
But I do not need OVERWORLD sprite changing. But Add extra TRAINER SPRITES in battle scene.
Why not just edit the used ones? If your hacking Ruby then change the 50 or so unused FR ones.
  #25487    
Old June 9th, 2013 (03:38 AM). Edited June 9th, 2013 by karatekid552.
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ksiazek Bartlomiej View Post
But I do not need OVERWORLD sprite changing. But Add extra TRAINER SPRITES in battle scene.
Oh my god. Dude. Grow up. Repointing things is the same everywhere. If you know how to repoint one thing, you can repoint others.

And listen to Jambo. He took the time to answer your question very thouroughly. ASM is not as hard as it seems. Most ASM is extrememly simple. Believe it or not, I have only been hacking since mid-October. I started learning and really using ASM in Februrary. By March I wrote my OW editing tut and by April I had finished writing the ASM for the Battle BG tut. It isn't that hard, nor does it take that long to learn. In just takes dedication.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kearnseyboy6 View Post
Why not just edit the used ones? If your hacking Ruby then change the 50 or so unused FR ones.
Lol, you have this backwards. FR has 50 unused ones from Ruby, not the other way around.:p
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #25488    
Old June 9th, 2013 (03:41 AM).
Ksiazek Bartlomiej's Avatar
Ksiazek Bartlomiej
Rejishan awake...
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Takoabe Town (Region Thonsu)
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Hardy
But I do in my hack HOENN and JOHTO. I need 2 extra places for Sprites to make PRYCE and CLAIR.
__________________
- Thonsu Region will never die when Rejishan take care about them. Even the evilnesse of Team Mystic do not destroy land of Thonsu.

POKEMON DIRTY SUN - Comming Soon.
  #25489    
Old June 9th, 2013 (03:49 AM).
Elaitenstile
I am legend
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Send a message via Skype™ to Elaitenstile


Anyway I have a quick question, yes.

I was really curious about this a few days back:
Expanding the ROM.

See, the thing is, the last offset available is 0xFFFFFF. This takes six digits, so adding 08 makes eight digits (four bytes), which is the standard pointer size. Like so:

Code:
FF FF FF 08
That's pointing towards 0x08FFFFFF or just 0xFFFFFF, right?

Now I expand the ROM. I make it 32 MB. So, what happens is that new offsets like 0x1000000 emerge. These have SEVEN or EIGHT digits. But adding 08 makes a ten. And that doesn't fit into a pointer, or does it? I don't know, that's why I put it up here.
__________________
~
  #25490    
Old June 9th, 2013 (04:01 AM).
robin22gongon's Avatar
robin22gongon
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Want to know? VM me.
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to robin22gongon
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ksiazek Bartlomiej View Post
But I do in my hack HOENN and JOHTO. I need 2 extra places for Sprites to make PRYCE and CLAIR.
Calm down bro! Try speaking English a bit better and where do you live?

Do you have NSE 2.X? So far, it's one of the best at these kinds of things.

Then use the Trainer Sprite Editor bundled with it.

If you want to use the ones that exist in-game but you won't be using every sprite, just edit the ones you won't be using.

If you want to keep the ones that Ruby uses, you will have to repoint the Table where all pointers to all Trainer Sprites is kept using a Hex Editor. And I'd also repoint the Table that has all pointers to the palettes that the sprites use. After repointing the table, insert your new sprite in a Free Space, take it's image and palette offset, make a reverse pointer, write it at the end of the repointed Table. And there you have it.

Have a nice day~
__________________
LET'S PARTY!
  #25491    
Old June 9th, 2013 (04:03 AM).
Ksiazek Bartlomiej's Avatar
Ksiazek Bartlomiej
Rejishan awake...
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Takoabe Town (Region Thonsu)
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Hardy
Also I found POSITRON WORLD MAP editor. Someone know how to add by this Extra Town Map? I do not understand Spanish.
__________________
- Thonsu Region will never die when Rejishan take care about them. Even the evilnesse of Team Mystic do not destroy land of Thonsu.

POKEMON DIRTY SUN - Comming Soon.
  #25492    
Old June 9th, 2013 (04:07 AM). Edited June 9th, 2013 by robin22gongon.
robin22gongon's Avatar
robin22gongon
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Want to know? VM me.
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to robin22gongon
Quote:
Originally Posted by ★Hoenn★ View Post


Anyway I have a quick question, yes.

I was really curious about this a few days back:
Expanding the ROM.

See, the thing is, the last offset available is 0xFFFFFF. This takes six digits, so adding 08 makes eight digits (four bytes), which is the standard pointer size. Like so:

Code:
FF FF FF 08
That's pointing towards 0x08FFFFFF or just 0xFFFFFF, right?

Now I expand the ROM. I make it 32 MB. So, what happens is that new offsets like 0x1000000 emerge. These have SEVEN or EIGHT digits. But adding 08 makes a ten. And that doesn't fit into a pointer, or does it? I don't know, that's why I put it up here.
Oh I asked that before! Here take a look at this. I asked it here at page 1004 or 1003. Jambo51 answered. Here is his answer when I asked this.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jambo51 View Post
FR doesn't matter in this case, a pointer to expanded ROM is the exact same as a pointer to the normal ROM. You just take the address and add 0x8000000 to it. So if your address is 0x1250000, the pointer to it is 0x1250000 + 0x8000000 -> 0x9250000 -> 00 00 25 09
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ksiazek Bartlomiej View Post
Also I found POSITRON WORLD MAP editor. Someone know how to add by this Extra Town Map? I do not understand Spanish.
Yeah? Well, me too. That's why I dropped that tool. But if you really want that, there's a .docx file included with the package which is actually a manual. You can use Google Translate to translate that to whatever is your Mother Tongue.

Well, from what I know you really can't achieve that without ASM so if I were you, I'd be creative and compress the two in one picture. If you don't have the enough resources, be resourceful, be imaginative and be creative. There's lots of way to do one thing, you just have to open your eyes!
__________________
LET'S PARTY!
  #25493    
Old June 9th, 2013 (04:27 AM).
milkymew's Avatar
milkymew
 
Join Date: May 2013
Gender: Female
Nature: Relaxed
hi!
i have a bit of a problem with inserting pokemon sprites, if there is more than 8 colors the sprite comes out odd... i know that the maximum amount of colors for a sprite is 16, so why doesn't it accept more than 8 colors? btw, this is a ruby rom being hacked with advanced series.
__________________
Quote:
Eeveextreme Club Profile:

Username: milkymew
Partner Pokemon: Flareon

Titles:[None]
Tatum's PokePet


Fira the level 80 Typhlosion!
  #25494    
Old June 9th, 2013 (04:51 AM).
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech
http://GoGoJJTech.com (WIP!)
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
When importing sprites in advance series click synchronise pallettes and it imports the pal without you needing to do anything. Sometimes it gives an error but you just do it again and it's fixed!
__________________
  #25495    
Old June 9th, 2013 (06:53 AM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ksiazek Bartlomiej View Post
But I do in my hack HOENN and JOHTO. I need 2 extra places for Sprites to make PRYCE and CLAIR.
I know you do, and both me and Jambo have told you how to. You need to repoint and expand the table and then fix the limiter bytes. It isn't that hard. You just need to be creative. Rom hacking is all about creativity, and to be creative, you need to do things on your own.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #25496    
Old June 9th, 2013 (07:07 AM).
Synchronous's Avatar
Synchronous
Lying is my forte, you know?
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: in a「daze」
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Send a message via Skype™ to Synchronous
Quote:
Originally Posted by ★Hoenn★ View Post


Anyway I have a quick question, yes.

I was really curious about this a few days back:
Expanding the ROM.

See, the thing is, the last offset available is 0xFFFFFF. This takes six digits, so adding 08 makes eight digits (four bytes), which is the standard pointer size. Like so:

Code:
FF FF FF 08
That's pointing towards 0x08FFFFFF or just 0xFFFFFF, right?

Now I expand the ROM. I make it 32 MB. So, what happens is that new offsets like 0x1000000 emerge. These have SEVEN or EIGHT digits. But adding 08 makes a ten. And that doesn't fit into a pointer, or does it? I don't know, that's why I put it up here.
Robin is correct, although I view it slightly differently.

When the game is loaded, the first 128 MB is used for RAM objects such as video data.
From the 08000000 on, all the way to the point that VBA crashes, the actual ROM data is loaded. So Jambo's method is the same concept. But you would only ever need to reference a RAM pointer within a ROM, so why bother adding 08000000? Just treat the last byte as 08 within the first 16 MB of the ROM, and 09 within the second 16 MB of the ROM.
__________________
  #25497    
Old June 9th, 2013 (09:00 AM).
LusoTrainer's Avatar
LusoTrainer
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Gender: Male
Is there a way to change the values of Height and Width to metric units?
__________________
  #25498    
Old June 9th, 2013 (10:25 AM).
Synchronous's Avatar
Synchronous
Lying is my forte, you know?
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: in a「daze」
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Send a message via Skype™ to Synchronous
Quote:
Originally Posted by LusoTrainer View Post
Is there a way to change the values of Height and Width to metric units?
You mean in the Pokedex data? Just change the text found inside the ROM that shows the Customary units, then change it to CM, instead of FT and IN.

If you are talking about sprite sizes, however... Everything is in pixels, so you'd have no luck there.
__________________
  #25499    
Old June 9th, 2013 (10:48 AM).
LusoTrainer's Avatar
LusoTrainer
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeltaSalamence View Post
You mean in the Pokedex data? Just change the text found inside the ROM that shows the Customary units, then change it to CM, instead of FT and IN.
But by doing so it would just change the units, not convert them. I was told that the game has metric units avaliable, but they changed to imperial when translating the text to english.
  #25500    
Old June 9th, 2013 (11:15 AM).
Jambo51's Avatar
Jambo51
Glory To Arstotzka
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote:
Originally Posted by LusoTrainer View Post
But by doing so it would just change the units, not convert them. I was told that the game has metric units avaliable, but they changed to imperial when translating the text to english.
The data's stored in decimal format (by which I mean, it's stored not as feet and inches, but as metres), although you'd still need some very basic conversion to actually use it as a decimal value, because, if I remember right, it's stored with 0x1 = 0.001 or something.

In essence, you'd need to nop the converter code (I don't know where it is, before you ask), and change the text. Finally, you'd have to "convert" the value into the actual final decimal value.

It's a lot of work, but not terribly difficult.
__________________
Hey guys, please check out my recreations of the gen 1 and 2 music on my custom engine at my SoundCloud! - Here!
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 10:03 AM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.