The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.


Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #25501    
Old June 9th, 2013, 11:15 AM
Jambo51's Avatar
Jambo51
Glory To Arstotzka
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote:
Originally Posted by LusoTrainer View Post
But by doing so it would just change the units, not convert them. I was told that the game has metric units avaliable, but they changed to imperial when translating the text to english.
The data's stored in decimal format (by which I mean, it's stored not as feet and inches, but as metres), although you'd still need some very basic conversion to actually use it as a decimal value, because, if I remember right, it's stored with 0x1 = 0.001 or something.

In essence, you'd need to nop the converter code (I don't know where it is, before you ask), and change the text. Finally, you'd have to "convert" the value into the actual final decimal value.

It's a lot of work, but not terribly difficult.
__________________
Hey guys, please check out my recreations of the gen 1 and 2 music on my custom engine at my SoundCloud! - Here!
  #25502    
Old June 9th, 2013, 11:46 AM
pokefreake's Avatar
pokefreake
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Gender: Male
Is there a thread with tile sets from Emerald? I found them from FR, LG, R, and S, but not Emerald. Are Emerald's tile sets the same as RUby and Sapphire?
  #25503    
Old June 9th, 2013, 11:55 AM
Crimnor
» imperishable
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by pokefreake View Post
Is there a thread with tile sets from Emerald? I found them from FR, LG, R, and S, but not Emerald. Are Emerald's tile sets the same as RUby and Sapphire?
Check this thread. Also, R/S/E tiles are pretty much the same (with some exceptions).
Attached Images
File Type: png T_SET_A.png‎ (35.2 KB, 11 views) (Save to Dropbox)
  #25504    
Old June 9th, 2013, 03:09 PM
Synchronous's Avatar
Synchronous
Hacking is moving to the cloud.
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: エルキア
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote:
Originally Posted by pokefreake View Post
Is there a thread with tile sets from Emerald? I found them from FR, LG, R, and S, but not Emerald. Are Emerald's tile sets the same as RUby and Sapphire?
It's also very easy to view the tilesets in AdvanceMap, then rip them out, if needed.
I believe that EliteMap provided Emerald tilesets?
__________________
  #25505    
Old June 10th, 2013, 05:13 AM
milkymew's Avatar
milkymew
 
Join Date: May 2013
Gender: Female
Nature: Relaxed
Quote:
Originally Posted by gogojjtech View Post
When importing sprites in advance series click synchronise pallettes and it imports the pal without you needing to do anything. Sometimes it gives an error but you just do it again and it's fixed!
but i do click synchronise pallete, it still won't accept over 8 colors!
__________________
Quote:
Eeveextreme Club Profile:

Username: milkymew
Partner Pokemon: Flareon

Titles:[None]
Tatum's PokePet


Fira the level 80 Typhlosion!
  #25506    
Old June 10th, 2013, 05:23 AM
robin22gongon's Avatar
robin22gongon
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Want to know? VM me.
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to robin22gongon
Quote:
Originally Posted by milkymew View Post
but i do click synchronise pallete, it still won't accept over 8 colors!
Are you sure it's just over 8 colors? Not exceeding 16 colors? Did you check in Photoshop or Irfanview?
__________________
LET'S PARTY!
  #25507    
Old June 10th, 2013, 05:32 AM
Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
Satoshi Ookami
Memento Mori
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Quote:
Originally Posted by milkymew View Post
but i do click synchronise pallete, it still won't accept over 8 colors!
Obviously you need to index it.
__________________
ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack. | Previous Sign 2 | Previous Sign

Anime List | PSN Trophy List
  #25508    
Old June 10th, 2013, 05:45 AM
Varion Bluefire's Avatar
Varion Bluefire
A.K.A The Glitch
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Naughty
Send a message via Skype™ to Varion Bluefire


So, I made New Bark Town and Route 29.
They connect fine, there appears to be nothing wrong in A-Map.
I can move from Town to Route, but not form Route to Town.

Anyone know why?
__________________
  #25509    
Old June 10th, 2013, 05:50 AM
robin22gongon's Avatar
robin22gongon
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Want to know? VM me.
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to robin22gongon
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ash493 View Post
Obviously you need to index it.
Actually, he is using Wichu's Sprite Editor so no need to index it.
__________________
LET'S PARTY!
  #25510    
Old June 10th, 2013, 09:40 AM
Celebris
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
Hi,
whenever I try open XSE editor I get "Run-Time Error: 380 Invalid property value". Nothing happens except this message. Editor won't open at all. I found on the internet and this forum many topics with questions about this, but no solution. I tried deleting settings.ini, but it didn't make any difference. Could anybody please tell what am I supposed to do to make it work or at least recommend topic with solution? Thanks in advance.
  #25511    
Old June 10th, 2013, 10:52 AM
totodile493's Avatar
totodile493
Person
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
How do you understand what hex data means in Nintendo DS hacking? I mean, I assume the same could be asked for Gameboy hex editing. Basically, how do you get what Pokémon, items, etc. are based on these bytes? I want to "kick off" my Nintendo DS hacking and maybe create some programs.
  #25512    
Old June 10th, 2013, 11:20 AM
Crimnor
» imperishable
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Gender: Male
I believe this question belongs somewhere else but I'll give it a try anyway. Can anyone upload a copy of this please?
  #25513    
Old June 10th, 2013, 11:39 AM
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech
GoGo
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
NEIN!
I don't have a copy, but a question. When I do trainerbattle 0x9, the game freezes when an attack is done. Why?
__________________
I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
Proof that I'm the third best Temple Run player in the Universe
The SoulSilver Music Patch - The Black Music Patch - Mega-Huge Sappy Tutorial - Time-Based Events - Yet Another Sprite Resource

Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue

Join me in the chat! Get help or just talk, I really don't care :D | Click here: http://chat.linkandzelda.com:9090/?c...omhacking,GoGo
  #25514    
Old June 10th, 2013, 12:06 PM
TweenyTodd
Quitting cuz i got a job
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: NOYB
Nature: Sassy
Quote:
Originally Posted by totodile493 View Post
How do you understand what hex data means in Nintendo DS hacking? Basically, how do you get what Pokémon, items, etc. are based on these bytes? I want to "kick off" my Nintendo DS hacking and maybe create some programs.
I'm not sure that anyone has done hex data research on the DS. Spikey-Ear'd Pichu has made a program for Map Editing, so he knows how to make programs with DS games at least.

Here are some threads in research and development for 4th gen hacking that I found:
HG/SS General Hacking
5th Generation Hacking

You might be able to find out for yourself.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Celebris View Post
Could anybody please tell what am I supposed to do to make it work or at least recommend topic with solution? Thanks in advance.
Did you put the .ini back in when you deleted it? If you did and it still don't work, just re-download it. Possibly from a different source.

Last edited by TweenyTodd; June 10th, 2013 at 12:08 PM. Reason: Your double post has been automatically merged.
  #25515    
Old June 10th, 2013, 12:21 PM
kablam
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: May 2013
Gender: Male
So upon opening the ROM I've been working on with Overworld Editor the message "Error 9 (Subscript out of range) in procedure LoadSpriteStructure of frmOverworldEditor" pops up and the ROM refuses to open. I have tried this with eight or so ROM's and it appears for some but no for others. What's going on?
  #25516    
Old June 10th, 2013, 01:03 PM
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by kablam View Post
So upon opening the ROM I've been working on with Overworld Editor the message "Error 9 (Subscript out of range) in procedure LoadSpriteStructure of frmOverworldEditor" pops up and the ROM refuses to open. I have tried this with eight or so ROM's and it appears for some but no for others. What's going on?
You probably repointed the table or damaged the data in some way. Either way, you shouldn't be using OWERE. It is old. Use NSE Classic instead. It is built on OWERE's code and is 10x more stable and has more features.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Majesticz View Post
I believe this question belongs somewhere else but I'll give it a try anyway. Can anyone upload a copy of this please?
Google thethethethe's rom hacking weebly. There is a copy on his site.
__________________

Paired with Simba

Last edited by karatekid552; June 10th, 2013 at 01:06 PM. Reason: Your double post has been automatically merged.
  #25517    
Old June 10th, 2013, 01:08 PM
Synchronous's Avatar
Synchronous
Hacking is moving to the cloud.
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: エルキア
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote:
Originally Posted by Varion View Post


So, I made New Bark Town and Route 29.
They connect fine, there appears to be nothing wrong in A-Map.
I can move from Town to Route, but not form Route to Town.

Anyone know why?
This is most likely because you only did the map connection on one map. They don't synchronize, as a map connection is a property of a map, and not just a single value that dictates all maps.

You'd have to change the map connection on both maps in order for it to work.
__________________
  #25518    
Old June 10th, 2013, 02:23 PM
kablam
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: May 2013
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
You probably repointed the table or damaged the data in some way. Either way, you shouldn't be using OWERE. It is old. Use NSE Classic instead. It is built on OWERE's code and is 10x more stable and has more features.
So I've downloaded NSE Classic Source from here along with NSE 1.7.5.0 and have looked through both for instructions on set up etc but haven't found any there or in the original thread & attached guide that have helped. From my understanding, what I downloaded requires the .net framework 3.5 or higher. I have no idea what that is and also have no idea how the two files I downloaded work together to run NSE Classic.
  #25519    
Old June 10th, 2013, 02:35 PM
Synchronous's Avatar
Synchronous
Hacking is moving to the cloud.
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: エルキア
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote:
Originally Posted by kablam View Post
So I've downloaded NSE Classic Source from here along with NSE 1.7.5.0 and have looked through both for instructions on set up etc but haven't found any there or in the original thread & attached guide that have helped. From my understanding, what I downloaded requires the .net framework 3.5 or higher. I have no idea what that is and also have no idea how the two files I downloaded work together to run NSE Classic.
These are the downloads. Try to install the highest possible framework.

.NET Framework 4.5
.NET Framework 4.0
.NET Framework 3.5

A framework is a set of instructions that a computer can run on, and some programs are developed using instructions from a higher end Framework. This is either out of necessity, or just carelessness. I always aim to develop in 2.0, if possible. The lower the framework of an application, the better.

Also, the source code is only if you want to modify it and create your own version of the program. If you don't intend to do that, then don't worry.
__________________
  #25520    
Old June 10th, 2013, 02:36 PM
Crimnor
» imperishable
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by kablam View Post
So I've downloaded NSE Classic Source from here along with NSE 1.7.5.0 and have looked through both for instructions on set up etc but haven't found any there or in the original thread & attached guide that have helped. From my understanding, what I downloaded requires the .net framework 3.5 or higher. I have no idea what that is and also have no idea how the two files I downloaded work together to run NSE Classic.
Ignore the source, just delete it. NSE is written in C#.NET (never checked the source, could be another language) which is why it requires the .NET Framework (3.5) in order to run as intended.

You can download it here.

- ninja'd by DeltaSalamence :(
  #25521    
Old June 10th, 2013, 02:51 PM
Synchronous's Avatar
Synchronous
Hacking is moving to the cloud.
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: エルキア
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote:
Originally Posted by Majesticz View Post
Ignore the source, just delete it. NSE is written in C#.NET (never checked the source, could be another language) which is why it requires the .NET Framework (3.5) in order to run as intended.

You can download it here.

- ninja'd by DeltaSalamence
Just checked, it's VB.NET 2008.
__________________
  #25522    
Old June 10th, 2013, 08:19 PM
Vicktor Black's Avatar
Vicktor Black
Blaziken
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: A white room in "The Void"
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Is there a way to make it where pokemon can never gain exp and to level them up you need an item?
__________________

Always keep an open mind!
  #25523    
Old June 10th, 2013, 08:36 PM
A Sunny Moo's Avatar
A Sunny Moo
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Gender: Male
Hello. Ages ago I used a Rom Extender tool but I can not find it anymore. Google is not getting me any results. I am pretty sure that I found it on these forums. This is for Gen III hacking.
  #25524    
Old June 11th, 2013, 12:44 AM
Wobbu's Avatar
Wobbu
La Balena Galleggiante
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Cyllage City
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Quote:
Originally Posted by A Sunny Moo View Post
Hello. Ages ago I used a Rom Extender tool but I can not find it anymore. Google is not getting me any results. I am pretty sure that I found it on these forums. This is for Gen III hacking.
XSE can expand ROMs, you can find it here.

Once you've downloaded it, open it and click File --> Open... and choose the ROM that you want to expand. After that, click Tools --> ROM Resizer --> Expand.
__________________
  #25525    
Old June 11th, 2013, 01:17 AM
Varion Bluefire's Avatar
Varion Bluefire
A.K.A The Glitch
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Naughty
Send a message via Skype™ to Varion Bluefire
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeltaSalamence View Post
This is most likely because you only did the map connection on one map. They don't synchronize, as a map connection is a property of a map, and not just a single value that dictates all maps.

You'd have to change the map connection on both maps in order for it to work.
Both maps are connected perfectly fine.
__________________
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 09:34 AM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.