Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > Entertainment & Hobbies > Computers & Technology
Reload this Page [Help] Computer Power issue

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Computers & Technology The place to go for all things tech and internet. Share a funny YouTube video or meme, discover the latest useful apps, or just get some free tech support.



Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1    
Old June 11th, 2013 (09:37 PM).
Team Fail's Avatar
Team Fail Team Fail is online now
fun in the sun
Platinum Tier
 
Join Date: May 2009
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Posts: 10,530
So I decided to boot back into the old desktop since I have a laptop now and I want to transfer some files over. I boot it... Anddddd...

1. The fans rev up, and won't shut up. At all.
2. There is a constant, repetitive beeping. beep beep beep.

This is the model of desktop. All stock, nothing changed. I looked into it and it seems that computers have series of beep codes that they can use to tell a user if something is wrong. After some Googling, I came across this page, and my symptom is listed, namely, Repeating (endless loop). I want to make sure it is in fact a memory error (Hence, having the right set of beep codes), so can someone verify that I did find the right thing, and if it is, should I attempt to reseat the ram sticks in the computer?
__________________
Pair 1 Pair 2 Twitter Alt 1 Alt 2 PHO Image Source Avatar Source

"On my business card, I am a corporate president.
In my mind, I am a game developer.
But in my heart, I am a gamer."

- Satoru Iwata, 1959 - 2015
Reply With Quote
  #2    
Old June 12th, 2013 (03:26 AM).
Tsutarja's Avatar
Tsutarja Tsutarja is online now
ModeratorCS
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Florida
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 13,968
I would certainly check to make sure that your RAM is seated properly, and if you have more than one RAM chip in the machine, certainly try swapping them around.

Also, there could be a problem in your BiOS settings.. last time I had a BiOS beeping error, I just took out my desktop's CMOS battery for 5-10 seconds and re-inserted it and my BiOS settings got returned to normal, though it also reset the physical clock :\
__________________
staff antagonists collab
Reply With Quote
  #3    
Old June 12th, 2013 (07:04 AM).
Tetrakeet's Avatar
Tetrakeet Tetrakeet is offline
Lilligant's Caretaker
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: The Windy Forest
Nature: Careful
Posts: 239
Re-seat/gently press down on the RAM and check that everything is seated properly (especially the video card). Make sure the plastic RAM tabs are snugly pressed and locked into the RAM to hold it in place (if it has them). Be sure all the screws are tightened on your expansion cards as well, because that little wiggle can sometimes dislodge them if the computer is moved. After you check those things, let us know how it went.

Just in case you didn't know: Be sure to unplug the power (the thick black cord that goes into the power supply in the back) and touch the outside (metal part) of the chassis before doing anything, so that you don't fry your hardware. (Or use an anti static wrist band if you have one.)
__________________
"With care she will grow, from love she blossoms. A thrill to behold, a sight so awesome.
A flower's pure grace, with fragrance so sweet. An enchanting dance, with four little feet."



Reply With Quote
  #4    
Old July 9th, 2013 (05:51 AM).
KacyCrawford KacyCrawford is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Gender: Female
Posts: 10
Pull your RAM and try inserting it again. It must work
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links

You may also like.. (Beta)
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 12:21 PM.