Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Reload this Page [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #25701    
Old June 25th, 2013 (09:25 PM).
Alteregos89 Alteregos89 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 2
sorry if this is already somewhere on here - the forum is still a bit tough for me to navigate.

I was wondering, when using songs, tiles, art what is the best way to give credit?

ex: I want to use a song from a movie/show in the pokemon game and want to use art I saw on google images - are those big "no no"s or is it doable?

~ thanks
  #25702    
Old June 25th, 2013 (10:48 PM).
molivious's Avatar
molivious molivious is offline
so much fail...
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Aludna Village
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 409
Quote originally posted by Alteregos89:
sorry if this is already somewhere on here - the forum is still a bit tough for me to navigate.

I was wondering, when using songs, tiles, art what is the best way to give credit?

ex: I want to use a song from a movie/show in the pokemon game and want to use art I saw on google images - are those big "no no"s or is it doable?

~ thanks
Can't really be sure about the songs, but to an extent, it could be accepted as long as you properly cite the composer/artist/song title and where you got it from. If you created it yourself (like turned the song into 8-bit music) you still have to at least mention the song title/artist/composer. But then again, i'm not sure about this.

As for artwork, regardless of where you got it from, it is required for you to get permission from the artist who made it. I've known many people who just take pictures off from google results (with the mindset "it's on google, everyone has access to it") and put it in their sites, but still had to pay thousands of dollars for whatever copyright laws they've broken in the end. Especially those taken from deviantart... everything there is copyrighted material. Art theft is mostly not tolerated.

Additional note about artworks: even though you include the artists' names in your credits, some people simply don't want their images/ideas reused/redistributed at all. They may want to keep that piece strictly and only on that site. It is still best to get everyone's permission, regardless.
__________________
You could easily teach yourself if you observe the world closely." - Elise

Squish, squish, squish. Goes the bug under your foot.
Squish, squish, squish. I'm telling you not to look.
  #25703    
Old June 26th, 2013 (12:12 PM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by Alteregos89:
sorry if this is already somewhere on here - the forum is still a bit tough for me to navigate.

I was wondering, when using songs, tiles, art what is the best way to give credit?

ex: I want to use a song from a movie/show in the pokemon game and want to use art I saw on google images - are those big "no no"s or is it doable?

~ thanks
Like molivious said, it is always good to ask. However, sometimes the creator is long gone or won't get back to you. In that case, simply take their username (or real name) and add it to the credits list with a list of what materials you used of theirs. For my hack, I used sprites by JoshR691. Since the sheet was in public use with credits, I added him to the credit list and put "for opening charizard animation sprites".
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #25704    
Old June 26th, 2013 (12:49 PM). Edited June 26th, 2013 by GoGoJJTech.
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is online now
http://GoGoJJTech.com (WIP!)
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 16
Gender: Female
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 2,069
Anyone know the offset of the worldmap pallet for fire red? I couldn't find it after days of searching.

Edit: nevermind. it's at 3ef3dc
__________________
I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
The HGSS Music Patch - The BW/2 Music Patch - ASM: Switch Music Based on Seasons
Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Pokemonhackersonline Profile - Youtube Channel

Join us in the romhacking chat
Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
  #25705    
Old June 26th, 2013 (12:57 PM).
LocksmithArmy's Avatar
LocksmithArmy LocksmithArmy is offline
Mew!
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Posts: 402
ok hacking geniuses... after you beat the E4... oak approaches you in Palette town... and you follow him (without control) into his lab thats a level script in Palette town.. but inside the lab, oak walks forward, you follow (again without control) and you talk to him... WHERE IS THAT SCRIPT... its not a level script, the conversation is in Oaks script (offset 0x8169035) but what tells sprite 0x4 to walk forward and turn around, what forces the player to follow and start the conversation... PLUS if the player actually talked to oak (of his own free will) there would be more conversation before the one at 0x8169035... im so confused, it SHOULD be a level script... it SHOULD be easy to find...
__________________
  #25706    
Old June 26th, 2013 (06:21 PM). Edited June 26th, 2013 by karatekid552.
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by LocksmithArmy:
ok hacking geniuses... after you beat the E4... oak approaches you in Palette town... and you follow him (without control) into his lab thats a level script in Palette town.. but inside the lab, oak walks forward, you follow (again without control) and you talk to him... WHERE IS THAT SCRIPT... its not a level script, the conversation is in Oaks script (offset 0x8169035) but what tells sprite 0x4 to walk forward and turn around, what forces the player to follow and start the conversation... PLUS if the player actually talked to oak (of his own free will) there would be more conversation before the one at 0x8169035... im so confused, it SHOULD be a level script... it SHOULD be easy to find...
This could be like Bill's script on Cinnebar Island. For some reason, XSE won't decompile it because of a weird branch to get to it. I think Bill's script can be found in PKSV, not sure though. I'm going to give this a try in PKSV.

Edit: I can't find it in either script editor either, though I have a plan. This is a very long way of doing things, but it works:

1) Take the first thing Oak says inside and find it using A-Text.

2) Take the offset it exists at and create a pointer with it.

3) Search for that pointer in the rom using a hex editor.

4) The only result should be in the script. Write down the offset of the pointer.

5) Open up XSE and go to that offset.

6) Continue to subtract 1 from the offset until you think you found the beginning of the script (most map scripts begin with Lockall).

7) Thank me when you find it.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #25707    
Old June 26th, 2013 (07:37 PM).
ashuron ashuron is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 2
Hi , i need know if exist an pokemon mistery dungeon hack rom for gba with all pokes !!
Please i really want this " room " for 2 weeks !!
  #25708    
Old June 26th, 2013 (08:09 PM).
LocksmithArmy's Avatar
LocksmithArmy LocksmithArmy is offline
Mew!
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Posts: 402
Quote originally posted by karatekid552:
This could be like Bill's script on Cinnebar Island. For some reason, XSE won't decompile it because of a weird branch to get to it. I think Bill's script can be found in PKSV, not sure though. I'm going to give this a try in PKSV.

Edit: I can't find it in either script editor either, though I have a plan. This is a very long way of doing things, but it works:

1) Take the first thing Oak says inside and find it using A-Text.

2) Take the offset it exists at and create a pointer with it.

3) Search for that pointer in the rom using a hex editor.

4) The only result should be in the script. Write down the offset of the pointer.

5) Open up XSE and go to that offset.

6) Continue to subtract 1 from the offset until you think you found the beginning of the script (most map scripts begin with Lockall).

7) Thank me when you find it.
lol I have done this before... problem is...

I know where the exact conversation is... i just dont know why it starts on its own (or the walking)

and its not even that I need to edit it... it just bugs me that I cant find it and it should be a level script... y isnt it... grr (ur right bills is the same way, but I managed to remove it)
__________________
  #25709    
Old June 26th, 2013 (08:56 PM). Edited June 26th, 2013 by karatekid552.
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by ashuron:
Hi , i need know if exist an pokemon mistery dungeon hack rom for gba with all pokes !!
Please i really want this " room " for 2 weeks !!
To my knowledge, there isn't a single hack of mystery dungeon. Some research was done a while back, but nothing came of it.

Quote originally posted by LocksmithArmy:
lol I have done this before... problem is...

I know where the exact conversation is... i just dont know why it starts on its own (or the walking)

and its not even that I need to edit it... it just bugs me that I cant find it and it should be a level script... y isnt it... grr (ur right bills is the same way, but I managed to remove it)
haha, it is kind of funny. I'm sure if you found the script, you could also find the pointer that calls it and from there learn maybe why it doesn't show up.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #25710    
Old June 28th, 2013 (06:03 PM).
YogiBerra YogiBerra is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 48
What does everyone like to use for trainer editing?
  #25711    
Old June 28th, 2013 (06:21 PM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by YogiBerra:
What does everyone like to use for trainer editing?
Right now, Advance Trainer. However, Jambo51 is in the process of making a trainer editor that fixes some of the issues with A-Trainer (such as it not having an .ini). So keep an eye out for his.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #25712    
Old June 29th, 2013 (12:53 AM).
Mavericks's Avatar
Mavericks Mavericks is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 3
Im having problems with P.Oak not showing up in the hometown but still dragging the character to the old location of the lab help please?
  #25713    
Old June 29th, 2013 (02:55 AM).
pokéchanger pokéchanger is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 4
2 questions:
is it possible to make it possible to buy and sell pokemon in a GBA hack?
can a ninth gym be added? (perhaps after the elite 4?)
thanks guys :D
  #25714    
Old June 29th, 2013 (04:07 AM).
Falsever's Avatar
Falsever Falsever is offline
What should I say... I'm back?
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Nowhere
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Posts: 184
Quote originally posted by pokéchanger:
2 questions:
is it possible to make it possible to buy and sell pokemon in a GBA hack?
can a ninth gym be added? (perhaps after the elite 4?)
thanks guys :D
It's possible to buy and sell the Pokémon in a GBA hack.
Buying Pokémon can be done by scripting.
Selling Pokémon needs ASM if I'm right.

And sure, the ninth Gym can be added, but if you want an extra badge, you'll need ASM.
__________________
*alpaca voices*
  #25715    
Old June 29th, 2013 (07:08 AM). Edited June 29th, 2013 by karatekid552.
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by Rizon:
It's possible to buy and sell the Pokémon in a GBA hack.
Buying Pokémon can be done by scripting.
Selling Pokémon needs ASM if I'm right.

And sure, the ninth Gym can be added, but if you want an extra badge, you'll need ASM.
HackMew wrote some code and a template script for taking away pokemon. There is a whole thread for it in R&D if I am not mistaken.


Quote originally posted by Mavericks:
Im having problems with P.Oak not showing up in the hometown but still dragging the character to the old location of the lab help please?
Delete the map script. It is in the header for map 3.0.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #25716    
Old June 29th, 2013 (03:21 PM).
magistovolt magistovolt is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 6
Okay Im having huge problems with hacking and it all revolves around EEVEE.

The basis is that im trying to add in Glacion and Leafeon as evolutions however there is no hack tool i found that allows the hacker to add more than 5 "branch evolutions" to a pokemon (probably due to eevee having 5 evolutions in gen 3.

If you know of a tool that allows to change more than 5 evolutions please post the name and/or the link?


My solution to the problem was to create another pokemon {EEVEE II} so there would be one species that evolved into the first 5 eeveelutions and a second for Glacion, Leafeon, and maybe a proto-Slyveon.

The problems with this were changing the name of other pokemon sprites (Wismer, Loudred, Exploud) and then the game would allow me to use a stone to evolve wismer but before the evolution sequence the message "Huh?" appears on the screen and the screen returns to the bag with the Leaf Stone highlighted

Please help me with tools to change either one of these problems?
  #25717    
Old June 29th, 2013 (03:30 PM).
reshilegend's Avatar
reshilegend reshilegend is offline
Understand Understand
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Probably not the same place as you
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 239
Quote originally posted by magistovolt:
The problems with this were changing the name of other pokemon sprites (Wismer, Loudred, Exploud) and then the game would allow me to use a stone to evolve wismer but before the evolution sequence the message "Huh?" appears on the screen and the screen returns to the bag with the Leaf Stone highlighted
You should give the player the national dex in a script at the beginning. Pokemon that are originally from other regions (in this case the Whismur family) won't evolve if you only have the regional dex. I can't help you with your Eevelution problem though, sorry.
__________________
  #25718    
Old June 29th, 2013 (05:31 PM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by magistovolt:
Okay Im having huge problems with hacking and it all revolves around EEVEE.

The basis is that im trying to add in Glacion and Leafeon as evolutions however there is no hack tool i found that allows the hacker to add more than 5 "branch evolutions" to a pokemon (probably due to eevee having 5 evolutions in gen 3.

If you know of a tool that allows to change more than 5 evolutions please post the name and/or the link?


My solution to the problem was to create another pokemon {EEVEE II} so there would be one species that evolved into the first 5 eeveelutions and a second for Glacion, Leafeon, and maybe a proto-Slyveon.

The problems with this were changing the name of other pokemon sprites (Wismer, Loudred, Exploud) and then the game would allow me to use a stone to evolve wismer but before the evolution sequence the message "Huh?" appears on the screen and the screen returns to the bag with the Leaf Stone highlighted

Please help me with tools to change either one of these problems?
1) This is because the games evolution routine only allows for 5 evolutions. You would need to hack it with ASM to change the restrictions and then completely rework the evolution table around it, or you could create a special case branch for Eevee in the routine. Both require a knowledge of ASM.

2) Do you have the national dex? Probably not, which is required to evolve a pokemon to an evolution outside of the original 151.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #25719    
Old June 30th, 2013 (06:56 AM).
akihiko123's Avatar
akihiko123 akihiko123 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 56
Hey~ How to make a FRESH NEW TRAINER?
__________________
Future ! Future ! I Can read your future !
I am Psychic-Type Specialist named Seishin !
I've been with my Pokemons for a very long time !
So if you want to battle? There's NO WAY i'm gonna lose !

So, give me what you got!

Like my page on Facebook : LINK
  #25720    
Old June 30th, 2013 (07:05 AM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by akihiko123:
Hey~ How to make a FRESH NEW TRAINER?
Use Advance Trainer to create a new one or edit one.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #25721    
Old June 30th, 2013 (07:16 AM).
akihiko123's Avatar
akihiko123 akihiko123 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 56
done making a new trainer in Advance Trainer, so, what should i do next?
__________________
Future ! Future ! I Can read your future !
I am Psychic-Type Specialist named Seishin !
I've been with my Pokemons for a very long time !
So if you want to battle? There's NO WAY i'm gonna lose !

So, give me what you got!

Like my page on Facebook : LINK
  #25722    
Old June 30th, 2013 (07:37 AM).
destinydownloads's Avatar
destinydownloads destinydownloads is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: London
Gender: Male
Posts: 38
Guys, I was wandering if there is anyone currently working on a digimon hack or is planning of making one. If you are can you please tell me as I really want to play one. Also I know about digimon operation digipedia but they've been inactive on the thread for a while now so thanks for reading.
  #25723    
Old June 30th, 2013 (07:44 AM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by akihiko123:
done making a new trainer in Advance Trainer, so, what should i do next?
Learn how to script trainer battles from Diegoisawesome's XSE tutorial.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #25724    
Old June 30th, 2013 (09:09 AM).
Serebii99's Avatar
Serebii99 Serebii99 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New York
Gender:
Nature: Careful
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to Serebii99
Hello to everyone here. I would like to ask a question about changing the font in a Japanese Pokemon Emerald rom.

I would like to change the English font in a Japanese Pokemon Emerald rom to the English font in English Pokemon Emerald roms. I tried to use TileMolester to find the fonts but I was unsuccessful. Can anyone tell me how to find the English font in a Japanese Pokemon Emerald rom?

Also, I would like to know if I can change the spacing between letters but doing this.
  #25725    
Old June 30th, 2013 (12:39 PM).
Jay the penguin's Avatar
Jay the penguin Jay the penguin is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Gender: Male
Posts: 31
what is special 8E? I saw it in one of my older scripts but I totally forgot what it was.
__________________


My Hack!
Visit the thread!
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 03:54 PM.