Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Reload this Page [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #25776    
Old July 4th, 2013 (03:56 AM).
Mavericks's Avatar
Mavericks Mavericks is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 3
Quote originally posted by karatekid552:
HackMew wrote some code and a template script for taking away pokemon. There is a whole thread for it in R&D if I am not mistaken.




Delete the map script. It is in the header for map 3.0.
I still want oak to take them to the lab but the new location.
  #25777    
Old July 4th, 2013 (07:11 AM). Edited July 4th, 2013 by karatekid552.
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by Mavericks:
I still want oak to take them to the lab but the new location.
Then you need to write a new script or just repoint and rewrite the movements. If oak isn't showing up, then you need to create a nee sprite if you deleted it, or deal with the flags would hide it if it does still exist.

Quote originally posted by ForeverDash:
can someone tell me what i may be doing wrong?

Spoiler:
It is reading random bytes as text. If Physo Boost is nit the last move, don't worry about it. If there are moves after it, then you most likely corruped the data that stores attack names.

Quote originally posted by Flandre Scarlet:
I've just noticed that when I enter a battle, the moves that aren't learned by a Pokémon are displayed as weird characters, namely, letter A's with accents. Have a look:



If anyone has any ideas to fix this, please tell me. It's rather annoying and disgusting to see, hahaha. I was thinking I could edit the font for the attacks, and just erase out those A's, but I don't know the pointer and the method of editing either.

Cheers.

EDIT: Nevermind, it appeared that there was a few unknown bytes at the beginning of my repointed attack move table, so I just changed them to the original and its fixed. Just letting people know in case this happens to anyone else (in the unlikely event).
@ForeverDash- you most likely have a similar issue to this if Phsyco Boost is not the last move created in Gen IiI.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #25778    
Old July 4th, 2013 (07:19 AM).
NaudaBase NaudaBase is offline
The real Swampert
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: The Swamp (Belgium)
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 5
Hi everybody i'm new so dont hesitate to tell me where to post my question if this is not the right place for it
This question might have been asked before, but i did look on the forum, and after quite a few pages seen i didnt find my answer
The problem is that recently i changed from PC to Mac, and while i did not have any problem to find a good PC gba emulator, on mac, it is already much harder to find.
I have tried boycott advance (it has an awfully crappy sound on mac --') and a few VBA versions, but they didnt really convince me at all
Did any of you guys had the same problem as me and found a solution, or am i doomed to play with bad mac emulators :'( ?
__________________
If there is one thing i do not allow my enemies to do, it is mocking me... Oh, and also, living to see another day.
  #25779    
Old July 4th, 2013 (01:14 PM).
Reisen's Avatar
Reisen Reisen is offline
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: 30.46°N 128.92°E
Age: 15
Gender: Female
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 3,107
Send a message via Skype™ to Reisen
Quote originally posted by NaudaBase:
Hi everybody i'm new so dont hesitate to tell me where to post my question if this is not the right place for it
This question might have been asked before, but i did look on the forum, and after quite a few pages seen i didnt find my answer
The problem is that recently i changed from PC to Mac, and while i did not have any problem to find a good PC gba emulator, on mac, it is already much harder to find.
I have tried boycott advance (it has an awfully crappy sound on mac --') and a few VBA versions, but they didnt really convince me at all
Did any of you guys had the same problem as me and found a solution, or am i doomed to play with bad mac emulators :'( ?
I have a solution just for you. If you have Java, then that's good. Download Java VirtualBox here.

Then go online and search for a Windows OS .iso file, and use the Java VirtualBox tutorial here.

After it's set up, just put VisualBoy on your virtual machine, as if it were your own computer.

I can't give you any more links, because it'd be against the forum rules.

If you have any more questions, you can VM/PM me.

Edit: If you don't want to take up a decent amount of space on your computer for using Windows applications, you could use WINE Compatibility Service or this rather glitchy version of VBA for Mac.
__________________
  #25780    
Old July 4th, 2013 (02:01 PM).
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
http://GoGoJJTech.com (WIP!)
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 1,969
Is it possible to change the old man's backsprite according to gender? Or just multiple switches?
__________________
I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
The SoulSilver Music Patch - The Black Music Patch - Mega-Huge Sappy Tutorial
Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Pokemonhackersonline Profile - Youtube Channel

Join us in the romhacking chat
Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
  #25781    
Old July 4th, 2013 (03:06 PM).
ace_45's Avatar
ace_45 ace_45 is offline
gotta love me
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: On the grandline
Gender: Female
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 31
I have a question about a rom cheat

I'm trying to get the 1000 exp one ,rare candy,and tm,but i can't find any that works. Could someone help me find the code? i think a master code is needed to right?
__________________

cerdit for tag belongs to Choas death of DA
"" Power isn't determined by the size of your fist,but the size of your heart and dreams."
  #25782    
Old July 4th, 2013 (03:11 PM).
Ace.'s Avatar
Ace. Ace. is offline
Let Go and Just Be Free
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 327
Quote originally posted by karatekid552:
Then you need to write a new script or just repoint and rewrite the movements. If oak isn't showing up, then you need to create a nee sprite if you deleted it, or deal with the flags would hide it if it does still exist.

It is reading random bytes as text. If Physo Boost is nit the last move, don't worry about it. If there are moves after it, then you most likely corruped the data that stores attack names.

@ForeverDash- you most likely have a similar issue to this if Phsyco Boost is not the last move created in Gen IiI.
So you know how I can fix this?
__________________
SIMPLE is the new SMART
  #25783    
Old July 4th, 2013 (03:26 PM). Edited July 4th, 2013 by karatekid552.
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by ace_45:
I have a question about a rom cheat

I'm trying to get the 1000 exp one ,rare candy,and tm,but i can't find any that works. Could someone help me find the code? i think a master code is needed to right?
This is not the place to ask this. This is *ROM* hacking. What you are asking for is *RAM* hacking. Find a different location.

Quote originally posted by gogojjtech:
Is it possible to change the old man's backsprite according to gender? Or just multiple switches?
Use the backsprite switcher in JPAN's engine. That is the only way right now.

Quote originally posted by ForeverDash:
So you know how I can fix this?
I just checked. Psycho Boost is the last move created in Gen III. Just don't touch anything past it and you should be fine.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #25784    
Old July 4th, 2013 (04:45 PM).
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
http://GoGoJJTech.com (WIP!)
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 1,969
Could you maybe show an example of how I could switch the sprite?
__________________
I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
The SoulSilver Music Patch - The Black Music Patch - Mega-Huge Sappy Tutorial
Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Pokemonhackersonline Profile - Youtube Channel

Join us in the romhacking chat
Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
  #25785    
Old July 4th, 2013 (06:54 PM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by gogojjtech:
Could you maybe show an example of how I could switch the sprite?
This would go in the script before you called the old man battle:

checkgender
compare 0x800D 0x0
If 0x1 goto @boy
Compare 0x800D 0x1
If 0x1 goto @girl
(Rest of regular script)

#org @boy/@girl
Setvar 0x[Var you picked for backsprite switch] 0x[Backsprite # you want, that is in the table you made]
return
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #25786    
Old July 4th, 2013 (08:26 PM).
silviog.s silviog.s is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 4
Quote originally posted by silviog.s:
Another simple question: anyone knows what are the flags for getting the Frontier Symbols (both Silver and Gold) in Pokémon Emerald?
Nevermind, I ended up figuring out.

Another simple question: anyone knows how can I make a script where a NPC gives me some Battle Points (BP) in Pokémon Emerald?
  #25787    
Old July 4th, 2013 (08:44 PM).
Sky93's Avatar
Sky93 Sky93 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: GA, USA
Gender:
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 72
Quote originally posted by gogojjtech:
There are unknown bytes associated with each OW, so if two have the same unknown byte, they will share the same pal in-game. in NSE press ctrl and M. Then in the bottom right, it says a sprite pointer or something. go there in a hex editor. you should find a string soon after XX 01 00 00. Change XX until it's ok in-game.
I tried doing that and it's still showing up funky. It was originally FF 01 00 01 and I changed it to FF F1 00 01 and I even tried FA 01 00 01 to no avail. Any other suggestions or am I just doing this wrong?
__________________



ROMs I Support:
  #25788    
Old July 4th, 2013 (08:57 PM).
Jay the penguin's Avatar
Jay the penguin Jay the penguin is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Gender: Male
Posts: 31
I have a question about the warp command in xse

I am trying to use the warp command in one of my scripts and it just takes me to a black screen. What can I do to fix that?
__________________


My Hack!
Visit the thread!
  #25789    
Old July 4th, 2013 (09:15 PM).
Wobbu's Avatar
Wobbu Wobbu is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: With the Mooshroom
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 2,287
Quote originally posted by Jay the penguin:
I have a question about the warp command in xse

I am trying to use the warp command in one of my scripts and it just takes me to a black screen. What can I do to fix that?
Make sure that the map bank number and map number and coordinates are in hex, not decimal.
Also, put waitstate on the next line.

Code:
#org @example
warp 0xA 0x21 0xFF 0xC 0x2
waitstate
end
__________________
c
a
r
t
o
o
n

n
e
t
w
o
r
k

staff collab
april 2o15
  #25790    
Old July 5th, 2013 (01:56 AM).
Gigal1 Gigal1 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 11
Hi guys I have a simple question, what's the best pokemon rom to hack? tool wise.
  #25791    
Old July 5th, 2013 (02:23 AM). Edited July 5th, 2013 by DrFuji.
DrFuji's Avatar
DrFuji DrFuji is offline
Helfen, Wehren, Heilen
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Downia-upside
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 1,322
Quote originally posted by silviog.s:
Another simple question: anyone knows how can I make a script where a NPC gives me some Battle Points (BP) in Pokémon Emerald?
You can give the player Battle Points by using the following commands in XSE:

Code:
setvar 0x8004 0xYY // Where 0xYY is the number of Battle Points you wish to give
special 0x1CA
Quote originally posted by Jay the penguin:
I have a question about the warp command in xse

I am trying to use the warp command in one of my scripts and it just takes me to a black screen. What can I do to fix that?
In addition to what jsziede said above, ensure that the map you're warping to isn't corrupted. Try walking through a regular door warp on the overworld in addition to warping through scripting. If you still wind up with a black screen then the chances are that your map's data has been corrupted somewhere along the way. You will have to reinsert the map or repoint any misdirected footers if this is the case.

Quote originally posted by Gigal1:
Hi guys I have a simple question, what's the best pokemon rom to hack? tool wise.
In terms of what game is the best to hack, that's a pretty subjective question. However, just about anybody will tell you that Fire Red has the most compatibility with tools. If that's all you're looking for then go for FR, but don't let accessibility be the only deciding factor when deciding which ROM to hack.
__________________
  #25792    
Old July 5th, 2013 (03:41 AM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by Sky93:
I tried doing that and it's still showing up funky. It was originally FF 01 00 01 and I changed it to FF F1 00 01 and I even tried FA 01 00 01 to no avail. Any other suggestions or am I just doing this wrong?
You are changing the wrong thing, there should not be any FFs there to start off with. The person who explained this best is JPAN. Download a copy of his hacked engine v1.1 and open up the .doc file on his zipped folder. Now scroll down until you get to the section titled, "Overworld Data Explained". Read all of it and you will figure out how to change the palette slot.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #25793    
Old July 5th, 2013 (04:25 AM).
M.L's Avatar
M.L M.L is offline
Busy atm
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 732
I am using Jpans engine and i added the usual bytes for surf although it now changes the OW to the bike and then freezes the player but animations still play....
I have tried other bytes. and it still does this.
Does anyone have any idea why it is doing this?
__________________
Fluffy
  #25794    
Old July 5th, 2013 (07:47 AM).
magistovolt magistovolt is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 6
What line do I edit and how do I edit it in a HEX editor to make it so all pokemon with a different ID will obey the trainer.

Im using cygnus free version
  #25795    
Old July 5th, 2013 (08:39 AM).
Jay the penguin's Avatar
Jay the penguin Jay the penguin is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Gender: Male
Posts: 31
Quote originally posted by jsziede:
Make sure that the map bank number and map number and coordinates are in hex, not decimal.
Also, put waitstate on the next line.

Code:
#org @example
warp 0xA 0x21 0xFF 0xC 0x2
waitstate
end
Well I did try that actually and it still just takes me to a black screen but maybe I'll try again.
thanks though!
__________________


My Hack!
Visit the thread!
  #25796    
Old July 5th, 2013 (08:48 AM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by M.L:
I am using Jpans engine and i added the usual bytes for surf although it now changes the OW to the bike and then freezes the player but animations still play....
I have tried other bytes. and it still does this.
Does anyone have any idea why it is doing this?
Easy, reset the var that controls byte ows to 0 using the setvar command in a script. There is also a byte that needs to be changed to FF in the routine, but I need to dig that up.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #25797    
Old July 5th, 2013 (12:39 PM).
MasterWarlord's Avatar
MasterWarlord MasterWarlord is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 17
Has any workaround been found yet for the 25 slots between Celebi and Treecko? As far as I currently know, they're not allowed to be obtained because the Pokedex crashes the game when they are. They have to essentially be enemy trainer only.
  #25798    
Old July 5th, 2013 (03:34 PM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by MasterWarlord:
Has any workaround been found yet for the 25 slots between Celebi and Treecko? As far as I currently know, they're not allowed to be obtained because the Pokedex crashes the game when they are. They have to essentially be enemy trainer only.
You can also have them be evolutions and give pokemon stuff. They just can't be put in the position where their dex entries would be loaded. Unless you have Jambo51's asm skill, this is the best you can do.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #25799    
Old July 5th, 2013 (11:27 PM).
athenian200 athenian200 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Gender: Female
Posts: 10
When I start a new game normally in Pokémon Emerald, and exit the truck... my Mom talks to me as soon as I exit the truck, and this begins a script that leads me inside the house.

I'm in the process of moving this event to another town. I've gotten as far as having the player exit the truck at the new location, and making the truck appear or disappear based on flags. However, so far I have NOT been able to find ANY method of triggering a script the moment you exit the truck (such as happens in the normal game). Putting a script on the title you start off on doesn't work, I've tried it... such a script only activates once you step off the tile and then move back onto it. :/

All that's covered in tutorials is how to make scripts that trigger when you step on a tile, read a sign, or talk to someone. I would have examined the script in the default game for hints, but I can't seem to find a script with that dialogue in the truck, OR on any NPC/script tile in Littleroot Town itself. So, I'm completely baffled as to how the game triggers this.

Is there a special method of making scripts trigger the moment you enter an area?
  #25800    
Old July 5th, 2013 (11:36 PM).
ShyRayq's Avatar
ShyRayq ShyRayq is offline
Unprofessional Unprofessional
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 847
Quote originally posted by athenian200:
When I start a new game normally in Pokémon Emerald, and exit the truck... my Mom talks to me as soon as I exit the truck, and this begins a script that leads me inside the house.

I'm in the process of moving this event to another town. I've gotten as far as having the player exit the truck at the new location, and making the truck appear or disappear based on flags. However, so far I have NOT been able to find ANY method of triggering a script the moment you exit the truck (such as happens in the normal game). Putting a script on the title you start off on doesn't work, I've tried it... such a script only activates once you step off the tile and then move back onto it. :/

All that's covered in tutorials is how to make scripts that trigger when you step on a tile, read a sign, or talk to someone. I would have examined the script in the default game for hints, but I can't seem to find a script with that dialogue in the truck, OR on any NPC/script tile in Littleroot Town itself. So, I'm completely baffled as to how the game triggers this.

Is there a special method of making scripts trigger the moment you enter an area?
Yes there is. The script you are looking for is called a Level Script. It's located in the Header part of A-Map. You should see the Level Script heading. Just scroll through them until you see the correct script.
__________________
3DS Friend Code: 5069-3944-3902
IGN: Peter, (Pokemon Y, Pokemon OR)
Friend Safari: (Fighting) Throh, Meditite, Breloom
Live Pokedex (Y) Completed as of 02/03/14 (718), 10/11/14 (719)
Live Pokedex (OR) Completed as of 25/12/14 (719)
Big thanks especially to DestinedJagold, Xerneas_X, Elements1 and ~RNC~

PM me if you want to trade, or add my FC.
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 02:01 PM.