The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > Creative Discussions > Emulation & ROM Hacking
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

Emulation & ROM Hacking The center for the community emulation scene. Come and discuss all things emulation and develop your own hacks!


Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #25801    
Old July 5th, 2013, 11:36 PM
ShyRayq's Avatar
ShyRayq
Unprofessional Unprofessional
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Quote:
Originally Posted by athenian200 View Post
When I start a new game normally in Pokémon Emerald, and exit the truck... my Mom talks to me as soon as I exit the truck, and this begins a script that leads me inside the house.

I'm in the process of moving this event to another town. I've gotten as far as having the player exit the truck at the new location, and making the truck appear or disappear based on flags. However, so far I have NOT been able to find ANY method of triggering a script the moment you exit the truck (such as happens in the normal game). Putting a script on the title you start off on doesn't work, I've tried it... such a script only activates once you step off the tile and then move back onto it. :/

All that's covered in tutorials is how to make scripts that trigger when you step on a tile, read a sign, or talk to someone. I would have examined the script in the default game for hints, but I can't seem to find a script with that dialogue in the truck, OR on any NPC/script tile in Littleroot Town itself. So, I'm completely baffled as to how the game triggers this.

Is there a special method of making scripts trigger the moment you enter an area?
Yes there is. The script you are looking for is called a Level Script. It's located in the Header part of A-Map. You should see the Level Script heading. Just scroll through them until you see the correct script.
__________________
3DS Friend Code: 5069-3944-3902
IGN: Peter, Pokemon Y
Friend Safari: (Fighting) Throh, Meditite, Breloom
Live Pokedex Completed as of 02/03/14
Big thanks especially to DestinedJagold, Xerneas_X and Elements1

PM me if you want to trade, or add my FC.
  #25802    
Old July 6th, 2013, 04:47 AM
akihiko123's Avatar
akihiko123
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Still not working :/
I should put the script code(or what do you call that) in the person you want to become a trainer right?
And oh~ if you forget me, i'm the one who ask you about Trainer Limits thingy xD
__________________
Future ! Future ! I Can read your future !
I am Psychic-Type Specialist named Seishin !
I've been with my Pokemons for a very long time !
So if you want to battle? There's NO WAY i'm gonna lose !

So, give me what you got!


Like my page on Facebook : LINK
  #25803    
Old July 6th, 2013, 07:36 AM
UltimaCircuit's Avatar
UltimaCircuit
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Gender: Male
I am a mapper for an upcoming hack and it seems that we have come to a problem. The base ROM is Firered and we edited the main town and everything, and confirmed that we were going to use this town. And we came to an issue which is hindering progress. The issue is when you go into the game, some of our tiles having little shreds of movement tiles in them. (Btw I use Advance Map 1.92)

Thank you in advance.
__________________

  #25804    
Old July 6th, 2013, 08:31 AM
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by UltimaCircuit View Post
I am a mapper for an upcoming hack and it seems that we have come to a problem. The base ROM is Firered and we edited the main town and everything, and confirmed that we were going to use this town. And we came to an issue which is hindering progress. The issue is when you go into the game, some of our tiles having little shreds of movement tiles in them. (Btw I use Advance Map 1.92)

Thank you in advance.
I think I know what you mean, but i'm not completely sure. Could you please post a video? Also, did you change tiles or animations?

Quote:
Originally Posted by akihiko123 View Post
Still not working :/
I should put the script code(or what do you call that) in the person you want to become a trainer right?
And oh~ if you forget me, i'm the one who ask you about Trainer Limits thingy xD
What is the entire script? Both of them, for both events? and no, I didn't forget you
__________________

Paired with Simba

Last edited by karatekid552; July 6th, 2013 at 08:33 AM. Reason: Your double post has been automatically merged.
  #25805    
Old July 6th, 2013, 09:03 AM
UltimaCircuit's Avatar
UltimaCircuit
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Gender: Male
Yes, we did change tiles but our Lead Mapper went away for a moment without letting us know how to fix it. I do think it is the animations because the flowers and fences have little arrow like formations on them. I also cannot post links till I have 15 or more posts so I also sent the video to you via PM. I hope you don't mind.
  #25806    
Old July 6th, 2013, 09:12 AM
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by UltimaCircuit View Post
Yes, we did change tiles but our Lead Mapper went away for a moment without letting us know how to fix it. I do think it is the animations because the flowers and fences have little arrow like formations on them. I also cannot post links till I have 15 or more posts so I also sent the video to you via PM. I hope you don't mind.
You epically failed at youtube tags Don't worry, I did the same thing my first time using them.

Video:
Spoiler:



Explanation of youtube tags:
Spoiler:
When using youtube tags, just take the video i.d. and put it in the tags. Compare this to your url:

HTML Code:
url: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xe_OyxkM1ao&feature=youtu.be

tags: [YOUTUBE]xe_OyxkM1ao[/YOUTUBE]



Now, the issue is simple: Animations are attached to specific tiles in the tile set. I'm going to guess you didn't expect that? You probably thought they were attached to the blocks. When you redrew your tiles, you probably just randomly inserted them. Tiles with animations attached need to be replaced by new versions. Meaning, when you insert new water, you need put the new water tiles over the old water tiles. The only animations attached to the actual block data are doors.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #25807    
Old July 6th, 2013, 09:29 AM
UltimaCircuit's Avatar
UltimaCircuit
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Gender: Male
So, I would fix this problem by just taking the flower and putting it over the old one and recoloring? Or am I wrong? (Sorry I am so new to this animated tiles thing.)
  #25808    
Old July 6th, 2013, 10:01 AM
reshilegend's Avatar
reshilegend
Spriting and stuff
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Quote:
Originally Posted by UltimaCircuit View Post
So, I would fix this problem by just taking the flower and putting it over the old one and recoloring? Or am I wrong? (Sorry I am so new to this animated tiles thing.)
You can replace the flower/grass animation with NSE by using bookmarks. Simply view the bookmarks, choose the flower one and export it. After you edited it import the file again and save. The flower animation palette is the same as the green palette of the tileset 1 in AM.
So just replacing the flower tile isn't enough.
__________________

- Help with the hack
- dA page
  #25809    
Old July 6th, 2013, 10:50 AM
pokefreake's Avatar
pokefreake
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Gender: Male
I'm trying to edit the title screen for my hack (it's much easier than I expected so far) but when I tried to change the pokemon it said the compressed file was too big. I followed A tutorial that I found exactly and I still got the error. My sprite is 80 by 80 if this helps any.

Never mind I figured it out. New question. Does anyone know how to insert a new color map using gimp? I'm still working on the title and needed to change the colors so I can edit it easier.

Last edited by pokefreake; July 6th, 2013 at 12:25 PM.
  #25810    
Old July 6th, 2013, 03:46 PM
SacredMurathJohn's Avatar
SacredMurathJohn
ROM Hacking
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Turkey
Gender: Male
Nature: Hasty
How could I delete the badge requirements of HMs like Surf or Fly?
__________________
A progressing project - Hunters of the Ancient:



Play as a TEAM ROCKET GRUNT
Now BETA 0.3 available.
  #25811    
Old July 6th, 2013, 06:34 PM
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by SacredMurathJohn View Post
How could I delete the badge requirements of HMs like Surf or Fly?
You have to edit all of the scripts, which can be tough to find.

Quote:
Originally Posted by pokefreake View Post
I'm trying to edit the title screen for my hack (it's much easier than I expected so far) but when I tried to change the pokemon it said the compressed file was too big. I followed A tutorial that I found exactly and I still got the error. My sprite is 80 by 80 if this helps any.

Never mind I figured it out. New question. Does anyone know how to insert a new color map using gimp? I'm still working on the title and needed to change the colors so I can edit it easier.
Inserting new color maps in GIMP is not fun, not fun at all. If you just want to edit the colors in the color map, that is much easier. Just go into the windows menu and open the color map window. There you can edit colors.
__________________

Paired with Simba

Last edited by karatekid552; July 6th, 2013 at 06:37 PM. Reason: Your double post has been automatically merged.
  #25812    
Old July 7th, 2013, 07:38 AM
coolking49's Avatar
coolking49
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Northfield, MN
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Quote:
Originally Posted by SacredMurathJohn View Post
How could I delete the badge requirements of HMs like Surf or Fly?
What I'm planning on doing is simply trigger the flag for the badge while the script giving the HM is happening. I don't think it actually triggers anything, it just makes it such that it looks like you have the badge and that you can use the HMs. If you don't want the person to access the elite 4 yet, simply change the flag needed for someone to access the e4 building.

Speaking of thinking outside the box, I have a question:
I know the games have certain doors which are locked until a certain event occurs. How would one go about doing that? My first thought was have an invisible person on the spot of the door until a flag is triggered, removing the person, but I can't find the sprite number for an invisible person. having a script which triggers when you step on the square just before the door stopping you and telling you to turn back seems rather unprofessional. Is there any other way? Thanks!
__________________
Soon to be going to Carleton College, send me a message if you live around Northfield.
  #25813    
Old July 7th, 2013, 09:06 AM
LocksmithArmy's Avatar
LocksmithArmy
Mew!
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by coolking49 View Post
What I'm planning on doing is simply trigger the flag for the badge while the script giving the HM is happening. I don't think it actually triggers anything, it just makes it such that it looks like you have the badge and that you can use the HMs. If you don't want the person to access the elite 4 yet, simply change the flag needed for someone to access the e4 building.

Speaking of thinking outside the box, I have a question:
I know the games have certain doors which are locked until a certain event occurs. How would one go about doing that? My first thought was have an invisible person on the spot of the door until a flag is triggered, removing the person, but I can't find the sprite number for an invisible person. having a script which triggers when you step on the square just before the door stopping you and telling you to turn back seems rather unprofessional. Is there any other way? Thanks!
the invisible person works fine... the sprite can be anything, just make it hidden under movement

you could put a script in front of the door, just like for cinnabar's gym... when someone walks up to the door it gives a lil text and makes the person walk the other direction...

you ask alot of questions that can be answered by simply looking at the scripts already in the game...
you wanna know about a locked door, go to the locked door already in the game and see how they did it...
gamefreak already solved most of the problems you will run into...
__________________
~Current Project:

~Completed Projects:


  #25814    
Old July 7th, 2013, 09:15 AM
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by coolking49 View Post
What I'm planning on doing is simply trigger the flag for the badge while the script giving the HM is happening. I don't think it actually triggers anything, it just makes it such that it looks like you have the badge and that you can use the HMs. If you don't want the person to access the elite 4 yet, simply change the flag needed for someone to access the e4 building.

Speaking of thinking outside the box, I have a question:
I know the games have certain doors which are locked until a certain event occurs. How would one go about doing that? My first thought was have an invisible person on the spot of the door until a flag is triggered, removing the person, but I can't find the sprite number for an invisible person. having a script which triggers when you step on the square just before the door stopping you and telling you to turn back seems rather unprofessional. Is there any other way? Thanks!
For the HMs, you need to backtrack from the location of the messages in the script (use A-Text to find them) and the find the script. I have posted a method for how to do this several times, so search both this thread and simple questions as I don't want to type this again. After you find the script, you can repoint it and make a new one.

Actually, game freak did it this way several times. Just make a script tile, and after the lockall command, use the command checkplayerfacing (that name might be wrong... Check in the command database for XSE [F1]) and only have the script continue if the player is facing the door. If they are, then run your flag checks and such.

Edit: LSA is very right, that is how good hackers do things. They don't waste time trying to do things that other people have done.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #25815    
Old July 7th, 2013, 11:32 PM
Garuga17's Avatar
Garuga17
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Indonesia
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
I have a question, how do you repoint the moves table in a-trainer? I have new move table repointed, but it seems that a-trainer uses the old movetable, so that i can't make trainer to use new moves....

any idea?

i tried searching this thread and find no luck
__________________
dunno what to write here....
  #25816    
Old July 8th, 2013, 01:35 AM
miksy91's Avatar
miksy91
A GB/C Rom Hacker since 2010
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: A small country in the North
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Quote:
Originally Posted by Garuga17 View Post
I have a question, how do you repoint the moves table in a-trainer? I have new move table repointed, but it seems that a-trainer uses the old movetable, so that i can't make trainer to use new moves....

any idea?

i tried searching this thread and find no luck
That'd be very tricky to do unless you've the source code of the program, and thus, could open the source and modify it. If you've only got the program itself, the situation might be hopeless.

You could try opening it with a hex editor, and search if the original offset is mentioned anywhere in an understandable format. If not, there's not much you can do about it.
__________________
My Rom Hack



Hacks I support





Learn how to hack GB/C games:

Check my GameBoy/Color hacking videos in Youtube
-The video set uses Pokemon Silver (U) rom for demonstrations
  #25817    
Old July 8th, 2013, 01:24 PM
Unimpressed_Tyranitar's Avatar
Unimpressed_Tyranitar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: New Jersey
Age: 14
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Hey. I'm new to this site as well as ROM editing, and I was wondering how to make the "hero's" sprite a different sprite, like Gary, throughout the entire game. Thanks in advance
  #25818    
Old July 8th, 2013, 01:40 PM
gogojjtech's Avatar
gogojjtech
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Use NSE to edit in-game OWs, trainers, items, whatever.
__________________
I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this in your signature.
My Music Hacking Videos
Proof that I'm the third best Temple Run player in the Universe "You callin' me a liar?" "I ain't callin' ya for dinner."
The SoulSilver Music Patch - The Black Music Patch - Mega-Huge Sappy Tutorial - Time-Based Events - Yet Another Sprite Resource
­
Pokémon Platinum Red
Pokémon Platinum Blue
Pokémon Platinum Red
Pokémon Platinum Blue
Pokémon Platinum Red
Pokémon Platinum Blue
Pokémon Platinum Red
Pokémon Platinum Blue
­

Join me in the chat! Get help or just talk, I really don't care :D | Click here: http://chat.linkandzelda.com:9090/?c...omhacking,GoGo
  #25819    
Old July 8th, 2013, 01:47 PM
Unimpressed_Tyranitar's Avatar
Unimpressed_Tyranitar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: New Jersey
Age: 14
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Quote:
Originally Posted by gogojjtech View Post
Use NSE to edit in-game OWs, trainers, items, whatever.

Huh? Sorry, it's just like I said, I'm new to this. Very new to this
  #25820    
Old July 8th, 2013, 01:50 PM
gogojjtech's Avatar
gogojjtech
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Go into the Tools section and find NSE (nameless sprite editor)
The one you want is NSE classic.
__________________
I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this in your signature.
My Music Hacking Videos
Proof that I'm the third best Temple Run player in the Universe "You callin' me a liar?" "I ain't callin' ya for dinner."
The SoulSilver Music Patch - The Black Music Patch - Mega-Huge Sappy Tutorial - Time-Based Events - Yet Another Sprite Resource
­
Pokémon Platinum Red
Pokémon Platinum Blue
Pokémon Platinum Red
Pokémon Platinum Blue
Pokémon Platinum Red
Pokémon Platinum Blue
Pokémon Platinum Red
Pokémon Platinum Blue
­

Join me in the chat! Get help or just talk, I really don't care :D | Click here: http://chat.linkandzelda.com:9090/?c...omhacking,GoGo
  #25821    
Old July 8th, 2013, 01:56 PM
Unimpressed_Tyranitar's Avatar
Unimpressed_Tyranitar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: New Jersey
Age: 14
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Ok.Done. How would I change my characters sprite to Gary? This confuses me sorry
  #25822    
Old July 8th, 2013, 01:57 PM
gogojjtech's Avatar
gogojjtech
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Well Gary does not have fishing, bike, or running frames, so you need to get those. PM me if you want a full explanation.
__________________
I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this in your signature.
My Music Hacking Videos
Proof that I'm the third best Temple Run player in the Universe "You callin' me a liar?" "I ain't callin' ya for dinner."
The SoulSilver Music Patch - The Black Music Patch - Mega-Huge Sappy Tutorial - Time-Based Events - Yet Another Sprite Resource
­
Pokémon Platinum Red
Pokémon Platinum Blue
Pokémon Platinum Red
Pokémon Platinum Blue
Pokémon Platinum Red
Pokémon Platinum Blue
Pokémon Platinum Red
Pokémon Platinum Blue
­

Join me in the chat! Get help or just talk, I really don't care :D | Click here: http://chat.linkandzelda.com:9090/?c...omhacking,GoGo
  #25823    
Old July 8th, 2013, 10:07 PM
Sky93's Avatar
Sky93
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: GA, USA
Gender:
Nature: Relaxed
So im fairly sure this is a simple problem but I can't figure it out. I have a script dependent on a person, and everything looks fine in Amap:
Spoiler:


but when I go into the game, he is in the wrong place before the script is even triggered:

Spoiler:

any tips?
__________________



ROMs I Support:
  #25824    
Old July 9th, 2013, 12:24 AM
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold
Oh Hai Thar~ 'ω'
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sky93 View Post
So im fairly sure this is a simple problem but I can't figure it out. I have a script dependent on a person, and everything looks fine in Amap:


but when I go into the game, he is in the wrong place before the script is even triggered:


any tips?
It's probably caused by a level script on the map.
On Advance Map, simply go to the ‘Header’ tab of the map, then check out the ‘Map Script/s’ and see if one of those scripts are the cause of moving your NPC to another spot.
Or, if you're being lazy, then just simply change the NPC's ‘Person Event Number’.

:3
__________________
3DS FC: 0061-1111-6462
SV: 1364 | Rock Safari: Dwebble, Corsola and Barbaracle
  #25825    
Old July 9th, 2013, 01:36 AM
MasterWarlord's Avatar
MasterWarlord
 
Join Date: May 2010
Gender: Male
Alright, so I've been going around my Fire Red rom replacing various Pokemon with 4th/5th gen pokemon. Totaled up to around 100. Got in all their sprites and icons fine. I've been making use of the 25 Unown slots between Celebi and Treecko as various extra mons.

Most of the Unown slots are evolutions of existing gen 1 and 2 mons in the rom. I can add in some of the evolutions fine, but adding in others somehow causes YAPE to crash. I have multiple Unown slots functioning 100% fine, but others are weird.



I have not tampered with the rom whatsoever outside of editing Pokemon and attacks, so I very much doubt I've overwritten something.

These "bugged" Unown slots are functional to some awkward degrees. . .I can go in and edit them if I go to them directly without going to an evolution. The current evolution table where I previously was stays, though, and I can't go to any other Pokemon after going to this Pokemon, having to close and reopen it. I also cannot make these bugged slots evolve themselves, even into "normal" slots.

Weirder still, I overwrote Celebi, a normal Pokemon, with a new Pokemon. Sure, it's right next to the Unown slots, but it should be normal, right? Nope, Celebi's slot is one of the "broken" ones. The regular Pokemon in the rom are fine, but yes.

One of the Unown slots even somehow has had random evolutions assigned to it, evolving into Entei and Beedrill somehow. They can be removed and this particular slot functions fine but it's weird enough that it's making me panic something was overwritten.

My best guess is something along the lines of there only being so many evolutions being allowed in the game and I broke the table by adding too many and/or the Unown slots just being really trippy. Looking for an explanation as to why this happened more than anything, pretty much assumed the rom is screwed.

Last edited by MasterWarlord; July 9th, 2013 at 01:56 AM.
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 09:48 PM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.