The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.


Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #8676    
Old August 13th, 2013, 06:11 AM
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold
Oh Hai Thar~ 'ω'
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Quote:
Originally Posted by cclemur View Post
Thanks for the insight on the hidden scripts, but the problem is that I the grunts won't leave their "hiding place" but still move the way they are supposed to minus the appearing which you have just informed me how to do. I will post a video, but seeing as I can't post links yet, just check out my youtube channel for the video if you are willing to help. the channel name is cclemur
Your NPCs are too far away from the player for them to move.
Spoiler:

There is a limit of distance for NPCs to be able to be controlled by your scripts.
They should be within an 8(or 9 maybe) tile distance horizontally, and 7 tiles vertically.
__________________
3DS FC: 0061-1111-6462
SV: 1364 | Rock Safari: Dwebble, Corsola and Barbaracle
  #8677    
Old August 13th, 2013, 08:15 AM
Bubblepopper
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Gender: Male
Hey again guys,

So i'v been getting pretty good at scripting (at least in my own opinion anyways), I'm hacking FR and i'm changing the way Professor Oak comes to you at the start and I have two Psyduck blocking the exit of Pallet to Route 1, these blocks are unpassable until after you have been to the lab, but the question im really asking is, is there a ways i can make a tile passable in script?

The Psyducks disappear, thats no problem but the tile itself is still locked to movement because of the movement permissions...so yea ill just leave this here, if anyone can help great!

Or if there is a forum which can teach my how to do this that would be great!

Anyways, cheers in advance you guys are always great help

Don't need the help anymore guys, I found the "setmaptile" command tinkered with it till I got it to work :D

Last edited by Bubblepopper; August 13th, 2013 at 08:53 AM. Reason: Your double post has been automatically merged.
  #8678    
Old August 13th, 2013, 09:38 AM
Wobbu's Avatar
Wobbu
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Ambrette Aquarium
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Quote:
Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
NO!

Sorry bro, but this is completely wrong. Trainerflags are cleared when you win.
Oops, I was going by memory, and my memory isn't the greatest lol. I rarely use trainer flags or trainerbattle 0x3, so I don't know a lot about them, but now I know more
__________________
Team Spheal!
WAC|DCC|SOURCE
  #8679    
Old August 15th, 2013, 11:19 AM
DaleH771's Avatar
DaleH771
I know who you are.
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Gender: Male
I had a hack in production, but deserted it because after coming back it my scripting skills weren't exactly great... Anyone made a simple and easy tool for scripting yet?

I might re-open my hack if I can get scripting again easily
__________________

Demo coming soon!
  #8680    
Old August 15th, 2013, 11:35 AM
Wobbu's Avatar
Wobbu
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Ambrette Aquarium
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Gamer2020's unofficial XSE is the best scipt editor imo. If you don't know the XSE language or you need a refresher, here are some tutorials.
__________________
Team Spheal!
WAC|DCC|SOURCE
  #8681    
Old August 15th, 2013, 08:05 PM
SpadeEdge16's Avatar
SpadeEdge16
 
Join Date: May 2012
Gender: Male
hey guys, i wanted to know is it possible to give money in a script in the same way you would an item? Ive done a lot of scripting already, ive just never wanted to do this until now, so i havent payed any attention to whether or not i could.
__________________
  #8682    
Old August 15th, 2013, 09:06 PM
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpadeEdge16 View Post
hey guys, i wanted to know is it possible to give money in a script in the same way you would an item? Ive done a lot of scripting already, ive just never wanted to do this until now, so i havent payed any attention to whether or not i could.
There is literally a command called "givemoney". One sec, I'll go get the syntax...

Here: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showpos...6&postcount=13
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #8683    
Old August 15th, 2013, 09:22 PM
SpadeEdge16's Avatar
SpadeEdge16
 
Join Date: May 2012
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
There is literally a command called "givemoney". One sec, I'll go get the syntax...

Here: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showpos...6&postcount=13
Pfft, haha, thanks. And im assuming paymoney and givemoney are the same thing right? I just read it, but i want to make sure theres not some secret way of using them, haha.
  #8684    
Old August 15th, 2013, 11:54 PM
Wobbu's Avatar
Wobbu
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Ambrette Aquarium
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Givemoney will give the player money, whereas paymoney will take away money. They're complete opposites, so remember which one is which when you're using them.
__________________
Team Spheal!
WAC|DCC|SOURCE
  #8685    
Old August 16th, 2013, 01:09 AM
xGal
du bist n00b
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: A tree
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpadeEdge16 View Post
Pfft, haha, thanks. And im assuming paymoney and givemoney are the same thing right? I just read it, but i want to make sure theres not some secret way of using them, haha.
Givemoney = gives the player money
Paymoney = player pays money

First post here
__________________
  #8686    
Old August 16th, 2013, 08:05 AM
Hyperbolic's Avatar
Hyperbolic
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Gender: Male
Im trying to give the hero the HM Fly...
But all that comes up is Hero has received ?????????????
Why?
Spoiler:

#dynamic 0x800000

#org @start
lock
faceplayer
checkflag 0x835
if 0x1 goto @done
msgbox @1 0x5
compare 0x800D 0x1
if 0x1 goto @take
msgbox @2 0x6
release
end

#org @done
msgbox @3 0x6
release
end
#org @take
giveitem 0x340 0x1 MSG_OBTAIN
msgbox @3 0x6
setflag 0x835
release
end

#org @1
= Hey kid,\nI found this item....\pBut I have no use for it......\pYou want it?

#org @2
= It's a pretty nice item!

#org @3
= If you plan on using it,\nYou need the VoidBadge first!
Attached Images
File Type: png Pokemon FireRed1.PNG‎ (4.7 KB, 3 views) (Save to Dropbox)
__________________
"The human sacrificed himself, to save the Pokemon. I pitted them against each other, but not until they set aside their differences did I see the true power they all share deep inside. I see now that the circumstances of one's birth are irrelevant; it is what you do with the gift of life that determines who you are."
~Mewtwo
  #8687    
Old August 16th, 2013, 01:51 PM
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold
Oh Hai Thar~ 'ω'
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hyperbolic View Post
Im trying to give the hero the HM Fly...
But all that comes up is Hero has received ?????????????
Why?
Code:
#dynamic 0x800000
 
#org @start
lock
faceplayer
checkflag 0x835
if 0x1 goto @done
msgbox @1 0x5
compare 0x800D 0x1
if 0x1 goto @take
msgbox @2 0x6
release
end
 
#org @done
msgbox @3 0x6
release
end
#org @take
giveitem 0x340 0x1 MSG_OBTAIN
msgbox @3 0x6
setflag 0x835
release
end
 
#org @1
= Hey kid,\nI found this item....\pBut I have no use for it......\pYou want it?
 
#org @2
= It's a pretty nice item!
 
#org @3
= If you plan on using it,\nYou need the VoidBadge first!
You are confusing yourself with hex (0x340) and decimal(340).
Hex and decimal values are not equivalent (except from 0 to 9).

Buy anyway, remove the part in red.
__________________
3DS FC: 0061-1111-6462
SV: 1364 | Rock Safari: Dwebble, Corsola and Barbaracle
  #8688    
Old August 16th, 2013, 05:02 PM
Teh Blazer's Avatar
Teh Blazer
Divider of Zero
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: 'MERICA
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posted in the wrong section...

*sigh* Level scripts just seem to hate me... :/

This is a level script that triggers when the player is warped into their room. So far there is only one other level script on the map, one that I put up to lay the groundwork for other level scripts and action in the future. I'm using the [04] Script Type because I dunno and I made sure to set the var in the script. The thing is, it starts with the lockall command and then the script just stops with the player locked in place.

Here's the script for reference:
Spoiler:

'---------------
#org 0x81ABDF
lockall
applymovement 0x3 0x881AF31
waitmovement 0x0
msgbox 0x881ACBF 0x6 '"[green_fr][rival]: [player]!\pI he..."
applymovement 0x3 0x881AF36
waitmovement 0x0
goto 0x881AC03

'---------------
#org 0x81AC03
special 0x113
applymovement 0x7F 0x881AF39
waitmovement 0x0
special 0x114
showsprite 0x1
applymovement 0x1 0x881AF42
waitmovement 0x0
applymovement 0xFF 0x881AF47
applymovement 0x3 0x881AF47
waitmovement 0x0
goto 0x881AC38

'---------------
#org 0x81AC38
msgbox 0x881AD24 0x6 '"[lightblue_fr]Belle: Am I a little..."
applymovement 0x3 0x881AF4A
waitmovement 0x0
msgbox 0x881AD58 0x6 '"[green_fr][rival]: Belle...\pI've ..."
special 0x133
applymovement 0x1 0x881AF4E
special 0x113
applymovement 0x7F 0x881AF55
waitmovement 0x0
special 0x114
goto 0x881AC73

'---------------
#org 0x81AC73
msgbox 0x881ADF4 0x6 '"[lightblue_fr]Belle: I know. Sorry..."
applymovement 0x1 0x881AF5E
waitmovement 0x0
applymovement 0xFF 0x881AF64
waitmovement 0x0
msgbox 0x881AE1D 0x6 '"[lightblue_fr]Belle: So where are ..."
applymovement 0x3 0x881AF67
pause 0x40
applymovement 0x1 0x881AF36
applymovement 0xFF 0x881AF36
msgbox 0x881AE95 0x6 '"[green_fr][rival]: The Pokémon are..."
setvar 0x7007 0x1
releaseall
end
__________________
Coming soon...
  #8689    
Old August 16th, 2013, 05:06 PM
justatest123
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Gender: Male
Is it possible to modify Birch's spiel at the beginning of the game? I need to force the player's gender to male. I'm using Ruby.
  #8690    
Old August 16th, 2013, 05:22 PM
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teh Blazer View Post
Posted in the wrong section...

*sigh* Level scripts just seem to hate me... :/

This is a level script that triggers when the player is warped into their room. So far there is only one other level script on the map, one that I put up to lay the groundwork for other level scripts and action in the future. I'm using the [04] Script Type because I dunno and I made sure to set the var in the script. The thing is, it starts with the lockall command and then the script just stops with the player locked in place.

Here's the script for reference:
Spoiler:

'---------------
#org 0x81ABDF
lockall
applymovement 0x3 0x881AF31
waitmovement 0x0
msgbox 0x881ACBF 0x6 '"[green_fr][rival]: [player]!\pI he..."
applymovement 0x3 0x881AF36
waitmovement 0x0
goto 0x881AC03

'---------------
#org 0x81AC03
special 0x113
applymovement 0x7F 0x881AF39
waitmovement 0x0
special 0x114
showsprite 0x1
applymovement 0x1 0x881AF42
waitmovement 0x0
applymovement 0xFF 0x881AF47
applymovement 0x3 0x881AF47
waitmovement 0x0
goto 0x881AC38

'---------------
#org 0x81AC38
msgbox 0x881AD24 0x6 '"[lightblue_fr]Belle: Am I a little..."
applymovement 0x3 0x881AF4A
waitmovement 0x0
msgbox 0x881AD58 0x6 '"[green_fr][rival]: Belle...\pI've ..."
special 0x133
applymovement 0x1 0x881AF4E
special 0x113
applymovement 0x7F 0x881AF55
waitmovement 0x0
special 0x114
goto 0x881AC73

'---------------
#org 0x81AC73
msgbox 0x881ADF4 0x6 '"[lightblue_fr]Belle: I know. Sorry..."
applymovement 0x1 0x881AF5E
waitmovement 0x0
applymovement 0xFF 0x881AF64
waitmovement 0x0
msgbox 0x881AE1D 0x6 '"[lightblue_fr]Belle: So where are ..."
applymovement 0x3 0x881AF67
pause 0x40
applymovement 0x1 0x881AF36
applymovement 0xFF 0x881AF36
msgbox 0x881AE95 0x6 '"[green_fr][rival]: The Pokémon are..."
setvar 0x7007 0x1
releaseall
end
Try using script type 02. 04 is really picky about what commands you can use, and runs at a different time.

Quote:
Originally Posted by justatest123 View Post
Is it possible to modify Birch's spiel at the beginning of the game? I need to force the player's gender to male. I'm using Ruby.
This has been done on FR, but I haven't seen it done on Ruby. However, it requires ASM. Unless! You give the player two male choices. Just change the girl to a boy. Otherwise, to remove one option, it will require ASM.
__________________

Paired with Simba

Last edited by karatekid552; August 16th, 2013 at 05:23 PM. Reason: Your double post has been automatically merged.
  #8691    
Old August 16th, 2013, 05:38 PM
justatest123
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
This has been done on FR, but I haven't seen it done on Ruby. However, it requires ASM. Unless! You give the player two male choices. Just change the girl to a boy. Otherwise, to remove one option, it will require ASM.
Where should I start if I want to edit the ASM?
  #8692    
Old August 16th, 2013, 05:51 PM
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by justatest123 View Post
Where should I start if I want to edit the ASM?
Learn it as best as you can, starting with this: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=299696

Start small, then get larger. In no time, no challenge will stand before you.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #8693    
Old August 16th, 2013, 06:09 PM
Teh Blazer's Avatar
Teh Blazer
Divider of Zero
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: 'MERICA
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Okay so switching to 02 stops the player from freezing in place, but now the level script won't even activate... :/
__________________
Coming soon...
  #8694    
Old August 16th, 2013, 07:12 PM
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teh Blazer View Post
Okay so switching to 02 stops the player from freezing in place, but now the level script won't even activate... :/
Most likely a var issue.

/me is going back to look at said script....


Edit:
Okay, first, have you opened up XSE in level script mode and edited the header script found in professional mode in A-Map?

Second: what other scripts are running in the header (please check, don't assume that A-map didn't screw up and create an extra script. This has happened to me before and caused a lot of issues.) and what are their parameters?

Lastly, what are the parameters for this script?
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #8695    
Old August 16th, 2013, 07:36 PM
Teh Blazer's Avatar
Teh Blazer
Divider of Zero
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: 'MERICA
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Quote:
Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
Most likely a var issue.

/me is going back to look at said script....


Edit:
Okay, first, have you opened up XSE in level script mode and edited the header script found in professional mode in A-Map?

Second: what other scripts are running in the header (please check, don't assume that A-map didn't screw up and create an extra script. This has happened to me before and caused a lot of issues.) and what are their parameters?

Lastly, what are the parameters for this script?
Yeah, I did change the things in XSE (turned the raw words 0xblah to 0x0)

I made another script to run in the background, an 03

Spoiler:
#org 0x8179D2
setflag 0x2C
hidesprite 0x1
hidesprite 0x2
sethealingplace 0x1
setvar 0x7003 0x1
end


And the level script in question is now an 02 with the flag 7007 and the value 0000
__________________
Coming soon...
  #8696    
Old August 16th, 2013, 09:02 PM
Vladmir_Fox
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Gender: Male
I have just started learning XSE and general 3rd gen ROM hacking and I was wondering are there any tutorials or just general advice for creating a custom safari zone script?

(note: I'm sorry if I am causing anyone here any trouble but I just felt I should ask this question because I myself am completely lost on how to even start such a task, also thank you in advance for any help you all can give me.)
  #8697    
Old August 17th, 2013, 06:54 AM
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vladmir_Fox View Post
I have just started learning XSE and general 3rd gen ROM hacking and I was wondering are there any tutorials or just general advice for creating a custom safari zone script?

(note: I'm sorry if I am causing anyone here any trouble but I just felt I should ask this question because I myself am completely lost on how to even start such a task, also thank you in advance for any help you all can give me.)
Don't post the same question on both help threads. That just gets annoying because the same people look at both threads. I replied on Simple Questions.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #8698    
Old August 19th, 2013, 12:54 AM
TangoRed
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Gender: Male
So here is my level script: (I am using XSE)
Spoiler:
#dynamic 0x800000

#org @pokeballshow
hidesprite 0x4
hidesprite 0x5
hidesprite 0x6
setvar 0x4011 0x1
release
end


Basically I want the sprites 4, 5, and 6 to be hidden until I use the showsprite command in a further script. I compiled it and put it into the script offset in the header with this "Validates values, loads handler to 0x03000EB0 (playback) [02]". But when I warp into the map the sprites are still there.

Any ideas on what's wrong? Is it my script?
  #8699    
Old August 19th, 2013, 01:04 AM
Wobbu's Avatar
Wobbu
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Ambrette Aquarium
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Quote:
So here is my level script: (I am using XSE)
Spoiler:
#dynamic 0x800000

#org @pokeballshow
hidesprite 0x4
hidesprite 0x5
hidesprite 0x6
setvar 0x4011 0x1
release
end


Basically I want the sprites 4, 5, and 6 to be hidden until I use the showsprite command in a further script. I compiled it and put it into the script offset in the header with this "Validates values, loads handler to 0x03000EB0 (playback) [02]". But when I warp into the map the sprites are still there.

Any ideas on what's wrong? Is it my script?
Hidesprite is temporary, so you should give the three people events a person ID (ex. 200, 201, and 202) and set those flags in your script, along with the hidesprite commands. If you want the people to reappear, use the clearflag and showsprite command.
__________________
Team Spheal!
WAC|DCC|SOURCE
  #8700    
Old August 19th, 2013, 08:24 PM
gameguru's Avatar
gameguru
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Your Mind
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Game: FireRed (U)
Editor: XSE
Spoiler:

fadescreen 0x1
sound 0x8
setflag 0x349
hidesprite 0x1
hidesprite 0x2
hidesprite 0x4
hidesprite 0x5
hidesprite 0x6
hidesprite 0x7
hidesprite 0x8
hidesprite 0x9
movesprite 0xFF 0x2 0x5
applymovement MOVE_PLAYER 0x8741291
movesprite2 0xC 0x3 0x5
applymovement 0xC 0x8741294
applymovement 0x3 0x8741297
waitmovement 0xC
fadescreen 0x0

I need the player to move to 2,5 while the screen is black, and then fade in. the player, however, is moved outside of the room somewhere and the camera remains in the same spot.
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 09:20 AM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.