Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > Creative Discussions > Game Development > Pokémon Essentials
Reload this Page [Question] Troubles with translating the game

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Pokémon Essentials All questions and discussion about Pokémon Essentials, the Pokémon game kit for RPG Maker XP, go in here. Also contains links to the latest downloads and the Essentials Wiki.



Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1    
Old August 14th, 2013 (10:22 AM).
unmaestropokemon unmaestropokemon is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 29
hello, would need a list of script
to make a translation.

example, in PokemonOption, this text options

I want to know if there is a list, or someone make a list of all places in the script where there is text, as part of the game, menu, bag, pokedex eth.

every place where text.
Reply With Quote
  #2    
Old August 14th, 2013 (01:38 PM).
Maruno's Avatar
Maruno Maruno is offline
Lead Dev of Pokémon Essentials
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England
Posts: 4,385
http://pokemonessentials.wikia.com/wiki/Translating_the_game

Says it all, really. This'll get you a text file containing all the text in the game for translation.

Translation should be the absolute last thing you do for your game. You should also keep a copy of the extracted text file (intl.txt) just in case.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3    
Old August 14th, 2013 (05:29 PM).
unmaestropokemon unmaestropokemon is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 29
Quote originally posted by Maruno:
http://pokemonessentials.wikia.com/wiki/Translating_the_game

Says it all, really. This'll get you a text file containing all the text in the game for translation.

Translation should be the absolute last thing you do for your game. You should also keep a copy of the extracted text file (intl.txt) just in case.

try to do it that way, but it gives compile error.

so wondering if they have a list of every part of the game, menu, bag, eth. to do it that way.
Reply With Quote
  #4    
Old August 15th, 2013 (05:57 AM).
Maruno's Avatar
Maruno Maruno is offline
Lead Dev of Pokémon Essentials
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England
Posts: 4,385
Does the "Extract Text" option work properly and give you an intl.txt file, but you got an error when using the "Compile Text" option? If so, you must have mucked something up during your translation (and you didn't copy-paste the error).

I think it's better to try to resolve whatever error you're getting than to try to work around it, because I know for a fact that what the wiki says works properly.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5    
Old August 15th, 2013 (07:42 PM).
unmaestropokemon unmaestropokemon is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 29
Quote originally posted by Maruno:
Does the "Extract Text" option work properly and give you an intl.txt file, but you got an error when using the "Compile Text" option? If so, you must have mucked something up during your translation (and you didn't copy-paste the error).

I think it's better to try to resolve whatever error you're getting than to try to work around it, because I know for a fact that what the wiki says works properly.

'pokemonsystem! ? 94 ??? typerror ?

cannot convert fixnum into string
Reply With Quote
  #6    
Old August 16th, 2013 (02:43 AM).
Maruno's Avatar
Maruno Maruno is offline
Lead Dev of Pokémon Essentials
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England
Posts: 4,385
That leads me to believe you didn't fill in the LANGUAGES array properly. Here's an example of what it should look like:

Code:
LANGUAGES = [  
  ["English","english.dat"],
  ["Deutsch","deutsch.dat"]
]
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7    
Old August 16th, 2013 (08:14 AM).
unmaestropokemon unmaestropokemon is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 29
Quote originally posted by Maruno:
That leads me to believe you didn't fill in the LANGUAGES array properly. Here's an example of what it should look like:

Code:
LANGUAGES = [  
  ["English","english.dat"],
  ["Deutsch","deutsch.dat"]
]
well, now I run and appear languages

but there is another problem

what is not translate in the game

text change does not change the game.

and re-create another file messages.dat every time you start the game.
Reply With Quote
  #8    
Old August 16th, 2013 (09:47 AM).
Maruno's Avatar
Maruno Maruno is offline
Lead Dev of Pokémon Essentials
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England
Posts: 4,385
messages.dat is the backup/default set of messages. Leave it alone. If you've chosen a language, it's going to use that language's file (if it exists).

I'm going to have to ask you again to follow the instructions, because they work, and you've already shown once that you failed to do so. Try starting again.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9    
Old August 16th, 2013 (12:35 PM).
unmaestropokemon unmaestropokemon is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 29
Quote originally posted by Maruno:
messages.dat is the backup/default set of messages. Leave it alone. If you've chosen a language, it's going to use that language's file (if it exists).

I'm going to have to ask you again to follow the instructions, because they work, and you've already shown once that you failed to do so. Try starting again.
revise and often

LANGUAGES = [
["English","english.dat"],
["Español","espanol.dat"]
]

section appears languages

choose Spanish, with the file to modify espanol.dat formerly called
intl.dat

I compile from Intl.txt, that translated with notepad ++

but the option to choose language, only returning to game boot menu and nothing changes.

original texts are in English and not my changes.

it is as if no language will.
Reply With Quote
  #10    
Old August 18th, 2013 (06:43 PM).
unmaestropokemon unmaestropokemon is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 29
achieve run the translation

but I have another problem very grave

when I choose the initial pokemon appears with question marks, as well as the pokemon in the grass and are not attacks.


but when I speak with underside of mother in my house, and gives the Pokemon level 20, gives no problems.

the problem is in the laboratory to choose the pokemon.

rename only laboratory map, I returned to put its original name but nothing happens.

must be another problem, but not what is.

image

Reply With Quote
  #11    
Old August 19th, 2013 (01:49 AM).
Pharetra's Avatar
Pharetra Pharetra is offline
MOM GET THE CAMERA
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Posts: 453
RPG Maker XP has limited support for .gif files, which causes the sprite to flicker. Try using another sprite (PokéCheck's work fine for me).

Also, you might want to resize the sprite ;)
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links

You may also like.. (Beta)
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 10:53 PM.