The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.


Advertise here

Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #26301    
Old August 23rd, 2013, 08:40 AM
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech
アルファ近く
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet

Advertise here
No, just look for a bunch of FFs. Like about 400 bytes worth, even though a frame is only like 200. Just be sure it's after 720000 in FR and Ruby, and F00000 in emerald.
__________________
  #26302    
Old August 23rd, 2013, 08:44 AM
SpadeEdge16's Avatar
SpadeEdge16
 
Join Date: May 2012
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by gogojjtech View Post
No, just look for a bunch of FFs. Like about 400 bytes worth, even though a frame is only like 200. Just be sure it's after 720000 in FR and Ruby, and F00000 in emerald.
So, open FSF, needed bytes: 400, search from offset 720000? Then do that for every frame?
__________________
  #26303    
Old August 23rd, 2013, 08:45 AM
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech
アルファ近く
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Yeah, or in a hex editor. either way, you're searching for FFs. and yeah, every frame since you need a new offset for each.
__________________
  #26304    
Old August 23rd, 2013, 08:54 AM
SpadeEdge16's Avatar
SpadeEdge16
 
Join Date: May 2012
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by gogojjtech View Post
Yeah, or in a hex editor. either way, you're searching for FFs. and yeah, every frame since you need a new offset for each.
Finally...got it to work. Thanks so much. You too KarateKid. I can finally move forward now haha.
__________________
  #26305    
Old August 23rd, 2013, 09:24 AM
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech
アルファ近く
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Now I myself have a question. How could I check if the player is on a bike?
__________________

Last edited by GoGoJJTech; August 23rd, 2013 at 09:54 AM.
  #26306    
Old August 23rd, 2013, 01:00 PM
Jamlpr
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
I hate to re-post, but it seems as if my post was unnoticed. I know there was another question being answered while I asked. I was just hoping if anyone had an answer for it? Arabic/Pashto/Persion Farsi font in Pokemon Fire Red? Anyway to do it?
  #26307    
Old August 23rd, 2013, 01:08 PM
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech
アルファ近く
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamlpr View Post
I hate to re-post, but it seems as if my post was unnoticed. I know there was another question being answered while I asked. I was just hoping if anyone had an answer for it? Arabic/Pashto/Persion Farsi font in Pokemon Fire Red? Anyway to do it?
I don't think so. There are other languages of gen 3 ROMs, but it's advised to stay in U.S versions. To make your own Font, you might need to ask others who know how.
__________________
  #26308    
Old August 23rd, 2013, 03:27 PM
ArmoredGuns
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Hello,

What hex values would I need to change to make the charcoal, mystic water, twistedspoon etc from 10% boost to 20%, like in Gen IV? Thanks a lot!
  #26309    
Old August 23rd, 2013, 06:15 PM
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by gogojjtech View Post
Now I myself have a question. How could I check if the player is on a bike?
This is in the walkrun states, which is at 0x2037078. I think it is +1 for bike. See how that byte changes in the memory viewer.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #26310    
Old August 23rd, 2013, 06:36 PM
Henakuo's Avatar
Henakuo
Moonlit Trainer
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Washington, United States
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
I'm new here so please dont brutalize me if I do something wrong ._.


Okay, I'm ROM hacking for the first time, Pokemon FireRed. I cant post my links to the pics of the problem because apparently I cant post links until I've posted 15 times :l So I will try to make the problem as clear as possible using words.

Basically, in the intro with OAK, I am replacing the sprites for both the male trainer and the rival.

I get the into the game fine, all is good, they look nice and pretty and all looks right.

That is, BEFORE I name them.

My male trainers problem is a small one, he looks fine, but again, once I name him (custom name, he stays looking fine if I choose a preset name, not giving the screen the opportunity to do the black transition) his colors change. His shirt is fine, his pants, hair, headband, all fine. MOST of his skin is fine as well, but the dark shading on the skin changes to a...dark green color. Again, this is ONLY if I go to the "name your character" screen. I just ignored this and changed the text so oak says "you seem sick" to just play off the glitch.

The rivals is MUCH worse. Exact same as above, but...all of the skin changes to blood red. All of it, not just the dark shading. Only does it if I go to the naming screen, but this ones a little...hard to play off. "Oh your rival seems to be bleeding profusely from EVERYWHERE"

Yeah no...

If anyone has an answer as to how to fix this odd coloring problem it would be greatly appreciated... I'll try and go post 15 times so I can put up images of this weird issue..
__________________
*Wakes up*

"Pokemon aren't real yet? Pfft"

*Goes back to sleep*

  #26311    
Old August 23rd, 2013, 07:57 PM
Teh Blazer's Avatar
Teh Blazer
Divider of Zero
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: 'MERICA
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
How would one go about changing what HM's can be used depending on the badge you earned?
__________________
Coming soon...
  #26312    
Old August 23rd, 2013, 08:11 PM
awipe1's Avatar
awipe1
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by Henakuo View Post
I'm new here so please dont brutalize me if I do something wrong ._.


Okay, I'm ROM hacking for the first time, Pokemon FireRed. I cant post my links to the pics of the problem because apparently I cant post links until I've posted 15 times :l So I will try to make the problem as clear as possible using words.

Basically, in the intro with OAK, I am replacing the sprites for both the male trainer and the rival.

I get the into the game fine, all is good, they look nice and pretty and all looks right.

That is, BEFORE I name them.

My male trainers problem is a small one, he looks fine, but again, once I name him (custom name, he stays looking fine if I choose a preset name, not giving the screen the opportunity to do the black transition) his colors change. His shirt is fine, his pants, hair, headband, all fine. MOST of his skin is fine as well, but the dark shading on the skin changes to a...dark green color. Again, this is ONLY if I go to the "name your character" screen. I just ignored this and changed the text so oak says "you seem sick" to just play off the glitch.

The rivals is MUCH worse. Exact same as above, but...all of the skin changes to blood red. All of it, not just the dark shading. Only does it if I go to the naming screen, but this ones a little...hard to play off. "Oh your rival seems to be bleeding profusely from EVERYWHERE"

Yeah no...

If anyone has an answer as to how to fix this odd coloring problem it would be greatly appreciated... I'll try and go post 15 times so I can put up images of this weird issue..
I honestly have never heard of an issue like this before, but I will try my best to help you.

First off what I could recommend is to use JPANs hack applier, it makes it possible to create new OWs so you don't have to replace other ones.

This might be able to fix your issue with your rivals palette. Because instead of changing your rivals OW, you can just make a new OW and make that OW your rival.

As for the player, I would assume it would be something to do with ASM. Where the palette want's to stay at 0, and you have changed your palette to 3 or something like that.

The person I would ask about this issue would be karatekid552, i'm pretty sure he would understand exactly what is happening here and give you the direction to fix the problem.

However, I just HIGHLY recommend using JPANs hack applier for the rival, so you can make a brand new OW. For a guide to insert new OWs, use this.

http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=211535

and a link for the actual hack applier is here.

http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=194241
__________________
Check out my Pokemon Rom! Click the Image Below!


Also I'm currently looking for a spriter for my ROM. Someone who can make OWs and possibly trainer sprites (I might make those myself). Message me if you would like to be a part of Pokemon Battle Brown!
NOTE: You wouldn't be designing your own sprites, I would be telling you what I needed, and you would make it for me ... as appealing as that sounds. I know it doesn't sound like a fun task, but if you want to be a part of this ROM, then that's what will happen. Also I would like to see some stuff you have made before I accept your offer.
  #26313    
Old August 23rd, 2013, 08:23 PM
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech
アルファ近く
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teh Blazer View Post
How would one go about changing what HM's can be used depending on the badge you earned?
You could search for the script for each move, and change the checkflag, or you could just set a different flag for each gym.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArmoredGuns View Post
Hello,

What hex values would I need to change to make the charcoal, mystic water, twistedspoon etc from 10% boost to 20%, like in Gen IV? Thanks a lot!
Fourth gen hacking is not too popular yet, and only basic things are changable. You could try gen 3 since everything is already looked into.
__________________

Last edited by GoGoJJTech; August 23rd, 2013 at 08:24 PM. Reason: Your double post has been automatically merged.
  #26314    
Old August 23rd, 2013, 08:37 PM
DoesntKnowHowToPlay's Avatar
DoesntKnowHowToPlay
some loser
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
What hex values would I need to change to make the charcoal, mystic water, twistedspoon etc from 10% boost to 20%, like in Gen IV? Thanks a lot!
http://bulbapedia.bulbagarden.net/wi...Generation_III

I forget which value it's documented as on here, but look for the one that's x0A for all the type-boosting hold items and change it to x14.
__________________

Yet Another Fire Red Hack

Physical/Special Split
  #26315    
Old August 23rd, 2013, 09:20 PM
Henakuo's Avatar
Henakuo
Moonlit Trainer
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Washington, United States
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Quote:
Originally Posted by awipe1 View Post
I honestly have never heard of an issue like this before, but I will try my best to help you.

First off what I could recommend is to use JPANs hack applier, it makes it possible to create new OWs so you don't have to replace other ones.

This might be able to fix your issue with your rivals palette. Because instead of changing your rivals OW, you can just make a new OW and make that OW your rival.

As for the player, I would assume it would be something to do with ASM. Where the palette want's to stay at 0, and you have changed your palette to 3 or something like that.

The person I would ask about this issue would be karatekid552, i'm pretty sure he would understand exactly what is happening here and give you the direction to fix the problem.

However, I just HIGHLY recommend using JPANs hack applier for the rival, so you can make a brand new OW. For a guide to insert new OWs, use this.

http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=211535

and a link for the actual hack applier is here.

http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=194241
Oh thank you very much for the resources! I'll give it a shot, if all decides to blow up in my face again you can expect to see my charred face up on the threads again x3
__________________
*Wakes up*

"Pokemon aren't real yet? Pfft"

*Goes back to sleep*

  #26316    
Old August 24th, 2013, 07:28 AM
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by Henakuo View Post
Oh thank you very much for the resources! I'll give it a shot, if all decides to blow up in my face again you can expect to see my charred face up on the threads again x3
Dude, I have done soooo much work with OWs, it isn't funny. I have expanded them, made them change by var instantly, swap pallettes, everything (except make them walk diagnoaly, that may come eventually:p Jambo found the movement table had 9 slots not 4. It would seem that late in development, then diagnol movement was cut, hence the test sumo wrestler in Ruby.)

However, after all of that, I have no clear idea what would cause your issue. I think the same OW loader that is used in those screens is the same as the normal one. I do have a theory though: the routine which loads OW palettes here MAY have been corrupted so that it doesn't load the palettes (maybe the branch out to the decompressor was noped by accident?) What I want you to do, is get to the intro in VBA. Go Tools->Palette Viewer and check the box "automatic update". Now, go backto the game and go through the intro watching the palettes on the right. The Hero should be the first palette slot (the first row). I can't remember which palette slot the rival is (the numbers 2 and 4 stick out in my head, but I'm not sure), but by your description, it should be apparent which slot he is using. Now, look at the other palettes. Do you see the correct palettes in there? If you don't, then it is a loading issue. If you do, but the OWs aren't using them, then it is a slot issue.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #26317    
Old August 24th, 2013, 10:46 AM
LarzI
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
If I want to edit some of the dialogue in the game, let's say whatever Professor Oak in FireRed says when he gives you the Pokédex, would I have to make a script and assign it to a new offset, or can I just simply edit the string in the already-existing script? (Using XSE)
  #26318    
Old August 24th, 2013, 10:47 AM
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech
アルファ近く
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote:
Originally Posted by LarzI View Post
If I want to edit some of the dialogue in the game, let's say whatever Professor Oak in FireRed says when he gives you the Pokédex, would I have to make a script and assign it to a new offset, or can I just simply edit the string in the already-existing script? (Using XSE)
Do a new offset because if you accidentally mess up and go over the original limit, then you get corrupted data, and your game dies... So always use new offsets no matter what your doing so you avoid ROM failure.
__________________
  #26319    
Old August 24th, 2013, 11:14 AM
kelewele_
 
Join Date: May 2013
Gender: Male
could someone explain to me how exactly vars work?
i've been searching for days bt i haven't quite found the answer
basically i want to make a script where this character only appears on five island after interacting with him somewhere else... vars are the way to go about this right?
  #26320    
Old August 24th, 2013, 11:16 AM
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech
アルファ近く
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote:
Originally Posted by kelewele_ View Post
could someone explain to me how exactly vars work?
i've been searching for days bt i haven't quite found the answer
basically i want to make a script where this character only appears on five island after interacting with him somewhere else... vars are the way to go about this right?
Vars are (like) flags in the way that they store info. But a flag is either 0 or 1, unset and set. Vars are whatever you want them to be, from 0 to 65535, so you could use like 2 vars for a hack. More info: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=302347
__________________
  #26321    
Old August 24th, 2013, 11:28 AM
kelewele_
 
Join Date: May 2013
Gender: Male
yeh i got that much, i think i understand what they are just not how to use them properly, just really need to know how to use it for this script ><... but thanks alot though
  #26322    
Old August 24th, 2013, 11:31 AM
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech
アルファ近く
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Well for the script you could have this:
.....
setvar 0x40ff 0x1
.....
So when the event finishes, var 40ff has a value of 1.
Then in the island, have a level script:
.....
compare 0x40ff 0x1
if 0x1 goto @keep_him
goto @hide_him
release
end

#org @hide_him
hidesprite 0xXX
release
end

#org @keep_him
release
end
.....
__________________
  #26323    
Old August 24th, 2013, 01:35 PM
kelewele_
 
Join Date: May 2013
Gender: Male
I tried using a hidesprite command earlier but i got this
'Warning: Unknown command "hidesprite"' in the compiler log, which is what made me think i needed vars in the first place... and i got again using your script >.< , i'm using PKSV

and by level script do u mean the 'setmaptile' script or one the 'on entering map...' scripts in the header view of the map
  #26324    
Old August 24th, 2013, 05:07 PM
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech
アルファ近く
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote:
Originally Posted by kelewele_ View Post
I tried using a hidesprite command earlier but i got this
'Warning: Unknown command "hidesprite"' in the compiler log, which is what made me think i needed vars in the first place... and i got again using your script >.< , i'm using PKSV

and by level script do u mean the 'setmaptile' script or one the 'on entering map...' scripts in the header view of the map
Well I thought you were using XSE... Anyway, PKSV and XSE differ in commands.
__________________
  #26325    
Old August 24th, 2013, 08:17 PM
Le pug's Avatar
Le pug
Creator of Pokémon: Discovery
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Le bed
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
I'm using Pokemon FireRed and I'm trying to put a Team Aqua member from Pokemon Ruby into Pokemon FireRed via Overworld Sprite Editor Rebirth Edition and I imported the sprites and it shows it normal in the program but when I am in AdvanceMap and I try to put a sprite event on the map, the sprite is like completely different colors, mostly blue like.. if you inverted the color or something. Anyone know why?
__________________


Check out some of my contributions:
• Check out my easy tile insertion tutorial, Inserting Tiles Into AdvanceMap For Dummies
Click here to find out how to remove clouds from the Emerald titlescreen
• Check out the most updated Emereld Decapitalization Patch around by clicking here
• Need help fixing a gross bug in your hack? Let me show you how by clicking here

Click here to view the PC thread of Pokémon: Discovery.
Click here to view the PC thread of Pokémon: Fat Kid.

Pokémon: Discovery Discovery Twitter Discovery Facebook IRC Chat
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links


Advertise here
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 11:30 PM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.