The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.


Advertise here

Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #26501    
Old September 5th, 2013, 01:09 PM
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech
アルファ近く
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet

Advertise here
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigmac909 View Post
OK, that's much more straightforward, thank you!

However, I'm in PGE and all of the moves are already under the correct category. Why's that?

Lastly, I just want to confirm: I can then patch this rom with a hack, right?
Well the first patch applies the split. The second defines the moves into their categories, so it should get working right away. I forgot, to fix something do this:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jambo51
I think I've found the code which causes the Mirror Coat/Counter bug in Fire Red.
Change it to this, and it should hopefully fix it.
Code:
0801F6C2: 86 7A
0801F908: 00 2E
0801F90A: 41 D1
And yes, you can apply it to a hacked ROM. As long as you didn't already tamper with the move tables.
__________________
  #26502    
Old September 5th, 2013, 04:43 PM
3dd13's Avatar
3dd13
Advanced Music Remixer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Alabama! The Heart of Hell!
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to 3dd13
I have looked for days trying to figure this out. There is no tutorial that I can find anywhere, and no one seems to know the answer. I currently know how to insert a custom midi in a ds rom (1/3 and easy to find) replace instruments (2/3 took me a day and hard to find) but I cannot for the life of me figure out (or find) how to make a custom sound bank so I can use a custom variety of instruments. on example of my intention is that a remix I made uses sounds from multiple b2/w2 banks, but without a custom sound bank, its useless because of the limitations (just doesn't sound right with the instruments I am limited to). does anyone know how to make a custom sound bank? There is an option in CrystalTile 2 to export a *.dls, which I can edit to how I need easily, but no way to convert it back. would someone either explain what I need to do, link me to a tutorial, or make one please?
__________________
"The power spoken of in mythology... I didn't just make it obey me, I made it my own!"
3DS Friend Code (Pokemon Y) 2294-5522-8562
  #26503    
Old September 5th, 2013, 05:50 PM
dudebot's Avatar
dudebot
Glowing Yellow
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Nomnom Town
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via Skype™ to dudebot
Having trouble transitioning from the starter town to Route 1. Game freezes the moment you leave the starter town.

To verify, I've changed the dimensions and landscape of the starter town as well as the Route. I've deleted the Oak script along with every script that took place outside. Movement permissions are changed and the connection is not to the original Route 1, but a new map altogether. I changed the new map's scripts and header to match up to the old one, however.
__________________
  #26504    
Old September 5th, 2013, 06:17 PM
Le pug's Avatar
Le pug
Creator of Pokémon: Discovery
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Le bed
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Is there a way to change the preset names for Pokemon Ruby?
__________________
Need help inserting tiles into AdvanceMap to have customized tiles for your hack?
• Check out my tutorial, Inserting Tiles Into AdvanceMap For Dummies
Click here to find out how to remove clouds from the Emerald titlescreen
• Check out the most updated Emereld Decapitalization Patch around by clicking here
• Need help fixing a gross bug in your hack? Let me show you how by clicking here
  #26505    
Old September 5th, 2013, 06:52 PM
awipe1's Avatar
awipe1
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Gender: Male
Hello!

So I am new to tileset insertion and I have been trying to insert this tileset! This is how it looks in advanced map.



And this is how it looks in my game!



Anyone know what i'm doing wrong? I'm editing tileset0 and I have changed some palettes around. With most tilesets, I have changed the behavior byte and background byte to 0 (because I thought that made it neutral)

I also haven't messed around with door animations or animated tilesets yet.

(NOTE: That the waves in the ROM are actually 'waving' so I don't know why it's doing that even after I changed the behaviour byte and background byte to 0)
__________________
Check out my Pokemon Rom! Click the Image Below!


Also I'm currently looking for a spriter for my ROM. Someone who can make OWs and possibly trainer sprites (I might make those myself). Message me if you would like to be a part of Pokemon Battle Brown!
NOTE: You wouldn't be designing your own sprites, I would be telling you what I needed, and you would make it for me ... as appealing as that sounds. I know it doesn't sound like a fun task, but if you want to be a part of this ROM, then that's what will happen. Also I would like to see some stuff you have made before I accept your offer.

Last edited by awipe1; September 5th, 2013 at 07:26 PM.
  #26506    
Old September 5th, 2013, 07:19 PM
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold
Oh Hai Thar~ 'ω'
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Quote:
Originally Posted by awipe1 View Post
Hello!

So I am new to tileset insertion and I have been trying to insert this tileset! This is how it looks in advanced map.



And this is how it looks in my game!

Nothing seems to be wrong if your game successfully displays a black image with white texts. =/

...seriously though, fix you image links.


Quote:
Originally Posted by awipe1 View Post
(NOTE: That the waves in the ROM are actually 'waving' so I don't know why it's doing that even after I changed the behaviour byte and background byte to 0)
That is probably because that the tiles you replaced are used by the ROM for animation. If you want to remove the 'waves', then you have to remove the animations that were applied on those tiles.

I suggest you use the Tileset Animation Editor by LU-HO.
__________________
  #26507    
Old September 5th, 2013, 07:29 PM
awipe1's Avatar
awipe1
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by destinedjagold View Post
That is probably because that the tiles you replaced are used by the ROM for animation. If you want to remove the 'waves', then you have to remove the animations that were applied on those tiles.

I suggest you use the Tileset Animation Editor by LU-HO.

Wouldn't that not matter if I had already changed the tileset behaviour? Are you saying any tileset that has an animation assosiated with it, won't work until I fix the animation?
__________________
Check out my Pokemon Rom! Click the Image Below!


Also I'm currently looking for a spriter for my ROM. Someone who can make OWs and possibly trainer sprites (I might make those myself). Message me if you would like to be a part of Pokemon Battle Brown!
NOTE: You wouldn't be designing your own sprites, I would be telling you what I needed, and you would make it for me ... as appealing as that sounds. I know it doesn't sound like a fun task, but if you want to be a part of this ROM, then that's what will happen. Also I would like to see some stuff you have made before I accept your offer.
  #26508    
Old September 6th, 2013, 12:55 AM
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold
Oh Hai Thar~ 'ω'
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Quote:
Originally Posted by awipe1 View Post
Wouldn't that not matter if I had already changed the tileset behaviour? Are you saying any tileset that has an animation assosiated with it, won't work until I fix the animation?
Yes. I experienced this with my cancelled hack: SkyLine.
__________________
  #26509    
Old September 6th, 2013, 03:37 AM
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by destinedjagold View Post
Yes. I experienced this with my cancelled hack: SkyLine.
Animations are really easy. NarutoActor wrote a tutorial on it.

Awipe1: What you are seeing there, is called the bg. If all three layers of a map are empty, that is the default. Bg. Lets say you make a 100% transparent tile. That is what you will see. Now, I have no idea why this would be appearing, since your tiles are fine in A-map.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #26510    
Old September 6th, 2013, 08:36 AM
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech
アルファ近く
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote:
Originally Posted by dudebot View Post
Having trouble transitioning from the starter town to Route 1. Game freezes the moment you leave the starter town.

To verify, I've changed the dimensions and landscape of the starter town as well as the Route. I've deleted the Oak script along with every script that took place outside. Movement permissions are changed and the connection is not to the original Route 1, but a new map altogether. I changed the new map's scripts and header to match up to the old one, however.
Saving with states on the map you are editing makes it go nuts. You'll have to restart the save game (not editing the game)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Le pug View Post
Is there a way to change the preset names for Pokemon Ruby?
What preset names? Be specific.
__________________

Last edited by GoGoJJTech; September 6th, 2013 at 08:37 AM. Reason: Your double post has been automatically merged.
  #26511    
Old September 6th, 2013, 03:33 PM
dudebot's Avatar
dudebot
Glowing Yellow
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Nomnom Town
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via Skype™ to dudebot
Quote:
Originally Posted by gogojjtech View Post
Saving with states on the map you are editing makes it go nuts. You'll have to restart the save game (not editing the game)
Did it, it didn't work. It freezes completely. The music, the movement, everything. Really not trying to start with a new ROM or anything.
__________________
  #26512    
Old September 6th, 2013, 06:15 PM
Teh Blazer's Avatar
Teh Blazer
Divider of Zero
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: 'MERICA
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Quote:
Originally Posted by dudebot View Post
Did it, it didn't work. It freezes completely. The music, the movement, everything. Really not trying to start with a new ROM or anything.
Happens to me all the time. What I've found helpful is to remove all of the map connections in Advance Map and then add them back in, that usually fixes the problem for me. But you'll still have to exit the map via warp or something and then come back to allow the map to change to its new modified settings.
__________________
Coming soon...
  #26513    
Old September 6th, 2013, 06:23 PM
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech
アルファ近く
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teh Blazer View Post
Happens to me all the time. What I've found helpful is to remove all of the map connections in Advance Map and then add them back in, that usually fixes the problem for me. But you'll still have to exit the map via warp or something and then come back to allow the map to change to its new modified settings.
Oh yeah, another reason to read this: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showpos...&postcount=304
__________________
  #26514    
Old September 6th, 2013, 07:54 PM
dudebot's Avatar
dudebot
Glowing Yellow
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Nomnom Town
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via Skype™ to dudebot
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teh Blazer View Post
Happens to me all the time. What I've found helpful is to remove all of the map connections in Advance Map and then add them back in, that usually fixes the problem for me. But you'll still have to exit the map via warp or something and then come back to allow the map to change to its new modified settings.
Could you go into a little more detail, if possible?
__________________
  #26515    
Old September 6th, 2013, 10:45 PM
Teh Blazer's Avatar
Teh Blazer
Divider of Zero
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: 'MERICA
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Quote:
Originally Posted by dudebot View Post
Could you go into a little more detail, if possible?
Yeah, like gogojjtech said, you should be using advance map 1.92 before anything else because 1.95 is 2cray2handle.

When you're in the map in advance map, in the upper area there should be a button with four arrows pointing in opposite directions, that button is the map connections. It's right next to the block editor, the button that looks like a puzzle piece. Found it yet? Good, click on it.

It should open another window with your map and the map it's connected to. Go down to the three bars that say "Add" "Remove" and "Save". They obviously mean what they're titled. Now, remove all of the map connections associated with that map. Kill it. All. Leave no survivors.

Then, press the "Add" button to add back all of those connections you just severed. There should be a little preview so you can see how your connection is gonna look in-game.

Direction is obvious, it's what direction your map is going to be connected to another map (ex: at the top of the map, left of the map, bottom of the map, or right of the map). Offset is, as far as I know, how much your map moves to the left or the right. I'm terrible at explaining things, but basically the connection most likely won't perfectly align the two maps and so you tinker with the offset to know how much to move one map to the left or the right so that they connect smoothly. Map bank and map number are obvious. And the zero out escapes me at the moment, maybe someone can clear that up for me.

Once you've remade all of the connections, you're done!... just kidding. You've done the connection on one side, but now you have to do it on the other map. If you don't, you'll be able to cross over one way but the game will freeze when you try to cross back. So just go to the next map that you wanted it connected to and do the same process.

That should do it, but tell me if it still isn't working. And don't forget, 1.92 not 1.95.
__________________
Coming soon...
  #26516    
Old September 7th, 2013, 08:06 PM
dudebot's Avatar
dudebot
Glowing Yellow
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Nomnom Town
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via Skype™ to dudebot
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teh Blazer View Post
Yeah, like gogojjtech said, you should be using advance map 1.92 before anything else because 1.95 is 2cray2handle.

When you're in the map in advance map, in the upper area there should be a button with four arrows pointing in opposite directions, that button is the map connections. It's right next to the block editor, the button that looks like a puzzle piece. Found it yet? Good, click on it.

It should open another window with your map and the map it's connected to. Go down to the three bars that say "Add" "Remove" and "Save". They obviously mean what they're titled. Now, remove all of the map connections associated with that map. Kill it. All. Leave no survivors.

Then, press the "Add" button to add back all of those connections you just severed. There should be a little preview so you can see how your connection is gonna look in-game.

Direction is obvious, it's what direction your map is going to be connected to another map (ex: at the top of the map, left of the map, bottom of the map, or right of the map). Offset is, as far as I know, how much your map moves to the left or the right. I'm terrible at explaining things, but basically the connection most likely won't perfectly align the two maps and so you tinker with the offset to know how much to move one map to the left or the right so that they connect smoothly. Map bank and map number are obvious. And the zero out escapes me at the moment, maybe someone can clear that up for me.

Once you've remade all of the connections, you're done!... just kidding. You've done the connection on one side, but now you have to do it on the other map. If you don't, you'll be able to cross over one way but the game will freeze when you try to cross back. So just go to the next map that you wanted it connected to and do the same process.

That should do it, but tell me if it still isn't working. And don't forget, 1.92 not 1.95.
So, it turns out that 1.95 was the problem. Someone on the team was using it.

. . . It was me.

Still, I didn't think it would be such a glitchy program. The features are even smoother on it. I was using it in conjunction with 1.92, but it looks like that all stops here.

Anywho, I really appreciate you and gogojjtech helping me out.
__________________
  #26517    
Old September 7th, 2013, 09:21 PM
gameguru's Avatar
gameguru
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Your Mind
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
When I use movesprite and movesprite2 on the player the camera doesn't follow. Is there a way to use movesprite on the camera? Or is there another way to make the player jump to a position?
P.S. applymovement will not work in this instance, I need the player to instantaneously move to a spot on the other side of the map.
  #26518    
Old September 7th, 2013, 09:40 PM
nabesean
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
I need some help with changing a types name in firered. specifically these:
psychic -> holy
flying -> air
bug -> beast

i am not adding types, i just need to change the names. i tried looking for the type icons in unlz with no luck. so if i could get some offsets or maybe a tool that i missed, the help would be appreciated.
  #26519    
Old September 8th, 2013, 02:03 AM
QuartierGenerale
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Hello,

i need to insert into my rom a certain number of trainers (leaders, elite 4, magma, ...).

Searching the site i've found two tutorial about this.

1. Using NSE: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=285168
2. Using UNZL: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=170502

In my past experience using UNZL had led some trouble...although I was careful about pointers, repoint every time is needed, some time a crash occour; obviously i had take a backup first, but some time is not so simple to realize that a crash has occoured.

So i'm really interested in the NSE solution, cause NSE (1.7) works very well with overworld.

In this killing of English language my question is: Is it a good way to insert trainer sprites and palettes with NSE? Or is still better using UNZL? Or is there another better way to do this?

Thanks a lot
  #26520    
Old September 8th, 2013, 06:15 AM
Wobbu's Avatar
Wobbu
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Cyllage City
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
NSE is the best way to go when inserting trainer sprites. Although I recommend any version 2.X. Here's a tutorial on using 2.X
__________________
  #26521    
Old September 8th, 2013, 08:44 AM
HyperXhydra's Avatar
HyperXhydra
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Gender: Male
Hello, the reason I don't like hacking FR/LG because they have only trainer, gym leader and champion music only, is there a way to make a battle theme for certain trainer class? like team rocket or elite four? hopefully it would be easy....
  #26522    
Old September 8th, 2013, 09:46 AM
Renegade's Avatar
Renegade
Time for real life...
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United States
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Quote:
Originally Posted by HyperXhydra View Post
Hello, the reason I don't like hacking FR/LG because they have only trainer, gym leader and champion music only, is there a way to make a battle theme for certain trainer class? like team rocket or elite four? hopefully it would be easy....
Of course! Here's a tutorial about it:
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=293704
  #26523    
Old September 8th, 2013, 10:20 AM
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech
アルファ近く
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote:
Originally Posted by HyperXhydra View Post
Hello, the reason I don't like hacking FR/LG because they have only trainer, gym leader and champion music only, is there a way to make a battle theme for certain trainer class? like team rocket or elite four? hopefully it would be easy....
ASM BY JAMBO51 PEOPLE! THIS IS WHY HE QUIT, NOBODY APPRECIATES HIS STUFF
__________________
  #26524    
Old September 8th, 2013, 11:04 AM
HyperXhydra's Avatar
HyperXhydra
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by gogojjtech View Post
ASM BY JAMBO51 PEOPLE! THIS IS WHY HE QUIT, NOBODY APPRECIATES HIS STUFF
Well if he made a patch for this or a tool I think more people would have appreciate his stuff
not everyone knows how to use asm...
But there's a youtube tutorial at least.
  #26525    
Old September 8th, 2013, 11:05 AM
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech
アルファ近く
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote:
Originally Posted by HyperXhydra View Post
Well if he made a patch for this or a tool I think more people would have appreciate his stuff
not everyone knows how to use hex editor...
But there's a youtube tutorial at least.
It's ASM though. You must have read Hackmew's tutorial on how to insert.
__________________
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links


Advertise here
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 12:21 PM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.