Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > Creative Discussions > Game Development > Pokémon Essentials
Reload this Page Bug & Error Reporting for Essentials Version 15.1 (unmodified)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Pokémon Essentials All questions and discussion about Pokémon Essentials, the Pokémon game kit for RPG Maker XP, go in here. Also contains links to the latest downloads and the Essentials Wiki.



Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #501    
Old July 12th, 2013 (03:01 PM).
Maruno's Avatar
Maruno Maruno is offline
Lead Dev of Pokémon Essentials
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England
Posts: 4,149
Ah, I see. The NPc just uses the wrong Switch in its Conditions for page 2 - it should use Switch 25 instead.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #502    
Old July 19th, 2013 (12:06 PM).
AmethystRain's Avatar
AmethystRain AmethystRain is offline
Crystaline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Gender: Female
Posts: 235
Tested in unmodified Essentials, an opponent with the move Stored Power (reported working by the wiki) will never take any action. The player will continue to be able to do so.
__________________
With Love, Your Shadow~
Proud owner of Reborn and spearhead of the Pokemon Reborn game~
Reply With Quote
  #503    
Old July 19th, 2013 (02:54 PM).
Maruno's Avatar
Maruno Maruno is offline
Lead Dev of Pokémon Essentials
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England
Posts: 4,149
Quote originally posted by AmethystRain:
Tested in unmodified Essentials, an opponent with the move Stored Power (reported working by the wiki) will never take any action. The player will continue to be able to do so.
That's a bug in the AI for function code 8E. Change it to behave like 8F's AI code (but using the attacker's stages, of course).
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #504    
Old July 27th, 2013 (07:09 PM).
AmethystRain's Avatar
AmethystRain AmethystRain is offline
Crystaline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Gender: Female
Posts: 235
When a Pokemon holding a Lum Berry recovers from a status condition, the message displayed says that it recovered from Confusion even if confusion was not the condition afflicted.

Shown in video for my project here, but I definitely haven't touched that script: https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=JaFYCTdgtXg&t=1138
__________________
With Love, Your Shadow~
Proud owner of Reborn and spearhead of the Pokemon Reborn game~
Reply With Quote
  #505    
Old July 28th, 2013 (06:52 PM).
Joltik's Avatar
Joltik Joltik is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 112
If an opponent's pokemon faints by a U-Turn attack, no experience is gained, and the pokemon sprite won't leave the scene until the next opponent's pokemon comes into play (when a sudden change happens).
Reply With Quote
  #506    
Old July 30th, 2013 (02:10 AM).
dexter1o6 dexter1o6 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Age: 27
Gender: Male
Posts: 64
Hi,

I'm not whether to post this here, as it is not really a bug or an error. I'm also not sure whether this was already posted.

Anyway, I am working on adding a third type to a pokemon. This is quite a change so I am going through some pieces of code.

In the script PokeBattle_Move, around line 805, I stumbled upon this:

Spoiler:

# Charge
if attacker.effects[PBEffects::Charge]>0 && isConst?(type,PBTypes,:ELECTRIC)
damage=(damage*1.5).floor
end


Now I thought Charge was supposed to double the damage. It also says so on Bulbapedia (not sure whether this is sacred though). As I read the code, it multipies by 1.5, while it should say 2.

Am I right or am I seeing things (as usual)?
Reply With Quote
  #507    
Old July 30th, 2013 (01:38 PM).
Maruno's Avatar
Maruno Maruno is offline
Lead Dev of Pokémon Essentials
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England
Posts: 4,149
Quote originally posted by dexter1o6:
Hi,

I'm not whether to post this here, as it is not really a bug or an error. I'm also not sure whether this was already posted.

Anyway, I am working on adding a third type to a pokemon. This is quite a change so I am going through some pieces of code.

In the script PokeBattle_Move, around line 805, I stumbled upon this:

Spoiler:

# Charge
if attacker.effects[PBEffects::Charge]>0 && isConst?(type,PBTypes,:ELECTRIC)
damage=(damage*1.5).floor
end


Now I thought Charge was supposed to double the damage. It also says so on Bulbapedia (not sure whether this is sacred though). As I read the code, it multipies by 1.5, while it should say 2.

Am I right or am I seeing things (as usual)?
You're right, Essentials currently has Charge adding 50% to the power of Electric moves rather than doubling it, and yes, Charge should double power.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #508    
Old July 31st, 2013 (07:14 AM). Edited July 31st, 2013 by lauerolus.
lauerolus's Avatar
lauerolus lauerolus is offline
Blah
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 226
Just so I know I'm not crazy, Flinching removing a turn doesn't work right? It says it happened but doesn't take a turn away?

I just downloaded and unrared a fresh copy to make sure it isn't any sort of edits of mine to cause it. I tested it with a 100% and 99% chance Iron Head.
__________________
Pokemon Rebalanced: Red
Where every Pokemon is useful.
Reply With Quote
  #509    
Old August 3rd, 2013 (04:37 PM).
Maruno's Avatar
Maruno Maruno is offline
Lead Dev of Pokémon Essentials
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England
Posts: 4,149
Quote originally posted by Daedalus:
In the version that was released today: going to the options screen then exiting messes with the windowskin. Badly.
Prove it. I can't replicate any problem with the Options screen and windowskins. I haven't even touched those scripts.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #510    
Old August 11th, 2013 (02:05 AM).
Nickalooose Nickalooose is offline
--------------------
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Gender: Female
Posts: 1,135
I have no idea where I'm supposed to post bugs for 12.2... So I will post it here until told otherwise.

Code:
class PokeBattle_Trainer
  attr_reader(:name)
  attr_accessor(:id)
  attr_accessor(:trainertype)
  attr_accessor(:badges)
  attr_accessor(:money)
  attr_accessor(:seen)
  attr_accessor(:owned)
  attr_accessor(:formseen)
  attr_accessor(:formlastseen)
  attr_accessor(:shadowcaught)
  attr_accessor(:party)
  attr_accessor(:pokedex)    # Whether the Pokédex was obtained
  attr_accessor(:pokegear)   # Whether the Pokégear was obtained
  attr_accessor(:language)
I don't know if you know, but if you try to use the debug, changing your name, it will crash out. The fix is simple enough. But thought I'd let you know anyway.

EDIT:
Forgot the error haha
Spoiler:

Exception: NoMethodError
Message: undefined method `name=' for #<PokeBattle_Trainer:0xaadf2e8>
PokemonDebug:457:in `pbDebugMenu'
Reply With Quote
  #511    
Old September 3rd, 2013 (02:53 AM). Edited September 3rd, 2013 by TACHAN.
TACHAN TACHAN is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Gender: Female
Posts: 170
There is a bug in the following event:

Quote:
Condition and effects: xScript --> $PokemonGlobal.lastbattle! =nil
script: pbPlayLastBattle
It does not work well, acts as if it was the same battle that you had record before in the Tower Battles, but is not a video, you can choose that you order to give your pokemon. (FIGHT, RUN, BAG or RUN)

Your pokemon will miss almost all the attacks that you use in this battle. (The same thing happens with the Pokemon of the rival)

I don't know if I have explained well.


EDIT: I found other bug:
When you take part in the contest of the National Park, in the battle there goes out the menu "Pokemon" and "Ball" changed site.
If you choose the menu "Pokemon", the trainer throws the Sport Ball. If you choose "Ball", you enter to the menu of observing the Pokemon team.


All that in a clean essential 12.2
Reply With Quote
  #512    
Old September 12th, 2013 (10:31 PM).
Takyon!'s Avatar
Takyon! Takyon! is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 19
So, I recently discovered Essentials and I'm loving it. However, a rather vexing bug showed up when I tried to create an event for a door transfer.

I wanted to have a door transfer the player to another spot, specifically inside a building. I had written the event correctly, double-checking my work and such. I save my progress and go to playtest the game. I then approached the door, to which the game performed the necessary movements and animations for entering the door, but once I got inside the building, it was black everywhere on the map and an error message popped up. (picture 1)

Exception: NoMethodError
Message: unidentified method 'unlock' for nil:NilClass
Interpreter:512:in 'command end'
Interpreter:295:in 'execute command'
Interpreter:193:in 'update'
Interpreter:106:in 'loop'
Interpreter:198:in 'update'
Scene_Map:103:in 'update'
Scene_Map:101:in 'loop'
Scene_Map:114:in 'update'
Scene_Map:68:in 'main'
Scene_Map:65:in 'loop'

I've tried looking this error up online, but to no avail. Apparently, this is an unknown problem within the wiki. So, I went to do a third check on the event: nothing wrong there. Except, on page two, when I made the conditional branch for Event page 2, I noticed that it made another command branch of "else," implying that there could be another option for accessing this door. I looked up how to event doors entering on the wiki, but the wiki page for it never talked about an "else" branch. (picture 2)

Anyways, I'd like to know if there is an answer to this problem yet. The article response for the bug problem was last updated in November, 2011, so there might have been a fix or two in the nearly two years after its discovery.

Thanks for your time and patience.

EDIT: I tried to post links to the source threads, but this site does not allow users who have posted less than 15 times on the forums to post links. I'm a new member and I don't want to get banned for making 15 irrelevant spam posts to meet this criteria, so PM me on here if you would like to see my sources.
Attached Thumbnails
bug.png‎   bug2.png‎  
Reply With Quote
  #513    
Old September 13th, 2013 (03:34 AM).
Nickalooose Nickalooose is offline
--------------------
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Gender: Female
Posts: 1,135
Right click the conditional branch on page 2 and untick the box at the bottom labelled:
"Set handling when conditions do not apply".
I'm not sure why this is causing a problem though.
Reply With Quote
  #514    
Old September 13th, 2013 (09:09 AM).
Takyon!'s Avatar
Takyon! Takyon! is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 19
Quote originally posted by Nickalooose:
Right click the conditional branch on page 2 and untick the box at the bottom labelled:
"Set handling when conditions do not apply".
I'm not sure why this is causing a problem though.
Thanks for the expedient response. Unfortunately, I received another error message, this time it's different. (Pictured).

So, I then tried copying a door event that was still in the essentials tutorial, fixing where the door would lead the character to be where I wanted the character to go. Instead, I got the same error message.

Could the problem be my map? If so, how would I rectify this?
Click image for larger version

Name:	bug3.png
Views:	9
Size:	31.3 KB
ID:	69593
Reply With Quote
  #515    
Old September 13th, 2013 (09:51 AM).
Nickalooose Nickalooose is offline
--------------------
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Gender: Female
Posts: 1,135
I recently saw that error message in a test game I made... It was because I didn't have a graphic in my graphics folder, maybe your error now is that you're missing a graphic that was originally there, but is not anymore.
Reply With Quote
  #516    
Old September 13th, 2013 (09:56 AM).
Takyon!'s Avatar
Takyon! Takyon! is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 19
So, I'm assuming that I need to go hunt down a graphic then? For any ideas as to how I could accomplish this?

Also, thanks for your help and expediency!
Reply With Quote
  #517    
Old October 28th, 2013 (05:54 AM).
Rakyu's Avatar
Rakyu Rakyu is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Australia
Gender: Male
Posts: 14
So I figured I'd post this here because, while it is rather minor, it is still a bug. Also, I'm not entirely sure if this has been reported (and solved) earlier but my quick, pre-emptive search didn't turn up anything so I'm just assuming that it hasn't been.

Anyway, the bug I came across was that the game/kit was (seemingly) not storing or retrieving the base EXP values of opponent Pokemon. I did a long and thorough search (which took me through the compiler and that was fun) and found the source of the issue.

As it stands, the base EXP value is being stored across two bytes but the method baseEXP in PokemonBattle_Pokemon is only retrieving the first. So the base EXP for any given Pokemon can only be a value between 0 and 255. It was pretty easy to fix (after some searching anyway; I hadn't done a lot with bitwise operations prior to this) but I'll just include the code below:

Code:
def baseExp
  dexdata=pbOpenDexData
  pbDexDataOffset(dexdata,@species,38)
  ret1=dexdata.fgetb
  pbDexDataOffset(dexdata,@species,39)
  ret2=dexdata.fgetb
  dexdata.close
  ret=(ret2<<8)+ret1
  return ret
end
Hope this helps.
__________________
Pokemon HeartGold FC: 1677 6419 8292
Reply With Quote
  #518    
Old October 28th, 2013 (06:04 AM).
Maruno's Avatar
Maruno Maruno is offline
Lead Dev of Pokémon Essentials
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England
Posts: 4,149
Alternatively, just change a "b" to a "w":
Code:
  def baseExp
    dexdata=pbOpenDexData
    pbDexDataOffset(dexdata,@species,38)
    ret=dexdata.fgetw
    dexdata.close
    return ret
  end
Thanks for pointing it out.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #519    
Old November 18th, 2013 (07:04 AM).
Delta Stream's Avatar
Delta Stream Delta Stream is offline
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: California
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 1,443
I put some roamers in my game and decided to test them out. Upon encountering one, which was Entei, I thought it was fine. So I decided to try to find another one, this one was Raikou. Upon going to Raikou's area, I was greeted by an Entei instead. Since my game has modified scripts, I decided to test this with a clean copy of Essentials. I turned on the switch for Latias and Latios in the clean copy of Essentials. I went and encountered Latios. After that, I purposefully went to go find and encounter Latias. Latios came up where Latias was supposed to be! Next, I tried catching "Latios". I caught "Latios" and checked if I actually caught "Latios". It said I caught Latias!

So it's not just my game.

tl;dr Only one roamer can show up, and it will always take over a different roamer after seeing that one roamer!
__________________
A mysterious air current protects Flying-type Pokémon!
Reply With Quote
  #520    
Old November 18th, 2013 (08:36 AM).
Maruno's Avatar
Maruno Maruno is offline
Lead Dev of Pokémon Essentials
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England
Posts: 4,149
So much for me thinking I'd actually fixed roaming Pokémon. This is really becoming a Herobrine for Essentials.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #521    
Old December 2nd, 2013 (06:33 PM).
DarkGrey's Avatar
DarkGrey DarkGrey is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Gender: Female
Posts: 47
So after starting a new game, I get the pokedex and pokegear. Then when trying to look at my party by clicking on pokemon, I get this:

Code:
Exception: RuntimeError

Message: filename is nil

SpriteWindow:218:in `initialize'

PokemonSprite:113:in `new'

PokemonSprite:113:in `pokemon='

PokemonSprite:99:in `initialize'

PokemonParty:341:in `new'

PokemonParty:341:in `initialize'

PokemonParty:614:in `new'

PokemonParty:614:in `pbStartScene'

PokemonParty:612:in `each'

PokemonParty:612:in `pbStartScene'
Pretty sure it is because I haven't downloaded the pokemon pack and added it in.
Reply With Quote
  #522    
Old December 3rd, 2013 (01:01 AM).
Deouen's Avatar
Deouen Deouen is offline
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Canada, BC
Posts: 358
Found a (minor) bug with mega evolution in Version 13.

If you opt out of using the fightbox (USEFIGHTBOX = false in PokeBattle_SceneConstants), there's no mega button.

Have an unnecessary .gif of it, since I've reported something that was a fault on my end before and I still feel stupid about that haha.
__________________
I have a Twitter.
Why not post your game on Relic Castle?
I'm sure you have a lovely game. <3
Reply With Quote
  #523    
Old December 3rd, 2013 (04:00 AM).
Maruno's Avatar
Maruno Maruno is offline
Lead Dev of Pokémon Essentials
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England
Posts: 4,149
Quote originally posted by DarkGrey:
So after starting a new game, I get the pokedex and pokegear. Then when trying to look at my party by clicking on pokemon, I get this:

Pretty sure it is because I haven't downloaded the pokemon pack and added it in.
What makes you think it would work if you don't have all the necessary resources?

Quote originally posted by Daedalus:
Found a (minor) bug with mega evolution in Version 13.

If you opt out of using the fightbox (USEFIGHTBOX = false in PokeBattle_SceneConstants), there's no mega button.
I really don't care about that. I don't know why anyone would get rid of the graphics.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #524    
Old December 3rd, 2013 (06:02 AM).
gia22 gia22 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 5
can you help me please?
when i run the game appears a message:
script 'SpriteWindows' line 218: Runtime error occurred
file name is nil.
what can i do to make the game work?
Reply With Quote
  #525    
Old December 3rd, 2013 (06:30 AM).
Maruno's Avatar
Maruno Maruno is offline
Lead Dev of Pokémon Essentials
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England
Posts: 4,149
Quote originally posted by gia22:
can you help me please?
when i run the game appears a message:
script 'SpriteWindows' line 218: Runtime error occurred
file name is nil.
what can i do to make the game work?
Try looking at DarkGrey's post which is 3 above yours. Then look at my response which is directly above yours.

Please don't repeatedly ask questions - that's spam.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 05:07 PM.