The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.


Advertise here

Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #26701    
Old September 25th, 2013, 11:24 PM
Garuga17's Avatar
Garuga17
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Indonesia
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed

Advertise here
Quote:
Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post


As long as the script is shorter or the same size (in bytes, not lines) than the original. Hit F1 in XSE to bring up the command database, which tells you how many bytes each command needs.

So, if i only change small things, like Pokemon ID, or levels, or Music ID, or anything that involve "0x(blahblah)" it would not affect? Thx for your answer anyway :D
__________________
dunno what to write here....
  #26702    
Old September 26th, 2013, 04:34 AM
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by Garuga17 View Post
So, if i only change small things, like Pokemon ID, or levels, or Music ID, or anything that involve "0x(blahblah)" it would not affect? Thx for your answer anyway :D
Yes, corruption only takes place when the number of new bytes is greater than the number of old. So, if you only change the existing bytes, and not the commands, you will be fine.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #26703    
Old September 26th, 2013, 06:56 AM
Sliter's Avatar
Sliter
Gaijin Trainer
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Brazil
Nature: Timid
Send a message via Skype™ to Sliter
There is any way to export the text files from platinum in separated files for each .bin file in pl_msg.narc ?
getting in .bin with crystal title I couldn't find a way to open/convert them to xml or editable text
With thenewpoketext I can only get all the game text in one file(And it make my oldy pc frooze when I want to open), should be better if I could get them apart, like we can see in some editors like in SDSME or Ds text editor but I can't export/import them from there, there's any way?
  #26704    
Old September 26th, 2013, 11:46 AM
Hacker Bisharp's Avatar
Hacker Bisharp
Bug reporter
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
I'm trying to transalte an hack. I want to transalte this test:

But when i search it on advance text there are some weird "thing" before the test.

Why?
__________________
Hacks I support:

And i'm a good bug reporter. Contact me if you want :D

  #26705    
Old September 26th, 2013, 08:23 PM
awipe1's Avatar
awipe1
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hacker Bisharp View Post
I'm trying to transalte an hack. I want to transalte this test:

But when i search it on advance text there are some weird "thing" before the test.

Why?
Advanced Text is VERY buggy and unreliable.

I would recommend just opening the script up with XSE from advanced map and editing it from there.

However even that process is not 100% correct.

Make a while new script and complite it, use that offset in place of the offset you are trying to replace.

Does that make sence?
__________________
Check out my Pokemon Rom! Click the Image Below!


Also I'm currently looking for a spriter for my ROM. Someone who can make OWs and possibly trainer sprites (I might make those myself). Message me if you would like to be a part of Pokemon Battle Brown!
NOTE: You wouldn't be designing your own sprites, I would be telling you what I needed, and you would make it for me ... as appealing as that sounds. I know it doesn't sound like a fun task, but if you want to be a part of this ROM, then that's what will happen. Also I would like to see some stuff you have made before I accept your offer.
  #26706    
Old September 26th, 2013, 08:51 PM
chrunch's Avatar
chrunch
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Gender: Male
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to chrunch
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hacker Bisharp View Post
I'm trying to transalte an hack. I want to transalte this test:

But when i search it on advance text there are some weird "thing" before the test.

Why?
The simplest thing to do is open up XSE for your script, click on the decompile button in the top right, translate the text, then click compile again. Just make sure the translated message isn't bigger than the original text!
__________________
  #26707    
Old September 26th, 2013, 09:15 PM
Nelsyv's Avatar
Nelsyv
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Gender: Male
So I got a little test map of Pallet Town going and everything is working so far, but for some reason whenever I walk downwards towards a tile that you can't walk on, a white and green flashing arrow appears. I think it may be related to movement permissions, but I'm not sure; it doesn't make any difference to the actual gameplay but it's annoying. Any suggestions as to how I can remove it?

If it helps, I used the following movement permissions in AM: "C" for the places you can walk, "1" for where you cannot, and "4" for where you can surf.
__________________

I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this in your signature.
92% of teens moved onto rap. If you are part of the 8% who listens to real music, copy and paste this into your signature.
  #26708    
Old September 27th, 2013, 01:59 AM
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nelsyv View Post
So I got a little test map of Pallet Town going and everything is working so far, but for some reason whenever I walk downwards towards a tile that you can't walk on, a white and green flashing arrow appears. I think it may be related to movement permissions, but I'm not sure; it doesn't make any difference to the actual gameplay but it's annoying. Any suggestions as to how I can remove it?

If it helps, I used the following movement permissions in AM: "C" for the places you can walk, "1" for where you cannot, and "4" for where you can surf.
I think I know the issue, but can I see a screen shot to confirm?
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #26709    
Old September 27th, 2013, 11:32 AM
Nelsyv's Avatar
Nelsyv
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
I think I know the issue, but can I see a screen shot to confirm?
I can't post images yet, but here are the links:

oi39 dot tinypic dot com/2nu2fqd dot jpg

oi44 dot tinypic dot com/14cwjg0 dot jpg
  #26710    
Old September 27th, 2013, 11:33 AM
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech
GoGo
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nelsyv View Post
I can't post images yet, but here are the links:

oi39 dot tinypic dot com/2nu2fqd dot jpg

oi44 dot tinypic dot com/14cwjg0 dot jpg
That's just because the tile has an attribute of warp down of hero. So in the tiles editor in A-map 1.92 fix it.
__________________
  #26711    
Old September 27th, 2013, 11:51 AM
Nelsyv's Avatar
Nelsyv
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by gogojjtech View Post
That's just because the tile has an attribute of warp down of hero. So in the tiles editor in A-map 1.92 fix it.
How do you get to the tiles editor? I looked around but I couldn't find it...
  #26712    
Old September 27th, 2013, 11:51 AM
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech
GoGo
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nelsyv View Post
How do you get to the tiles editor? I looked around but I couldn't find it...
It looks like a puzzle piece near the top
__________________
  #26713    
Old September 27th, 2013, 11:57 AM
Nelsyv's Avatar
Nelsyv
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by gogojjtech View Post
It looks like a puzzle piece near the top
Ah ok thanks. It says "Block editor" in my copy of AM so I wasn't sure if it was something different... Either way, that fixed it. Thanks a lot! :D
  #26714    
Old September 27th, 2013, 02:23 PM
CRaTeR's Avatar
CRaTeR
Emperor of Aragon
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Send a message via Skype™ to CRaTeR
I tried searching the thread, but "TM" didn't get any results.

Is it possible to create a new TM using just the Item Manager or another Item Tool, or do I need to use a hex editor?
  #26715    
Old September 27th, 2013, 03:13 PM
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech
GoGo
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote:
Originally Posted by CRaTeR View Post
I tried searching the thread, but "TM" didn't get any results.

Is it possible to create a new TM using just the Item Manager or another Item Tool, or do I need to use a hex editor?
You must create ASM routines, use a save block hack, expand the bag's length, Expand all pokemon moveset compatibility to include for the new TMs, etc.
I think you get the point
__________________
  #26716    
Old September 27th, 2013, 03:23 PM
CRaTeR's Avatar
CRaTeR
Emperor of Aragon
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Send a message via Skype™ to CRaTeR
Quote:
Originally Posted by gogojjtech View Post
You must create ASM routines, use a save block hack, expand the bag's length, Expand all pokemon moveset compatibility to include for the new TMs, etc.
I think you get the point
Ah, gotcha. That's disappointing, but thanks for the quick answer.
  #26717    
Old September 27th, 2013, 05:42 PM
PokéMew151's Avatar
PokéMew151
A quest Within the Endo Region
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: The Endo Region
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Sorry, got another question...
Is there any sort of way I can create my own pokeball that I designed, mabe using unlz gba to design it or something like that, and if so how would I make it work? (Example: pokeball has ___chance catching pokémon. My pokeball has ???? Chance of catching)
__________________

Introducing my new hack Pokémon Fuchsia,
being released in early 2015!

I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this in your signature.
PokéMew151
  #26718    
Old September 27th, 2013, 06:54 PM
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech
GoGo
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote:
Originally Posted by PokéMew151 View Post
Sorry, got another question...
Is there any sort of way I can create my own pokeball that I designed, mabe using unlz gba to design it or something like that, and if so how would I make it work? (Example: pokeball has ___chance catching pokémon. My pokeball has ???? Chance of catching)
You would need to expand item table, item image table, item effect table, add the image, pal, maybe custom ASM so it can function, all that Jazz.
__________________
  #26719    
Old September 27th, 2013, 11:21 PM
daniilS's Avatar
daniilS
busy trying to do stuff not done yet
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by PokéMew151 View Post
Sorry, got another question...
Is there any sort of way I can create my own pokeball that I designed, mabe using unlz gba to design it or something like that, and if so how would I make it work? (Example: pokeball has ___chance catching pokémon. My pokeball has ???? Chance of catching)
I'm currently researching ball hacking myself. this post by JPAN explains how to make a ball with a predefined catchrate.This post explains how to create items themselves. With some asm knowledge, you can create balls with a variable rate. What I am trying to figure out is the throwing animation.
  #26720    
Old September 28th, 2013, 12:43 AM
Lori55
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
I'm really sorry if I'm writing this in the wrong section, But I need a guide to edit stationary pokemon levels on HG SS for my hack, I also need to change the levels of the gift pokemon.
  #26721    
Old September 28th, 2013, 04:00 AM
Gigabyyyte's Avatar
Gigabyyyte
Exploring the world of Kalos!
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Hmm, got a question here.

How do I create custom evolution stones? I know Jambo51 has this ASM hack on it, but I really need it for my hack. Does anybody else here know how?
__________________


Hey, I'm on NLSC! Yup, right heeere: http://forums.nba-live.com/memberlis...rofile&u=75053
  #26722    
Old September 28th, 2013, 06:10 AM
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech
GoGo
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gigabyyyte View Post
Hmm, got a question here.

How do I create custom evolution stones? I know Jambo51 has this ASM hack on it, but I really need it for my hack. Does anybody else here know how?
Karatekid has a thread on it. Here: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=296729
__________________
  #26723    
Old September 28th, 2013, 08:18 AM
Gigabyyyte's Avatar
Gigabyyyte
Exploring the world of Kalos!
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Quote:
Originally Posted by gogojjtech View Post
Karatekid has a thread on it. Here: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=296729
TOO COOL! Thanks a lot, gogojjtech. :D
__________________


Hey, I'm on NLSC! Yup, right heeere: http://forums.nba-live.com/memberlis...rofile&u=75053
  #26724    
Old September 28th, 2013, 10:17 AM
Misledangel
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
how do u hack :/ habitats data of pokedex in firered ? i.e what if i want a pokemon to appear in rare ?
  #26725    
Old September 28th, 2013, 08:05 PM
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by Misledangel View Post
how do u hack :/ habitats data of pokedex in firered ? i.e what if i want a pokemon to appear in rare ?
Advance map, wild data tab for that map. There will be a table. The first slot is the most common, the last slot is the rarest.
__________________

Paired with Simba
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links


Advertise here
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 07:34 PM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.