Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Reload this Page [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #27951    
Old January 1st, 2014 (03:51 AM).
~Pokedude~ ~Pokedude~ is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 16
As far as i know, this is only one image in the ROM, which gamefreak changes it's color
depending on the type of the attack.
  #27952    
Old January 1st, 2014 (06:18 AM).
Aruaruu Aruaruu is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Gender: Male
Posts: 181
Does anybody know how to edit base stats of Deoxys? In the various editors I tried, it just showed the stats of the normal form, which is used during the battle against it I am guessing.
I opened the ROM in a hex editor and searched for the base stats of the speed form (Since my ROM is Emerald,) but it didn't find anything.
  #27953    
Old January 1st, 2014 (08:02 AM).
~Pokedude~ ~Pokedude~ is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 16
How can I make the script wait, until the assembler code is finished?
I tried waitstate after the callasm but the script just crashes then
  #27954    
Old January 1st, 2014 (09:11 AM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by ~Pokedude~:
How can I make the script wait, until the assembler code is finished?
I tried waitstate after the callasm but the script just crashes then
It should wait automatically. GBA doesn't support multi-threading, so it literally has to. Can I see your asm?
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #27955    
Old January 1st, 2014 (09:18 AM). Edited January 1st, 2014 by Tlachtli.
Tlachtli's Avatar
Tlachtli Tlachtli is offline
Crit happens.
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Faraway place
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 256
Quote originally posted by ~Pokedude~:
As far as i know, this is only one image in the ROM, which gamefreak changes it's color
depending on the type of the attack.
Hrm, any idea where this image might be located then? The dragon- and ???-type ones are multicolored so it may be split into two half images, but again I didn't find the base for them even with the unLZ deep scan. I figured they'd be with or near the Type/Power/Accuracy images, but I couldn't find those either

I'm betting they'll be part of a menu tilemap or something
__________________
Pokemon Sigma Σmerald:

A Gen 3 remake de-make, (soon to be) featuring many Gen VI mechanics
  #27956    
Old January 1st, 2014 (09:34 AM).
tommyonline's Avatar
tommyonline tommyonline is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Gender:
Posts: 14
Is there an overworld sprite editor for Diamond\Pearl yet?
__________________
Diamond Version - Lucas - Team: Torterra, Bastiodon, Lickilicky, Mamoswine, Snorlax, Rotom
Platinum Version - Berlitz - Empoleon, Rapidash, Lopunny, Froslass, Cherrim, Pachirisu
HeartGold Version - Ethan - Typhlosion, Politoed, Ambipom, Sunflora, Sudowoodo, Togekiss
SoulSilver Version - Lyra - Meganium, Jynx, Arcanine, Xatu, Marowak, Parasect
Black Version - Hilbert - Emboar, Braviary, Galvantula, Caracosta, Musharna, Reshiram
Black 2 Version - Rose - Serperior, Alomomola, Stunfisk, Reuniclus, Mandibuzz, Zekrom
  #27957    
Old January 1st, 2014 (09:57 AM).
LuxrayHacker's Avatar
LuxrayHacker LuxrayHacker is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Narnia
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Mild
Posts: 168
How do you make a scripted loss? Like for example in the beginning of my hack I want a fight with a level 70 Giratina right after getting your starter but I want it to be when you lose the game continues instead of making you continue the battle until you win. Like right after your pokemon faint you would "wake up" in your room... How would I do this?
  #27958    
Old January 1st, 2014 (10:39 AM).
Tlachtli's Avatar
Tlachtli Tlachtli is offline
Crit happens.
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Faraway place
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 256
Quote originally posted by Tlachtli:
Hrm, any idea where this image might be located then? The dragon- and ???-type ones are multicolored so it may be split into two half images, but again I didn't find the base for them even with the unLZ deep scan. I figured they'd be with or near the Type/Power/Accuracy images, but I couldn't find those either

I'm betting they'll be part of a menu tilemap or something
Well I feel silly. I couldn't find them in unLZ because they weren't compressed images After sorting through a couple regions of interest in NSE, I managed to find them.

In BPEE they're found at 0xDC4378 and use the palette at 0xDC4338, in case anyone else is curious. PNG attached below.
Attached Images
File Type: png DC4378 (DC4338).png‎ (2.8 KB, 6 views) (Save to Dropbox)
__________________
Pokemon Sigma Σmerald:

A Gen 3 remake de-make, (soon to be) featuring many Gen VI mechanics
  #27959    
Old January 1st, 2014 (11:46 AM). Edited January 1st, 2014 by Merak.
Merak's Avatar
Merak Merak is offline
Because reasons.
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 250
Quote originally posted by Luxray1:
How do you make a scripted loss? Like for example in the beginning of my hack I want a fight with a level 70 Giratina right after getting your starter but I want it to be when you lose the game continues instead of making you continue the battle until you win. Like right after your pokemon faint you would "wake up" in your room... How would I do this?
Hmm, that could be tricky.


Maybe make it so the player's location after losing the battle(where they'll reappear, like when you lose a battle and return just outside of a pokemon center) is the bed in their room or something.
If that doesn't work out, then ASM might be needed to create some alternative battle form or something...

Quote originally posted by Aruaruu:
Does anybody know how to edit base stats of Deoxys? In the various editors I tried, it just showed the stats of the normal form, which is used during the battle against it I am guessing.
I opened the ROM in a hex editor and searched for the base stats of the speed form (Since my ROM is Emerald,) but it didn't find anything.


There is only one form of deoxys in each version of the GBA games(sorta).
- attack and defense go for FR and LG(forget which gets which)
- R/S get speed I think
- emerald gets normal.


So there is only one deoxys form in emerald.
(correct me if I'm wrong somebody)

Now for another question of my own.


I can't recall if I saw anything that helped with this or not.


Okay, lets say I have a hack that's already been started a bit, but on a regular FR rom (BPRE). If I wanted to add JPAN's hacked engine, would I patch the rom with the hack followed by the engine, or would I patch the engine on first? Or (and I'd expect this) is there some other process to follow to apply the hack and hacked engine onto a rom?
Or is that just not possible?


I have the same question for MrDollSteak's decapped rom base.


Thank you to anybody who decides to help here.
__________________
"it is nearly 11 pm and we're discussing an alien eating the personification of humanity's evil desires
help"


Credit for the userbar goes to xVaporeon; credit for the avatar goes to Snakeyem12.
  #27960    
Old January 1st, 2014 (01:47 PM).
~Pokedude~ ~Pokedude~ is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 16
JPAN made a hack-tool-applier, which is included in his zip-folder.
You simply choose which hacks you want to insert, it automatically searches new offsets for it.

@karatekid: I fixed it myself, but thanks for that information
  #27961    
Old January 1st, 2014 (02:26 PM).
Merak's Avatar
Merak Merak is offline
Because reasons.
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 250
Quote originally posted by ~Pokedude~:
JPAN made a hack-tool-applier, which is included in his zip-folder.
You simply choose which hacks you want to insert, it automatically searches new offsets for it.

@karatekid: I fixed it myself, but thanks for that information


So it can be applied to a hack in progress then? And does the order they're applied matter?
__________________
"it is nearly 11 pm and we're discussing an alien eating the personification of humanity's evil desires
help"


Credit for the userbar goes to xVaporeon; credit for the avatar goes to Snakeyem12.
  #27962    
Old January 1st, 2014 (03:25 PM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by Merak:
So it can be applied to a hack in progress then? And does the order they're applied matter?
Yes, it can be applied to a hack in progress. If another hack is required as a prerequisite, it will tell you.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #27963    
Old January 1st, 2014 (06:29 PM).
Aruaruu Aruaruu is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Gender: Male
Posts: 181
Quote originally posted by Merak:
There is only one form of deoxys in each version of the GBA games(sorta).
- attack and defense go for FR and LG(forget which gets which)
- R/S get speed I think
- emerald gets normal.


So there is only one deoxys form in emerald.
(correct me if I'm wrong somebody)
FR = Attack
LG = Defense
R/S = Normal
E = Speed

But that still doesn't answer how to change the stats of the one you get when you catch it.
When you battle it, it uses it's normal form. =\
  #27964    
Old January 1st, 2014 (08:13 PM).
Le pug's Avatar
Le pug Le pug is offline
Creator of Pokémon: Discovery
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Le bed
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 605
anyone know how to change the actual animation of the pokemon in emerald? like if i replace lunatone with another pokemon, the pokemon will sway back and forth like lunatone but i want the animation to be like lets say jolteon.. how would i go about doing this
__________________







/// Pokémon: Discovery
/// Pokémon: Fat Kid
/// Tile Insertion Tutorial For AdvanceMap
/// Pokémon Emerald Specials Resource Thread
/// Pokémon Emerald Decapitalization Patch
/// Emerald Titlescreen Cloud Removal Tutorial
/// Tutorial For Fixing Any ROM-related Bug
  #27965    
Old January 2nd, 2014 (02:11 AM).
Eminence's Avatar
Eminence Eminence is offline
Pokemon Eminence
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Australia
Gender: Male
Posts: 19
I was inserting new indoor tiles, everything went smooth, in Advance map it shows the border to be a really dark blue, but when I go in-game it's a fluro pink. How would I go about fixing this?
__________________

http://nupzdeviant.deviantart.com/
  #27966    
Old January 2nd, 2014 (02:18 AM).
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold destinedjagold is offline
Oh Hai Thar~ 'ω'
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Posts: 6,955
Quote originally posted by Eminence:
I was inserting new indoor tiles, everything went smooth, in Advance map it shows the border to be a really dark blue, but when I go in-game it's a fluro pink. How would I go about fixing this?
In Ruby, use the other one for your border block.


In FireRed, it's this one.
__________________

3DS FC: 0061-1111-6462
TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)


  #27967    
Old January 2nd, 2014 (01:15 PM). Edited January 2nd, 2014 by Ambushwhack.
Ambushwhack's Avatar
Ambushwhack Ambushwhack is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 74
Quote originally posted by Saturnus:
No. Not that I have known. There isn't. You just gotta enhance your skills if you're not that good yet.
But the harder you try, the better the results.
That's annoying. I'm pushing to get a beta ready for my own hack, but it has a few Fakemon (all of them fusions or forced evolutions, with plot relevance). I've put in a couple now, but they look dishearteningly bad. Considering my struggles with spriting and scripting, I've been considering asking a couple people to join me on a team. What can people tell me about the etiquette of looking to assemble a team with an already-in-progress hack? I'm inclined to think not many people would want to join a newbie hacker on his pet project, and that the team-building forum is more for skilled specialists to get together to build top-tier hacks. Is that impression correct?

...Yeah, that's kind of a meta question for this board. Oh well.

EDIT:

Quote originally posted by karatekid552:
PET is super old. Use Advance Trainer of Jambo51's trainer editor instead.
This basically covers another question I was going to ask. Here's the thing, A-Trainer keeps crashing on me once it opens. Could this be because I already edited some trainers in PET? Did the changes made in PET render the trainer data unopenable by A-Trainer or something like that? Also, I'm not even sure if editing the rival is the most effective way of handling this. Sometime after the third Gym, I plan on the protagonist getting a chance to rescue a Charmander, Bulbasaur, or Squirtle from a mad science lab. The mad scientist becomes a recurring villain, using among other things, a fully evolved fusion of the two you were unable to rescue. Do you think think it would be better to move the choose starter scripts to later in the game and repurpose the rival, or am I better making new scripts entirely?
__________________
I'm currently teaching myself about ROM hacking to make my first hack. It stars a lab aide whose professor was kidnapped to help make Mewtwo. The same team also wants the aide's Kabuto(ps) to upgrade into a Genesect. Dark Fakemon evolutions and hybrids will also play a central role to the villainous Team Helix. Currently I'm fairly confident with YAPE and AdvanceMap. In a few weeks I'm likely to start putting a team together. I suck at spriting, and I can't understand the scripting tutorials.
  #27968    
Old January 2nd, 2014 (01:26 PM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by Ambushwhack:
This basically covers another question I was going to ask. Here's the thing, A-Trainer keeps crashing on me once it opens. Could this be because I already edited some trainers in PET? Did the changes made in PET render the trainer data unopenable by A-Trainer or something like that?
Probably. First, try opening a clean rom. Then try Jambo51's Trainer Editor.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #27969    
Old January 2nd, 2014 (04:56 PM).
Merak's Avatar
Merak Merak is offline
Because reasons.
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 250
Alright, back again.(I know, annoying right?)


So basicly, I've got a program issue. I don't know why, but no matter what rom I open,, when I go into GBAPGE's pokemon editer after loading the rom it lags for a few minutes and then gives a popup for JIT debugging. If I select to continue, it lags a bit but brings up the pokemon editer pretty quick anyway. If I try to scroll even one pokemon down the selection, it stops working, as in (Not responding). If I let it wait, it doesn't do anything, just stays there like that.


At first, I thought it was the hacked roms I tried(I tried with the 649 patch but gave up after several failed attempts to get PGE to work. Also tried with a hack I'm working with), but it won't even work with a clean FR US [BPRE] rom.


So, any ideas on what might be messing with PGE?
__________________
"it is nearly 11 pm and we're discussing an alien eating the personification of humanity's evil desires
help"


Credit for the userbar goes to xVaporeon; credit for the avatar goes to Snakeyem12.
  #27970    
Old January 2nd, 2014 (08:29 PM).
HidoranBlaze's Avatar
HidoranBlaze HidoranBlaze is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Posts: 247
Is there a way to run advance map and other hacking programs here on a mac? I might get a mac soon, and I don't have the money to buy a windows license, so bootcamp is out of the question. Also, I heard wine doesn't support .net framework. Is there a way around this?
  #27971    
Old January 3rd, 2014 (06:36 AM).
CureYoshiDarkness's Avatar
CureYoshiDarkness CureYoshiDarkness is offline
WA ! WA !ワリオ!
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: シンオウ
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 1,014
Quote originally posted by pikapoke33:
Is there a way to run advance map and other hacking programs here on a mac? I might get a mac soon, and I don't have the money to buy a windows license, so bootcamp is out of the question. Also, I heard wine doesn't support .net framework. Is there a way around this?
On a Mac? I don't believe so, without a windows license, I don't think there is a real way to run most hack programs on a Mac computer, however some programs are made to run on Mac and Windows. Plus, most hack programs need .NET framework, so without a Windows computer, you aren't going anywhere. Since a Mac computer and .NET are incompatible.
__________________
パンクラフト!
天国のパン毎日のスライス!
  #27972    
Old January 3rd, 2014 (07:38 AM). Edited January 3rd, 2014 by shenanigans.
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by pikapoke33:
Is there a way to run advance map and other hacking programs here on a mac? I might get a mac soon, and I don't have the money to buy a windows license, so bootcamp is out of the question. Also, I heard wine doesn't support .net framework. Is there a way around this?
I have successfully installed all programs under wine on Ubuntu. It took FAR too long and it doesn't run really well. (Linux itself runs awesome. It is the .NET framework having issues.) My computer is dual-booted with XP. That runs perfectly. I'm sure you can find a copy of XP on eBay or something really cheap.

This basically covers another question I was going to ask. Here's the thing, A-Trainer keeps crashing on me once it opens. Could this be because I already edited some trainers in PET? Did the changes made in PET render the trainer data unopenable by A-Trainer or something like that? Also, I'm not even sure if editing the rival is the most effective way of handling this. Sometime after the third Gym, I plan on the protagonist getting a chance to rescue a Charmander, Bulbasaur, or Squirtle from a mad science lab. The mad scientist becomes a recurring villain, using among other things, a fully evolved fusion of the two you were unable to rescue. Do you think think it would be better to move the choose starter scripts to later in the game and repurpose the rival, or am I better making new scripts entirely?[/QUOTE]

What you do, is check the starter via a var and then start a different battle based upon it. This is how GF did it. So, you create different battles for it.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #27973    
Old January 3rd, 2014 (09:43 AM).
Worldslayer608's Avatar
Worldslayer608 Worldslayer608 is offline
ಥдಥ
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: San Diego
Age: 25
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 870
I have not had any luck finding the answer to what I am looking for XD.

How can I RIP the battle background and battle bases from the BW or BW2 ROMS?
__________________



SMEARGLE SOLO CHALLENGE
HARDCORE EDITION
To vanquish without peril is to triumph without glory...
Voted Best Game Designer 2011 on PC
  #27974    
Old January 3rd, 2014 (10:05 AM).
Rezordaxx's Avatar
Rezordaxx Rezordaxx is offline
Asks many questions!
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 289
Does somebody know how to have standard names for your hero and rival, so you cant choose how to name them?
__________________

My hack
  #27975    
Old January 3rd, 2014 (11:42 AM).
Le pug's Avatar
Le pug Le pug is offline
Creator of Pokémon: Discovery
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Le bed
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 605
Quote originally posted by Rezordaxx:
Does somebody know how to have standard names for your hero and rival, so you cant choose how to name them?
maybe just let them name the character... but carry on in the story by their nickname.... like if you chose to name your character Sam... just be like Hey Sam! Or Goku, as everyone knows you by...

idk lol

Quote originally posted by Le pug:
anyone know how to change the actual animation of the pokemon in emerald? like if i replace lunatone with another pokemon, the pokemon will sway back and forth like lunatone but i want the animation to be like lets say jolteon.. how would i go about doing this
quoting this again.
__________________







/// Pokémon: Discovery
/// Pokémon: Fat Kid
/// Tile Insertion Tutorial For AdvanceMap
/// Pokémon Emerald Specials Resource Thread
/// Pokémon Emerald Decapitalization Patch
/// Emerald Titlescreen Cloud Removal Tutorial
/// Tutorial For Fixing Any ROM-related Bug
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 01:29 AM.