The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.


Advertise here

Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #1    
Old January 4th, 2014, 12:58 PM
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552

Advertise here
Well, after the last Simple Questions thread hit 27,000 replies, we decided that it is probably about time to make a new one. So, very simply put, this is the place to ask all of your questions about rom hacking.


Da Rules:


  1. Search before asking. With almost 28,000 replies on the last Simple Quesitons thread and 2,000+ replies on the one before it, I'm sure you can find something. So, before you ask, try THIS thread and then try THIS one.
  2. Don't ask questions about a specific hack or how to play a hack. For questions pertaining to a hack itself, ask on that hack's thread. For how to play a hack, see HERE.
  3. Do not ask for or link to ROMs. You will need to acquire those yourself, hopefully from games you already own.
  4. Do NOT demand answers to your questions. The people here are not getting paid and are answering because they want to. If you are rude, your post will most likely be removed, and if it isn't, it is highly unlikely you will get a response.
  5. When answering, quote the post with the question. This is here to simply keep organization. It is much easier to read the thread when you have both the question and the answer.




If you feel your question was ignored, you may ask it again, but only after 25 posts or 2 days have gone by.


I wish you all the best of luck in your hacking experience.:D


~karatekid552
__________________

Paired with Simba

Last edited by DrFuji; January 4th, 2014 at 01:46 PM.
  #2    
Old January 4th, 2014, 01:00 PM
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
These are the last three posts from the old thread with unanswered questions:

-------------
Dinoweed:
-------------
I have noticed that many of the hex codes for items I've find around online don't seem to work for certain items. For example I wanted to make a trainer in fire red give a leftover so I used "give item 0x0C8 0x1 0x0" but when I click on the trainer they never give the item.

Is there some list out there for functioning codes for items? Because the hex codes for many of the items don't seem to work.



-------------
osg96:
-------------
I am in Advanced Map, and cannot find the script for right after you walk out of the truck (in Emerald). I need to change this script, so does anyone know how I could find it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dinoweed
I have noticed that many of the hex codes for items I've find around online don't seem to work for certain items. For example I wanted to make a trainer in fire red give a leftover so I used "give item 0x0C8 0x1 0x0" but when I click on the trainer they never give the item.

Is there some list out there for functioning codes for items? Because the hex codes for many of the items don't seem to work.
Are you using giveitem or give item? If there is a space, that might be the problem. Leftovers is C8 in fire red, so I don't think that is the problem.



-------------
mahim:
-------------
Hi! I am currently working on my own pokemon hack! I was wondering how to change where the character starts in the map...
__________________

Paired with Simba

Last edited by karatekid552; January 4th, 2014 at 01:05 PM.
  #3    
Old January 4th, 2014, 01:12 PM
mahim's Avatar
mahim
A Legend Reborn
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Lumiose City
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Hi! I was making my hack in Firered and I was wondering if there was any way to change where the player starts after the Professor is finished talking at the beginning intro. screen.
__________________
Looking for new adventures and quests in the Kalos region!

Mahim
A Pokemon Master
Born from the Legends
Champion of the Universe
  #4    
Old January 4th, 2014, 02:17 PM
Telinc1's Avatar
Telinc1
Pokémon Trainer
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Age: 38
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Quote:
Originally Posted by mahim View Post
Hi! I was making my hack in Firered and I was wondering if there was any way to change where the player starts after the Professor is finished talking at the beginning intro. screen.
You can use SMCA by HackMew to do it. Or, if you know how to use a Hex Editor, diegoisawesome posted this in his miscellaneous finds thread:
Quote:
Originally Posted by diegoisawesome View Post
0x54A04 is the starting map. 0x54A06 is the starting map's bank.
0x54A08 is the starting X position. 0x54A00 is the starting Y position.
Have fun.
Anyway, I have a question of my own. My hack is de-capitalised except for one item - the Enigma Berry. In Item Manager it appears as "Enigma Berry". Searching for the bytes "BF C8 C3 C1 C7 BB" (ENIGMA) in HxD yielded one result, which I changed to "BF E2 DD DB E1 D5" (Enigma), but the item name still appears as "ENIGMA Berry" in-game. Does anybody know how to solve this?
__________________

Check out my hacks by clicking on the userbar!
  #5    
Old January 4th, 2014, 02:51 PM
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by Telinc1 View Post
Anyway, I have a question of my own. My hack is de-capitalised except for one item - the Enigma Berry. In Item Manager it appears as "Enigma Berry". Searching for the bytes "BF C8 C3 C1 C7 BB" (ENIGMA) in HxD yielded one result, which I changed to "BF E2 DD DB E1 D5" (Enigma), but the item name still appears as "ENIGMA Berry" in-game. Does anybody know how to solve this?
All items have their names stored in the item data itself. The only thing I can think of that would cause this is you loading the wrong rom in VBA. Trust me, it is very easy to do. Ummm, take that offset you found in HxD, tack "08" onto the front of it, open the memory viewer in VBA (tools->memory viewer) and go to that offset. Make sure that your change is actually there in the loaded rom.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #6    
Old January 4th, 2014, 03:06 PM
Telinc1's Avatar
Telinc1
Pokémon Trainer
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Age: 38
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Quote:
Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
All items have their names stored in the item data itself. The only thing I can think of that would cause this is you loading the wrong rom in VBA. Trust me, it is very easy to do. Ummm, take that offset you found in HxD, tack "08" onto the front of it, open the memory viewer in VBA (tools->memory viewer) and go to that offset. Make sure that your change is actually there in the loaded rom.
I just checked, it's the de-capitalised name. It's very weird. My only guess is the fact that the Enigma Berry is special in that it's a placeholder for the E-Reader berries, though they could be only downloaded to Ruby and Sapphire and couldn't be traded, so I see no reason for special coding (actually, scrap that, FireRed is a highly modified copy of Ruby). And beside that, if a text is displayed in the game, it must exist in the ROM. I'm no ASM genius, though and I might be wrong on that.
__________________

Check out my hacks by clicking on the userbar!
  #7    
Old January 4th, 2014, 03:28 PM
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by Telinc1 View Post
I just checked, it's the de-capitalised name. It's very weird. My only guess is the fact that the Enigma Berry is special in that it's a placeholder for the E-Reader berries, though they could be only downloaded to Ruby and Sapphire and couldn't be traded, so I see no reason for special coding (actually, scrap that, FireRed is a highly modified copy of Ruby). And beside that, if a text is displayed in the game, it must exist in the ROM. I'm no ASM genius, though and I might be wrong on that.
No, you're right in the sense that it must exist in the rom, though it might be mangled, with a random byte in the middle or something. Try editing the other berries. See if it is just that one.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #8    
Old January 4th, 2014, 03:39 PM
jirachi31
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Gender: Female
Hello. I've tried to search the threads but haven't found a real answer to my question so please forgive me if it has indeed been answered. I'm trying to replace/edit the Pokemon party icons in Emerald with some custom ones using Advanced Pokemon Icon Editor however when I go import my file, the image itself is there but the palette is not what I had in my original image. Is there something I'm doing wrong here or does it just not accept custom icons? Any help will be appreciated, thank you.
  #9    
Old January 4th, 2014, 03:43 PM
ThorhianTheUltimate's Avatar
ThorhianTheUltimate
No, im not Thorzain
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Hey guys, I have seen other posts talking about using a DSTwo falshcart for specific Roms/ ROM hacks. However, I just wanted to see if anyone had a general answer for this: How is the compatibility with ROM hacks and the DSTwo's GBA emulator? Do most of them work? Would I get slowdown's compared to the original ROM?
  #10    
Old January 4th, 2014, 03:43 PM
Telinc1's Avatar
Telinc1
Pokémon Trainer
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Age: 38
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Quote:
Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
No, you're right in the sense that it must exist in the rom, though it might be mangled, with a random byte in the middle or something. Try editing the other berries. See if it is just that one.
I suppose you mean item names and if I'm right, every single berry is edited and it is working, it is just the Enigma Berry that's causing issues. Oh well, if it can't be solved I will just take it out of the shop.

P.S.: Also, something I didn't mention earlier, the offset I found actually isn't just the Enigma Berry - go back some bytes and you have the names of all the other berries, capitalised, though only the item name is used. Huh.
__________________

Check out my hacks by clicking on the userbar!
  #11    
Old January 4th, 2014, 03:59 PM
robin22gongon's Avatar
robin22gongon
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Want to know? VM me.
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to robin22gongon
Quote:
Originally Posted by jirachi31 View Post
Hello. I've tried to search the threads but haven't found a real answer to my question so please forgive me if it has indeed been answered. I'm trying to replace/edit the Pokemon party icons in Emerald with some custom ones using Advanced Pokemon Icon Editor however when I go import my file, the image itself is there but the palette is not what I had in my original image. Is there something I'm doing wrong here or does it just not accept custom icons? Any help will be appreciated, thank you.
Well, from what I know, Pokemon ROMs uses preset palettes for those icons and you just got to choose the most accurate or closest to your colors. I think there are 3 choices (0, 1, 2), is that right?

And those palettes can be modified but take extra precaution because it takes a bit of drawback for you. It will change the colors of all the other icons too that uses the same palette.

Hope I made sense.
__________________
LET'S PARTY!
  #12    
Old January 4th, 2014, 04:07 PM
jirachi31
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Gender: Female
Quote:
Originally Posted by robin22gongon View Post
Well, from what I know, Pokemon ROMs uses preset palettes for those icons and you just got to choose the most accurate or closest to your colors. I think there are 3 choices (0, 1, 2), is that right?

And those palettes can be modified but take extra precaution because it takes a bit of drawback for you. It will change the colors of all the other icons too that uses the same palette.

Hope I made sense.
Yes, there were choices but they weren't really the colors I desired so I'm a little lost. Mind telling me how the palettes can be modified so I can have my original image's palette stay the same? Sorry, I'm not very experienced with hacking. ' Thank you for your time.
  #13    
Old January 4th, 2014, 04:37 PM
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThorhianTheUltimate View Post
Hey guys, I have seen other posts talking about using a DSTwo falshcart for specific Roms/ ROM hacks. However, I just wanted to see if anyone had a general answer for this: How is the compatibility with ROM hacks and the DSTwo's GBA emulator? Do most of them work? Would I get slowdown's compared to the original ROM?
Hacks like Sienna, which require VBQ's BIOS file may have issues, but most hacks run perfectly fine.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #14    
Old January 4th, 2014, 04:39 PM
Le pug's Avatar
Le pug
la butt doit le sniff
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Le bed
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Quote:
Originally Posted by jirachi31 View Post
Yes, there were choices but they weren't really the colors I desired so I'm a little lost. Mind telling me how the palettes can be modified so I can have my original image's palette stay the same? Sorry, I'm not very experienced with hacking. ' Thank you for your time.
You don't mess with the palette IDs at all. Open your rom, go to whatever pokemon you want to change... I went to charmeleon which has palette ID 0 and is completely orange and red colors. I went to this site to get my squirtle image. I opened this image in paint: and I pasted it below itself to give the correct size orientation of 32x64. Here is what my image looked like (I made pink the transparency color and auto-transparency in the program picks up on it):
From here just click import image (Ctrl + I) and insert it. Make sure the file extension of the image is .PNG also... you might have .BMP which could mess up the colors. Anyways, when inserted just click write to ROM and GG you're good to go.



_______________________


I'm trying to figure out if there is a way to change the animation of the pokemon in emerald? There's two animations to a pokemon... the actual sprite animation which is two images, and then there is an effect to that pokemon like flareon will light up red or lunatone will rock back and forth. Any program that works with this?
__________________
Need help inserting tiles into AdvanceMap to have customized tiles for your hack?
• Check out my tutorial, Inserting Tiles Into AdvanceMap For Dummies
Click here to find out how to remove clouds from the Emerald titlescreen
• Check out the Ruby rombase sound list I contributed by clicking here
  #15    
Old January 4th, 2014, 06:33 PM
ThorhianTheUltimate's Avatar
ThorhianTheUltimate
No, im not Thorzain
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
Hacks like Sienna, which require VBQ's BIOS file may have issues, but most hacks run perfectly fine.
Hmm, pretty new to the scene, people have made custom GBA BIOS files? Interesting. Thanks for the answer, I probably wont be using hacks such as that since I don't download BIOS files, I only rip from console.
  #16    
Old January 4th, 2014, 07:33 PM
jirachi31
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Gender: Female
Quote:
Originally Posted by Le pug View Post
You don't mess with the palette IDs at all. Open your rom, go to whatever pokemon you want to change... I went to charmeleon which has palette ID 0 and is completely orange and red colors. I went to this site to get my squirtle image. I opened this image in paint: and I pasted it below itself to give the correct size orientation of 32x64. Here is what my image looked like (I made pink the transparency color and auto-transparency in the program picks up on it):
From here just click import image (Ctrl + I) and insert it. Make sure the file extension of the image is .PNG also... you might have .BMP which could mess up the colors. Anyways, when inserted just click write to ROM and GG you're good to go.
Yeah, I think I understand what you're doing here and I've tried it with a Squirtle too and it has worked. (So I'm guessing I'm doing it correctly.) However, my problem starts when I want to replace a Pokemon's icon with a custom one (with a palette that I think doesn't exist in the actual game) and I'm wondering if it's possible to still insert it with it retaining its original colors. I hope I'm making sense. But thank you for that explanation, it has helped a lot.
  #17    
Old January 4th, 2014, 07:42 PM
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThorhianTheUltimate View Post
Hmm, pretty new to the scene, people have made custom GBA BIOS files? Interesting. Thanks for the answer, I probably wont be using hacks such as that since I don't download BIOS files, I only rip from console.
The real BIOS is copyrighted. VBA made their own, but it can use the real one. It is ever so slightly different, causing issues.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #18    
Old January 4th, 2014, 09:41 PM
Dark Sneasel's Avatar
Dark Sneasel
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Miami, FL
Age: 14
Gender: Male
Nature: Hasty
I've been wondering for a while, someone told that you can replace the hero's sprite in the fly/region map in unlz. Does anybody know the number? (FR, by the way)
__________________
My stuff:
Controllable Boats in Gen 3 Games
Pokémon Fluorite Version (Beta 1 Released)
Pokémon Emerald Specials
Change Player OW in script
Making a tag battle script
G3HS extended Pokemon in the wild
Starting out with Rom Hacking? Click here
#SlowDownFigi
  #19    
Old January 5th, 2014, 03:38 AM
jirachiwishmaker
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
Is it possible to expand the amount of blocks from 512 to 1024 in Emerald? And how can do it?
  #20    
Old January 5th, 2014, 06:50 AM
Eminence's Avatar
Eminence
Pokemon Eminence
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Kanto
Gender: Male
I've been using SMCA and AdvanceIntroEd recently, but could NEVER find a solution to a problem i've had. When I spawn in my room, there is a tile error which does not show on A-Map. Since I haven't posted 15 times, I cannot provide a screenshot. Essentially it is a door and carpet tile, which disappear after you leave the room and then come back in. I've tried deleting all level/map scripts but nothing seems to work.
Help is highly appreciated.
__________________
  #21    
Old January 5th, 2014, 10:09 AM
ThorhianTheUltimate's Avatar
ThorhianTheUltimate
No, im not Thorzain
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
The real BIOS is copyrighted. VBA made their own, but it can use the real one. It is ever so slightly different, causing issues.
Oh lol, your referring to the VBA BIOS XD I guess you made a typo with "VBQ"? Okay, so some hacks may need the VBA "BIOS" to play some of those hacks. Hmm, I wonder why, since having a real BIOS is more accurate.
  #22    
Old January 5th, 2014, 10:41 AM
Merak's Avatar
Merak
Because reasons.
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
There's something I've noticed when I insert songs into a rom.


For some reason, the songs have a higher speed when played ingame than they do normally. Does anybody know what causes this? And is there a way to fix this?
__________________
"it is nearly 11 pm and we're discussing an alien eating the personification of humanity's evil desires
help"


Credit for the userbar goes to xVaporeon; credit for the avatar goes to Snakeyem12.
MY WRITING
  #23    
Old January 5th, 2014, 10:49 AM
Kakarot1212's Avatar
Kakarot1212
Awesome as always...
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Phillipines
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Naughty
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eminence View Post
I've been using SMCA and AdvanceIntroEd recently, but could NEVER find a solution to a problem i've had. When I spawn in my room, there is a tile error which does not show on A-Map. Since I haven't posted 15 times, I cannot provide a screenshot. Essentially it is a door and carpet tile, which disappear after you leave the room and then come back in. I've tried deleting all level/map scripts but nothing seems to work.
Help is highly appreciated.
Well, it might be some tile error or somekind. But the best thing you can do is, create another map! Goto A-Map and create a duplicate of the map(what i mean is make it look like the other one). Then goto SMCA and point out your newly made map.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Merak View Post
There's something I've noticed when I insert songs into a rom.


For some reason, the songs have a higher speed when played ingame than they do normally. Does anybody know what causes this? And is there a way to fix this?
What are you using to insert them? Sappy or what?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jirachiwishmaker View Post
Is it possible to expand the amount of blocks from 512 to 1024 in Emerald? And how can do it?

You can do hex editing or something like that to do that bud
__________________

楓 弘詩
“ Programs must be written for people
to read, and only incidentally for
machines to execute. ”
Pair Pair | Facebook | Showdown | PHO | Twitter
| The Prediction Game |

Last edited by Kakarot1212; January 5th, 2014 at 10:54 AM. Reason: Your double post has been automatically merged.
  #24    
Old January 5th, 2014, 11:35 AM
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThorhianTheUltimate View Post
Oh lol, your referring to the VBA BIOS XD I guess you made a typo with "VBQ"? Okay, so some hacks may need the VBA "BIOS" to play some of those hacks. Hmm, I wonder why, since having a real BIOS is more accurate.
Some people just don't realize that VBA doesn't have a real BIOS file or think that is close enough, and they write their code around testing on VBA. I know, for example, that swi 0x12 (LZ77 Image Decompresion) uses registers 0, 1, 2, and 3 in the real BIOS file, but VBA's doesn't use r3. This resulted in JPAN writing a section of his hacked engine to use r3. So, his code didn't work with a real BIOS file because r3 was overwritten. I ended up fixing this when I learned about it.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #25    
Old January 5th, 2014, 11:38 AM
Nordk's Avatar
Nordk
Chief Harpoonist
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Yu Es Eh
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
I appologise if this is a noobish question, but I haven't found anything on it.
Will starting the game and creating a save file adversely effect the game when it comes to editing? I know the game and save files are separate, but I just want to make sure. (going through Oak's intro at the beginning just so I can check some warps is getting really annoying)
__________________

This are serious forum.
Always be serious.
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links


Advertise here
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 07:01 AM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.