Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > Tools, Tutorials & Resources
Reload this Page [Tutorial] In depth Advance Map tutorial

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #476    
Old December 2nd, 2013 (03:47 PM).
kat59757 kat59757 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 1
Somehow, I made it so that I can't run in Littleroot Town (Pokemon Emerald hack), any ideas on how I can change it back?
Reply With Quote
  #477    
Old December 5th, 2013 (04:02 AM).
vongerbys10's Avatar
vongerbys10 vongerbys10 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 27
Send a message via Skype™ to vongerbys10
How can you make a new map, newly that not affect other map's name ?



Spoiler:
Its a good tutorial thanks! Keep it up.!
__________________
Hoenn is the BEST!
Remake is SPECIAL!


#Hoenn Remake
Reply With Quote
  #478    
Old December 5th, 2013 (06:24 AM). Edited December 5th, 2013 by ChaosBringer41.
ChaosBringer41 ChaosBringer41 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 34
Sorry if this has already been asked, but how can I use tiles from one map to edit another map?

I have a retro-look rombase that I want to use, but the new tiles are only on one or two maps. (Neti's rombase called Past)

Version-wise, I have 1.92 and 1.95 of Advance Map. I prefer 1.95, which I understand has bugs, as its map links are in English. (My copy of 1.92 map links are in German)

(In case you are wondering, I mean the links to select specific maps - second option from the start - when I say map links)
__________________
I don't always know what I'm doing. Life is more interesting that way.
Reply With Quote
  #479    
Old December 5th, 2013 (11:49 AM).
VerdeWare's Avatar
VerdeWare VerdeWare is offline
...death is only the beginning
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Gender: Male
Nature: Mild
Posts: 79
love this tutorial, can you get more in depth about tile editing
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
Too tall.
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
Reply With Quote
  #480    
Old December 9th, 2013 (12:50 PM).
hackzor123 hackzor123 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 1
Quote originally posted by Mourgrim:
Does this make sense? Some of my warps don't seem to work. An example: You know the hole you use for caves that you walk into enter the cave? Well, I can't come back out. The "Goto" works perfectly on Advanced Map, but when I walk on the warp, it doesn't work. Anyone know what's going on or has had similar problems?
same :/
I have this issue when I make a cave, can't exit it.
Reply With Quote
  #481    
Old December 13th, 2013 (06:24 PM).
crimsonkiller crimsonkiller is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 1
I'm having issues with a room I just made, completely new to hacking and making my first one so I don't know what to do. I made the rooms size 13 by 10, outside of this area are brown tiles that I didn't place and when I go to the room in the map editor it doesn't let me see that far out. I hope I'm explaining this correctly.
Reply With Quote
  #482    
Old December 16th, 2013 (09:00 PM).
misterpoor's Avatar
misterpoor misterpoor is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 13
Excuse me. I have a question: how to make the door open when I come in with a custom tile like this?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #483    
Old December 16th, 2013 (09:07 PM).
Sniper's Avatar
Sniper Sniper is offline
ふゆかい
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 1,410
Quote originally posted by misterpoor:
Excuse me. I have a question: how to make the door open when I come in with a custom tile like this?
Make sure you have made a door animation for that door tile.
If you have, make sure the movements are correct as well.
A custom tile door won't open without a warp tile and a door animation on it.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #484    
Old December 19th, 2013 (10:46 PM). Edited December 19th, 2013 by bitelaserkhalif.
bitelaserkhalif's Avatar
bitelaserkhalif bitelaserkhalif is offline
STICK? FALLED
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Indonesia || Jakarta
Age: 14
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 44
Quote originally posted by hackzor123:
same :/
I have this issue when I make a cave, can't exit it.
At the entrance of cave,place C/0 as the movement permissions;or look for the other cave(e.g VICTORY ROAD) and memorize movement permission at entrance and exit of the cave).

hope this help.
__________________

Pokemon Hacks.
ALSO VISIT MY BLOG: http://khaliffadhillah.blogspot.com/
Reply With Quote
  #485    
Old December 21st, 2013 (01:14 PM).
pokekiki pokekiki is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Slovenia
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 4
Hello.
I'm new to all this and don't know just yet how this all works. But stil, I have a question about word map editor. I haven't found the anser yet ...
How do you have to do it, so that the player icon on the world map will show on the spot, where you want it. I tried many differrent options, but no right results came out.
Reply With Quote
  #486    
Old December 26th, 2013 (03:10 PM). Edited December 26th, 2013 by Giniselono.
Giniselono Giniselono is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Gender:
Posts: 9
Quote originally posted by Vittorini:
I'm happy that your trying to help but it still won't work. My warp is on the tile in front of the exit, and the tile is the first cave floor tile in the tileset. Since all else really has failed, can you tell me a little bit more on how to edit the behavior byte of the warp? In my version of advance map (I think its the latest one) when a warp is selected I cannot open it in my script editor (XSE).

Also, one extra detail I noticed, when I enter the cave I am facing down. I think that is a little weird. If you want me to upload pictures of the maps I want to connect, let me know.

EDIT: I figured out how to set the behavior byte and it is at 08 00, so I guess that's not the problem
EDIT 2: Lol. I was messing around with the behavior bytes and decided to try 61 00, which is "use warp" and that worked perfectly. haha
I'm having this same problem, but I can't figure out how to change the behavior byte. I went to the block editor, and went to the same block as my warp block (It showed me the titleset, so I clicked on the same block as the type I was using). I changed it to 08 00, but that didn't work. I also tried 61 00, but that didn't work either. I can't post any pictures because I need to have made 15 posts or more.
Please help! I see that your last activity was in April, Vittorini. So, can anyone else help?
EDIT: 65 00 didn't work either.
Reply With Quote
  #487    
Old December 29th, 2013 (07:59 AM).
wael96 wael96 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Beijing,China
Gender: Male
Posts: 38
Absoulutely a very good tutorial!
Reply With Quote
  #488    
Old January 9th, 2014 (11:39 AM).
d3ath1s d3ath1s is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 3
I'm not sure if anyone has posted this problem and I'm sort of new to this but I can't seem to figure out how to make the wild pokemon offset work. I have screenshots attached. Thanks for any responses.
Attached Images
File Type: png Map.png‎ (243.5 KB, 9 views) (Save to Dropbox)
File Type: png Offset.png‎ (250.4 KB, 7 views) (Save to Dropbox)
Reply With Quote
  #489    
Old January 31st, 2014 (06:11 PM).
Madman4q2 Madman4q2 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 4
I have an annoying problem. What the hell do you do when a map you were editing decides to remove itself from the bank... I mean ya know how when in a folder the color is yellow/orange box over a green box to the left of the name. And when you open that folder you see a bunch of maps from that folder - and those maps only have a green box next to their name. Now I have maps I edited which WERE in a folder - but then decided to jump out of the folder - This renders them inaccessible and it is extremely frustrating. Does anybody know how to fix this?!
Reply With Quote
  #490    
Old February 3rd, 2014 (07:54 PM).
Nurse Joy's Avatar
Nurse Joy Nurse Joy is offline
Would you like to rest your Pokémon?
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sootopolis Pokémon Center
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 234
This might be a stupid question, but...

When you are adding new events, how do you add new scripts? I find an unused script offset and then click "Open Script", then I paste in my script, but how do I get it to like, save it in the game? If I close the script and then open it back up (in A-Map), it's empty again......... What do I do here?

What I'm trying to do is make an event where you have to battle Ho-oh. I have the script completed and the sprite in place, but I don't know how to make Ho-oh do anything.

Thank you in advance for your time! ^__^
__________________


pairs

safari
trade shop | reviews
deviantArt | tumblr
FC & secret base
ΩR dex status
Reply With Quote
  #491    
Old February 6th, 2014 (01:49 AM).
Lightning Bubbles's Avatar
Lightning Bubbles Lightning Bubbles is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Gender: Female
Posts: 12
As I've said in another thread, I'm new to this advance map thing. My problem is, I'm playing Pokemon Light Platinum, and I'm at the part where I'm supposed to be going after the Gym Leader in Kosaka City. She left to SKY TOWER. But in front of it, is a police officer who won't move, which is a glitch. From what I did on ADVANCE MAP following the above instructions, I believe I was most likely able to move him.

And since I'm on my tablet playing the game, I transferred the edited file from my PC to my tablet. But the problem is, my saved file won't work with my edited game, it just starts all over again. Now I have my regular file where I can't get past the officer and an edited file where he should be gone...but requires me to do the entire game over again. I need to know how to fuse my save file with my edited game file to play now. :/
Reply With Quote
  #492    
Old February 27th, 2014 (05:28 AM).
Jehowi Jehowi is offline
Your Master Superior
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Belgium
Age: 24
Gender:
Nature: Careful
Posts: 44
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Jehowi
I've encountered the following problem in advance map:

http://youtu.be/xW-e3_wTdio

Basically I changed the Pewter museum map a bit and I edited the movement permissions as you can see at the beginning of the video. But when I test it, I can never, ever go to the right except for at the entrance of the museum. Even worse, when I go to the left, I can't go back anymore at all. I think I didn't screw up the movement permissions... So any solution to this?

Edit: Video is still being uploaded on Youtube, will be there in aprox. 5 mins



Reply With Quote
  #493    
Old May 9th, 2014 (06:46 PM).
JabuJabule's Avatar
JabuJabule JabuJabule is offline
 
Join Date: May 2014
Gender: Male
Posts: 63
Hi, I made a town and when I enter it, it's completely black, and I can't move from the spot I'm in. The NPC's that show up aren't even in the correct spots. Does anyone know why this is happening?
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #494    
Old May 13th, 2014 (03:56 PM). Edited May 13th, 2014 by PVRalston1123.
PVRalston1123's Avatar
PVRalston1123 PVRalston1123 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 3
Hey can somebody help me? Im working on creating my own pokemon fire red hack. Its coming along well so far. But I was wondering if somebody could tell me if there is a way to connect to any of the unknown maps and use them for of the hacks themselves. Im trying to use the unknown maps from the trainer tower to do my own thing for my hack. So I didnt know if anyone could tell me how to connect to the unknown maps. If anyone can help me that would be awesome. Thanks.
Sincerely,
Patrick R.
Reply With Quote
  #495    
Old May 20th, 2014 (03:08 PM). Edited May 20th, 2014 by Christos.
LxNightWalker LxNightWalker is offline
Sniper of The Year
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 15
Nice tutorial bro. I edited some maps in FireRed. Thanks.

How the heck can I place a warp guys?
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
too wide
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
Reply With Quote
  #496    
Old May 20th, 2014 (05:56 PM).
Himochi Kouen Himochi Kouen is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 25
Quote originally posted by LxNightWalker:
How the heck can I place a warp guys?
Do you mean add a new warp to the map you're working on? If so, on the Events tab, in the bottom right, "Amount of events", simply press the UP arrow next to "Number of warps:" to create a new warp on your map.
Reply With Quote
  #497    
Old May 20th, 2014 (06:19 PM).
LxNightWalker LxNightWalker is offline
Sniper of The Year
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 15
Quote originally posted by Himochi Kouen:
Do you mean add a new warp to the map you're working on? If so, on the Events tab, in the bottom right, "Amount of events", simply press the UP arrow next to "Number of warps:" to create a new warp on your map.
Yeah, but I don't know how to place it on the Pokecenter door.
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
too wide
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
Reply With Quote
  #498    
Old May 20th, 2014 (06:24 PM).
Himochi Kouen Himochi Kouen is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 25
Oh, that's easy enough. In AdvanceMap's Events tab; when you increase the number of warps by 1, one of the [W] boxes should appear in the upper left of the map. Just drag and drop it to the door!
Reply With Quote
  #499    
Old June 16th, 2014 (09:25 PM).
LANTIS DARKFIRE LANTIS DARKFIRE is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Gender: Male
Posts: 6
Can I ask about how to create a new map and how to create its own name, then insert it in the game without having to name it as route1 or pallette town(whatever of the original maps in the ROM)?....

It seems like connecting new maps without inserting it to the old maps is impossible. I don't know how to make up with this matter....

replies are much honored and accepted.. Thanks POkeCommunity...
Reply With Quote
  #500    
Old June 16th, 2014 (09:45 PM).
LANTIS DARKFIRE LANTIS DARKFIRE is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Gender: Male
Posts: 6
Quote originally posted by LxNightWalker:
Yeah, but I don't know how to place it on the Pokecenter door.
try looking at the x/y position on the map. move your mouse pointer at the point where you want to position your warp (or at the door you added), then look at its x/y position at the bottom left of the advance map. you can copy these attributes to your warp details (x/y position) to position where your warp should be located. And please don't forget to put "3" at the unknown slot. it's most commonly used at doors or cave doors. "4" for ladder. and lastly, check the behavior of your chosen door tile. it should be 61 00 for warp... (hope it helps..)
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links

You may also like.. (Beta)
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 11:36 PM.