The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > Creative Discussions > Game Development > Pokémon Essentials
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

Pokémon Essentials All questions and discussion about Pokémon Essentials, the Pokémon game kit for RPG Maker XP, go in here. Also contains links to the latest downloads and the Essentials Wiki.


Advertise here

Reply
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #601    
Old March 10th, 2014, 12:46 PM
The Detonator
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Gender: Male

Advertise here
I downloaded the Pokemon Pack v1, and put it inside the Pokemon essentials folder, but the error still persists. Is it supposed to go inside a specific folder or place?

Edit: Sorry I figured it all out. Thanks for your help.

Just a quick question are there any video tutorials on how to use essentials? Not just simple things but a lot of more complex things?


I will refrain from posting simple questions in this thread now.

Last edited by The Detonator; March 10th, 2014 at 12:52 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #602    
Old March 10th, 2014, 01:20 PM
Nickalooose
--------------------
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Gender: Female
Everything you need is in all maps within Essentials or on pokemonessentials.wikia.com.
Reply With Quote
  #603    
Old March 12th, 2014, 09:17 AM
Stochastic's Avatar
Stochastic
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Gender: Male
Hi, I've noticed this bug in my game, so I recreated the situation in fresh Essentials and the same
thing happened. When walking on the edge of the cliff with an event following you, this happens:

Spoiler:






It seems as if the event does not recognize that the tile the player is walking on is passable.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #604    
Old March 17th, 2014, 05:42 AM
VEGET@
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Gender: Male
When i try to translate my game, the text doesn´t change. This is what i made:
-Extract text with editor
-Translate the second line of some text in "intl.txt"
-Compile text
-Change "INTL.dat" to "spanish.dat"
-Put "spanish.dat and "english.dat" in "Data" folder. (english.dat is just the text extracted an compiled again)
-Modify the "settings" script
-Change the pokemon load script so i don´t get an error (change "14.times" to "15.times")
-I test the game, change the language and load my savegame and nothing changes
Reply With Quote
  #605    
Old March 19th, 2014, 10:18 AM
Reuncario's Avatar
Reuncario
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Gender: Male
I'm not sure if anyone else is having this problem, but it seems that whenever I use a healing item such as a Potion, Oran Berry, or Ether in the middle of the battle, the battle scene goes black and I'm only able to see the command prompt (Fight, Pokemon, Items, and Run). Here's what happened to me in detail: I got into a battle with a Hoothoot at night, my Cyndaquil was getting low on health, so I decided to use an Oran Berry to heal it. When it took me to the party screen, I clicked on Cyndaquil and he was healed. After that, the screen faded and attempted to go back to the battle scene, but all I saw was a black screen. I could still continue with the battle and end it, but I couldn't see the Pokemon's Sprites, HP or EXP bar, or the background. While using attacks like Tackle or Leer, I could see the sprites flash for a second, then disappear again. I'm no expert when it comes to coding or programming, so I have no idea how to solve this issue. Is there a way to fix this?

I took a screenshot of what I'm seeing.
Click image for larger version

Name:	Essentials Bug.png
Views:	4
Size:	5.1 KB
ID:	71333
Reply With Quote
  #606    
Old March 19th, 2014, 10:31 AM
Maruno's Avatar
Maruno
Lead Dev of Pokémon Essentials
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England
Does this happen in Essentials v13?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #607    
Old March 19th, 2014, 10:51 AM
Reuncario's Avatar
Reuncario
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Gender: Male
I'm using v12...which might be the problem. This is my first time using Essentials, would it be okay if I PM'd you how to update to v13?
Reply With Quote
  #608    
Old March 19th, 2014, 04:40 PM
Maruno's Avatar
Maruno
Lead Dev of Pokémon Essentials
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England
This thread is for bugs in v13. I think your problem was fixed in v13 (or at least, no one's complained about it since then), which technically means it doesn't belong in this thread. An upgrade would seem to be in order - the wiki has a tutorial about that.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #609    
Old March 20th, 2014, 09:52 AM
FL's Avatar
FL
Pokémon Island Creator
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by VEGET@ View Post
When i try to translate my game, the text doesn´t change. This is what i made:
-Extract text with editor
-Translate the second line of some text in "intl.txt"
-Compile text
-Change "INTL.dat" to "spanish.dat"
-Put "spanish.dat and "english.dat" in "Data" folder. (english.dat is just the text extracted an compiled again)
-Modify the "settings" script
-Change the pokemon load script so i don´t get an error (change "14.times" to "15.times")
-I test the game, change the language and load my savegame and nothing changes
After doing the "15.times" thing, http://www.pokecommunity.com/showpos...&postcount=550 and http://www.pokecommunity.com/showpos...&postcount=556 changes, the translation system is working here.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #610    
Old March 20th, 2014, 12:01 PM
VEGET@
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by FL View Post
After doing the "15.times" thing, http://www.pokecommunity.com/showpos...&postcount=550 and http://www.pokecommunity.com/showpos...&postcount=556 changes, the translation system is working here.
I love you I made the change that is in the first post before, but i didn´t read the other change, my bad for not paying atenttion to every post .

Thanks a lot FL
Reply With Quote
  #611    
Old March 25th, 2014, 07:07 AM
SoulfulLex's Avatar
SoulfulLex
Empiricist-at-Large
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Gender: Male
Nature: Serious
I apologize if this was already addressed elsewhere, but I've noticed that the HiddenAbility line in pokemon.txt is missing every time the game is compiled. You can look at pokemon.txt yourself and see that the HiddenAbilities for Pokemon that are supposed to have them are missing (i.e. Bulbasaur's Hidden Ability is Chlorophyll. Whenever I try to put the line back [HiddenAbility=CHLOROPHYLL], it always disappears the next time I open pokemon.txt after Compiling). What's even stranger is that when I put the Hidden Ability in via the Editor, the game registers it, but it still doesn't show up in the pokemon.txt file. That and I have no way of knowing if the game will keep the Hidden Abilities when the time comes for me to finish my project.

I even tested this by giving a Pokemon multiple Hidden Abilities according to the wiki, but the same thing happens. Is there a fix for this?

Again, I apologize if the issue's been addressed elsewhere, but I haven't seen any posts about how to keep the HiddenAbility line from disappearing. I wanted to add some Hidden Abilities to some entries.

EDIT: The HiddenAbility lines are erased only if the PBS files are compiled via the External Editor program. They are not erased if they are compiled directly from RMXP.

Last edited by SoulfulLex; May 22nd, 2014 at 12:54 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #612    
Old March 25th, 2014, 02:56 PM
Maruno's Avatar
Maruno
Lead Dev of Pokémon Essentials
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England
That hadn't been mentioned before, no, and I'm glad you pointed it out.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #613    
Old April 3rd, 2014, 12:17 PM
VEGET@
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Gender: Male
When you have the pause menu open and you press the arrows while you have pressed the "run button" it doesn´t move but the sprite of the player changes to the running sprite.
Reply With Quote
  #614    
Old April 10th, 2014, 10:32 PM
Vod
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jim42 View Post
I've noticed that if I set a trainertype's pre-battle ME in the PBS file, and the battle begins while the ME is still playing, Essentials will stop playback of the ME and fail to load the battle BGM. This occurs both with midis and mp3s/wavs. If the ME is allowed to play all the way through before the battle begins, such that the regular BGM resumes playing, things will proceed as expected.

I'm not really sure why this occurs, but I can say for sure that it kind of defeats the purpose of having an encounter ME if it stops other music from playing unless it finishes first. Any suggestions?
This is something that apparently only happens with midis because a line was removed a long time ago(2-3 years) and never added back into the script.
Anyways if you want to use midis for trainer intros then find these lines of code in the script "PokemonTrainers"
Code:
  trainer=pbLoadTrainer(trainerid,trainername,trainerparty)
  if !trainer
    pbMissingTrainer(trainerid,trainername,trainerparty)
    return false
  end
add "Audio.me_stop" here:
Code:
  trainer=pbLoadTrainer(trainerid,trainername,trainerparty)
  Audio.me_stop
  if !trainer
    pbMissingTrainer(trainerid,trainername,trainerparty)
    return false
  end
That should solve the issue.


EDIT:
The Bug Catching Contest Pokeball glitch was resolved on the wiki. So, I'll remove my method.
And I can't hyperlink yet so yeah. Just copy paste.
pokemonessentials.wikia.com/wiki/Forum:Bug_Contest:_Ball_is_not_working

Last edited by Vod; April 14th, 2014 at 11:46 PM. Reason: Other stuff update
Reply With Quote
  #615    
Old May 2nd, 2014, 12:36 PM
FL's Avatar
FL
Pokémon Island Creator
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Gender: Male
In the mining minigame, the pick gives hits+=1 and hammer hits+=3. When hits>=49, the wall colapses. I guess that the value for hammer is 2 instead of 3 in DPP. Are you sure that the correct value is 3?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #616    
Old May 10th, 2014, 05:12 PM
The Masked One's Avatar
The Masked One
I'm back.
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: A place
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
So I upgraded from Essentials V. 12 to V. 13. It works fine, until I go to the main screen where you get to open your save file and all that. Every time I get to that screen, I get this message:

Quote:
---------------------------
Pokemon Essentials
---------------------------
Exception: RuntimeError

Message: filename is nil

SpriteWindow:218:in `initialize'

PokemonSprite:113:in `new'

PokemonSprite:113:in `pokemon='

PokemonSprite:99:in `initialize'

PokemonLoad:166:in `new'

PokemonLoad:166:in `pbSetParty'

PokemonLoad:165:in `each'

PokemonLoad:165:in `pbSetParty'

PokemonLoad:317:in `pbStartLoadScreen'

DebugIntro:6:in `main'



This exception was logged in

C:\Users\William\Saved Games/Pokemon Essentials/errorlog.txt.

Press Ctrl+C to copy this message to the clipboard.
---------------------------
OK
---------------------------
Help?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #617    
Old May 11th, 2014, 12:11 AM
Scourge393
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
I have two bugs.
1. No spaces between words
postimg .org/image/hnkm0hxn1/
2. When i try to change my Pokemon in battle, first black screen with "Choose a Pokemon" show up and after this battle continues.
postimg .org/image/dd5y4wsjx/

Please help!
Reply With Quote
  #618    
Old May 11th, 2014, 12:49 AM
塗 ゆり's Avatar
塗 ゆり
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: France
Age: 20
Gender:
Send a message via Skype™ to 塗 ゆり
For the no space, try to use RGSS104E.dll ( http://www.mediafire.com/download/49...3/RGSS104E.dll ) instead of RGSS102E.dll or, don't use the Pokemon DP font face.
__________________
Nuri Yuri
Reply With Quote
  #619    
Old May 11th, 2014, 01:17 AM
Discord.'s Avatar
Discord.
Make sense? Oh, what fun is there in making sense?
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Ljubljana
Age: 15
Gender:
Nature: Relaxed
Send a message via Skype™ to Discord.
Deleting save file apparently doesn't work, it crashes with an error in PokemonLoad at line 227 (@scene.pbStartScene), deleting the line allows you to delete save data but after deleting it or saying no it crashes again
__________________
Can't be bothered to find a new sig pic

My personal webpage under construction.
Paired with Polar Spectrum
Essentials forme change with moves script

I support Digimon Your Digital Dream

I support Pokemon The Movie Game


Reply With Quote
  #620    
Old May 16th, 2014, 04:14 AM
Scourge393
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
I have one more photo to second bug:
postimg .org/image/d93yaqnd5/
Reply With Quote
  #621    
Old May 17th, 2014, 01:40 AM
dexter1o6
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Hi all,

Let me say this first:
- I'm not posting this bug to get help because I seem to have solved it.
- I'm posting the bug here because I think it also applies to a clean version of this release, but I did not test that. I am using version 13 for my game though.

Error message:
Spoiler:
Exception: NoMethodError
Message: undefined method `[]' for nil:NilClass
PokemonField:1443
PokemonField:1440:in `call'
PBEvent:54:in `trigger'
PBEvent:49:in `each'
PBEvent:49:in `trigger'
Game_Character_2:67:in `update_move'
Game_Character_2:6:in `update_old2'
Walk_Run:100:in `update'
Game_Event_:249:in `update'
Game_Map_:426:in `update'

Code (line 1440 of PokemonField obviously):
Spoiler:
Code:
Events.onStepTakenFieldMovement+=proc{|sender,e|
  event=e[0] # Get the event affected by field movement $game_map
  thistile=$MapFactory.getRealTilePos($game_map.map_id,event.x,event.y)    
  map=$MapFactory.getMap(thistile[0])

Cause and trigger:
Spoiler:
When I was at a replica of Hoenn map 119, an in-range event at a replica of Hoenn map 118 tried to move.
I think the error occured because $game_map.map_id returned the map I was on (Route 119), while the moving event was on a different map (Route 118). The coordinates of the event (on Route 118) are then projected on the wrong map (Route 119), and the x coordinate triggers an 'out of bounds' error (since Route 118 is wider than Route 119, and at the intersection of the two maps the x coordinate of Route 118 is already higher than the width of Route 119).

Solution code:
Spoiler:
Code:
Events.onStepTakenFieldMovement+=proc{|sender,e|
  event=e[0] # Get the event affected by field movement $game_map
  if event!=$game_player # The player event has no map_id, and is always on the current map anyway.
    thistile=$MapFactory.getRealTilePos(event.map_id,event.x,event.y)
  else
    thistile=$MapFactory.getRealTilePos($game_map.map_id,event.x,event.y)    
  end
  map=$MapFactory.getMap(thistile[0])


My question is: did I do anything dumb here?

If this also applies to a clean version of essentials, maybe this (minor) change could be in a potential future updated version.
Reply With Quote
  #622    
Old May 19th, 2014, 05:39 AM
Justniin
 
Join Date: May 2014
Gender: Male
There are a few bugs with specific attack animations and I somewhat know how to fix them. Apologies if any of these were already reported, I'm too lazy to look through the whole thread.

Fly: When used in battle, Fly's first turn animation and message are skipped and it's as if the attacker doesn't do anything on the turn. The move functions perfectly fine otherwise.
I found that this is because of a faulty animation call code in PokeBattle_MoveEffects in the Essentials script under Fly's function code, near line 4900.
Code:
@battle.pbCommonAnimation("Fly",attacker,opponent,hitnum,alltargets,showanimation)
I changed it to
Code:
@battle.pbCommonAnimation("Fly",attacker,nil)
After that change it's been working properly for me. I have no idea if this is a proper fix since I don't know anything about scripting, I just copied how other common animation calls were done.

Aerial Ace: I know this has been mentioned before, but whenever an opponent uses Aerial Ace, its sprite temporarily disappears, causing some weird occurrences with the battle system.
Example: I choose Weepinbell to use Stun Spore, but opponent is faster and uses Aerial Ace, which is enough to bring Weepinbell's HP to 0. Opponent's sprite disappears. Weepinbell's fainting animation is skipped and the party window for replacing the fainted Pokémon comes up. I send out Empoleon normally and the opponent reappears, but before the turn ends Empoleon uses the Stun Spore Weepinbell would've used it didn't faint.
Anyway, to the actual problem: the fault is with the attack animation OppMove:AERIALACE. While the opponent's sprite does persist throughout the animation, there is no cel labeled "1" in the final frames of the animation, which is probably why the opponent's sprite disappears after the attack animation.
I fixed it by copying the cel "1" from the earlier frames to all the frames so that it exists throughout the whole attack, although just having it in the last frame might be enough. I had to copy the cel because although they can be renumbered, you can't number the cel 0 or 1 even if 0 or 1 don't already exist for the frame.

Icicle Spear: This is more of a minor nitpick as it's only cosmetic, but might as well report it. Icicle Spear shows wrong animations from second hit onwards because there are no separate entries for Icicle Spear hits 2-5. This would be easily fixed by copying the Icicle Spear animation 4 times and reordering the animations so that the additional hit animations are right after the original animation, but I can't find an easy way to reorder them.
Reply With Quote
  #623    
Old May 22nd, 2014, 01:05 PM
SoulfulLex's Avatar
SoulfulLex
Empiricist-at-Large
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Gender: Male
Nature: Serious
I have a few more bugs to report:

1. In a trainer battle, if the opponent's Pokemon has "Mirror Move" in its moveset, it does not attack AT ALL.
2. The Squirtbottle and Sprayduck do not work when prompted to water Berries. The Wailmer Pail works just fine, however.
3. Using Headbutt from the Pokemon menu causes the game to crash. It works when the player interacts with the Headbutt tree, however.
4. Ether, Leppa Berry, and Max Ether do not work properly in battle; They do not prompt the player to select which move they want to restore PP to. In fact, they don't restore PP at all when used in battle (Leppa Berry still works if held). They work properly outside of battle, however.
5. This was mentioned before, but the Bug-Catching Contest does not allow Pokemon to be caught. It does, however, deduct the amount of Balls the player has left.

All of these were observed in Vanilla Essentials and can be replicated in-game.
Reply With Quote
  #624    
Old May 29th, 2014, 08:08 AM
Umbreon's Avatar
Umbreon
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nearby my feet.
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
When going to Test a Single Trainer battle in Debug Mode (while having no Trainers defined) the Trainer selection window sticks even after you close the debug menu (it stays until you open another menu or until you start walking)
Reply With Quote
  #625    
Old June 9th, 2014, 09:02 PM
Florio's Avatar
Florio
Pokemon Crimson Skies Owner
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Canada
Gender: Male
Nature: Lax
I got this error when I tried to use my Safari Zone. It worked before I upgraded to V13, now I get this error when I find a wild Pokemon.

Quote:
---------------------------
Pokemon Essentials
---------------------------
Exception: NoMethodError

Message: undefined method `isMega?' for #<PokeBattle_FakeBattler:0xb18e968>

PokeBattle_ActualScene:748:in `refresh'

PokeBattle_ActualScene:651:in `initialize'

PokeBattle_ActualScene:1886:in `new'

PokeBattle_ActualScene:1886:in `pbStartBattle'

PokeBattle_SafariZone:101:in `pbStartBattle'

PokemonSafari:114:in `pbSafariBattle'

PokemonSafari:113:in `pbSceneStandby'

PokemonSafari:115:in `pbSafariBattle'

PokemonSafari:112:in `pbBattleAnimation'

PokemonSafari:112:in `pbSafariBattle'



This exception was logged in

C:\Users\User\Saved Games/Pokemon Essentials/errorlog.txt.

Press Ctrl+C to copy this message to the clipboard.
---------------------------
OK
---------------------------
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links


Advertise here
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 11:26 PM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.