Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > Entertainment & Hobbies > Computers & Technology
Reload this Page [Help] Windows 7 Taskbar (two things; the first is more important)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Computers & Technology The place to go for all things tech and internet. Share a funny YouTube video or meme, discover the latest useful apps, or just get some free tech support.



Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1    
Old June 8th, 2014 (04:27 AM).
Cassino's Avatar
Cassino Cassino is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 7,546
1: Say I have a program with multiple windows currently open. Each window will have its own button on the taskbar, at least with the way I've configured it. What I want to do is move one of these buttons to a different position on the taskbar. How can I do that? Simply dragging one will move them all as a group. Keys like Ctrl and Alt don't seem to do anything.

2: Something I miss from older versions of Windows is the ability to right click on one of these taskbar buttons and be given an option to minimise/maximise the program. This appears to be absent in Windows 7; I'm only given 'close window'. Admittedly this feature was only useful in XP due to how the taskbar sometimes glitched out of focus or something, but still is there any way to re-add this?
Reply With Quote
  #2    
Old June 8th, 2014 (04:45 AM). Edited June 8th, 2014 by Blu·Ray.
Blu·Ray's Avatar
Blu·Ray Blu·Ray is offline
Manta Ray Pokémon
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Denmark
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 373
Send a message via Skype™ to Blu·Ray
#1: I don't think that there is a solution to this. Looking around on sevenforums I could not find any fix to that issue, unfortunately...

#2: You can do this by holding Shift and then right-click. This brings up the classic menu that you are used to from XP

EDIT: It seems that you should be able to fix #1 by using a third party tool, 7+ Taskbar Tweaker. This tool is shown in a demo video to do exactly what you want it to do, but unfortunately I could not get it to work on my Windows 8.1 computer. I can try it out for you on a Windows 7 machine once I get home
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #3    
Old June 8th, 2014 (09:05 AM).
Dustmop's Avatar
Dustmop Dustmop is offline
Pillow Fort Cat™
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: The South™
Age: 22
Gender: Female
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 894
Quote originally posted by Blu·Ray:
EDIT: It seems that you should be able to fix #1 by using a third party tool, 7+ Taskbar Tweaker. This tool is shown in a demo video to do exactly what you want it to do, but unfortunately I could not get it to work on my Windows 8.1 computer. I can try it out for you on a Windows 7 machine once I get home
Thank you, so much, for posting that. Wish I had that from the start. I went searching for Vista's version of Paint and Wordpad, I should have looked for that, too, lol.

It totally works for me. Firefox has four separate windows now and they're not stuck together anymore, I can freely move them.

Edit; as a bonus, it let me set pinned programs to double-click to open. I don't know if that was a thing before, but I couldn't find it if it was. That's a nice addition, since they're right next to the start button.
__________________


||
Steam profile: SgtDustmop || Origin: SgtDustmop
|| Wii U NNID: SergeantDustmop || 3DS FC: 0576-4566-8188 || Backloggery || My co-op games. ||
Reply With Quote
  #4    
Old June 8th, 2014 (10:32 AM).
Blu·Ray's Avatar
Blu·Ray Blu·Ray is offline
Manta Ray Pokémon
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Denmark
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 373
Send a message via Skype™ to Blu·Ray
Quote originally posted by Sgt.Dustmop:
It totally works for me. Firefox has four separate windows now and they're not stuck together anymore, I can freely move them.
That is brilliant! I am glad to be able to help! It worked on my Windows 7 machine as well
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #5    
Old June 13th, 2014 (08:21 PM). Edited June 13th, 2014 by Cassino.
Cassino's Avatar
Cassino Cassino is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 7,546
Quote originally posted by Blu·Ray:
EDIT: It seems that you should be able to fix #1 by using a third party tool, 7+ Taskbar Tweaker. This tool is shown in a demo video to do exactly what you want it to do, but unfortunately I could not get it to work on my Windows 8.1 computer. I can try it out for you on a Windows 7 machine once I get home ;)
That's a great utility, resolves both matters and then some; I can't thank you enough.


There is one other thing I've remembered that bothers me: I want Ctrl+Alt+Del to open the task manager straight away instead of the menu with the other options I never use.

EDIT: One more: any way to disable Ctrl+mousewheel on deskstop? I keep changing icon size unintentionally and it screws everything up.
Reply With Quote
  #6    
Old June 14th, 2014 (12:13 AM).
Blu·Ray's Avatar
Blu·Ray Blu·Ray is offline
Manta Ray Pokémon
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Denmark
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 373
Send a message via Skype™ to Blu·Ray
Quote originally posted by Cassino:
There is one other thing I've remembered that bothers me: I want Ctrl+Alt+Del to open the task manager straight away instead of the menu with the other options I never use.

EDIT: One more: any way to disable Ctrl+mousewheel on deskstop? I keep changing icon size unintentionally and it screws everything up.
In order to open up Task Manager, you just have to use Ctrl+Shift+Esc instead

As for the icons, from a quick search on the web I am unable to find a way to disable that. The only partial solution I have seen is to always have an AutoHotkey script running that blocks all Ctrl+mousewheel, but that is not really a viable solution in my opinion as it disables the key combination in all programs and also keeps a script running all the time. It might be a solution if you are really troubled by it, but if it is just a minor inconvenience, I would just let it stay as it is.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #7    
Old June 22nd, 2014 (07:16 AM).
Cassino's Avatar
Cassino Cassino is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 7,546
Quote originally posted by Blu·Ray:
In order to open up Task Manager, you just have to use Ctrl+Shift+Esc instead :)

As for the icons, from a quick search on the web I am unable to find a way to disable that. The only partial solution I have seen is to always have an AutoHotkey script running that blocks all Ctrl+mousewheel, but that is not really a viable solution in my opinion as it disables the key combination in all programs and also keeps a script running all the time. It might be a solution if you are really troubled by it, but if it is just a minor inconvenience, I would just let it stay as it is.
Well that's certainly a bit annoying to press...

Guess it's not worth the trouble of learning how AHK works just for this one thing... unless someone has already written that script?
Reply With Quote
  #8    
Old June 23rd, 2014 (03:09 PM).
Team Fail's Avatar
Team Fail Team Fail is online now
fun in the sun
Platinum Tier
 
Join Date: May 2009
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Posts: 10,697
Quote originally posted by Cassino:
There is one other thing I've remembered that bothers me: I want Ctrl+Alt+Del to open the task manager straight away instead of the menu with the other options I never use.
You can use the mentioned Ctrl+Shift+Esc, or else right-click on an empty portion of your taskbar and there's a direct link to the Task Manager.
__________________


voler avec moi
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links

You may also like.. (Beta)
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 08:41 PM.