Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > Tools, Tutorials & Resources
Reload this Page [Tool] Pokémon Gen III Rom Hacking Suite

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #426    
Old June 7th, 2014 (09:20 AM).
mamamama
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Quote originally posted by Akiak:
Ok scratch that, it's doing it again. I repointed Graveler's moveset to 14 moves, then I went to Golem and his moveset was empty (0/0 Moves). The offsets are different, this is real strange.
I had the same problem. Just don't overwrite with FF bytes and it should be fine.
Reply With Quote
  #427    
Old June 14th, 2014 (09:20 PM). Edited June 14th, 2014 by Phazon Elemental.
Phazon Elemental's Avatar
Phazon Elemental
luck and pluck
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Age: 24
Gender: Other
So there's one little dumb feature that I don't think I've seen that this has that I really miss from at least one other editor and would love to have back in this -- and that is the ability to change Pokedex numbers of 'mons. Did I just gloss over this? If it's not in the editor, are there plans to add it?

Quote originally posted by coolioguy78:
1. I added Mr. Dollsteak's attack and decap base. When I open the tool, moves do not load properly and I can't change any Pokemon's attack. How do I fix this?
You can fix this by opening up a hex editor, then looking for "BPRE" around 0xAC in the ROM and changing it to "MrDS" -- you should not need a table open. I think opening it with Notepad or something like that would be fine, too, but I have yet to confirm that. I did it in Translhextion already, so I haven't bothered to try it in anything else.

After this, you may need to remove parts of the INI that begin with [0000], etc.; I was getting an error when I had those, but after removing it, the issue cleared itself up. Search the INI for the string "[MrDS]" to ensure that data for it is in there.
__________________
In-game name: Coatlicue
3DS FC: 3926-4256-2399
Reply With Quote
  #428    
Old June 16th, 2014 (04:29 PM).
coolioguy78
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Gender: Male
So I added Mr Dollsteaks base, changed the game code, and I opened it in G3HS. I extended the number of Pokemon to 721. I started adding in the sprites for each Pokemon, and it worked fine until around Drilbur. Then it said "Images failed to decompress. Abort sprite load." I've tried again on a copy of the ROM and it happened on a different Pokemon. What is causing this?
Reply With Quote
  #429    
Old June 16th, 2014 (06:01 PM).
DarkDown
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Gender: Male
Quote originally posted by coolioguy78:
So I added Mr Dollsteaks base, changed the game code, and I opened it in G3HS. I extended the number of Pokemon to 721. I started adding in the sprites for each Pokemon, and it worked fine until around Drilbur. Then it said "Images failed to decompress. Abort sprite load." I've tried again on a copy of the ROM and it happened on a different Pokemon. What is causing this?
I think it happens when you click save twice in a row. Make sure to make a lot of backups.
Reply With Quote
  #430    
Old June 17th, 2014 (04:56 AM).
Seth1353's Avatar
Seth1353
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Australia
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
all the pokegods cry. best tool ever thank you
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #431    
Old June 17th, 2014 (02:49 PM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by DarkDown:
I think it happens when you click save twice in a row. Make sure to make a lot of backups.
That is what I thought, so I implemented code to absolutely make sure it can't do this. I have tried so many times to replicate this and I can't. I hope it fixes itself when I update soon.

Quote originally posted by Phazon Elemental:
So there's one little dumb feature that I don't think I've seen that this has that I really miss from at least one other editor and would love to have back in this -- and that is the ability to change Pokedex numbers of 'mons. Did I just gloss over this? If it's not in the editor, are there plans to add it?
Yup, those are in the works.
__________________

Paired with Simba
Reply With Quote
  #432    
Old June 19th, 2014 (11:59 AM).
Dark Sneasel's Avatar
Dark Sneasel
I like being a drone.
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Miami, FL
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Hasty
I have a question, will you be adding support for 64x32 icons? Someone posted (a long time ago) in the quick recourse thread a rar of all icons, but they're 64x32 instead of 32x64, so can you make it support them?
__________________
Pokémon Fluorite Version (Beta 2 Released)


Join Poketch.com, a new ROM hacking community! Click on the image for more!
Reply With Quote
  #433    
Old June 21st, 2014 (10:08 AM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by Dark Sneasel:
I have a question, will you be adding support for 64x32 icons? Someone posted (a long time ago) in the quick recourse thread a rar of all icons, but they're 64x32 instead of 32x64, so can you make it support them?
That shouldn't be too hard
__________________

Paired with Simba
Reply With Quote
  #434    
Old June 21st, 2014 (06:28 PM).
DarkShedinja's Avatar
DarkShedinja
Progressing Rom Developer
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Philippines
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Question. why Can't i select my newly added Pokémon in Advanced Map :/ ?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #435    
Old June 21st, 2014 (06:43 PM).
Dark Sneasel's Avatar
Dark Sneasel
I like being a drone.
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Miami, FL
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Hasty
Quote originally posted by wez98:
Question. why Can't i select my newly added Pokémon in Advanced Map :/ ?
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=324867 check that out that'll help
__________________
Pokémon Fluorite Version (Beta 2 Released)


Join Poketch.com, a new ROM hacking community! Click on the image for more!
Reply With Quote
  #436    
Old June 22nd, 2014 (03:45 PM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by Dark Sneasel:
I have a question, will you be adding support for 64x32 icons? Someone posted (a long time ago) in the quick recourse thread a rar of all icons, but they're 64x32 instead of 32x64, so can you make it support them?
I just added this I should be able to release in the next few days. My computer had died and I am almost done setting up the new one with all of the dependencies. Windows makes python work kind of awkward because it isn't part of the native run time. It is running great under Linux.
__________________

Paired with Simba
Reply With Quote
  #437    
Old June 22nd, 2014 (04:24 PM). Edited June 22nd, 2014 by jirachiwishmaker.
jirachiwishmaker's Avatar
jirachiwishmaker
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Forina
Age: 29
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
May I know will you adding the feature of the new evolution methods for Emerald in the next release?
Reply With Quote
  #438    
Old June 22nd, 2014 (08:12 PM).
kearnseyboy6's Avatar
kearnseyboy6
Aussie's Toughest Mudder
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote originally posted by jirachiwishmaker:
May I know will you adding the feature of the new evolution methods for Emerald in the next release?
He will need the map names for Emerald to make this work. Specifically the table of pointers to the text the names are stored. If you find them let him know.
__________________
HOLIDAYING CURRENTLY!!
Reply With Quote
  #439    
Old June 22nd, 2014 (11:52 PM). Edited June 23rd, 2014 by jirachiwishmaker.
jirachiwishmaker's Avatar
jirachiwishmaker
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Forina
Age: 29
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Quote originally posted by kearnseyboy6:
He will need the map names for Emerald to make this work. Specifically the table of pointers to the text the names are stored. If you find them let him know.
Thank you for telling me. Finally I get them:

Spoiler:
Text Pointers Maps Name
Table
0x5A1480 LITTLEROOT TOWN
0x5A1488 OLDALE TOWN
0x5A1490 DEWFORD TOWN
0x5A1498 LAVARIDGE TOWN
0x5A14A0 FALLARBOR TOWN
0x5A14A8 VERDANTURF TOWN
0x5A14B0 PACIFIDLOG TOWN
0x5A14B8 PETALBURG CITY
0x5A14C0 SLATEPORT CITY
0x5A14C8 MAUVILLE CITY
0x5A14D0 RUSTBORO CITY
0x5A14D8 FORTREE CITY
0x5A14E0 LILYCOVE CITY
0x5A14E8 MOSSDEEP CITY
0x5A14F0 SOOTOPOLIS CITY
0x5A14F8 EVER GRANDE CITY
0x5A1500 ROUTE 101
0x5A1508 ROUTE 102
0x5A1510 ROUTE 103
0x5A1518 ROUTE 104
0x5A1520 ROUTE 105
0x5A1528 ROUTE 106
0x5A1530 ROUTE 107
0x5A1538 ROUTE 108
0x5A1540 ROUTE 109
0x5A1548 ROUTE 110
0x5A1550 ROUTE 111
0x5A1558 ROUTE 112
0x5A1560 ROUTE 113
0x5A1568 ROUTE 114
0x5A1570 ROUTE 115
0x5A1578 ROUTE 116
0x5A1580 ROUTE 117
0x5A1588 ROUTE 118
0x5A1590 ROUTE 119
0x5A1598 ROUTE 120
0x5A15A0 ROUTE 121
0x5A15A8 ROUTE 122
0x5A15B0 ROUTE 123
0x5A15B8 ROUTE 124
0x5A15C0 ROUTE 125
0x5A15C8 ROUTE 126
0x5A15D0 ROUTE 127
0x5A15D8 ROUTE 128
0x5A15E0 ROUTE 129
0x5A15E8 ROUTE 130
0x5A15F0 ROUTE 131
0x5A15F8 ROUTE 132
0x5A1600 ROUTE 133
0x5A1608 ROUTE 134
0x5A1610 UNDERWATER
0x5A1618 GRANITE CAVE
0x5A1620 MT. CHIMNEY
0x5A1628 SAFARI ZONE
0x5A1630 BATTLE FRONTIER
0x5A1638 PETALBURG WOODS
0x5A1640 RUSTURF TUNNEL
0x5A1648 ABANDONED SHIP
0x5A1650 NEW MAUVILLE
0x5A1658 METEOR FALLS
0x5A1660 MT. PYRE
0x5A1668 [team] HIDEOUT
0x5A1670 SHOAL CAVE
0x5A1678 SEAFLOOR CAVERN
0x5A1680 VICTORY ROAD
0x5A1688 MIRAGE ISLAND
0x5A1690 CAVE OF ORIGIN
0x5A1698 SOUTHERN ISLAND
0x5A16A0 FIERY PATH
0x5A16A8 JAGGED PASS
0x5A16B0 SEALED CHAMBER
0x5A16B8 SCORCHED SLAB
0x5A16C0 ISLAND CAVE
0x5A16C8 DESERT RUINS
0x5A16D0 ANCIENT TOMB
0x5A16D8 INSIDE OF TRUCK
0x5A16E0 SKY PILLAR
0x5A16E8 SECRET BASE
0x5A19F0 NAVEL ROCK
0x5A1A38 ALTERING CAVE
0x5A1AA8 AQUA HIDEOUT
0x5A1AB0 MAGMA HIDEOUT
0x5A1AB8 MIRAGE TOWER
0x5A1AC0 BIRTH ISLAND
0x5A1AC8 FARAWAY ISLAND
0x5A1AD0 ARTISAN CAVE
0x5A1AD8 MARINE CAVE
0x5A1AE0 UNDERWATER
0x5A1AE8 TERRA CAVE
0x5A1AF0 UNDERWATER
0x5A1AF8 UNDERWATER
0x5A1B00 UNDERWATER
0x5A1B08 DESERT UNDERPASS
0x5A1B10 ALTERING CAVE
0x5A1B18 NAVEL ROCK
0x5A1B20 TRAINER HILL
Reply With Quote
  #440    
Old June 23rd, 2014 (01:33 AM).
Uikri's Avatar
Uikri
 
Join Date: May 2013
Gender: Male
Norton is saying there is a trojan attached. http://www.symantec.com/security_response/writeup.jsp?docid=2014-011016-0119-99&vid=4294921081&prod=scss&product=Norton%20Security%20Suite&version=20.5.0.28&plang=sym:EN&layouttype=SOS&buildname=SymantecPartner&heartbeatID=63084FB2-C9D9-11DF-AE18-E0CB4ECEC8D2&env=prod&ispid=1122&sitename=US&vendorid=Symantec&plid=0&skup=21272414&skum=21272414&skuf=21228661&endpointid={63084FB2-C9D9-11DF-AE18-E0CB4ECEC8D2}&partnerid=Symantec&lic_type=64&lic_attr=152594&osvers=6.1&oslocale=iso:USA&oslang=iso:ENG&os=windows
Reply With Quote
  #441    
Old June 23rd, 2014 (09:50 AM).
AmazingCharizard's Avatar
AmazingCharizard
Pokemon Rocket Strike creator
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: High above you
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Quote originally posted by Uikri:
Norton is saying there is a trojan attached. http://www.symantec.com/security_response/writeup.jsp?docid=2014-011016-0119-99&vid=4294921081&prod=scss&product=Norton%20Security%20Suite&version=20.5.0.28&plang=sym:EN&layouttype=SOS&buildname=SymantecPartner&heartbeatID=63084FB2-C9D9-11DF-AE18-E0CB4ECEC8D2&env=prod&ispid=1122&sitename=US&vendorid=Symantec&plid=0&skup=21272414&skum=21272414&skuf=21228661&endpointid={63084FB2-C9D9-11DF-AE18-E0CB4ECEC8D2}&partnerid=Symantec&lic_type=64&lic_attr=152594&osvers=6.1&oslocale=iso:USA&oslang=iso:ENG&os=windows
It' a false alarm, some AV are more cautious than others. The program sure is safe.
__________________
Professional Alpha Dragon Slayer & the Greatest in the Universe(at least in XenoVerse)

Check out my hack "Pokemon Rocket Strike" http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=319844
How to patch a rom:
1.Download the patch. If it is in a .zip file then use a free tool named WinRar to unzip the file.
2.Use Google to find the rom you need.
3.PATCH THAT THING AND LIVE LONG AND PROSPER!
Reply With Quote
  #442    
Old June 23rd, 2014 (03:24 PM).
Gemini8910's Avatar
Gemini8910
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Gender: Female
Hello! I'm trying to use this program to hack a Pokemon Emerald ROM, but I'm having some trouble with the animated sprites. I don't have enough posts to do pictures yet, so I guess I'll just have to explain the problem in as much detail as possible.

Basically, I created a silly little testing sprite to use to learn different hacking programs. I went to the Sprites tab and filled in all 4 boxes with a regular sprite (I didn't take the time to make a backsprite or shiny versions). It looked perfectly fine here, so I went up to where it says "Sprite Frame" and clicked it to go from frame 0 to frame 1. There's only two clickable boxes there, so I filled them in with a horizontally flipped version of the sprite to create some sort of animation effect. It looked just fine, so I saved everything and closed out of the Hacking Suite.

I started up the ROM and went to where I had set this fakemon to have wild encounters. I found one, and it did the animation. But the second frame of the animation didn't look right; its colors looked glitched and corrupted. The first frame looked fine, it briefly turned corrupted, and then it turned back to normal.

So I opened up the program again, and went to that fakemon. I go to the corrupted frame, and sure enough, it looks all corrupted and gross like it did in game. So I put the sprite back in, and it looked fixed. I go back to the first frame, and it's corrupted! When I fix that frame, the second one gets corrupted again!

TL;DR: One frame of the sprites are corrupted, and fixing one causes the other to break.

I've already double checked to make sure both sprites were properly indexed with InfranView. I'm new to hacking and I can't figure this out! Help is very much appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #443    
Old June 23rd, 2014 (04:59 PM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by Gemini8910:
Hello! I'm trying to use this program to hack a Pokemon Emerald ROM, but I'm having some trouble with the animated sprites. I don't have enough posts to do pictures yet, so I guess I'll just have to explain the problem in as much detail as possible.

Basically, I created a silly little testing sprite to use to learn different hacking programs. I went to the Sprites tab and filled in all 4 boxes with a regular sprite (I didn't take the time to make a backsprite or shiny versions). It looked perfectly fine here, so I went up to where it says "Sprite Frame" and clicked it to go from frame 0 to frame 1. There's only two clickable boxes there, so I filled them in with a horizontally flipped version of the sprite to create some sort of animation effect. It looked just fine, so I saved everything and closed out of the Hacking Suite.

I started up the ROM and went to where I had set this fakemon to have wild encounters. I found one, and it did the animation. But the second frame of the animation didn't look right; its colors looked glitched and corrupted. The first frame looked fine, it briefly turned corrupted, and then it turned back to normal.

So I opened up the program again, and went to that fakemon. I go to the corrupted frame, and sure enough, it looks all corrupted and gross like it did in game. So I put the sprite back in, and it looked fixed. I go back to the first frame, and it's corrupted! When I fix that frame, the second one gets corrupted again!

TL;DR: One frame of the sprites are corrupted, and fixing one causes the other to break.

I've already double checked to make sure both sprites were properly indexed with InfranView. I'm new to hacking and I can't figure this out! Help is very much appreciated.
Hmmm.... I know that the frames are stored weird. Can you send me that image for testing? I may have already fixed this.
__________________

Paired with Simba
Reply With Quote
  #444    
Old June 23rd, 2014 (07:04 PM).
coolioguy78
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Gender: Male
Great job, can't wait till the next release! One problem though:

I'm trying to add new Pokemon icons. They were added successfully, but the colors are weird. I changed the color pallet to 1, readded/repointed the icon, saved, and when I go back to that Pokemon, the pallet is back to 0 and the colors are messed up again. I can switch it to one but it reverts back every time I try. Can you please fix this?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #445    
Old June 23rd, 2014 (10:58 PM).
int's Avatar
int
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Newbark Town
Age: 19
Gender: Female
Nature: Relaxed
Hello, I just tried this tool. It is awesome for editing Pokémon! Big thanks to the author!
Reply With Quote
  #446    
Old June 24th, 2014 (02:01 AM).
roytam1
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Gender: Male
Hi I'm new to here
I have a question, does G3HS support Japanese ROMs?
Reply With Quote
  #447    
Old June 24th, 2014 (04:14 AM).
int's Avatar
int
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Newbark Town
Age: 19
Gender: Female
Nature: Relaxed
As far as I know it only supports english ROMs.
Reply With Quote
  #448    
Old June 24th, 2014 (04:31 AM).
Seth1353's Avatar
Seth1353
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Australia
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Firstly this tool is so cool thank you for it/
Secondly say I expanded the dex and added genescet, could i add a overworld for genesect to the game and be able to battle genesect or does it have to be in the original pokedex?

(( probably sound like a noob but oh well ))
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #449    
Old June 24th, 2014 (06:10 AM).
Erkin's Avatar
Erkin
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Hi, I am currently making a hack of Pokémon Emerald and I was wondering if it could be possible to use the same technique that deoxy uses to change its forme into deoxy-s, and apply it to other Pokémon to make a sort of a 'mega-evolution'. For example, when in battle and you send Charizard out and if it happens to be a holding a specific item(Charizardite X), then it would turn into Mega Charizard X. And could it use the same animation as Ditto does when it transforms into another Pokémon?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #450    
Old June 24th, 2014 (09:47 AM). Edited June 24th, 2014 by Projectwolfie.
Projectwolfie's Avatar
Projectwolfie
I play for keeps!
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Gender: Male
Quote originally posted by Erkin:
Hi, I am currently making a hack of Pokémon Emerald and I was wondering if it could be possible to use the same technique that deoxy uses to change its forme into deoxy-s, and apply it to other Pokémon to make a sort of a 'mega-evolution'. For example, when in battle and you send Charizard out and if it happens to be a holding a specific item(Charizardite X), then it would turn into Mega Charizard X. And could it use the same animation as Ditto does when it transforms into another Pokémon?
1. This isn't quite the right topic to ask that. Here's a research post detailing quite a bit about formes and how it relates to Megas though: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showpost.php?p=8272001&postcount=4
2. Because there isn't much research about it done yet, I don't think anyone can tell you if that's possible or not, but I could be wrong.

Quote originally posted by roytam1:
Hi I'm new to here
I have a question, does G3HS support Japanese ROMs?
A few languages that aren't English are supported. If a language isn't there, you can make it work.
__________________
Old Project: Pokemon Fire Red 251+
Reboot from scratch coming soon!
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 02:46 AM.