Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > Tools, Tutorials & Resources
Reload this Page [Tool] Python IPS Patcher

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1    
Old July 2nd, 2014 (01:43 PM). Edited July 5th, 2014 by Hopeless Masquerade.
Hopeless Masquerade's Avatar
Hopeless Masquerade Hopeless Masquerade is offline
カミツレ
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Nimbasa City
Age: 18
Gender: Female
Nature: Lax
Posts: 1,110

Python IPS Patcher



Hello, all! I recently purchased an Apple computer, and I needed an easy way to apply IPS patches without using an app. So, to solve that problem I wrote up a little python script complete with a GUI to help out, keeping Mac users in mind.

Screens


Spoiler:


The patcher running on Mac.


The patcher running on Windows. Thanks Shufflejoy!


The patcher running on Linux. Thanks Shiny Quagsire!


Download


Version 1.0: Click
Note: To get it to run on Linux, change the first line to "#!/usr/bin/python2". Thanks to Shiny Quagsire.

I've only tested this on Mac, so if you use it on anything else let me know how it goes!
Also, should I improve it? Add a way to make a patch?
__________________
Nimbasa City
"Lit by the Flash of Lightning!"
Supporter City Collab 2015


has no friends
Silver Supporter

Reply With Quote
  #2    
Old July 3rd, 2014 (06:17 PM).
Shufflejoy's Avatar
Shufflejoy Shufflejoy is offline
Tutturu!
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Gender: Female
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 23
It appears to work perfectly well on Windows! I have Python 2.7.6 installed.



It looks like it should work fine on Linux, but on my Arch install I don't have Tk configured and don't feel like setting it up to test. I do think you should add support for creating patches! I also think it would be cool if you added a way to use it from the command line. Something like:

./ips.py patch [IPS] [ROM]
./ips.py create [OLD] [NEW] [IPS]
Reply With Quote
  #3    
Old July 3rd, 2014 (07:25 PM).
Hopeless Masquerade's Avatar
Hopeless Masquerade Hopeless Masquerade is offline
カミツレ
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Nimbasa City
Age: 18
Gender: Female
Nature: Lax
Posts: 1,110
Quote originally posted by Shufflejoy:
It appears to work perfectly well on Windows! I have Python 2.7.6 installed.

It looks like it should work fine on Linux, but on my Arch install I don't have Tk configured and don't feel like setting it up to test. I do think you should add support for creating patches! I also think it would be cool if you added a way to use it from the command line. Something like:

./ips.py patch [IPS] [ROM]
./ips.py create [OLD] [NEW] [IPS]
Thanks for trying it out for me!
It would be a simple matter to either add the command line format, or create a second script with that feature, so I'll probably do it.
__________________
Nimbasa City
"Lit by the Flash of Lightning!"
Supporter City Collab 2015


has no friends
Silver Supporter

Reply With Quote
  #4    
Old July 3rd, 2014 (09:14 PM).
Shufflejoy's Avatar
Shufflejoy Shufflejoy is offline
Tutturu!
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Gender: Female
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 23
Awesome. Looking forward to it! ^_^
Reply With Quote
  #5    
Old July 4th, 2014 (12:58 PM).
Shiny Quagsire's Avatar
Shiny Quagsire Shiny Quagsire is offline
Working on KARL3DS
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Hoenn Safari Zone
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 687
Quote originally posted by Shufflejoy:
It looks like it should work fine on Linux, but on my Arch install I don't have Tk configured and don't feel like setting it up to test.
Just tested on my personal Arch install, from the original .py I had to change the first line to this for it to work just executing it in bash:
Code:
#!/usr/bin/python2
But that's only because it seemed to refuse to work with python 3, so launching it using python 2.7 is working so far:

(The lack of border is due to my tiling window manager, since I only use keyboard shortcuts to close and resize windows).
__________________



Reply With Quote
  #6    
Old July 5th, 2014 (04:52 PM).
Hopeless Masquerade's Avatar
Hopeless Masquerade Hopeless Masquerade is offline
カミツレ
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Nimbasa City
Age: 18
Gender: Female
Nature: Lax
Posts: 1,110
Quote originally posted by Shiny Quagsire:
Just tested on my personal Arch install, from the original .py I had to change the first line to this for it to work just executing it in bash:
Code:
#!/usr/bin/python2
But that's only because it seemed to refuse to work with python 3, so launching it using python 2.7 is working so far:

(The lack of border is due to my tiling window manager, since I only use keyboard shortcuts to close and resize windows).
Thanks for trying it out!
I don't have Linux on any of my computers, so I appreciate you testing this for me.
__________________
Nimbasa City
"Lit by the Flash of Lightning!"
Supporter City Collab 2015


has no friends
Silver Supporter

Reply With Quote
  #7    
Old July 5th, 2014 (09:37 PM).
Shufflejoy's Avatar
Shufflejoy Shufflejoy is offline
Tutturu!
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Gender: Female
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 23
Quote originally posted by Shiny Quagsire:
Just tested on my personal Arch install, from the original .py I had to change the first line to this for it to work just executing it in bash:
Code:
#!/usr/bin/python2
But that's only because it seemed to refuse to work with python 3, so launching it using python 2.7 is working so far:

(The lack of border is due to my tiling window manager, since I only use keyboard shortcuts to close and resize windows).
Yeah, I had to change that line as well since my only Python install exists in /opt/android-build/python :p
Reply With Quote
  #8    
Old July 7th, 2014 (09:05 PM).
TheAmazingSpiderMan's Avatar
TheAmazingSpiderMan TheAmazingSpiderMan is offline
Aka Ansirent
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: India
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 870
NEW IPS PATHCER !!!!!!!!! Yes i was thinking to find something like this. Hope this will be lot easier then Lunar ips.
__________________

My Club |Paired With IndianCharizard |
"I CAN'T LET YOU TOUCH MY FAMILY!!!!!"

Reply With Quote
  #9    
Old August 4th, 2014 (01:11 AM). Edited August 4th, 2014 by sky_queen3.
sky_queen3's Avatar
sky_queen3 sky_queen3 is offline
Minusle Fangirl. ;)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Australia
Age: 25
Gender: Female
Nature: Naive
Posts: 249
Why is it not working for me, I have Windows 7 and Python 3.4.1. I click the program, a black window with text appears and closes before I can read the text.

Ok, after 100 screenshots of the window flashing I thin it reads:

Traceback (most recent call last):
File “C:\Users\HP\Downloads\Python IPS Patcher\ips.py”, line 10 in <module>
from Tkinter import *
ImportError: No module named ‘Tkinter’
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10    
Old August 4th, 2014 (02:36 AM).
Touched's Avatar
Touched Touched is online now
Resident ASMAGICIAN
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Gender: Male
Posts: 172
Quote originally posted by sky_queen3:
Why is it not working for me, I have Windows 7 and Python 3.4.1. I click the program, a black window with text appears and closes before I can read the text.

Ok, after 100 screenshots of the window flashing I thin it reads:

Traceback (most recent call last):
File “C:\Users\HP\Downloads\Python IPS Patcher\ips.py”, line 10 in <module>
from Tkinter import *
ImportError: No module named ‘Tkinter’
This won't work with Python 3. It's written for Python 2. Python 3 is not backwards compatible, with one of the many changes being the renaming of several modules (Tkinter -> tkinter, for example). Either attempt to run this through a Python 2to3 tool (should have been bundled with your Python installation) or download Python 2.7 and use that. You'll probably want to keep both versions installed, for situations like this.
Reply With Quote
  #11    
Old August 5th, 2014 (02:42 AM).
sky_queen3's Avatar
sky_queen3 sky_queen3 is offline
Minusle Fangirl. ;)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Australia
Age: 25
Gender: Female
Nature: Naive
Posts: 249
Ok, I got 2.7, it works fine now, thank you.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 06:22 AM.