Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > Tools, Tutorials & Resources
Reload this Page [Tutorial] Inserting tiles without replacing.

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1    
Old February 8th, 2014 (01:19 PM). Edited May 9th, 2014 by Kenny1.
Kenny1's Avatar
Kenny1 Kenny1 is offline
On a break from Rom hacking, to improve other skills.
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 84
Tile Inserting

Hello today i am going to teach you how to insert tiles without replacing the originals.
Unfortunately this is a bit buggy if youre lazy, it takes a lot of effort and determination.
If you lack this turn back now.

So lets begin, shall we?
What you will need:
Spoiler:

Advance map 1.92 + 1.95 (AM)
Irfan view (IV)
Paint (P)
Tiles to insert
Pokemon rom


Phase 1 (Indexing tiles)
Spoiler:

Step 1:
Open AM 1.95, and load your rom.
Go > Tools > Block Editor

Step 2:
Go > Tileset > Insert New Tileset
Choose yes or no depending on what you want.

Step 3:
Now go to IV and load your Tiles,
Go > Image > Decrease Color Depth,
Tick 16 Color (4PBB)
Click Ok
Go > File > Save as... (Save as a PNG!! This is very important if you don't the tiles will become corrupted!)


Phase 2 (Syncing AM's and IV's paletts)
Spoiler:

Step 1:
Go to AM 1.92 (accept license agreement)
Load Rom
Open any map
Go > Tools > Block Editor
Go > Pallets > Show Pallet Editor.

Step 2:
Go to IV and Go > Image > Pallet > Edit Pallet.

Step 3:
Here comes the tricky part:
In AM's Pallet Editor click on the first colour in the pallet'
Then click select color and point the mouse cursor at the first color of IV's Pallet Editor, Now hit enter, then in AM's Pallet editor click apply.

Step 4:
Go to the second one in AM's Pallet Editor(PE)
repeat the process but point the cursor at the second color of IV's PE.Do this for all the colors.

Step 5:
When done in AM click on the first color and write down the RGB,
Then Go to IV's PE and double click the first color and replace its RGB with the one you just wrote down.
do this with all of the colors: 2=2 3=3 4=4 etc.
Save this as something else.


Phase 3 (Preparing to insert tiles)
Spoiler:

Part 1:
Spoiler:

Step 1:
Now Quit AM's PE and then click pallets write pallet to rom (or something like that)
Step 2:
Now Go > Picture > Save Tileset X (whichever one you want.)

Part 2:
Spoiler:

Now open the tiles you made in Phase 2 Step 5, (IN PAINT)
as well as the tiles from Phase 1 Step 3 (IN PAINT)
and paste the second one over the first one
save as anything and delete the other 2

Phase 4: (Inserting tiles)
Spoiler:

Spoiler:

Step 1:
Open the file you just made in paint,
Open the tileset you saved earlier.


Step 2:
Spoiler:

Copy the tiles over onto the the tileset.
Save


Step 3:
Spoiler:

In Am Go to the block editor'
Go > Picture > Load tileset,
Select the file you just made.










if anything goes wrong please pm me the problem aswell as a description of what is wrong. I'll update this someday again and add pics, maybe show you how to replace old tiles
__________________
Currently working on ASM. Thank you to Almarto, for teaching me the basics of ASM, and everyone else who posts ASM routines and tutorials.
Reply With Quote
  #2    
Old February 11th, 2014 (02:09 PM).
reillyj99 reillyj99 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 6
Thank you for this, it sure will be helpful!
Reply With Quote
  #3    
Old February 13th, 2014 (12:03 AM).
wael96 wael96 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Beijing,China
Gender: Male
Posts: 38
Thank you very much! But how to make those index tiles appear similar to the origin tiles , you know when indexing the image, the color looks horrible...
Reply With Quote
  #4    
Old February 14th, 2014 (08:13 AM).
Kenny1's Avatar
Kenny1 Kenny1 is offline
On a break from Rom hacking, to improve other skills.
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 84
When they have the wrong colors after indexing it means they had to many colors to begin with, try using tiles with the same colors.
Reply With Quote
  #5    
Old February 21st, 2014 (10:03 AM).
Donut's Avatar
Donut Donut is offline
Spriter
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA, Ohio
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Posts: 24
I basically got screwed over at the end. I hope our future advanced technology can make it so that we can just make it so we can import an image and it converts it to all multiple 8 rgb's and the lets us use it as a tile.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6    
Old March 15th, 2014 (08:52 PM).
Near~'s Avatar
Near~ Near~ is offline
The End is Near...
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Berlín, Alemania
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 339
Send a message via Skype™ to Near~
Quote originally posted by Donut:
I basically got screwed over at the end. I hope our future advanced technology can make it so that we can just make it so we can import an image and it converts it to all multiple 8 rgb's and the lets us use it as a tile.
Now I hope not... Seriously most hacks are looking cool because of graphics XD thats what I here...
But That would make people lazy In reality tile insertation is easier than it seems
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
Inappropriate content.
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
Reply With Quote
  #7    
Old March 20th, 2014 (08:07 PM).
Kenny1's Avatar
Kenny1 Kenny1 is offline
On a break from Rom hacking, to improve other skills.
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 84
Quote originally posted by Donut:
I basically got screwed over at the end. I hope our future advanced technology can make it so that we can just make it so we can import an image and it converts it to all multiple 8 rgb's and the lets us use it as a tile.
hey sure the way i used to sync the palettes is a LONG process, but i warned you in the beginning that you would need patience, trial and error.

Quote originally posted by SynBit:
Now I hope not... Seriously most hacks are looking cool because of graphics XD thats what I here...
But That would make people lazy In reality tile insertation is easier than it seems
You are right, it is easy if you have patience
__________________
Currently working on ASM. Thank you to Almarto, for teaching me the basics of ASM, and everyone else who posts ASM routines and tutorials.
Reply With Quote
  #8    
Old March 21st, 2014 (06:27 PM).
Near~'s Avatar
Near~ Near~ is offline
The End is Near...
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Berlín, Alemania
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 339
Send a message via Skype™ to Near~
Quote originally posted by Kenny1:
hey sure the way i used to sync the palettes is a LONG process, but i warned you in the beginning that you would need patience, trial and error.



You are right, it is easy if you have patience
As some n00b who could not insert tiles i went to someone who could do it in 30 minutes then 5 minutes... Patience ^___^
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
Inappropriate content.
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
Reply With Quote
  #9    
Old May 7th, 2014 (08:05 PM).
Sniper's Avatar
Sniper Sniper is offline
ヘッド·ショット
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Void
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 1,296
Send a message via Skype™ to Sniper
So does that means I can insert new palettes without replacing the original one?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10    
Old May 9th, 2014 (08:05 AM).
Kenny1's Avatar
Kenny1 Kenny1 is offline
On a break from Rom hacking, to improve other skills.
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 84
Quote originally posted by V.V:
So does that means I can insert new palettes without replacing the original one?
Yeah kinda, that tileset will kinda have it's own personal set of 12 palettes, for itself.
__________________
Currently working on ASM. Thank you to Almarto, for teaching me the basics of ASM, and everyone else who posts ASM routines and tutorials.
Reply With Quote
  #11    
Old May 13th, 2014 (04:41 PM).
Maglor's Avatar
Maglor Maglor is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 63
This is gooood.
I always hated those few blocks on the top of already existing tilesets, takin up all the space...
There's no bugs or glitches encountered after inserting a couple of new tilesets ye? Seeing as it assigns new offsets and whatnot.
Reply With Quote
  #12    
Old May 17th, 2014 (05:00 AM).
rom hunter's Avatar
rom hunter rom hunter is offline
tongue-tied
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Tropics
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 73
I tried the steps in the tutorial but its giving me "palette is missing" error. I was bit confused about the last part (phase 3 - part 2 onwards). I didn't quite got what I am supposed to paste on what. What I did was I pasted tiles from my palette-adjusted tileset to the in-built tileset (palette with rgb adjustments) saved as dib file. When I tried to load this merged tileset file I got the error.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #13    
Old May 17th, 2014 (10:40 AM).
Kenny1's Avatar
Kenny1 Kenny1 is offline
On a break from Rom hacking, to improve other skills.
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 84
Quote originally posted by rom hunter:
I tried the steps in the tutorial but its giving me "palette is missing" error. I was bit confused about the last part (phase 3 - part 2 onwards). I didn't quite got what I am supposed to paste on what. What I did was I pasted tiles from my palette-adjusted tileset to the in-built tileset (palette with rgb adjustments) saved as dib file. When I tried to load this merged tileset file I got the error.
You open the tileset you saved in A-Map,
then you copy your indexed tiles across.
__________________
Currently working on ASM. Thank you to Almarto, for teaching me the basics of ASM, and everyone else who posts ASM routines and tutorials.
Reply With Quote
  #14    
Old July 27th, 2014 (05:06 PM).
BlackStorm20x's Avatar
BlackStorm20x BlackStorm20x is offline
FireRed and Emerald hacks are where it's at.
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: United States, Somewhere in the southern states.
Age: 14
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 286
This was a great tutorial! Thank you!
__________________
I am a Christian. I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
-------------------------Hacks I Like----------------------




Reply With Quote
  #15    
Old July 31st, 2014 (06:32 AM).
tzujm33 tzujm33 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 75
Quote originally posted by Kenny1:
Yeah kinda, that tileset will kinda have it's own personal set of 12 palettes, for itself.
SO i can have in the end more than 12 palettes for the whole game?
Sorry if the question sounds dumb but this would be total great.
Reply With Quote
  #16    
Old July 31st, 2014 (07:02 AM).
Kenny1's Avatar
Kenny1 Kenny1 is offline
On a break from Rom hacking, to improve other skills.
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 84
Quote originally posted by tzujm33:
SO i can have in the end more than 12 palettes for the whole game?
Sorry if the question sounds dumb but this would be total great.
Kinda, the tileset you create can be used on any map, but only one tileset per map, the GBA can only
Display 16 palettes at one time, 12 for tiles, and the rest are other things, like textboxes.
__________________
Currently working on ASM. Thank you to Almarto, for teaching me the basics of ASM, and everyone else who posts ASM routines and tutorials.
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 04:10 AM.