Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > Tools, Tutorials & Resources
Reload this Page [Tutorial] [Tutorial] How to change the Worldmap in R/S/E

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #151    
Old January 18th, 2014 (04:45 AM). Edited January 19th, 2014 by darkprince909.
darkprince909 darkprince909 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Gender:
Posts: 79
I'm having an issue here, but it's not really much to do with not being able to follow the tutorial. It's just my tilemap is too big. By that, I mean it's 16x16, so it's not actually too big to load into the ROM. The problem is I was banking on being able to flip some tiles to repeat here and there, but 8BPP won't let me, whereas 4BPP will.

Here's my map and tileset I'm trying to import. I already trimmed about 110 duplicate or similar tiles out of a previous version, and I'm not sure what, if anything I can cut to make room for the "flipped" tiles if I can't flip them in NTME.




Edit: Nevermind. I figured it out. Still have an issue with the bottom right corner. I figured it would be covered by the textboxes in all cases. Turns out I forgot how the Pokedex displayed the map. And for some reason, the tiles and tilemap I imported seemed to work just fine for the Pokedex, except there are a few tiles in that corner that didn't carry over from the World Map and Pokenav map onto the Pokedex screen. It's not too big an issue, just kind of annoying. There's a big portion of land that runs right into the sea with no transition. And for some reason, the third color in the palette likes to change. It's not that big a deal, and I think it's a little cool. It's the light gray that outlines the routes, and sometimes it'll be the right color, other times it'll be red or blue or some other color.
Reply With Quote
  #152    
Old January 20th, 2014 (03:35 PM). Edited January 20th, 2014 by The_Show.
The_Show The_Show is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Carracosta Rock, Akmin Region
Gender: Male
Nature: Sassy
Posts: 43
Quote originally posted by neotornado:
Sorry if this question was repeated, but as stated, 8BPP mode won't accept the sphere files (effectively making the video provided worthless), is there any way I can get the tilemap into a RAW file? I really don't want to make the map tile-by-tile in NTME.
First, open up the tilemap file that Sphere created. You must now take a screenshot of the tiles (like the guy does in the youtube video provided for this tutorial). Open up the screenshot in Gimp, turn on your grid, and edit the picture until you have a perfect tileset that fits in the 8x8 pixel grid. Export/Save the file as a PNG. As long as it doesn't have over 256 different tiles, it should open up fine in NTME 8BPP mode.

Quote originally posted by miggy93:
A little help please. I followed everything but once I check the map on VBA, it seems glitchy. Here's a link since I can't post images yet.

i872.photobucket.com/albums/ab289/miggy93/untitled.png

I've encountered this problem before. When you are making your tilemap on NTME, in the bottom right hand corner, make sure you set it to "R/S WM". If it is just at CUSTOM, your map will glitch like it did in the picture.

Quote originally posted by markis:
what tile molester you are using? i do all things but then i try to import .pal file i cant, cuz my tilemolester doesnt support .pal ? Here a screen.

Download Tile Molester Alternate. It's easy to find on the internet. TMA can only open a rom ONCE, but you can fix this problem here.

Now you'll be able to import your file.
Reply With Quote
  #153    
Old August 5th, 2014 (01:08 PM).
betta19 betta19 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Brazil
Gender: Male
Posts: 2
Hi, I am hacking ruby and I followed all the steps, but I seem to have a "map's color" problem. My map looks fine only where I saved the BG... For example: If I saved the BG in the pokecenter, the map will have the correct colors only when I am in the pokecenter, if I use the pokekav or pokedex when I am in a route, some colors will be wrong (but if I save the BG in a route, the colors will be fine in that route and wrong in the pokecenter). Do you know what I am doing wrong? Thanks for your attention. (and sorry for my bad english)
Reply With Quote
  #154    
Old August 28th, 2014 (09:22 AM).
sertin12's Avatar
sertin12 sertin12 is offline
Beginer Game Hacker
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Canada
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 5
Hey so I followed the tutorial but in game my map looks like a mess of the tile set any ideas? I'm using ruby as my base, and heres what i see (just copy paste it into a browser cause I can't post links yet) gyazo.com/2322b0029c1285bfbfc387d57ba94204
Reply With Quote
  #155    
Old February 12th, 2015 (07:44 PM).
MasterOfLucian's Avatar
MasterOfLucian MasterOfLucian is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 5
I don't know how to make a tile set for my world map.
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 09:43 PM.