The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > Tools, Tutorials & Resources
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.


Advertise here

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1    
Old September 28th, 2011, 06:40 AM
jornoboy11's Avatar
jornoboy11
Togepi
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Gender: Male

Advertise here
hello guys,

This is my first tutorial so don't be angry if my tutorial isn't professional. I am not english/american or whatever so maybe I make some (or a lot of) spelling mistakes.

Everyone has the same problem. You are hacking a pokemon rom. You have made an excellent map, nice attacks, good items and all other things. You also have good sprites but there is one problem: ALL COLORS OF YOUR SPRITE WILL MESS UP WHILE INSERTING THEM. I had the same problems and I make this tutorial because nowhere you can find the answer on your question.

So........

[SIZE="6"]PREPARATION/SIZE]

You download the programs graphicsgale, unlz gba and a pokemon ruby/sapphire/fire red/ leaf green rom. Install everything and go on to step 2

DOING IT

Open unlz gba. Click on open rom and select your pokemon rom (don't forget to unzip the pokemon rom to get a binary file). Now you will find all sprites of the game. Go to around number 600 (type in 600 and click ''go to''). Here you search for the sprite you want to replace for your own sprite. Click on ''save as'' and save it somewhere. Now open up gg (graphicsgale) 2 times. With one of the 2 gg's open your own sprite. With the other gg you open your pokemon you want to replace (the existing pokemon not your fake one). Now go to your own made sprite, go to the tab all frames and click color depth. Change the color depth of your pokemon to 16 colors. Make sure your pokemon hasn't to much colors. Now your pokemon has 16 colors. Now click on the tab view and click on palette (if you hadn't select it already). Now you see the 16 colors of your picture. Click (at palette) on the blue arrow and click on ''save pallete'' and save it somewhere in your files. Now go to the existing pokemon you want to replace. Open palette too. You will see this picture has 16 other colors. Now click on the blue arrow again and click ''load palette and open the palette from your own sprite. On the left side you will see the palette of your own made sprite and on the right side you will see the colors of the replacing pokemon. Now hold left mouse button and select all colors except for the background color of your own sprite and drag them to the right side. MAKE SURE YOU LEAVE THE BACKGROUND COLOR (MOSTLY GREY) OF THE REPLACING POKEMON IN THE 16 COLORS PALETTE. Now your picture can be inserted. Copy your sprite on top of the old sprite. Make sure you don't see anything of the old sprite. Now you make sure everything you want to be invisible is the old background color (mostly grey). And also make sure the picture is 64x64 and now you can save the picture.

Finish

Now you open unlz gba again. You click on import pokemon and you choose your pokemon. Now you will see your picture instead of the old picture (If not you messed everything up). Now click on write to rom and it's finished.

I hope this tutorial will help you a lot.
Reply With Quote
  #2    
Old September 30th, 2011, 05:06 PM
tente2's Avatar
tente2
"Outta my way, dammit!"
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Snowpoint City
Gender: Male
Nature: Bashful
Hello, this was mostly useful but I have a problem: When I try to "Write to Rom", I get this message:

Compressed size is: 2D0. Which is too big. Aborting.

The sprite is 64x64, and it's 16 colors, so I don't know how what I did wrong or how it could be "too big".

Otherwise, it was great.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3    
Old September 30th, 2011, 05:10 PM
DavidJCobb
RESIDENT RAAAAAAAAAAAAGEMASTER
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Quote:
Originally Posted by tente2 View Post
Hello, this was mostly useful but I have a problem: When I try to "Write to Rom", I get this message:

Compressed size is: 2D0. Which is too big. Aborting.

The sprite is 64x64, and it's 16 colors, so I don't know how what I did wrong or how it could be "too big".

Otherwise, it was great.
...Could you perhaps post the sprite?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4    
Old September 30th, 2011, 06:11 PM
tente2's Avatar
tente2
"Outta my way, dammit!"
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Snowpoint City
Gender: Male
Nature: Bashful
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidJCobb View Post
...Could you perhaps post the sprite?
Here it is. Check the attachments.
Attached Images
File Type: png Bidoof.png‎ (640 Bytes, 2102 views) (Save to Dropbox)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5    
Old September 30th, 2011, 10:39 PM
miksy91's Avatar
miksy91
A GB/C Rom Hacker since 2010
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: A small country in the North
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Quote:
Originally Posted by tente2 View Post
Compressed size is: 2D0. Which is too big. Aborting.
Which tells exactly why it won't let you insert it.

If you're trying to replace Bidoof with another pokemon and write its data in the same place where the original pokemon's sprite was, the data of the new sprite must not exceed the data of the original sprite and as UNLZ is done well so that you won't get bugs with sprites of other pokemon, it won't let you insert it.

Let's say the size of the original sprite is 500 bytes and the size of the new sprite is (as UNLZ points out) 0x2D0 (hex) bytes which is 720 bytes.
--> The inserted sprite of Bidoof takes 220 bytes of the data following the original sprite --> If you want to avoid bugs, you must insert the sprite of Bidoof in blank space.
__________________
My Rom Hack



Hacks I support





Learn how to hack GB/C games:

Check my GameBoy/Color hacking videos in Youtube
-The video set uses Pokemon Silver (U) rom for demonstrations
Reply With Quote
  #6    
Old October 15th, 2011, 08:07 AM
Sephiroth2009
Booted out - don't be like me!
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by tente2 View Post
Hello, this was mostly useful but I have a problem: When I try to "Write to Rom", I get this message:

Compressed size is: 2D0. Which is too big. Aborting.

The sprite is 64x64, and it's 16 colors, so I don't know how what I did wrong or how it could be "too big".

Otherwise, it was great.
Goto FSF. Open up Calculator, choose scientific mode and choose Hex. Type "2D0" and click dec. That number you put into FSF where "needed bytes are". Click search beginning of rom. Than turn that 16 number into 1. Hit search. That offset will be used in UNLZ. Write to rom, check the pointers box, and insert the new offset into the image area. Click ok and it should work.

I never tested this with a Pokemon before, but I did it with the into sprite of the hero. I don't see how it'd be any different.

And by the way, when it auto aborts...DO NOT CLICK OK, click CANCEL.
Reply With Quote
  #7    
Old November 18th, 2011, 06:32 PM
Shiny Charmander's Avatar
Shiny Charmander
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: LALA Land
Gender: Male
Nature: Docile
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Shiny Charmander Send a message via Skype™ to Shiny Charmander
somebody please help me,
I am pretty new to this site
I would really like to know how to insert the professor oak sprite without getting a big black and blue mess
that would be great
thank you
Reply With Quote
  #8    
Old November 25th, 2011, 04:50 AM
ShadowGrey's Avatar
ShadowGrey
Graphix Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: England
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shiny Charmander View Post
somebody please help me,
I am pretty new to this site
I would really like to know how to insert the professor oak sprite without getting a big black and blue mess
that would be great
thank you
There are more sprite inserting tutorials on this site than fish in the sea, head to the home page, emulation then tutorials, any tutorial called 'inserting a sprite/pokemon' etc will work, just remember to repoint your data.
__________________



http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=267674
Reply With Quote
  #9    
Old January 22nd, 2012, 09:03 AM
xephos's Avatar
xephos
xephos Inc.
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: U.S.A
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Thanks, saved my title screen from a BSOD look alike.
Reply With Quote
  #10    
Old October 21st, 2012, 04:03 PM
Chaos Devil
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by tente2 View Post
Hello, this was mostly useful but I have a problem: When I try to "Write to Rom", I get this message:

Compressed size is: 2D0. Which is too big. Aborting.

The sprite is 64x64, and it's 16 colors, so I don't know how what I did wrong or how it could be "too big".

Otherwise, it was great.
You Need Free Space Finder.
Go To File-Load rom, Load Your Rom And Click Search From The Begging Of The Rom, Then In The Bottom Right Hand Corner There Are 2 BoxsThe Bottom One But The Code In So 2D0 And The Find And The Copy The When You Try To Upload The Picture Press Write To Rom Then You Will See The Image Offset Remove All The Numbers Except For The 2 00 Then Copy The Code Into It And Click Auto Abort Fix Pointers And Export Image Then Press Ok And It Shud Work
Reply With Quote
  #11    
Old November 3rd, 2012, 12:14 PM
Gandan
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
This tutorial mostly worked...except I get a black screen when I encounter the pokemon whose sprite I replaced. I didn't receive any kind of error message from UNLZ, so I have no clue what I did wrong. Has anyone else had this problem?
Reply With Quote
  #12    
Old November 14th, 2012, 05:59 PM
Shadow Libra's Avatar
Shadow Libra
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Texas,Houston
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chaos Devil View Post
You Need Free Space Finder.
Go To File-Load rom, Load Your Rom And Click Search From The Begging Of The Rom, Then In The Bottom Right Hand Corner There Are 2 BoxsThe Bottom One But The Code In So 2D0 And The Find And The Copy The When You Try To Upload The Picture Press Write To Rom Then You Will See The Image Offset Remove All The Numbers Except For The 2 00 Then Copy The Code Into It And Click Auto Abort Fix Pointers And Export Image Then Press Ok And It Shud Work
I did exactly as he said but it didn't Insert
can anyone help.
__________________

Wisdom doesn't come with age it comes with experience thats why i'm proud to be 11.
Reply With Quote
  #13    
Old April 13th, 2013, 06:50 AM
tayub121's Avatar
tayub121
Inventor
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indiana
Gender: Male
Nature: Naive
Hello.
I can definitely remember having these problems!
The black screen is an overloaded offset basically so make sure that you have a transparent color and 15 other colors in your palette and the picture is 64x64. Now, for just a second, pretend you have no transparent color. The new sprite should be on top of the old one when indexed (If the picture is 60x60 and two pixels away from the 64x64 boundary, make sure the new sprite is 60x60 and in the same location on the 64x64 boundary.)

*COLOR CHANGING*
APE Advanced Palette Editor is the way to change those colors. I usually import my new sprite and then go through and change the palette with APE to get the colors I want. Basically (emphasis on this) it's easier to change sprite colors outside of UNLZ-GBA. You can't only use that one program for all your sprite editing.

Conclusion
This was the most frustrating thing for me when I couldn't figure it out. I hope I kind of helped because this can be complicated. I recommend checking YouTube for some helpful tutorials.

Good Luck!
Happy Hacking!

Last edited by tayub121; April 13th, 2013 at 06:55 AM. Reason: Just some cleanup
Reply With Quote
  #14    
Old May 27th, 2013, 09:18 AM
Ninja-Bunny
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gandan View Post
This tutorial mostly worked...except I get a black screen when I encounter the pokemon whose sprite I replaced. I didn't receive any kind of error message from UNLZ, so I have no clue what I did wrong. Has anyone else had this problem?
Hey I also have this problem, did you find out how to fix it
Reply With Quote
  #15    
Old June 15th, 2013, 01:28 PM
EpicJeffrey
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Gender: Male
I think it means you unchecked auto abort if new data is bigger.
Reply With Quote
  #16    
Old June 20th, 2013, 09:03 AM
rigirock's Avatar
rigirock
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Gender: Male
I'm confused, everything was working fine, but when i tried to obtain the pokemon with the sprite, (starter pokemon) My game froze, anyone know what's up?
Reply With Quote
  #17    
Old October 29th, 2013, 10:12 PM
Golden Empoleon
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Gender: Male
@Gandan @Ninja-Bunny @rigirock: I'm having the same exact problem now and if one of you know please help me out. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #18    
Old November 7th, 2013, 08:19 PM
PokeHackMon1's Avatar
PokeHackMon1
Rom Hacker
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Somewhere,USA
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
when i import a fenniken picture all is okay and i write to rom when i check the picture it all scrambled up
Reply With Quote
  #19    
Old November 8th, 2013, 05:49 PM
King Haxxo
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Gender: Male
Ok, I'm going to try to address the black screen problem. When you click "Write to Rom" make sure you ALWAYS have "Auto abort if new data is bigger" checked because that will tell you with a pop-up if the new data is bigger.

If enough people need it, I can make a step by step tutorial of how to get rid of black screen.
__________________


Pokemon - Tainted Black
A darkness has fallen over Kanto... Will you be the one to vanquish it?

Last edited by King Haxxo; November 8th, 2013 at 05:49 PM. Reason: Clarification
Reply With Quote
  #20    
Old November 9th, 2013, 01:51 AM
Rycanthropy's Avatar
Rycanthropy
Wrecking Ball
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: India
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Sassy
Quote:
Originally Posted by PokeHackMon1 View Post
when i import a fenniken picture all is okay and i write to rom when i check the picture it all scrambled up
You probably wrote a bigger picture with the auto abort checkbox unchecked which has ruined your sprite. You can use Free Space Finder to find free space and repoint the picture to that location. An easier way would be to just use Advanced Sprite Editor or Nameless Sprite Editor 2.x, both have automatic repointing features.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #21    
Old November 9th, 2013, 03:25 AM
Flower's Avatar
Flower
ワイルドフラワー
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Void
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Send a message via Skype™ to Flower
It still messed up some colors, I don't understand o-o
__________________
PM | Flower | VM
Reply With Quote
  #22    
Old July 31st, 2014, 04:46 PM
haafnpe
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Hey, if i may just dig out this thread: i'm having a (seemingly unique) problem:
when i change a pokemons sprite in unLZ the spirte itself looks flawless, but it keeps messing up the colors of the blue bar that comes up when you press start (the one where the different menu options are explained)...the white text stays the way it is, but the background gets messed up...

any ideas, anyone? :D
Reply With Quote
  #23    
Old 2 Weeks Ago, 08:26 PM
WebWandere
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Gender: Male
I am having an issue that I may have seen in only one other spot on this thread, and yes, I'm new to this.

I've followed all of the steps on writing a new sprite to the ROM using unLZ, FSF, Paint, and IrfanView.

Everything appears to go through fine, yet when I walk out of the house or try to withraw the Potion from my box, the game freezes!

Can anyone help me out here? I am obviously doing something wrong, but I havent found an answer anywhere, just other people with the same problem.

Btw, I am using a Pokemon FireRed rom.
Reply With Quote
  #24    
Old 2 Weeks Ago, 08:28 PM
WebWandere
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Gender: Male
Let me re-iterate that...

When I try to pull the Potion out of my box, the game freezes and the Visual Boy Advance emulator ranks up to 380%

When I walk out of my house, the game restarts...
Reply With Quote
  #25    
Old 2 Weeks Ago, 07:56 PM
DarkenedEclipse's Avatar
DarkenedEclipse
Slowly Learnin' the Ropes👍👌
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Sinnoh
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Quote:
Originally Posted by WebWandere View Post
Let me re-iterate that...

When I try to pull the Potion out of my box, the game freezes and the Visual Boy Advance emulator ranks up to 380%

When I walk out of my house, the game restarts...
Just use NSE to put in sprites, also use Chaos Rushs sprite resource which can be found here:



http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=267728


You won't have anymore errors putting in sprites the backs and Shinies work as well


~DarkenedEclipse
__________________
Hacks I support:
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links


Advertise here
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 03:03 PM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.