Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > Tools, Tutorials & Resources
Reload this Page [Tutorial] Adding New Moves and Creating New Move Effects

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #201    
Old December 5th, 2014 (07:55 PM).
Jakob99 Jakob99 is offline
Worlds greatest trainer.
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 11
Also can someone make a program that simplifies this please? This is too complicated and after 3+ hours invested into this am throwing in the towel/
__________________
Pokemon Platinum friend code 4th generation.

0948-1529-1887


Rules

No Action Replay.

No pokemon below level 30

No one hit KO moves

No leftovers/shell bell(Basicly anything that gradually restores HP. Berries are allowed)

No you cannot have these
Reply With Quote
  #202    
Old December 15th, 2014 (05:54 AM). Edited December 17th, 2014 by aadritch.
aadritch aadritch is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 3
Hello good people on this thread. I am experiencing problems concerning PGE.
Whenever I scroll down to the "added" moves in PGE's Attack Editor, i get an "unhandled exception" error. Is there a known way of fixing this?


My problem above is no longer thanks to pawell but after I followed his instructions, animations used by moves were messed up.
Help will be much appreciated.

Spoiler:
Quote originally posted by pawell6:
I had similar problem (at least with psywave). To fix it:
1. Make back up of your rom and ini file.
2. Open your rom wirh hex editor and go to offset: 0x4886E8.
3. Select block: 4*354=1416 bytes and copy (description attack table).
4. Use FSF, find 1416 bytes or find your own location (write down that location), select block 1416 and paste. (I pasted my at 0x950000).
5. Repointing: Go to the begining of file, Edit->Replace...->Find box: E8864808, Replace box: 00009508 (or pointer to your location from step 4) with direction down. Replace all.
6. Go to 0x950000 select block : 4*157=628 bytes, copy.
7. Go to end of new table (0x950000, first FF), select block 628 and paste.
8. Save and exit.
9. Open your ini file in notebook and go to AttackDescriptionTable for BPRE and change its value from &H4886E8 to &H950000.

I hope it'll fix the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #203    
Old December 15th, 2014 (12:47 PM).
Edwearth's Avatar
Edwearth Edwearth is offline
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Paris
Gender: Male
Posts: 38
Hello,
I did this in my Emerald rom. I used this tutorial pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=337152
I totally works for new moves. But when i try to add new effects, the game freeze. Even it is a vanila effect.
Do you have any answers ?
Reply With Quote
  #204    
Old 1 Week Ago (11:58 AM). Edited 1 Week Ago by leo.d.monkey.
leo.d.monkey's Avatar
leo.d.monkey leo.d.monkey is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 31
If i just want to keep the old moves, the way they are, and just increase the index and reuse all animations and attacks for my new moves, do i still need to do all this ?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #205    
Old 1 Week Ago (09:54 AM).
leo.d.monkey's Avatar
leo.d.monkey leo.d.monkey is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 31
HUM... ok i got to edit the new moves in GBA Game Editor, but they wont show on up on YAPE ...and in GEN3 SUITE causes several errors... also tried to edit the rom data in those application, any help would be appreciated

: P

NumberOfAttacks=511
AttackData=&H900000
AttackNames=&H901800
Reply With Quote
  #206    
Old 1 Week Ago (12:30 PM). Edited 1 Week Ago by Kurapika.
Kurapika's Avatar
Kurapika Kurapika is offline
Grudgebearer
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Lavendar Town - Morocco
Gender: Male
Nature: Naughty
Posts: 389
Quote originally posted by leo.d.monkey:
HUM... ok i got to edit the new moves in GBA Game Editor, but they wont show on up on YAPE ...and in GEN3 SUITE causes several errors... also tried to edit the rom data in those application, any help would be appreciated
Well then, try my tool. (link in signature)
With G3T you don't need to specify new offsets.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #207    
Old 6 Days Ago (05:51 PM). Edited 6 Days Ago by leo.d.monkey.
leo.d.monkey's Avatar
leo.d.monkey leo.d.monkey is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 31
Quote originally posted by Kurapika:
Well then, try my tool. (link in signature)
With G3T you don't need to specify new offsets.
Thanks Kurapika , i could add the new moves in my Pokemon using your tool,

i just changed the G3T 2.9.1\Roms Data\BPRE.ini and the new moves showed up on the pokemon menu.

[MOVE]
NumberOfMoves=
MoveData=
MoveNames=
Reply With Quote
  #208    
Old 6 Days Ago (10:46 AM). Edited 5 Days Ago by leo.d.monkey.
leo.d.monkey's Avatar
leo.d.monkey leo.d.monkey is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 31
Ok just to complete ... the move description part
type the move description on this page https://mothereff.in/byte-counter ... get the number of bytes

, search with Free Space Finder the space for those bytes, add the offset on G3T move editor , paste your text on move description and save : D

Some one should update the tutorial to use CTRL+H to replace the offsets inside the rom , it's much faster and works the same, the first offset occurs 175 times i think _O_
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 11:31 AM.