The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > Creative Discussions > Emulation & ROM Hacking > Research & Development
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

Research & Development Got a well-founded knack with ROM hacking? Love reverse-engineering the Pokémon games? Or perhaps you love your assembly language. This is the spot for polling and gathering your ideas, and then implementing them! Share your hypothesis, get ideas from others, and collaborate to create!
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed. The thread revival limit does not apply here.


Reply
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #51    
Old December 28th, 2009, 06:25 PM
interdpth
I've seen things, man.
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Added the RTC asm back to the first post :)
__________________
yes, this is doge.

potato is not here.

bye
Reply With Quote
  #52    
Old December 29th, 2009, 10:50 AM
Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
Banjora Marxvile
Oui Oui Si Si Ja Ja Da Da
 
Join Date: May 2008
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Quote:
Originally Posted by AztecFire View Post
EZFlash does not have an RTC, that's why I'm asking if it's possible to check for the DS clock. The idea was that even though EZFlash has no RTC, Nintendo DS does, and the EZFlash operates in the GBA slot of a Nintendo DS.
He answered your question. The RTC apparently (if I understand it right) checks what your Emulator knows, and your Emulator only knows it by checking the Windows Clock. If your EZ Flash understands the DS clock, and uses that, then yes, but as I know EZ Flash is a GBA thing, then it won't read the DS clock, meaning that the RTC won't read the clock, as EZ Flash can't... Sounds complicated, but simple.
__________________

Man of Steel
He harbors no shame
Got cut a raw deal
But he holds no blame
Gone and forgot to feel
Numb for pretentious pain
As he spins the wheel
There's no loss nor no gain...


Nerves o
f Steel
He must remain
Even if it kills
To remember my name
A view to a thrill
Like Campari and Champagne
I'm on the rocks
Please tell me, What Is My Name?

Reply With Quote
  #53    
Old December 30th, 2009, 03:32 PM
Matteron (96)'s Avatar
Matteron (96)
Difference is everything...
 
Join Date: May 2008
Age: 17
I got all this to work fine, but I have a question, well two actually.
1. Will eevee be able to evolve into espeon/umbreon?
2. If I were to make a script to tell the player that the time is <insert time here>, what would I need to enter in xse?
__________________
Matteron(96)
Currently Playing--->
Progress: Post-Game
Current Team:


In Terms of Hacking...
Favorite ROM
Skills
Working On
In Terms of Game Dev...
Working On
News
I'm currently up for hire, for almost anything in ROM hacking, so just send me a PM.
Reply With Quote
  #54    
Old December 30th, 2009, 03:34 PM
interdpth
I've seen things, man.
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
I don't know about eevee

But you need copy byte commands to read the values.
__________________
yes, this is doge.

potato is not here.

bye
Reply With Quote
  #55    
Old December 31st, 2009, 12:06 PM
Younegai
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
I has a question

Well, I don't really know where this should go, but, I was wondering if it were possible to have tiles act accordingly to the RTC. Like windows and lights, etc. And if so, would I need to do something to the code/script (I'm horrible at that stuff by the way...) or would I have to do something in AdvanceMap?
Reply With Quote
  #56    
Old December 31st, 2009, 12:29 PM
Matteron (96)'s Avatar
Matteron (96)
Difference is everything...
 
Join Date: May 2008
Age: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Younegai View Post
I has a question

Well, I don't really know where this should go, but, I was wondering if it were possible to have tiles act accordingly to the RTC. Like windows and lights, etc. And if so, would I need to do something to the code/script (I'm horrible at that stuff by the way...) or would I have to do something in AdvanceMap?
Right now the easiest way to make stuff like lights that turn on at night is to open up DaN and change the pallet so that the pallet that you used for the light is brighter than all the other tiles.
__________________
Matteron(96)
Currently Playing--->
Progress: Post-Game
Current Team:


In Terms of Hacking...
Favorite ROM
Skills
Working On
In Terms of Game Dev...
Working On
News
I'm currently up for hire, for almost anything in ROM hacking, so just send me a PM.
Reply With Quote
  #57    
Old January 7th, 2010, 03:28 AM
Dude_flibble_07's Avatar
Dude_flibble_07
Whaddya mean your not me dad?
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Gender:
Hey! been looking all over for a rtc for fr! 3 questions though: how do I put it in and can I use day and night with this? and if so, how? sorry, i am hopeless at scripting.
Reply With Quote
  #58    
Old January 7th, 2010, 03:36 AM
Darthatron's Avatar
Darthatron
巨大なトロール。
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dude_flibble_07 View Post
Hey! been looking all over for a rtc for fr! 3 questions though: how do I put it in and can I use day and night with this? and if so, how? sorry, i am hopeless at scripting.
Look in the tool box, there is a thread for exactly what you are asking for.
__________________
あなた は しきしゃ です
わたし は ばか です
Reply With Quote
  #59    
Old January 18th, 2010, 07:43 AM
Flandre Scarlet's Avatar
Flandre Scarlet
Free your mind.
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Australia
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Oh my god man, thanks so much! It's great someone managed to make a RTC for FireRed/LeafGreen. It works perfect on Firered.

Again, thanks! ;3
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #60    
Old January 31st, 2010, 12:56 AM
Omega Zero's Avatar
Omega Zero
Is back...
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: I'm always living aren't I?
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Send a message via Skype™ to Omega Zero
Soo.. how do you get the script example to work? like example in your hack special adventures.. i have tryed callasm but that just freezes the game t_t.. is it writebytetooffset?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #61    
Old July 2nd, 2010, 06:13 AM
Jambo51's Avatar
Jambo51
Glory To Arstotzka
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
I'm trying to use the RTC to get the day of the week byte so that I can have day specific events, but every time I copy the byte stored at 0x305540 (I also checked offsets on either side of this), it returns 0 as the result.

I'm running Windows 7 and i'm just wondering if it's a problem with VBA's time call, or if i'm looking in the wrong offset for the day of the week byte, or if i'm scripting it wrong, or if there's a problem with the RTC itself.

I haven't yet checked if it works on Vista, but will try shortly.

That said, i'm fairly sure that the RTC works fine, so if it's related to the time call function of VBA, then that would explain a lot.
__________________
Hey guys, please check out my recreations of the gen 1 and 2 music on my custom engine at my SoundCloud! - Here!
Reply With Quote
  #62    
Old July 2nd, 2010, 07:36 AM
Shiny Quagsire's Avatar
Shiny Quagsire
Working on a Follow-Me
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Hoenn Safari Zone
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Make sure VBA's RTC clock is on.
__________________



Reply With Quote
  #63    
Old July 2nd, 2010, 10:00 AM
Jambo51's Avatar
Jambo51
Glory To Arstotzka
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote:
Originally Posted by shiny quagsire View Post
Make sure VBA's RTC clock is on.
It is. It's just the day of the week byte I can't find.
__________________
Hey guys, please check out my recreations of the gen 1 and 2 music on my custom engine at my SoundCloud! - Here!
Reply With Quote
  #64    
Old July 2nd, 2010, 10:19 AM
Shiny Quagsire's Avatar
Shiny Quagsire
Working on a Follow-Me
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Hoenn Safari Zone
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Quote:
The time it gives you is stored at 0x300553C
In the following format.
Year u16
skip a byte
month u8
day u8
Day of week(mon-sun/1-7) u8
Hour u8
minute u8
second u8
that would be:
XX XX XX XX XX YY XX XX XX
the YY is the day of the week, it's at: 300554C
__________________



Reply With Quote
  #65    
Old July 2nd, 2010, 10:42 AM
knizz's Avatar
knizz
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Can someone show me the part of the ASM that reads out the time value (=without the mainloop-hook and date-conversion). I can't understand GBATEK in this point.
__________________
Firered IDA 6.1 DB: https://www.dropbox.com/s/hvvmxxoo1dkmdzc/firered.idb
VBA-M with lua scripting support (no longer in development)
Reply With Quote
  #66    
Old July 2nd, 2010, 04:10 PM
Jambo51's Avatar
Jambo51
Glory To Arstotzka
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote:
Originally Posted by shiny quagsire View Post
that would be:
XX XX XX XX XX YY XX XX XX
the YY is the day of the week, it's at: 300554C
I tried it and it didn't work. Thanks for the help though, shiny quagsire.
I'll continue this dialogue using PM's so we don't clutter up the thread.
__________________
Hey guys, please check out my recreations of the gen 1 and 2 music on my custom engine at my SoundCloud! - Here!
Reply With Quote
  #67    
Old July 5th, 2010, 05:52 PM
colcolstyles's Avatar
colcolstyles
Yours truly
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Bay Area
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jambo51 View Post
I'm trying to use the RTC to get the day of the week byte so that I can have day specific events, but every time I copy the byte stored at 0x305540 (I also checked offsets on either side of this), it returns 0 as the result.

I'm running Windows 7 and i'm just wondering if it's a problem with VBA's time call, or if i'm looking in the wrong offset for the day of the week byte, or if i'm scripting it wrong, or if there's a problem with the RTC itself.

I haven't yet checked if it works on Vista, but will try shortly.

That said, i'm fairly sure that the RTC works fine, so if it's related to the time call function of VBA, then that would explain a lot.
The RTC doesn't provide a day-of-the-week byte. I haven't used this but from a brief scan of both ZDG and interdpth's code, I don't see any code that calculates the day of the week. You'll have to manually calculate the day from the date. Wikipedia has a nice article on the subject which I used to base my code off of (note: you'll have to call SWI $06 to utilize the modulo operator in assembly (read about it here))

Quote:
Originally Posted by knizz View Post
Can someone show me the part of the ASM that reads out the time value (=without the mainloop-hook and date-conversion). I can't understand GBATEK in this point.
Aw, but that'll ruin the fun. It took me months to figure out how to read the time. Trust me, you'll feel a lot better if you figure it out yourself than if you take the easy way out.
__________________

Brother of Vrai
Reply With Quote
  #68    
Old July 5th, 2010, 06:14 PM
Shiny Quagsire's Avatar
Shiny Quagsire
Working on a Follow-Me
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Hoenn Safari Zone
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Quote:
Originally Posted by colcolstyles View Post
Aw, but that'll ruin the fun. It took me months to figure out how to read the time. Trust me, you'll feel a lot better if you figure it out yourself than if you take the easy way out.
It only took me about a week to figure it out
About 30 minutes to write an ASM routine to make the same effect :D

Quote:
Originally Posted by colcolstyles View Post
The RTC doesn't provide a day-of-the-week byte.
How come it works for me? :\
__________________



Reply With Quote
  #69    
Old July 5th, 2010, 06:56 PM
colcolstyles's Avatar
colcolstyles
Yours truly
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Bay Area
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Quote:
Originally Posted by shiny quagsire View Post
How come it works for me? :\
The code you're using probably has an additional routine that finds the day of the week. Maybe there is something in interdpth's code that does that. I didn't really look very hard.
__________________

Brother of Vrai
Reply With Quote
  #70    
Old November 30th, 2010, 08:18 AM
2RandomStudios's Avatar
2RandomStudios
Angry Jigglypuff
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Database Error
Gender: Male
I understand how to insert it and all, but how would you actually use this in-game? Would you put a script on the berry tree? If so, what would the script be?
Thanks!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #71    
Old November 30th, 2010, 08:27 AM
altariaking's Avatar
altariaking
Needs NO VMs...
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Scotland, Lesmahagow
Age: 39
Gender: Male
Nature: Naive
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to altariaking
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2RandomStudios View Post
I understand how to insert it and all, but how would you actually use this in-game? Would you put a script on the berry tree? If so, what would the script be?
Thanks!
Yep, you would use a script, however, the script you would have to do yourself, as he said in the front post that he doesn't want anyone to give it away.
__________________
http://www.pokecommunity.com/member.php?u=253113
Reply With Quote
  #72    
Old November 30th, 2010, 02:10 PM
2RandomStudios's Avatar
2RandomStudios
Angry Jigglypuff
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Database Error
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by altariaking View Post


Yep, you would use a script, however, the script you would have to do yourself, as he said in the front post that he doesn't want anyone to give it away.
Thanks, but I'm new to ROM hacking and don't have the first clue on what to put in the script. If you could PM me with a sample as to what I might do, that would be awesome. Thanks!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #73    
Old December 7th, 2010, 06:53 PM
Elite Trainer Red's Avatar
Elite Trainer Red
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Mt.Silver
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Question does anyone have any idea about the pallete changing in the D&N?
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
Reason: Spoilers in signature
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 02:45 AM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.