< >
Hello, guest! Please log in or register.

The PokéCommunity

Go Back     The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > Tools, Tutorials & Resources Tutorial [Gen III]: Battle Scripting with BSP

Notices

Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.

Reply Post Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #26    
Old November 19th, 2014 (6:02 AM).
Lance32497's Avatar
Lance32497 Lance32497 is offline
LanceKoijer of Pokemon_Addicts
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Criscanto town-Ginoa Region xD
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 692
Sorry for being noob in my question

Can I add new abilities with this tool?(because it has abilities.blah blah)

Second thing, Can I make a new battle script for legendary battles...

example, instead of Wild GROUDON appeared, Legendary GROUDON appeared
Please take time clicking this link http://pocketmoneyduty.com/?u=15594

My Threads

Reply With Quote

Relevant Advertising!

  #27    
Old November 19th, 2014 (11:14 AM).
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
http://GoGoJJTech.com (WIP!)
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 17
Gender: Female
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 2,408
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lance32497 View Post
Sorry for being noob in my question

Can I add new abilities with this tool?(because it has abilities.blah blah)

Second thing, Can I make a new battle script for legendary battles...

example, instead of Wild GROUDON appeared, Legendary GROUDON appeared
1: No, abilities are handled by asm, the abilities is just an ini file
2: That's not battle scripting, that's a battle string
Reply With Quote
  #28    
Old November 21st, 2014 (4:43 AM).
Lance32497's Avatar
Lance32497 Lance32497 is offline
LanceKoijer of Pokemon_Addicts
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Criscanto town-Ginoa Region xD
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 692
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoGoJJTech View Post
1: No, abilities are handled by asm, the abilities is just an ini file
2: That's not battle scripting, that's a battle string
how to do that battle string?
Reply With Quote
  #29    
Old November 22nd, 2014 (8:41 AM).
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
http://GoGoJJTech.com (WIP!)
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 17
Gender: Female
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 2,408
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lance32497 View Post
how to do that battle string?
You would need asm to make that battle string appear for specific pokemon first.
Reply With Quote
  #30    
Old November 22nd, 2014 (8:46 AM).
Red John's Avatar
Red John Red John is offline
Progressing Assembly hacker
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Where ever there is peace and darkness
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 137
So can i create a custom battle with this? Like the Oak tutorial battle at the start of FireRed?
Reply With Quote
  #31    
Old November 22nd, 2014 (8:48 AM).
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
http://GoGoJJTech.com (WIP!)
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 17
Gender: Female
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 2,408
Quote:
Originally Posted by Knight of Duty View Post
So can i create a custom battle with this? Like the Oak tutorial battle at the start of FireRed?
No you cannot, you can make move effects and only move effects.
Reply With Quote
  #32    
Old November 22nd, 2014 (9:03 AM).
daniilS's Avatar
daniilS daniilS is offline
busy trying to do stuff not done yet
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Posts: 409
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoGoJJTech View Post
No you cannot, you can make move effects and only move effects.
Actually, they can do way more than that. Almost everything happening during battles is a battle script (command). So I guess text could be handled by this too.
Reply With Quote
  #33    
Old November 22nd, 2014 (6:38 PM).
Red John's Avatar
Red John Red John is offline
Progressing Assembly hacker
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Where ever there is peace and darkness
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by daniilS View Post
Actually, they can do way more than that. Almost everything happening during battles is a battle script (command). So I guess text could be handled by this too.
Sorry to be a noob but isn’t there a printstring type of command? Doesn’t it have any other use?
Reply With Quote
  #34    
Old November 23rd, 2014 (12:28 AM).
daniilS's Avatar
daniilS daniilS is offline
busy trying to do stuff not done yet
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Posts: 409
Quote:
Originally Posted by Knight of Duty View Post
Sorry to be a noob but isn’t there a printstring type of command? Doesn’t it have any other use?
There is. Just convert the string you're looking for to hex and search for it with a hex editor. Then look into the idb for battle scripts and asm surrounding it.
Reply With Quote
  #35    
Old February 2nd, 2015 (6:46 AM).
C me's Avatar
C me C me is online now
Creator of Pokemon League Of Legends
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Posts: 486
Hi, I just wanted to ask what determines how long status moves last for? Can you make them last for a set number of turns like sleep when resting? Also what's the command for doing damage to yourself? Does it have to be like recoil damage or can you set it so that a percentage of max health is lost?

Thanks
Check out my hack: Pokemon League of Legends.

If you would like to support me or my hack, you can donate here.
Reply With Quote
  #36    
Old February 2nd, 2015 (3:52 PM).
kearnseyboy6's Avatar
kearnseyboy6 kearnseyboy6 is offline
Aussie's Toughest Mudder
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 298
Quote:
Originally Posted by pokenoobend View Post
Hi, I just wanted to ask what determines how long status moves last for? Can you make them last for a set number of turns like sleep when resting? Also what's the command for doing damage to yourself? Does it have to be like recoil damage or can you set it so that a percentage of max health is lost?

Thanks
http://bulbapedia.bulbagarden.net/wi...Generation_III

Just use the setbyte command to change the status byte.
HOLIDAYING CURRENTLY!!
Reply With Quote
  #37    
Old February 4th, 2015 (4:12 AM).
Lance32497's Avatar
Lance32497 Lance32497 is offline
LanceKoijer of Pokemon_Addicts
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Criscanto town-Ginoa Region xD
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 692
I understood 75% ,
but I dunno how to execute a new message string.
like when the effects are applied, it shows "POKEMON had been trapped in FOE's Magic Aura"
I had seen this in Mrdollsteak rom, the worry seed
Please take time clicking this link http://pocketmoneyduty.com/?u=15594

My Threads

Reply With Quote
  #38    
Old May 30th, 2015 (1:28 PM).
Criminon's Avatar
Criminon Criminon is offline
Pokemon: Aqua Blue
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 203
Hey there everyone. I'm getting ready to dive into this program with the intention of having additional text pop up after a wild pokemon battle ends. I have a variable being stored in 8001 after a pokemon battle, and if its anything other than FF, or 00, the text should appear. From what I've been told by FBI, this is the best method to make this happen. If anyone can give me some pointers, I would love to hear them! Also! I'm using JPAN / Dollsteak engine, and it seems that the offsets aren't set up to handle this. Anyone know what offsets need changed?
FC: 3582 - 9598 - 9978. Add me!
Reply With Quote
  #39    
Old May 30th, 2015 (1:30 PM).
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
http://GoGoJJTech.com (WIP!)
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 17
Gender: Female
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 2,408
Quote:
Originally Posted by Criminon View Post
Hey there everyone. I'm getting ready to dive into this program with the intention of having additional text pop up after a wild pokemon battle ends. I have a variable being stored in 8001 after a pokemon battle, and if its anything other than FF, or 00, the text should appear. From what I've been told by FBI, this is the best method to make this happen. If anyone can give me some pointers, I would love to hear them!
This tool edits moves and their effects, not battle engine calls and workings.
For example, you can edit what tackle does in this program, but you can't edit the entire level up stuff in battle via this tool. That's just engine routine stuff and things.
Reply With Quote
  #40    
Old May 30th, 2015 (1:36 PM). Edited June 1st, 2015 by Criminon.
Criminon's Avatar
Criminon Criminon is offline
Pokemon: Aqua Blue
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoGoJJTech View Post
This tool edits moves and their effects, not battle engine calls and workings.
For example, you can edit what tackle does in this program, but you can't edit the entire level up stuff in battle via this tool. That's just engine routine stuff and things.
I assumed this same thing.
FC: 3582 - 9598 - 9978. Add me!
Reply With Quote
Reply Post Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


  All times are GMT -8. The time now is 9:34 AM.


Contact Us Archive Privacy Statement Terms of Service Top