Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > Tools, Tutorials & Resources
Reload this Page [Tool] Nameless Sprite Editor 2.X

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #176    
Old November 5th, 2013 (06:49 AM).
lightfurret lightfurret is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 26
Quote originally posted by shiny quagsire:
Just to expand on this, the reason it would error out if the file was "too big" is because indexed images take up a lot less space than non-indexed ones. This is because non-indexed ones require 4 bytes for each color (RGBA; sometimes only 3 bytes if just RGB), while indexed ones only take one (or less) bytes since you have each color stored once and then each pixel is a reference to which color it uses.
Thanks a bunch, both of you.
I'll try to do what you said and also check on the said tutorial.
  #177    
Old November 6th, 2013 (11:23 PM). Edited November 7th, 2013 by Door2Dawn.
Door2Dawn's Avatar
Door2Dawn Door2Dawn is offline
Iron fist
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 13
Thank you for this tool. I've been customizing the sprites of some pokemon and the shiny forms because to be honest, they just don't match my preference or I feel like I could add something new to the game.

Okay I'm having a problem with it whenever I try to open it up, it says that Data is not Lz77 compressed.
  #178    
Old November 8th, 2013 (01:54 AM).
waZelda's Avatar
waZelda waZelda is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 28
Can you edit sprite position with this? I'm having a big problem with a sprite I've edited that suddenly ends up way too low on screen (like it's standing below the grassy area).
__________________
I truly live my ideal existance
  #179    
Old November 8th, 2013 (03:40 AM).
Rycanthropy's Avatar
Rycanthropy Rycanthropy is offline
Wrecking Ball
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: India
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 56
Thank you for this amazing tool I particularly love the 'switch color' feature, it's very useful for editing palettes, and much faster than the IrfanView method.

edit: I'm having slight problems, which are probably not because of the program, but still:
1. I'm trying to edit the Oak sprite in the Oak intro, I edited it to match a Slowbro with the exact same color table, but when I import it back in, the colors are all messed up.
2. In the navigation pane there is a bookmark for the text box frame. Since it's just a tile set, I figured changing the tiles while leaving their position intact should work for me but for some reason it messes the position of the textbox. Is there a better way to edit the text box?

Quote originally posted by waZelda:
Can you edit sprite position with this? I'm having a big problem with a sprite I've edited that suddenly ends up way too low on screen (like it's standing below the grassy area).
IIRC you can't, but you can use Wichu's Advanced Sprite Positioning Editor from his Advance Series Toolbox.
__________________
.
  #180    
Old November 8th, 2013 (05:00 AM).
Orifiel's Avatar
Orifiel Orifiel is offline
Priestess
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Gender: Female
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 421
Quote originally posted by CelticGuard:
Thank you for this amazing tool I particularly love the 'switch color' feature, it's very useful for editing palettes, and much faster than the IrfanView method.

edit: I'm having slight problems, which are probably not because of the program, but still:
1. I'm trying to edit the Oak sprite in the Oak intro, I edited it to match a Slowbro with the exact same color table, but when I import it back in, the colors are all messed up.
2. In the navigation pane there is a bookmark for the text box frame. Since it's just a tile set, I figured changing the tiles while leaving their position intact should work for me but for some reason it messes the position of the textbox. Is there a better way to edit the text box?


IIRC you can't, but you can use Wichu's Advanced Sprite Positioning Editor from his Advance Series Toolbox.
1. You have to repoint the palette.
2. I don't understand.
__________________
~ Pair | Character | Previously L96 ~
  #181    
Old November 8th, 2013 (06:32 AM).
waZelda's Avatar
waZelda waZelda is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 28
Thanks CelticGuard, though I'm having a lot of problems using the Advance series. Still, I found another way to solve my problem.
__________________
I truly live my ideal existance
  #182    
Old November 8th, 2013 (08:10 PM).
Door2Dawn's Avatar
Door2Dawn Door2Dawn is offline
Iron fist
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 13
Okay for the people that have trouble accessing Nameless sprite editor, and are having the error Data is not Lz77 compressed, go to save palette to rom the next time you try to save.
  #183    
Old November 9th, 2013 (03:47 AM).
Rycanthropy's Avatar
Rycanthropy Rycanthropy is offline
Wrecking Ball
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: India
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 56
Quote originally posted by L96:
1. You have to repoint the palette.
2. I don't understand.

  1. So what I did was:
    1. Save the 256-color Oak Sprite using NSE 2.x
    2. Grab the palette of that screen using VBA, import it onto Oak in Photoshop
    3. Edit Oak into Slowbro, making sure I was using the exact same colors
    4. Replace the color table with the original B&W 256-color table
    5. Reimport into NSE. It did not require repointing as it was smaller.
    I don't know where I'm going wrong, it shows up as the wrong colors. Also I'm using CS5.

  2. Basically I replaced my text box tileset with this:

    It has all tiles in the correct positions. What happened when I imported it into game was the textbox floated to the top-right corner of the screen (which makes no sense, since I figured if there was any error at all it'd show up as glitchy tiles). However it did require repointing for being too big.
__________________
.
  #184    
Old November 9th, 2013 (04:05 AM).
Sniper's Avatar
Sniper Sniper is offline
ヘッド·ショット
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Void
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 1,296
Send a message via Skype™ to Sniper
Quote originally posted by CelticGuard:

  1. So what I did was:
    1. Save the 256-color Oak Sprite using NSE 2.x
    2. Grab the palette of that screen using VBA, import it onto Oak in Photoshop
    3. Edit Oak into Slowbro, making sure I was using the exact same colors
    4. Replace the color table with the original B&W 256-color table
    5. Reimport into NSE. It did not require repointing as it was smaller.
    I don't know where I'm going wrong, it shows up as the wrong colors. Also I'm using CS5.
  2. Basically I replaced my text box tileset with this:

    It has all tiles in the correct positions. What happened when I imported it into game was the textbox floated to the top-right corner of the screen (which makes no sense, since I figured if there was any error at all it'd show up as glitchy tiles). However it did require repointing for being too big.
About your Oak sprite.
You got the colors right? Maybe you open your Slowbro on Photoshop.
Go export the color table of it then import it on the oak sprite.
__________________
  #185    
Old January 19th, 2014 (02:27 AM).
Goombario64's Avatar
Goombario64 Goombario64 is offline
Master of Galaxies
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Nuvema Town
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Posts: 29
I have searched this thread for a while and still can't find the answer to these questions, so, here they are: This does support Pokemon Sprite editing for Ruby, right? It says it only supports FR/LG and Emerald - nothing about Ruby/Sapphire. All other sprite editing seems to work just fine for Ruby, so is there something wrong with the Pokemon sprite plugin? Or am I missing something?
__________________
I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me. Philippians 4:13
You may notice that I, unlike most people on the Internet, actually use proper grammar. I can't stand it when people talk so confusingly, with their "i loeve thiz plashe itsz sou funn!" sentences everywhere I look. Copy and paste this in your sig if you feel the same way.
And please, if I ever misspell anything, please tell me - that kind of thing just irks me something awful.
  #186    
Old January 19th, 2014 (03:06 AM).
Sniper's Avatar
Sniper Sniper is offline
ヘッド·ショット
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Void
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 1,296
Send a message via Skype™ to Sniper
Quote originally posted by Goombario64:
I have searched this thread for a while and still can't find the answer to these questions, so, here they are: This does support Pokemon Sprite editing for Ruby, right? It says it only supports FR/LG and Emerald - nothing about Ruby/Sapphire. All other sprite editing seems to work just fine for Ruby, so is there something wrong with the Pokemon sprite plugin? Or am I missing something?
I think there's just no plugin for R/S. But you may implement one.
__________________
  #187    
Old January 19th, 2014 (01:27 PM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Please don't revive threads with no posts for 2 months.

Link12252, if you want this thread reopened, contact giradialkia, Drfuji, or myself.

-Locked-

~karatekid552
__________________

Paired with Simba
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 03:29 PM.