• Our software update is now concluded. You will need to reset your password to log in. In order to do this, you will have to click "Log in" in the top right corner and then "Forgot your password?".
  • Welcome to PokéCommunity! Register now and join one of the best fan communities on the 'net to talk Pokémon and more! We are not affiliated with The Pokémon Company or Nintendo.

6th Gen Dude playing as the female character

The Amazing Justin

The Original Player
Years
  • Age 26
  • Seen Oct 28, 2016
Ever since I started playing Pokemon, I've always played as the male. Usually I get both versions, but even with that I always play as the guy. The only exception was Pokemon Platinum, but that was mainly because I really liked Dawn's design and I had previously beaten it as a male. I played as a guy for Johto remakes and Gen V. I've always played as a male in both Hoenn remakes.

With that being said, anytime I play Pokemon Y (I don't have X), I always keep starting the game over, regretting that I played as a guy. I'm not sure why, but I don't like his design and I really like Serena's. I think she looks great and he's dull.

Now anytime I play as a girl I keep thinking that I'm not being manly and nobody says anything about it, but I just have the feeling that someone will. But if I play as a guy, I kind of feel like I'm forcing myself to play the game in a lesser way. I just want to enjoy myself to the fullest and I really believe that playing as Serena does that. Does any other person have this problem where they like the reverse gender's design better than the character that's the same gender as them?

Years
  • Age 24
  • Seen Jul 22, 2022
I was the same way with X. I don't really like the way Calem looks. Plus, the female character has more clothing options.

Years