The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > Creative Discussions > Game Development > Pokémon Essentials
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

Pokémon Essentials All questions and discussion about Pokémon Essentials, the Pokémon game kit for RPG Maker XP, go in here. Also contains links to the latest downloads and the Essentials Wiki.


Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #2676    
Old July 20th, 2008, 11:22 AM
cooluke21's Avatar
cooluke21
Needing A Project!
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Shrewsbury
Gender:
Nature: Hasty
you are the best graphics dude evr i am using them write now Sweet
__________________
Hmmmm Life Is So Strange, But The Things We Create Are Amazing

Bored Bored Bored, So Create I Will!
  #2677    
Old July 20th, 2008, 12:50 PM
InMooseWeTrust's Avatar
InMooseWeTrust
Jack of All Trades
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Lansdale, Pennsylvania, USA
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Send a message via ICQ to InMooseWeTrust Send a message via AIM to InMooseWeTrust Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to InMooseWeTrust Send a message via Yahoo to InMooseWeTrust Send a message via Skype™ to InMooseWeTrust
---------------------------
Pokemon Hall Of Fame
---------------------------
Exception: RuntimeError
Message: Script error within event 36, map 30 (OAK POKEMON RESEARCH LAB):
Section064:860:in `pbFromPBMove'undefined method `new' for nil:NilClass
Interpreter:238:in `pbExecuteScript'
PokeBattle_Battle:336:in `initialize'
PokemonTrainers:426:in `new'
PokemonTrainers:426:in `pbTrainerBattle'
(eval):1:in `pbExecuteScript'
Interpreter:754:in `eval'
Interpreter:238:in `pbExecuteScript'
Interpreter:754:in `command_111'
Interpreter:293:in `execute_command'
Interpreter:190:in `update'
Interpreter:250:in `pbExecuteScript'
Interpreter:754:in `command_111'
Interpreter:293:in `execute_command'
Interpreter:190:in `update'

Interpreter:104:in `loop'
Interpreter:195:in `update'
Scene_Map:100:in `update'
Scene_Map:98:in `loop'
Scene_Map:111:in `update'
Scene_Map:67:in `main'
This exception was logged in errorlog.txt.
Press Ctrl+C to copy this message to the clipboard.
---------------------------
OK
---------------------------

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

This error never happened to me before so I have no idea what's wrong.

Also, what is the name of the savefile? I think it's something.rxdata but I have no idea
__________________
Pokémon: Battles of the Past
Site Thread
Black2 FC: 5072 6059 9635
  #2678    
Old July 20th, 2008, 01:04 PM
partyghoul2000's Avatar
partyghoul2000
Intermediate Game Designer
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: USA
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Quote:
Originally Posted by yaoimutt View Post
can you give us a screenshot?
i even tried it out in the original starter kit. it's gotta be an script error somewhere.
anyways, screenshot below. certain things have been blacked out for my own reasons.
Spoiler:
__________________

Check out my Super Gothic Bros hack here.
My ripped pokemon music in MP3 format can be found here.
My custom battle animations and whatnot can be found here.
Credit is expected, if used.
  #2679    
Old July 20th, 2008, 01:55 PM
Kevvviiinnn
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
@partyghoul

I had the exact same error too when I changed to the latest release. Pokemon PokeDex entries weren't showing either, and the Editor didn't seem to save anything. I've switched back to an earlier release for now. I think the latest release is having problems compiling/sending out the data, but I'm not sure, since I know moot about scripting :^/
  #2680    
Old July 20th, 2008, 04:56 PM
Ashje's Avatar
Ashje
+1 Dead Puppies
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Gender:
Quote:
Originally Posted by yaoimutt View Post
i didn't say that the moves not being in the system was a glitch, i said that the new moves that poccil put into the starter kit that are not working, are most likely not working because of a glitch.


in that event, the condition branch will go to the "else" the first time, and the "if" every time after that, because the switch got pokemon isn't on until the end of that event, so you would have to touch it 2 times to get the events INSIDE the if part to work, but they would ALWAYS happen after that because the got pokemon switch is on.



naming that map fifth map doesn't actually effect this, the map id is set automaticly by the system it's self, you can't really control that,

anyway, go to the folder of your game, and go to the pbs folder, find both the metadata file, and the connections file, then erase them. the connections data connects 2 or more maps togeather, and the metadata states what is going on in a map, like if the map has weather, or a divemap.
So sorry but what do I have to do to make it happen all the time unless you have pokemon? I'm trying to make it say The door is locked unless you have pokemon. If you do then you go into oak's lab.
  #2681    
Old July 20th, 2008, 05:59 PM
rubyrulez's Avatar
rubyrulez
Back in Action...again...
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sonnet Town
Age: 27
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
Send a message via AIM to rubyrulez Send a message via Yahoo to rubyrulez Send a message via Skype™ to rubyrulez
Quote:
Originally Posted by partyghoul2000 View Post
As requested by many, battle animations within the starter kit are little to none. i have finally arranged all the battle animations into usable rmxp sheets. (i didn't use animmaker.exe, sorry poccil. i couldnt' understand how to use it) as someone else requested, i also ripped all the doors from leaf green and arranged them rmxp style. the link to all this is right here. the battle animations that i currently have finished will be uploaded slowly, but surely. any help finishing these animations will be greatly appearated. if used, credit is expected.

*EDIT*
i almost forgot that the battle animations (.anm files) will require the battle animation sheets that i provided.
This is excellent, however, I'm not sure how to use the .anm files...
  #2682    
Old July 20th, 2008, 07:32 PM
partyghoul2000's Avatar
partyghoul2000
Intermediate Game Designer
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: USA
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Quote:
Originally Posted by rubyrulez View Post
This is excellent, however, I'm not sure how to use the .anm files...
you just import them via animation editor from the editor/debug menu.
__________________

Check out my Super Gothic Bros hack here.
My ripped pokemon music in MP3 format can be found here.
My custom battle animations and whatnot can be found here.
Credit is expected, if used.
  #2683    
Old July 21st, 2008, 08:53 AM
yaoimutt
Trainer
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Nature: Impish
Send a message via AIM to yaoimutt Send a message via Yahoo to yaoimutt
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ashje View Post
Thanks partyghoul. But now you can get to the map but you can walk through walls:

The things in green are the things you can walk on. Not including the T.V or stack of books. The tags are set to X's but it still won't work... Please help...
it could just be that the passability is wrong, if it is, all you do is go to the tileset editor (either in the rmxp or in the sk editor) and change it, it will be fixed.

it could also be that you have a invisable tile over it that alows passing. make sure it's just the invisable tile in the upper left hand corner.
__________________

Name: FishieNUMBER37 (you don't want to know what happened to the other fishies)
Adopt one yourself! @Pokémon Orphanage

Geat thread here
  #2684    
Old July 21st, 2008, 08:57 AM
Hall Of Famer's Avatar
Hall Of Famer
Born as Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the World of Fame
Quote:
Originally Posted by InMooseWeTrust View Post
---------------------------
Pokemon Hall Of Fame
---------------------------
Exception: RuntimeError
Message: Script error within event 36, map 30 (OAK POKEMON RESEARCH LAB):
Section064:860:in `pbFromPBMove'undefined method `new' for nil:NilClass
Interpreter:238:in `pbExecuteScript'
PokeBattle_Battle:336:in `initialize'
PokemonTrainers:426:in `new'
PokemonTrainers:426:in `pbTrainerBattle'
(eval)in `pbExecuteScript'
Interpreter:754:in `eval'
Interpreter:238:in `pbExecuteScript'
Interpreter:754:in `command_111'
Interpreter:293:in `execute_command'
Interpreter:190:in `update'
Interpreter:250:in `pbExecuteScript'
Interpreter:754:in `command_111'
Interpreter:293:in `execute_command'
Interpreter:190:in `update'

Interpreter:104:in `loop'
Interpreter:195:in `update'
Scene_Map:100:in `update'
Scene_Map:98:in `loop'
Scene_Map:111:in `update'
Scene_Map:67:in `main'
This exception was logged in errorlog.txt.
Press Ctrl+C to copy this message to the clipboard.
---------------------------
OK
---------------------------

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

This error never happened to me before so I have no idea what's wrong.

Also, what is the name of the savefile? I think it's something.rxdata but I have no idea
Can someone please answer this question?
__________________
Yes, I am the founder of Pokemon HOF



My sites:
Pokemon Mysidia: http://www.pokemonmysidia.com
Poketube: http://www.pokemonmysidia.org
Pokemon HOF Official site: http://pkmnhalloffame.pokemonmysidia.com
Mysidian's board: www.pokemonmysidia.com/forum

Quote:
Women are beautiful for the simple fact they are women.


  #2685    
Old July 21st, 2008, 09:00 AM
yaoimutt
Trainer
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Nature: Impish
Send a message via AIM to yaoimutt Send a message via Yahoo to yaoimutt
Quote:
Originally Posted by partyghoul2000 View Post
i even tried it out in the original starter kit. it's gotta be an script error somewhere.
anyways, screenshot below. certain things have been blacked out for my own reasons.
Spoiler:
lol, you're missing over half of the trainer event.
download the sk again, and look at the trainer events in it. or go to the note.html and read the "Behind the Scenes" part of the trainer event.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ashje View Post
So sorry but what do I have to do to make it happen all the time unless you have pokemon? I'm trying to make it say The door is locked unless you have pokemon. If you do then you go into oak's lab.
get rid of the "got pokemon" switch at the end of the event, i don't mean turn it off, i mean delete the part where it's turning it on, and have it turned on in the event that you actually get the pokemon.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hall Of Famer View Post
Can someone please answer this question?
well, we can't really help until you get a screenshot of event 36 in that map (it's pritymuch just saying that there is an error in that event.
__________________

Name: FishieNUMBER37 (you don't want to know what happened to the other fishies)
Adopt one yourself! @Pokémon Orphanage

Geat thread here

Last edited by yaoimutt; July 21st, 2008 at 09:06 AM. Reason: Your double post has been automatically merged.
  #2686    
Old July 21st, 2008, 09:45 AM
partyghoul2000's Avatar
partyghoul2000
Intermediate Game Designer
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: USA
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Quote:
Originally Posted by yaoimutt View Post
lol, you're missing over half of the trainer event.
download the sk again, and look at the trainer events in it. or go to the note.html and read the "Behind the Scenes" part of the trainer event.
the script displayed there is supposed to be generated by the comments. that's how i've done trainers before. :\
__________________

Check out my Super Gothic Bros hack here.
My ripped pokemon music in MP3 format can be found here.
My custom battle animations and whatnot can be found here.
Credit is expected, if used.
  #2687    
Old July 21st, 2008, 10:14 AM
Wichu's Avatar
Wichu
Project Amethyst
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: North Herts, England
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Naive
HOF: Are you using the newest version of Essentials? You shouldn't be getting that error... If you don't want to upgrade, paste
Code:
def PokeBattle_Move.pbFromPBMove(battle,move)
 move=PBMove.new(0) if !move
 movedata=PBMoveData.new(move.id)
 return eval(sprintf("PokeBattle_Move_%02X.new(battle,move)",movedata.function))
end
into a new script section, above Main.
__________________
  #2688    
Old July 21st, 2008, 11:22 AM
Lorem Ipsum's Avatar
Lorem Ipsum
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Gender:
For the Trainer Battle Comment 'EndIfSwitch', how do you specify a switch? Is it literally 50: Blahblahblah, or is it more complex than that?
__________________

Click on the banner above to take a look at the fangame I lead, Pokémon Acanthite!
We desperately, desperately need Fakemon and tile spriters!
  #2689    
Old July 21st, 2008, 11:25 AM
Hall Of Famer's Avatar
Hall Of Famer
Born as Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the World of Fame
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wichu View Post
HOF: Are you using the newest version of Essentials? You shouldn't be getting that error... If you don't want to upgrade, paste
Code:
def PokeBattle_Move.pbFromPBMove(battle,move)
 move=PBMove.new(0) if !move
 movedata=PBMoveData.new(move.id)
 return eval(sprintf("PokeBattle_Move_%02X.new(battle,move)",movedata.function))
end
into a new script section, above Main.
Thank you very much for this.
__________________
Yes, I am the founder of Pokemon HOF



My sites:
Pokemon Mysidia: http://www.pokemonmysidia.com
Poketube: http://www.pokemonmysidia.org
Pokemon HOF Official site: http://pkmnhalloffame.pokemonmysidia.com
Mysidian's board: www.pokemonmysidia.com/forum

Quote:
Women are beautiful for the simple fact they are women.


  #2690    
Old July 21st, 2008, 12:37 PM
yaoimutt
Trainer
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Nature: Impish
Send a message via AIM to yaoimutt Send a message via Yahoo to yaoimutt
Quote:
Originally Posted by partyghoul2000 View Post
the script displayed there is supposed to be generated by the comments. that's how i've done trainers before. :\
i can't remember it ever being just those commands, unless you only recently upgraded past the second release, they've always had more to them then just the comment lines.

anyway, my characters sprite doesn't change for fishing, why is that? o.0
__________________

Name: FishieNUMBER37 (you don't want to know what happened to the other fishies)
Adopt one yourself! @Pokémon Orphanage

Geat thread here
  #2691    
Old July 22nd, 2008, 04:03 PM
mad.array's Avatar
mad.array
Eeveelutions... need more...
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Birmingham, UK
Age: 29
Gender: Male
Nature: Rash
For those of you who have been having problems with the Pokédex in the last version of the starter kit, poccil has released a fix. As I haven't tested the other problems (not having a Hall of Fame as of yet) I can't speak to whether they are sorted, but it's nice to see the Pokémon info back in the dex.
  #2692    
Old July 23rd, 2008, 02:14 PM
Kevvviiinnn
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
I just upgraded, but now I'm getting this error:

Quote:
Exception: RuntimeError
Message: Undefined value in PBMoves (section 494, key Moves)
Compiler:1892:in `checkEnumField'
Compiler:1917:in `csvEnumField!'
Compiler:2217:in `pbCompilePokemonData'
Compiler:2196:in `each'
Compiler:2196:in `pbCompilePokemonData'
Compiler:2194:in `loop'
Compiler:2263:in `pbCompilePokemonData'
Compiler:2183:in `each'
Compiler:2183:in `pbCompilePokemonData'
Compiler:2182:in `each'
Can someone help?

EDIT: Never mind, I fixed it

Last edited by Kevvviiinnn; July 23rd, 2008 at 02:23 PM.
  #2693    
Old July 25th, 2008, 02:30 AM
PoKéMaKeR's Avatar
PoKéMaKeR
Pokemon Rancher creator!
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: The Netherlands :)
Gender:
Nature: Relaxed
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to PoKéMaKeR
Quote:
Originally Posted by PoKéMaKeR View Post
Ok I tried to add a new HM myself but I still get this error:

Message: Script error within event 7, map 78 (Ice Rock Den):
(eval)in `pbExecuteScript'undefined method `pbSNOWPLOW' for Kernel:Module
Interpreter:238:in `pbExecuteScript'
Interpreter:754:in `eval'
Interpreter:238:in `pbExecuteScript'
Interpreter:754:in `command_111'
Interpreter:293:in `execute_command'
Interpreter:190:in `update'
Interpreter:104:in `loop'
Interpreter:195:in `update'
Scene_Map:100:in `update'
Scene_Map:98:in `loop'
Interpreter:250:in `pbExecuteScript'
Interpreter:754:in `command_111'
Interpreter:293:in `execute_command'
Interpreter:190:in `update'
Interpreter:104:in `loop'
Interpreter:195:in `update'
Scene_Map:100:in `update'
Scene_Map:98:in `loop'
Scene_Map:111:in `update'
Scene_Map:67:in `main'
Can some one finally answer this question, I've waited a week right now..
And I'm still not able to fix it myself..
Thanks in advance!
__________________
(Click for the thread)



Last update on the Rancher thread: February 26th 2009

  #2694    
Old July 25th, 2008, 06:00 AM
mad.array's Avatar
mad.array
Eeveelutions... need more...
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Birmingham, UK
Age: 29
Gender: Male
Nature: Rash
Hi again.

I don't know if anyone else is having this problem, but when I use the autotile 'Sandy Dirt' it doesn't show up in game. I've tried on the lower and middle layer just to make sure, but nothing. Does anyone have any ideas?

@PoKéMaKeR: What did you add to the scripts? You probably won't be able to get any help with a problem like that unless you show what you've changed. At a guess (from a real amateurs perspective and presuming you're making a cut type move) you'll need something like this in PokemonField:

Quote:
def Kernel.pbSNOWPLOW
if $DEBUG || $Trainer.badges[BADGEFORSNOWPLOW] #IF you need a badge to use the HM
movefinder=Kernel.pbCheckMove(PBMoves:NOWPLOW)
if $DEBUG || movefinder
Kernel.pbMessage(_INTL("Your message saying that the HM could be used."))
if Kernel.pbConfirmMessage(_INTL("A would you like to use it message."))
speciesname=!movefinder ? PBSpecies.getName(0) : movefinder.name
Kernel.pbMessage(_INTL("{1} used SNOWPLOW!",speciesname))
pbHiddenMoveAnimation(movefinder)
return true
end
else
Kernel.pbMessage(_INTL("Your message saying that the HM could be used."))
end
else
Kernel.pbMessage(_INTL("Your message saying that the HM could be used."))
end
return false
end
Then if you need a badge to use your HM you should define that at the top of PokemonField, in the same place that the other badges are defined.

Quote:
BADGEFORSNOWPLOW = 4
4 Is just an example.

After that, you'll want to define some parameters for your HM. Look for def Kernel.pbCanUseHiddenMove?(pkmn,move) in PokemonField and put this in before the end.

Quote:
when PBMoves:NOWPLOW
if !$DEBUG && !$Trainer.badges[BADGEFORSNOWPLOW]
Kernel.pbMessage(_INTL("Sorry, a new Badge is required."))
return false
end
facingEvent=$game_player.pbFacingEvent
if !facingEvent || facingEvent.name!="Snow"
Kernel.pbMessage(_INTL("Can't use that here."))
return false
end
The part from "facingEvent=$game_player.pbFacingEvent" to "return false" assumes that your character must be facing an event named "Snow" (minus the quotation marks) for the HM to work. You could change "Snow" to whatever you wanted to call the event.

I hope that my shot in the dark solves the problem.

Last edited by mad.array; July 25th, 2008 at 10:16 AM.
  #2695    
Old July 25th, 2008, 06:19 AM
PoKéMaKeR's Avatar
PoKéMaKeR
Pokemon Rancher creator!
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: The Netherlands :)
Gender:
Nature: Relaxed
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to PoKéMaKeR
Quote:
Originally Posted by LokiFerne View Post
Hi again.

I don't know if anyone else is having this problem, but when I use the autotile 'Sandy Dirt' it doesn't show up in game. I've tried on the bottom and lower layer just to make sure, but nothing. Does anyone have any ideas?

@PoKéMaKeR: What did you add to the scripts? You probably won't be able to get any help with a problem like that unless you show what you've changed. At a guess (from a real amateurs perspective and presuming you're making a cut type move) you'll need something like this in PokemonField:



Then if you need a badge to use your HM you should define that at the top of PokemonField, in the same place that the other badges are defined.



4 Is just an example.

After that, you'll want to define some parameters for your HM. Look for def Kernel.pbCanUseHiddenMove?(pkmn,move) in PokemonField and put this in before the end.



The part from "facingEvent=$game_player.pbFacingEvent" to "return false" assumes that your character must be facing an event named "Snow" (minus the quotation marks) for the HM to work. You could change "Snow" to whatever you wanted to call the event.

I hope that my shot in the dark solves the problem.
Yes yes yes!!!
This works!!!
Thanks, I'm sooo happy!! :D
and about your problem.. i don't have the same problem
so I can't help you about that

PoKéMaKeR
__________________
(Click for the thread)



Last update on the Rancher thread: February 26th 2009

  #2696    
Old July 25th, 2008, 07:14 AM
mad.array's Avatar
mad.array
Eeveelutions... need more...
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Birmingham, UK
Age: 29
Gender: Male
Nature: Rash
I'm glad to hear that it works. I've taken a look at your project and it looks like it could be one to keep an eye on.

Keep it up man.
  #2697    
Old July 25th, 2008, 12:14 PM
PoKéMaKeR's Avatar
PoKéMaKeR
Pokemon Rancher creator!
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: The Netherlands :)
Gender:
Nature: Relaxed
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to PoKéMaKeR
hello, again
What terrain tags do you need to use to make a bridge..?
like if you move vertical over it you're on top and if you move horizontal under it, your're below the bridge
Thanks!
PoKéMaKeR
__________________
(Click for the thread)



Last update on the Rancher thread: February 26th 2009

  #2698    
Old July 25th, 2008, 12:22 PM
Atomic Reactor's Avatar
Atomic Reactor
@atomicreactor
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Minnesota
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Rash
I believe that there is already an example of bridges in one of the maps that came with the SK.
the bridge is blue incase that helps when you look
__________________
  #2699    
Old July 25th, 2008, 12:29 PM
PoKéMaKeR's Avatar
PoKéMaKeR
Pokemon Rancher creator!
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: The Netherlands :)
Gender:
Nature: Relaxed
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to PoKéMaKeR
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atomic_Reactor View Post
I believe that there is already an example of bridges in one of the maps that came with the SK.
the bridge is blue incase that helps when you look
yes that's true i found it..
but i don't get it, can you explain it ?
__________________
(Click for the thread)



Last update on the Rancher thread: February 26th 2009

  #2700    
Old July 25th, 2008, 12:38 PM
Atomic Reactor's Avatar
Atomic Reactor
@atomicreactor
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Minnesota
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Rash
lol. i dont get it either. i never cared to use it. i jsut know that thats what you do.

put one of those events on one side and the other event on the other side..

idk
__________________
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 11:03 PM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.