The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > Creative Discussions > Game Development > Pokémon Essentials
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

Pokémon Essentials All questions and discussion about Pokémon Essentials, the Pokémon game kit for RPG Maker XP, go in here. Also contains links to the latest downloads and the Essentials Wiki.


Advertise here

Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #2751    
Old July 30th, 2008, 01:42 AM
Mitchman
Booted out - don't be like me!
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southern Europe
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Hasty

Advertise here
Ok i downloaded the latest vesion of poccils pokestarter from the front page of his site. Thats all i need right?
  #2752    
Old July 30th, 2008, 02:03 AM
darkerarceus's Avatar
darkerarceus
Advanced RM2K3-er
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Canberra,Australia
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
and RMXP short for RPG Maker XP
  #2753    
Old July 30th, 2008, 02:53 AM
PoKéMaKeR's Avatar
PoKéMaKeR
Pokemon Rancher creator!
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: The Netherlands :)
Gender:
Nature: Relaxed
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to PoKéMaKeR
Quote:
Originally Posted by fireyboy345 View Post
i get this error log when i change my starting position

---------------------------
Pokemon Holon
---------------------------
Exception: NoMethodError

Message: undefined method `party' for nil:NilClass

PokemonField:643:in `pbOnStepTaken'

Game_Player*:623:in `update_old'

Walk/Run:60:in `update'

Scene_Map:101:in `update'

Scene_Map:98:in `loop'

Scene_Map:111:in `update'

Scene_Map:67:in `main'

Scene_Map:64:in `loop'

Scene_Map:71:in `main'

Main:44:in `mainFunctionDebug'



This exception was logged in errorlog.txt.

Press Ctrl+C to copy this message to the clipboard.
---------------------------
OK
---------------------------
(IM NEW)
You changed it from the "intro map" to an other one right?
If so change it back to the "intro map" because else the game doesn't initialise some of the nessecary things, that's why you probably get that error, I'm not sure though!

PoKéMaKeR
__________________
(Click for the thread)



Last update on the Rancher thread: February 26th 2009

  #2754    
Old July 30th, 2008, 03:13 AM
lightou's Avatar
lightou
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Paris -- France
Age: 22
Gender:
Nature: Relaxed
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to lightou
Quote:
Originally Posted by lightou View Post
I've got a problem.

I think that Pokemon give too much experience. For example : when my Chikorita lvl9 kills a Geodude lvl 9, chikorita goes lvl 10 (50%). After (it's my first gym) when he kills an Onix lvl 9, he goes lvl 12...

Isn't it too much ? How can I change the growth rate, to make him more realistic.
[UP] Nobody can help me ?
  #2755    
Old July 30th, 2008, 03:17 AM
PoKéMaKeR's Avatar
PoKéMaKeR
Pokemon Rancher creator!
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: The Netherlands :)
Gender:
Nature: Relaxed
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to PoKéMaKeR
Quote:
Originally Posted by lightou View Post
[UP] Nobody can help me ?
Play any Pokemon game on the gbc gba or ds..
I think it's quite normal..
__________________
(Click for the thread)



Last update on the Rancher thread: February 26th 2009

  #2756    
Old July 30th, 2008, 03:32 AM
R a i n n s a n雨's Avatar
R a i n n s a n雨
デンリュウ
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Gender:
Nature: Calm
Hey. I was on and I edited a map on the Starter Kit. I made it so the surrounding when you left the house was all grass. But when I ran it it said that The surround was the same but as the begging but when I walked around there was grass.

Oh and how to you Edit text. I just got RPG maker Xp yesterday...
__________________

Rainnsan

Rainnsan!


Diamond Team


Lvl. 72

Lvl. 100 Lvl. 52
Lvl. 70

Family


I has none...

I support


Every hack and game...

  #2757    
Old July 30th, 2008, 06:59 AM
Atomic Reactor's Avatar
Atomic Reactor
@atomicreactor
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Minnesota
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Rash
You need to edit the encounters for that map to make pokemon show up.
If you just got RMXP, mess around with it before you use this SK.
__________________
  #2758    
Old July 30th, 2008, 08:17 AM
WhippedCream's Avatar
WhippedCream
Greenhorn Trainer
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Gender:
Nature: Calm
Anyway Atomic, I'm merely stating that I can't script a game like...at all. Too confusing. Not only that, but not many people are willing to script. X/
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
Your signature is 151px too high.
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
  #2759    
Old July 30th, 2008, 08:22 AM
partyghoul2000's Avatar
partyghoul2000
Intermediate Game Designer
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: USA
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hall Of Famer View Post
I'm sorry I have to say it again but I wish to have my question answered...
by the look of the error, it looks like you tried to load a move that didn't have a animation sheet linked to it. to get around this open up the database and go to that animation editor and choose which sheet you need there. that should fix your problem.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ~link smash~ View Post
Ok i downloaded the latest vesion of poccils pokestarter from the front page of his site. Thats all i need right?
besides the starter kit, you also need the basic rpg maker xp program. google it if you don't have it.
__________________

Check out my Super Gothic Bros hack here.
My ripped pokemon music in MP3 format can be found here.
My custom battle animations and whatnot can be found here.
Credit is expected, if used.
  #2760    
Old July 30th, 2008, 09:06 AM
Mitchman
Booted out - don't be like me!
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southern Europe
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Hasty
Aha sweet. And i will probably be making a game soon. Can i edit the pokemon screen to how i want. Like custom graphics and everything?
  #2761    
Old July 30th, 2008, 09:18 AM
Atomic Reactor's Avatar
Atomic Reactor
@atomicreactor
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Minnesota
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Rash
Yes, you can edit everything.
Graphics, scripts, all that jazz
__________________
  #2762    
Old July 30th, 2008, 09:26 AM
Mitchman
Booted out - don't be like me!
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southern Europe
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Hasty
YAY! Wait i already have the trail vesion of rpgxp. Does that mean i can start?
  #2763    
Old July 30th, 2008, 09:44 AM
lightou's Avatar
lightou
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Paris -- France
Age: 22
Gender:
Nature: Relaxed
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to lightou
Quote:
Originally Posted by PoKéMaKeR View Post
Play any Pokemon game on the gbc gba or ds..
I think it's quite normal..
I played every Pokémon game, and I can tell you that it is not normal. u_u'
  #2764    
Old July 30th, 2008, 10:02 AM
partyghoul2000's Avatar
partyghoul2000
Intermediate Game Designer
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: USA
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Quote:
Originally Posted by ~link smash~ View Post
YAY! Wait i already have the trail vesion of rpgxp. Does that mean i can start?
yea, until the trial runs out.
__________________

Check out my Super Gothic Bros hack here.
My ripped pokemon music in MP3 format can be found here.
My custom battle animations and whatnot can be found here.
Credit is expected, if used.
  #2765    
Old July 30th, 2008, 10:50 AM
Darksun's Avatar
Darksun
triple rainbow, yo
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 22nd floor of the Carrot Tower in Setagaya, Tokyo, Japan
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Is there a way to make it day everytime my game start? Sometimes it's night,
and that's so freaking annoying. xD

Second question. How do I change so the screen size is 240x160 instead of 480x320,
when my game start?

Thanks.
__________________

  #2766    
Old July 30th, 2008, 08:07 PM
JollyRoger25's Avatar
JollyRoger25
Dark Type Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Springfield, Ohio, U.S.
Age: 25
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Aggg, yet another road block, I am at the point were you battle your rival for the first time in the prof.'s lab, and I can't seem to figure out how to imput his data as a trainer, I know were, just don't know how, I read the Notes.html, still can't get it. If some one can give it to me step by step, that would be great.
__________________
Ultimate Monotype Challenge:
K-8/8 J-8/8 H-8/8 S-1/8 U-0/8 K-0/8
  #2767    
Old July 30th, 2008, 09:06 PM
Hall Of Famer's Avatar
Hall Of Famer
Born as Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the World of Fame
I still have a question to ask, how do you guys manage to make shiny wild pokemon event? I tried to test the shiny event following the instructions in note.html but got this error:
Code:
Exception: SyntaxError
Message: (eval):2:in `pbExecuteScript'compile error
(eval):2: syntax error
(::PBSpecies::GYARADOS,30,1)
                          ^
Interpreter:238:in `pbExecuteScript'
Interpreter:1615:in `eval'
Interpreter:238:in `pbExecuteScript'
Interpreter:1615:in `command_355'
Interpreter:467:in `execute_command'
Interpreter:190:in `update'
Interpreter:104:in `loop'
Interpreter:195:in `update'
Scene_Map:100:in `update'
Scene_Map:98:in `loop'
__________________
Yes, I am the founder of Pokemon HOF



My sites:
Pokemon Mysidia: http://www.pokemonmysidia.com
Poketube: http://www.pokemonmysidia.org
Pokemon HOF Official site: http://pkmnhalloffame.pokemonmysidia.com
Mysidian's board: www.pokemonmysidia.com/forum

Quote:
Women are beautiful for the simple fact they are women.


  #2768    
Old July 30th, 2008, 09:11 PM
partyghoul2000's Avatar
partyghoul2000
Intermediate Game Designer
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: USA
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Quote:
Originally Posted by JolylRoger25 View Post
Aggg, yet another road block, I am at the point were you battle your rival for the first time in the prof.'s lab, and I can't seem to figure out how to imput his data as a trainer, I know were, just don't know how, I read the Notes.html, still can't get it. If some one can give it to me step by step, that would be great.
first off, your sig is way too big. it needs to be resized. now about inputting his trainer information, first off, if you haven't downloaded the latest version of the starter kit, please do so. it would make things so much easier for you considering poccil added a new trainer data menu within the debug/editor menu for easier trainer management. ok, now that you've got the lastest sk, go to the trainer data menu i mentioned before. go to [NEW TRAINER BATTLE] and define the type of trainer it is, enter their name and define what pokemon that trainer has. afterwards, your newly entered trainer will now appear on the menu. you can go to that trainer and edit various bits of data besides what you entered in already. i believe it's just items. but anyways, now that you've done that you're ready to enter the script and whatnot under the trainer event on the map. here's what a basic trainer event looks like:

Name: Trainer(X) Page: 1

Script: pbTrainerIntro(YOUNGSTER)
Script: Kernel.pbNoticePlayer(get_character(0))
Text: I just got my first pokemon. Let's battle!
Conditional Branch: Script: pbTrainerBattle(PBTrainers::YOUNGSTER,"Rick",_I("I have training to do."),false,0)
Control Self Switch: A =ON

: Branch End
Script: pbTrainerEnd

Name: Trainer(X) Page: 2 Self Switch: A is ON

Text: I've got some training to do.


you should be able to get the gist of what all that means within the notes.html under Behind the Scenes in the Trainers area. now in order to link this script to the data you entered in earlier, just change the name and type accordling. i haven't tried this personally, but it should work out perfectly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hall Of Famer View Post
I still have a question to ask, how do you guys manage to make shiny wild pokemon event? I tried to test the shiny event following the instructions in note.html but got this error:
Code:
Exception: SyntaxError
Message: (eval):2:in `pbExecuteScript'compile error
(eval):2: syntax error
(::PBSpecies::GYARADOS,30,1)
                          ^
Interpreter:238:in `pbExecuteScript'
Interpreter:1615:in `eval'
Interpreter:238:in `pbExecuteScript'
Interpreter:1615:in `command_355'
Interpreter:467:in `execute_command'
Interpreter:190:in `update'
Interpreter:104:in `loop'
Interpreter:195:in `update'
Scene_Map:100:in `update'
Scene_Map:98:in `loop'
did you insert the following code into a new script entry within the ruby script editor?
Code:
Events.onWildPokemonCreate+=proc {|sender,e|
  pokemon=e[0]
  if $game_switches[50]
    pokemon.makeShiny
  end
}
remember it has to be a new entry, not an existing one. also make sure you have switch 50 turned on before the battle and switched off after battle to insure that pokemon aren't always shiny.
__________________

Check out my Super Gothic Bros hack here.
My ripped pokemon music in MP3 format can be found here.
My custom battle animations and whatnot can be found here.
Credit is expected, if used.

Last edited by partyghoul2000; July 30th, 2008 at 09:17 PM.
  #2769    
Old July 30th, 2008, 09:51 PM
poccil
Trainer
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
The script should read:
Code:
pbWildBattle(
::PBSpecies::GYARADOS,30,1)
Note the parenthesis at the end of the first line.
__________________
Peter O, of The Ultimate Pokemon Center (Pokemon Essentials, Donate money to restore my page)
  #2770    
Old July 30th, 2008, 10:57 PM
Kevvviiinnn
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
I am getting this error when I walk onto a connected map with different music:

Quote:
Exception: ArgumentError
Message: wrong number of arguments(4 for 2)
Game_Map*1:99:in `pbCueBGM'
Game_Map*1:99:in `autoplayAsCue'
PokemonField*:1139:in `pbAutoplayOnTransition'
PokemonMap*:780:in `setCurrentMap'
Game_Map*1:290:in `update'
Scene_Map*:34:in `updateMaps'
Scene_Map*:33:in `each'
Scene_Map*:33:in `updateMaps'
Scene_Map*:99:in `update'
Scene_Map*:98:in `loop'
How can I fix this? I've never had this problem until recently (perhaps something missed in the newer version).

EDIT: Never mind, I seemed to have fixed it

Last edited by Kevvviiinnn; July 31st, 2008 at 12:01 AM.
  #2771    
Old July 31st, 2008, 09:33 AM
partyghoul2000's Avatar
partyghoul2000
Intermediate Game Designer
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: USA
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
something i've noticed just now, is that when pokemon hatch from eggs it's the natural level 5 found in the advance games. im curious as to where the script is to change this to DP's natural level 1. i tried searching for it, but i came up with alot of results.
__________________

Check out my Super Gothic Bros hack here.
My ripped pokemon music in MP3 format can be found here.
My custom battle animations and whatnot can be found here.
Credit is expected, if used.
  #2772    
Old July 31st, 2008, 02:13 PM
Pokepal2007's Avatar
Pokepal2007
angels awakening
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Fire City
Nature: Calm
how do you make the credits screen?
__________________


Click here to feed me a Star Fruit!


Click here to feed me a Rare Candy!

[center]
Name: Hevaa Guardian
Mascot of Pokémon Heaven Legends
  #2773    
Old July 31st, 2008, 04:59 PM
Kevvviiinnn
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Is it just me or can you not make trainer events with just comments anymore?
  #2774    
Old July 31st, 2008, 06:36 PM
yaoimutt
Trainer
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Nature: Impish
Send a message via AIM to yaoimutt Send a message via Yahoo to yaoimutt
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevvviiinnn View Post
Is it just me or can you not make trainer events with just comments anymore?
you haven't been able to make trainer events with just comments in a long time, (the last time i updated my game was 6 months ago, and i can't make trainer events with just comments) i don't think you really ever could, you need the condition branch as well.
__________________

Name: FishieNUMBER37 (you don't want to know what happened to the other fishies)
Adopt one yourself! @Pokémon Orphanage

Geat thread here
  #2775    
Old July 31st, 2008, 06:42 PM
Hall Of Famer's Avatar
Hall Of Famer
Born as Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the World of Fame
Quote:
Originally Posted by poccil View Post
The script should read:
Code:
pbWildBattle(
::PBSpecies::GYARADOS,30,1)
Note the parenthesis at the end of the first line.
It works this time, thanks a lot!
__________________
Yes, I am the founder of Pokemon HOF



My sites:
Pokemon Mysidia: http://www.pokemonmysidia.com
Poketube: http://www.pokemonmysidia.org
Pokemon HOF Official site: http://pkmnhalloffame.pokemonmysidia.com
Mysidian's board: www.pokemonmysidia.com/forum

Quote:
Women are beautiful for the simple fact they are women.


Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links


Advertise here
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 11:13 AM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.