Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > Creative Discussions > Game Development > Pokémon Essentials
Reload this Page [Archive] Pokemon Essentials: Starter Kit for RPG Maker XP

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Pokémon Essentials All questions and discussion about Pokémon Essentials, the Pokémon game kit for RPG Maker XP, go in here. Also contains links to the latest downloads and the Essentials Wiki.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #2876    
Old August 10th, 2008 (02:58 PM).
partyghoul2000's Avatar
partyghoul2000 partyghoul2000 is offline
Intermediate Game Designer
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: USA
Age: 27
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 175
Quote originally posted by Hall Of Famer:
I have a question to ask... Is it possible to implement a Boulder-based event as in Victory road the player must push the boulders into a specific area to make it possible to advance to further area. Also in Seaform Island the boulder must be pushed down to the flowing water to access Articuno. Please help.
i think it's possible with switches. once the event boulder gets pushed into the event hole, have the event turn on a switch so a boulder will appear down below. just make sure to have the top boulder disappear. and when you leave the floor or cave, reset the switches. sounds good, in theory.

Quote originally posted by Pokehero22:
I meant when you select Boy, I want a picture to show up!

((In my case, a Team Rocket Grunt
alright, go into the metadata.txt within the PBS folder and edit PkMnTRAINER_Male to say whatever you have your rocket defined as within the trainernames.txt
__________________

Check out my Super Gothic Bros hack here.
My ripped pokemon music in MP3 format can be found here.
My custom battle animations and whatnot can be found here.
Credit is expected, if used.
  #2877    
Old August 10th, 2008 (05:32 PM).
fudgy's Avatar
fudgy fudgy is offline
so i herd you liek mudkipz?
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 299
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to fudgy
how do i get rid of certain options in the options menu and make the battle system look different?
__________________
credit to xxkaylabby;;

credit to fudgy;;

|my works;;| |pixel art| |paint sketchs|

  #2878    
Old August 11th, 2008 (04:59 AM).
Mike2494's Avatar
Mike2494 Mike2494 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Gender:
Posts: 77
To change the Battle, just open the Script Editor and scroll down to the PokeBattle_...-Scripts.
I dont know exatly about the Options-Menu. But when looking around in the scripting Editor of the RPG MK you should find something.
__________________


  #2879    
Old August 11th, 2008 (06:11 AM).
Wichu's Avatar
Wichu Wichu is offline
Project Amethyst
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: North Herts, England
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Naive
Posts: 2,052
The PokemonOption script, perhaps? :P
__________________
  #2880    
Old August 11th, 2008 (06:49 AM).
Lorem Ipsum's Avatar
Lorem Ipsum Lorem Ipsum is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Gender:
Posts: 312
Question: When implementing new moves, what are the function codes for defining what the moves actually do?
__________________
[CENTER]
Pokémon Acanthite: Coming Soon
  #2881    
Old August 11th, 2008 (08:02 AM).
Wichu's Avatar
Wichu Wichu is offline
Project Amethyst
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: North Herts, England
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Naive
Posts: 2,052
Lorem: Poccil made a list on his site here: http://upokecenter.com/games/rs/guides/attacks.html
__________________
  #2882    
Old August 11th, 2008 (08:41 AM).
fudgy's Avatar
fudgy fudgy is offline
so i herd you liek mudkipz?
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 299
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to fudgy
Quote originally posted by Mike2494:
To change the Battle, just open the Script Editor and scroll down to the PokeBattle_...-Scripts.
I dont know exatly about the Options-Menu. But when looking around in the scripting Editor of the RPG MK you should find something.

ok but how would i change it so my battle scene looks simular to this 0.o..


and with all of the dp menu system and everythhing, or make a window pop up when a battle occurs and have the fight, bag, run, and pokemon options under the screen, how would i do this. (including how to make the menu look like this)
[IMG]file:///C:/DOCUME%7E1/HGJ/LOCALS%7E1/Temp/moz-screenshot.jpg[/IMG]
__________________
credit to xxkaylabby;;

credit to fudgy;;

|my works;;| |pixel art| |paint sketchs|

  #2883    
Old August 11th, 2008 (08:55 AM).
Mike2494's Avatar
Mike2494 Mike2494 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Gender:
Posts: 77
fugdy, IMO you just change the graphics...just look at the /Graphics/Pictures-Folder....
__________________


  #2884    
Old August 11th, 2008 (10:07 AM).
yaoimutt yaoimutt is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Nature: Impish
Posts: 249
Send a message via AIM to yaoimutt Send a message via Yahoo to yaoimutt
is there a way to give shiny pokemon special abilities?
__________________

Name: FishieNUMBER37 (you don't want to know what happened to the other fishies)
Adopt one yourself! @Pokémon Orphanage

Geat thread here
  #2885    
Old August 11th, 2008 (10:31 AM).
fudgy's Avatar
fudgy fudgy is offline
so i herd you liek mudkipz?
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 299
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to fudgy
Quote originally posted by yaoimutt:
is there a way to give shiny pokemon special abilities?
i dont think so, but you could just go head and give each pokemon a shiny(ex: CHARMANDER_SHINY ( info info info) ) or you could add the shiny to the ability (TM & HM) and make them able to have more moves, just an idea, but i dont think so.
__________________
credit to xxkaylabby;;

credit to fudgy;;

|my works;;| |pixel art| |paint sketchs|

  #2886    
Old August 11th, 2008 (10:52 AM).
partyghoul2000's Avatar
partyghoul2000 partyghoul2000 is offline
Intermediate Game Designer
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: USA
Age: 27
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 175
Quote originally posted by yaoimutt:
is there a way to give shiny pokemon special abilities?
ok, here's what i've come up with. within the PokeBattle_Pokemon on line 279 to 285 in the latest release of the sk is where isShiny? is defined. i believe if you put any boosts to stats or whatever within this area, it should take effect on shiny pokemon. i haven't tested this out, but i believe it should work.
__________________

Check out my Super Gothic Bros hack here.
My ripped pokemon music in MP3 format can be found here.
My custom battle animations and whatnot can be found here.
Credit is expected, if used.
  #2887    
Old August 11th, 2008 (11:42 AM).
Wichu's Avatar
Wichu Wichu is offline
Project Amethyst
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: North Herts, England
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Naive
Posts: 2,052
What kind of effect are you trying to give them? Stronger stats? Or something else?
__________________
  #2888    
Old August 11th, 2008 (02:26 PM).
herojelly's Avatar
herojelly herojelly is offline
PMD Puzzle!
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: California
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 357
Quote originally posted by poccil:
Also Known as Pokedude:

The presence of multiple "Battle" comments implies that more than one battle exists, which may not be your intent. Instead, use "\m" to separate each message, like this:

Code:
@>Comment: Battle: Hey, punk!  Give me all you've got! You ain't
 :       : worth it!\mHey, punk!  Give me all you've got! You ain't
 :       : worth it!\mHey, punk!  Give me all you've got! You ain't
 :       : worth it!\mHey, punk!  Give me all you've got! You ain't
 :       : worth it!
Gee, thanks! I copied the script from "Camper Andrew". Maybe he hhas multiple battles... Thanks again!
  #2889    
Old August 11th, 2008 (04:12 PM).
PokemonOI's Avatar
PokemonOI PokemonOI is offline
Back To WORK!
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: INSULA
Nature: Brave
Posts: 1,554
Pokemon Trading. Does anyone know how to make this work in the game?
__________________
  #2890    
Old August 11th, 2008 (04:18 PM).
fudgy's Avatar
fudgy fudgy is offline
so i herd you liek mudkipz?
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 299
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to fudgy
Quote originally posted by PokemonOI:
Pokemon Trading. Does anyone know how to make this work in the game?

read athe notes.html included in the starter kit, but here is how :

Adding a Pokemon

For an easy way to add a Pokemon, call pbAddPokemon(X,Y) where X is the species number of the Pokemon, and Y is its level. You can modify that function, which is located in PokemonUtilities, to remove the messages. Adding a Pokemon may fail, so this statement should appear in a "Conditional Branch" event command.
Adding an Egg

You can use the function pbGenerateEgg to add an egg to the Trainer's party. Here's an example.
@>Conditional Branch: Script: $Trainer.party.length>=6
@>Text: You have no room to store the Egg...
@>
: Else
@>Script: Kernel.pbGenerateEgg(
: : PBSpecies::TOGEPI,5
: : )
@>Text: Received a Pokemon Egg.
@>
: Branch End
@>

Removing a Pokemon

To remove a Pokemon from the party, use the script $Trainer.party.delete_at(X) where X is the Pokemon's position. For example, to remove the first Pokemon in the party, use 0 for X.
__________________
credit to xxkaylabby;;

credit to fudgy;;

|my works;;| |pixel art| |paint sketchs|

  #2891    
Old August 11th, 2008 (04:43 PM).
Atomic Reactor's Avatar
Atomic Reactor Atomic Reactor is offline
@atomicreactor
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Minnesota
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Rash
Posts: 1,966
how do i edit the battlebox stuff?
i edited "fightbox" and "commandbox"
i cant seem to change it :(

how do you edit it :(
__________________
  #2892    
Old August 11th, 2008 (04:44 PM).
fudgy's Avatar
fudgy fudgy is offline
so i herd you liek mudkipz?
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 299
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to fudgy
Quote originally posted by Atomic_Reactor:
how do i edit the battlebox stuff?
i edited "fightbox" and "commandbox"
i cant seem to change it

how do you edit it

go to your game folder

Graphics > Pictures > commandbox.png

there you go.
__________________
credit to xxkaylabby;;

credit to fudgy;;

|my works;;| |pixel art| |paint sketchs|

  #2893    
Old August 11th, 2008 (04:48 PM).
Atomic Reactor's Avatar
Atomic Reactor Atomic Reactor is offline
@atomicreactor
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Minnesota
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Rash
Posts: 1,966
i stated previously that i tried that.
i tried it again, no good.

:(
__________________
  #2894    
Old August 11th, 2008 (04:54 PM).
fudgy's Avatar
fudgy fudgy is offline
so i herd you liek mudkipz?
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 299
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to fudgy
Quote originally posted by Atomic_Reactor:
i stated previously that i tried that.
i tried it again, no good.


make sure your overwriting it as "commandbox.png" and not making it "commandbox copy.png" just make sure your overwriting it.
__________________
credit to xxkaylabby;;

credit to fudgy;;

|my works;;| |pixel art| |paint sketchs|

  #2895    
Old August 11th, 2008 (05:00 PM).
Atomic Reactor's Avatar
Atomic Reactor Atomic Reactor is offline
@atomicreactor
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Minnesota
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Rash
Posts: 1,966
yes, i know how to do things like this lol.
i did replace it, and it is still showing up as the old one.
__________________
  #2896    
Old August 11th, 2008 (05:01 PM).
fudgy's Avatar
fudgy fudgy is offline
so i herd you liek mudkipz?
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 299
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to fudgy
Quote originally posted by Atomic_Reactor:
yes, i know how to do things like this lol.
i did replace it, and it is still showing up as the old one.
ok but are you saving it in the right folder, like the game you are editing, is reffering to this folder for your images. just double check the obvious them post back here.
__________________
credit to xxkaylabby;;

credit to fudgy;;

|my works;;| |pixel art| |paint sketchs|

  #2897    
Old August 11th, 2008 (05:05 PM).
Atomic Reactor's Avatar
Atomic Reactor Atomic Reactor is offline
@atomicreactor
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Minnesota
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Rash
Posts: 1,966
yep, re-imported it.
into the picture folder. same name.
still not working :/
__________________
  #2898    
Old August 11th, 2008 (05:11 PM).
fudgy's Avatar
fudgy fudgy is offline
so i herd you liek mudkipz?
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 299
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to fudgy
Quote originally posted by Atomic_Reactor:
yep, re-imported it.
into the picture folder. same name.
still not working :/

dang > then i dont know sorry
__________________
credit to xxkaylabby;;

credit to fudgy;;

|my works;;| |pixel art| |paint sketchs|

  #2899    
Old August 11th, 2008 (07:00 PM).
partyghoul2000's Avatar
partyghoul2000 partyghoul2000 is offline
Intermediate Game Designer
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: USA
Age: 27
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 175
Quote originally posted by Atomic_Reactor:
how do i edit the battlebox stuff?
i edited "fightbox" and "commandbox"
i cant seem to change it

how do you edit it
play around with some of the script in PokeBattle_ActualScene. you might just find your answer.
__________________

Check out my Super Gothic Bros hack here.
My ripped pokemon music in MP3 format can be found here.
My custom battle animations and whatnot can be found here.
Credit is expected, if used.
  #2900    
Old August 11th, 2008 (07:24 PM).
fudgy's Avatar
fudgy fudgy is offline
so i herd you liek mudkipz?
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 299
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to fudgy
i am having the problem of putting a tile set together may anyone help me?
__________________
credit to xxkaylabby;;

credit to fudgy;;

|my works;;| |pixel art| |paint sketchs|

Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links

You may also like.. (Beta)
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 02:22 AM.