The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > Creative Discussions > Game Development > Pokémon Essentials
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

Pokémon Essentials All questions and discussion about Pokémon Essentials, the Pokémon game kit for RPG Maker XP, go in here. Also contains links to the latest downloads and the Essentials Wiki.

Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #4051    
Old January 26th, 2009 (03:00 AM).
blueguy's Avatar
blueguy
No capitalization required. ;D
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Age: 24
Nature: Quirky
I'm trying to create proper lighting for the houses at night-time, but it's proving impossible! XD The windows look so dead!

1) Can I create and use more than one light effect?
2) Can I increase the intensity of the light effects?
  #4052    
Old January 26th, 2009 (04:29 AM).
Krazy_Meerkat's Avatar
Krazy_Meerkat
Rawr!
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Australia
Age: 26
Gender:
Nature: Lax
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Krazy_Meerkat
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wichu View Post
Try using the global search function (Ctrl+Shift+F), and search for def pbLedge.
As for your other question, I know that it appears at half size because you're playing the game at the lower resolution. I have no idea on how to change it, though, as I'm not using that script in my project.
Ahh yes, thanks Wichu :).. Erm.. I have diagonal jumping working except I don't know where the part is which determines which side of the ledge to jump and which side to block (the player can jump diagonally from either side of the ledge), seeing as I can only find references to tile types and jump locations, I am going to have to request some help..
I think unless Poccil comes back to this thread, I will be unable to fix this :(
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
Exceeds height limit.
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
  #4053    
Old January 26th, 2009 (04:32 AM).
~JV~'s Avatar
~JV~
Dev of Pokémon Uranium
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Age: 20
Nature: Relaxed
Send a message via Skype™ to ~JV~
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krazy_Meerkat View Post
Ahh yes, thanks Wichu :).. Erm.. I have diagonal jumping working except I don't know where the part is which determines which side of the ledge to jump and which side to block (the player can jump diagonally from either side of the ledge), seeing as I can only find references to tile types and jump locations, I am going to have to request some help..
I think unless Poccil comes back to this thread, I will be unable to fix this :(
It sets where to jump or block at the database on the tileset tab, just click on the passage(4 dir) option there.
__________________
  #4054    
Old January 26th, 2009 (04:40 AM). Edited January 28th, 2009 by Krazy_Meerkat.
Krazy_Meerkat's Avatar
Krazy_Meerkat
Rawr!
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Australia
Age: 26
Gender:
Nature: Lax
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Krazy_Meerkat
I've managed to fix the ledges but I'd still appreciate some help displaying this graphic..
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
Exceeds height limit.
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
  #4055    
Old January 26th, 2009 (09:48 PM).
blueguy's Avatar
blueguy
No capitalization required. ;D
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Age: 24
Nature: Quirky
I'm having trouble implementing a dependent event, and I'm not sure why. Here is the error message.

Interpreter:250:in `pbExecuteScript'
Interpreter:754:in `command_111'
Interpreter:293:in `execute_command'
Interpreter:190:in `update'
Interpreter:104:in `loop'
Interpreter:195:in `update'
Scene_Map:100:in `update'
Scene_Map:98:in `loop'
Scene_Map:111:in `update'
Scene_Map:67:in `main'
Exception: RuntimeError
Message: Script error within event 14, map 27 (PERIWINKLE TOWN):
(eval):1 :in `pbExecuteScript'undefined method `pbAddDependency2' for Kernel:Module
Interpreter:238:in `pbExecuteScript'
Interpreter:1615:in `eval'
Interpreter:238:in `pbExecuteScript'
Interpreter:1615:in `command_355'
Interpreter:467:in `execute_command'
Interpreter:190:in `update'
Interpreter:104:in `loop'
Interpreter:195:in `update'
Scene_Map:100:in `update'
Scene_Map:98:in `loop'

Interpreter:250:in `pbExecuteScript'
Interpreter:1615:in `command_355'
Interpreter:467:in `execute_command'
Interpreter:190:in `update'
Interpreter:104:in `loop'
Interpreter:195:in `update'
Scene_Map:100:in `update'
Scene_Map:98:in `loop'
Scene_Map:111:in `update'
Scene_Map:67:in `main'
  #4056    
Old January 27th, 2009 (07:56 AM). Edited January 27th, 2009 by Luka S.J..
Luka S.J.'s Avatar
Luka S.J.
S.J.Ware HD
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhevarhe_duh View Post
I need help. How to change the screen resolution into 256 x 192?
Thanks in advance.
Go to SpriteResizer script and to this section:
Code:
module Graphics
  @@width=480
  @@height=320
Change the width and height to the size you want. Be careful though...it might alter the positions of sprites for other scripts such as the "Pokemon Selection" (in other words you will need to alter other scripts to match your desired position of your used sprites).

Hope it helped

Quote:
Originally Posted by blueguy View Post
I'm trying to create proper lighting for the houses at night-time, but it's proving impossible! XD The windows look so dead!

1) Can I create and use more than one light effect?
2) Can I increase the intensity of the light effects?
To make proper lighting for the windows you could use the light effect that is included in the kit and just copy it and ajust it to fit the window. This can be done by drawing an image for every window and making a separate script (in the PokemonField section) that would determine the light intensity and the name file of both the event and the picture used for the effect.

1) Yes you can create more than one light effect
2) You can increase the light intensity by doing the following
go to the section in PokemonField (go to line 934)
Code:
class LightEffect_DayNight < LightEffect
 def initialize(event,map=nil)
  super
  @opacities=[
    180,180,160,110,100,50,
    25,0,0,0,0,0,
    0,0,0,0,0,25,
    50,100,120,160,180,180
  ]
 end
 def update
  return if !@light || !@event
  super
  @light.opacity = @opacities[Time.now.hour]
  if @light.opacity>0
   @light.ox=32
   @light.oy=48
   @light.x = ScreenPosHelper.pbScreenX(@event)
   @light.y = ScreenPosHelper.pbScreenY(@event)
   @light.zoom_x = ScreenPosHelper.pbScreenZoomX(@event)
   @light.zoom_y = ScreenPosHelper.pbScreenZoomY(@event)
   @light.tone.set(
      $game_screen.tone.red,
      $game_screen.tone.green,
      $game_screen.tone.blue,
      $game_screen.tone.gray)
  end
 end  
end
At the part "@opacities" change the numbers from 255 to 0 to alter the opacity, the first opacity (180) is the opacity for the time 00:00 AM, all the others are always for one hour later. To increase the light intensity for 06:00 AM go to 7th entry (in this case 25) and change it to the intensity you want.

If you want to create more than one light effect, you need to copy this script but in the class name replace "LightEffect" with the name you want. Then go to
Code:
for i in map.events.keys
   if map.events[i].name=="OutdoorLight"
    spriteset.addUserSprite(LightEffect_DayNight.new(map.events[i],map))
   elsif map.events[i].name=="Light"
    spriteset.addUserSprite(LightEffect_Basic.new(map.events[i],map))
   end
 end
 spriteset.addUserSprite(Particle_Engine.new(viewport,map))
}
and copy this too. Replace the "OutdoorLight" in
Code:
if map.events[i].name=="OutdoorLight"
with the name of the copied script name for the part above. Then all you have to do is name an event in the same way that you have named the scripts.
__________________
[STOPPED][DEMO] Pokemon Blue Chrome
[DEVELOPING] S.J.Ware
[DEVELOPING] Tykanite
  #4057    
Old January 27th, 2009 (01:21 PM).
Ty 101's Avatar
Ty 101
Advanced Trainer
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Does the starter kit have ev's
and
Is there a way to make a pokemon follow you like in yellow?
__________________
Pokemon Forest of Secrets Creator.
Currently in the Drawing Board
  #4058    
Old January 27th, 2009 (01:47 PM). Edited January 28th, 2009 by blueguy.
blueguy's Avatar
blueguy
No capitalization required. ;D
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Age: 24
Nature: Quirky
Thanks so much! I think I've got the hang of it now. I'm so excited. XD
  #4059    
Old January 28th, 2009 (05:37 AM). Edited January 28th, 2009 by Luka S.J..
Luka S.J.'s Avatar
Luka S.J.
S.J.Ware HD
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueguy View Post
Thanks so much! I think I've got the hang of it now. I'm so excited. XD
Creating those games can be fun, but there is a lot of hard work required.
__________________
[STOPPED][DEMO] Pokemon Blue Chrome
[DEVELOPING] S.J.Ware
[DEVELOPING] Tykanite
  #4060    
Old January 28th, 2009 (02:05 PM).
Krazy_Meerkat's Avatar
Krazy_Meerkat
Rawr!
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Australia
Age: 26
Gender:
Nature: Lax
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Krazy_Meerkat
I've managed to fix the ledges but I'd still appreciate some help displaying this graphic..
I'm just trying to display the pokeball which the current pokemon was caught by in battle, next to the hp bar.. I took the code right out of the pokedex's 1st or 2nd page.. I modified the PokemonDataBox class of Pokemon_ActualScene:
Quote:
if (@battler.index&1)==0 # if player's Pokemon
@spritebaseX=16
@pokeball=sprintf("Graphics/Pictures/ball%02d_0.png",(@battler.pokemon.ballused))
else
@spritebaseX=0
@pokeball=BitmapCache.load_bitmap("Graphics/Pictures/pokeball.png")
end
It says that the ballused method is undefined and I have no idea why.. it is displayed with this:
Quote:
pbCopyBitmap(self.bitmap,@pokeball,@spritebaseX+5,@spritebaseY+25) if $Trainer.owned[battler.species]
Can anyone give me an idea of what I'm doing wrong? I have been using java and delphi for a long time and I forget some language-specific rules over time.. But this seems like it should work, unless sprintf displays gfx a different way, i assumed it was just to insert vars into the filename before loading.. Maybe I can't call it from that script :/
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
Exceeds height limit.
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
  #4061    
Old January 28th, 2009 (05:57 PM).
blueguy's Avatar
blueguy
No capitalization required. ;D
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Age: 24
Nature: Quirky
Quote:
Originally Posted by DragoChamp View Post
Creating those games can be fun, but there is a lot of hard work required.
Oh, I know. ;D I've been working on my project for a while now. While, I might not be an expert at coding or scripting, poccil's Starter Kit has really given a creative person like me the opportunity to put my ideas and other talents to use. It is work, but it's also fun.
  #4062    
Old January 28th, 2009 (07:09 PM).
Grifstar's Avatar
Grifstar
Certified Shark Bait
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Age: 26
Gender: Female
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via AIM to Grifstar Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Grifstar Send a message via Yahoo to Grifstar
Okay, I need help on like a hundred things. Some of them are stuff I even asked for in the past that I don't think ever got answered.

1. Trying to change the battle interface to look like DPP. I have most of the rips I need(unless I want to switch over to Platinum instead), but nothing is lining up to where it needs to be. I don't really know where to edit that.
2. How do you change the speed of how fast the scrolling is at the start of every battle(with the enemy sprite starting at the left and goes to the right, and the 'you' going from the left over to the right). I tried clocking it and it's even slower than the how it was in the GBA games, and it just drives me nuts x_x

3. Shinies!
Quote:
def makeShiny
rnd=rand(65536)
rnd|=(rnd<<16)
rnd|=rand(8)
@personalID=rnd^@trainerID
calcStats
end
I was so so happy when I found this. I just want to know, if I just wanted to change the ratio to something like 1/1000 or so, could I change the 65536 number and just delete everything else? I don't really care about ID numbers or personality values since I probably won't have trading at all. Also I'm hoping to make a second set of shinies, which I know requires some copy and pasting of all the shiny scripts and editing them, but I'm not sure where all the scripts even are(there seriously needs to be a search function in that thing >.>). And probably just need help differentiating the two anyway. x_x


... There's some other stuff too, but I'll just leave it at for now.
__________________
  #4063    
Old January 28th, 2009 (07:57 PM).
ddensu_pda's Avatar
ddensu_pda
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Gender:
Help u.u
I want to know...
If happinness, happines day, happiness night, atk greater, etc, that types of evolution really works, because i don't know, how that types of evolution works...
please help me XD

(sorry for my noob english)

and, how i can put shiny to appear 1 on 1000 in every map.

thanxs
  #4064    
Old January 28th, 2009 (09:03 PM).
blueguy's Avatar
blueguy
No capitalization required. ;D
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Age: 24
Nature: Quirky
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grifstar View Post
1. Trying to change the battle interface to look like DPP. I have most of the rips I need(unless I want to switch over to Platinum instead), but nothing is lining up to where it needs to be. I don't really know where to edit that.
Could you be a little more specific? In order to change the interface, you just have to replace their graphics in the Pictures folder. If they are not lined up in the position you want, I believe you can edit the x and y values in the PokeBattle_ActualScene section of your scripts. Not sure if that helps!
  #4065    
Old January 28th, 2009 (09:55 PM).
Luka S.J.'s Avatar
Luka S.J.
S.J.Ware HD
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grifstar View Post
Okay, I need help on like a hundred things. Some of them are stuff I even asked for in the past that I don't think ever got answered.

1. Trying to change the battle interface to look like DPP. I have most of the rips I need(unless I want to switch over to Platinum instead), but nothing is lining up to where it needs to be. I don't really know where to edit that.
You can edit the battle scene look in the script "PokeBattle_ActualScene". If you scroll through the script, you will go to referencess that are labelled in purple such as:
Code:
@databox=BitmapCache.load_bitmap("Graphics/Pictures/singlePlayerBox.png")
     @spriteX=256
     @spriteY=149+yoffset
     @showhp=true
     @showexp=true
     @statusCX=40
     @statusY=44
Here you need to change the X and Y offsets to determine the positions of the sprite. Also line 1074 you will find this:
Code:
# Position of HP gauge
HPGAUGE_X=75
HPGAUGE_Y=35
# Position of EXP gauge
EXPGAUGE_X=47
EXPGAUGE_Y=67
Here also change the X and Y values to change to position of the gauges.
__________________
[STOPPED][DEMO] Pokemon Blue Chrome
[DEVELOPING] S.J.Ware
[DEVELOPING] Tykanite
  #4066    
Old January 28th, 2009 (10:11 PM). Edited January 28th, 2009 by Grifstar.
Grifstar's Avatar
Grifstar
Certified Shark Bait
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Age: 26
Gender: Female
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via AIM to Grifstar Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Grifstar Send a message via Yahoo to Grifstar
Drago:
Thankyouthankyou~ ;o; I knew it had to be in that section somewhere, I just didn't see it for some reason.

Oh yeah, how you do change the font too? I want something besides the R/S/E text(or whichever game that is...)


EDIT: How do you change the thickness of the EXP and HP bars too? As well as adjusting the location of the enemy/wild Pokemon.
__________________
  #4067    
Old January 29th, 2009 (03:12 AM).
blueguy's Avatar
blueguy
No capitalization required. ;D
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Age: 24
Nature: Quirky
I've recently upgraded to a newer release of Pokémon Essentials, and now, a number of areas will not display the text they are supposed to, such as Pokémon names, item names, Pokémon moves/abilities etc. Basically... everything.

For example, if I receive a Pokémon it says "Player received !" and there is a blank space. Same goes for items.

What is causing this?
  #4068    
Old January 29th, 2009 (12:03 PM).
ddensu_pda's Avatar
ddensu_pda
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Gender:
PLEASE HELP!! u.u
I want to know...
If happinness, happines day, happiness night, atk greater, etc, that types of evolution really works, because i don't know, how that types of evolution works...
please help me XD

(sorry for my noob english)

and, how i can put shiny to appear 1 on 1000 in every map.

thanxs
  #4069    
Old January 29th, 2009 (12:22 PM).
Wichu's Avatar
Wichu
Project Amethyst
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: North Herts, England
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Naive
Quote:
Originally Posted by ddensu_pda View Post
PLEASE HELP!! u.u
I want to know...
If happinness, happines day, happiness night, atk greater, etc, that types of evolution really works, because i don't know, how that types of evolution works...
please help me XD

(sorry for my noob english)

and, how i can put shiny to appear 1 on 1000 in every map.

thanxs
All evolution methods, except for Shedinja (?), Milotic (Beauty isn't implemented) and ones using new things introduced in D/P (e.g. Dusk Stone or Mt. Coronet), should work.
As for the shiny question, in PokeBattle_Pokemon, find these lines:
Code:
def isShiny?
 a=@personalID^@trainerID
 b=a&0xFFFF
 c=(a>>16)&0xFFFF
 d=b^c
 return (d<8)
end

def makeShiny
 rnd=rand(65536)
 rnd|=(rnd<<16)
 rnd|=rand(8)
 @personalID=rnd^@trainerID
 calcStats
end
Change the 8s in those lines to 66s, for a 1/993 chance (you won't be able to get any closer; 65 would give 1/1008).
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueguy View Post
I've recently upgraded to a newer release of Pokémon Essentials, and now, a number of areas will not display the text they are supposed to, such as Pokémon names, item names, Pokémon moves/abilities etc. Basically... everything.

For example, if I receive a Pokémon it says "Player received !" and there is a blank space. Same goes for items.

What is causing this?
Try compiling the data again (through the Debug menu, or by holding CTRL while starting up the playtest). They work perfectly in my game...
__________________
  #4070    
Old January 29th, 2009 (12:37 PM).
mastermudkip's Avatar
mastermudkip
Pokevalley Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Holland,Rotterdam
Age: 20
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
Nice Good Game its Realy good and nice
__________________

My Topic`s

CHECK IT NOW
http://www.fakevalley.webs.com/
http://www.youfreeweb.com/Freedownloads/
http://www.youfreeweb.com/pokevalley2/
  #4071    
Old January 29th, 2009 (01:22 PM).
Anuhrima's Avatar
Anuhrima
Darkness and Rebirth
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: georgia,rincon
Gender:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anuhrima View Post
script'Pokemon Chatter' line 29: Name Error occured.

uninitialized constant HiddenMoveHandlers.

Can someone Help me
umm can someone gelp me with the problem
__________________
I'm the baddest brotha up in this forums that gets all the ladies. They can't resist the ruggedness.


  #4072    
Old January 29th, 2009 (02:13 PM). Edited January 29th, 2009 by Grifstar.
Grifstar's Avatar
Grifstar
Certified Shark Bait
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Age: 26
Gender: Female
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via AIM to Grifstar Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Grifstar Send a message via Yahoo to Grifstar
Well, I was still having some issues with the exp bar still(when it finally levels up), but I just found the problem a few minutes ago XD *feels pathetically victorious*

But yeah,


How do I change the location for the Paras? (ignore the other errors, I just haven't gotten around to editing those yet)


EDIT: Now I'm having bad issues with the summary page. It looks fine when I first select a Pokemon to look at, but when I use the up/down key to view another one the sprites shift, despite changing the "pbGoToPrevious" and "pbGoToNext" scripts to have the same sprite xy coordinates. I even tried refreshing the entire script with an unedited one(just in case maybe I screwed something up elsewhere, for some odd reason) but it's still doing it...

Also, I'm not sure where the script is to move the "What will ___ do?" text in battle.
__________________
  #4073    
Old January 30th, 2009 (03:31 PM).
ddensu_pda's Avatar
ddensu_pda
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Gender:
PLEASEEEEE XD HELP!!
How i can put animations for the Shiny Pokémon? (that animations when Shiny Pokémons appears)
Please, I want an answer u.u
  #4074    
Old January 30th, 2009 (07:52 PM).
rodascesar
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Gender:
Hey I read somewhere around here that you can play videos on a pokemon essentials game.. I need that.. if anyone knows can they please tell me how to do it.. I looked all over the notes to see if I could find it there.. was it removed? or did I not see it? or is it there at all? well thanks to anyone who responds.. !
  #4075    
Old January 30th, 2009 (07:58 PM).
Hall Of Famer's Avatar
Hall Of Famer
Born as Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the World of Fame
I edited both the commandbox.png and fightbox.png into the picture below:


However, the battle screen still appears to be like this:



What did I do wrong?
__________________
Yes, I am the founder of Pokemon HOF



My sites:
Pokemon Mysidia: http://www.pokemonmysidia.com
Poketube: http://www.pokemonmysidia.org
Pokemon HOF Official site: http://pkmnhalloffame.pokemonmysidia.com
Mysidian's board: www.pokemonmysidia.com/forum

Quote:
Women are beautiful for the simple fact they are women.


Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 05:09 AM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.