The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > Creative Discussions > Game Development > Pokémon Essentials
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

Pokémon Essentials All questions and discussion about Pokémon Essentials, the Pokémon game kit for RPG Maker XP, go in here. Also contains links to the latest downloads and the Essentials Wiki.


Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #1276    
Old January 19th, 2008, 02:38 AM
Krobelus's Avatar
Krobelus
RainbowNoodleWarrior
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Vancouver
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Nice, always aim to please yea?

Anyway, what do you mean about the 128x128 display properly? Was it not right before? o.o *confused*

Thanks.
-Krobe
__________________

YouTube Channel
Pokemon Pearl FC:
4296-8996-1956

Pokemon Heart Gold FC:
3009-0281-8050

Pokemon White 2 FC:
1765-0509-2291

  #1277    
Old January 19th, 2008, 02:54 AM
Youji's Avatar
Youji
Viridian City Gym Leader
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Germany
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Well you can use Pokemon images for example the doubled D/P size. I tryed it with 160x160 Pokemon but poccil I don't think it's recommend kauz the images doesn't fit with the Summary Screen or in Battle. You would have to change all to D/P Images and that would take a loooooong while. So this featre isn't really good. (It is good but not for the actual scripts/pictures)
  #1278    
Old January 19th, 2008, 02:59 AM
Backmaster
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: May 2006
Nature: Adamant
hey poccil i like your custom move mechanism but i suggest it isn´t possible to add all the dp moves... because some of them require changes to the battle system... and i think it´s only possible to add moves which take damage to the opponent and not changing the status or somethin like that.
Maybe you can change the battle system and add the dp moves... :)
  #1279    
Old January 19th, 2008, 03:37 AM
Wichu's Avatar
Wichu
Project Amethyst
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: North Herts, England
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Naive
Learn to script them yourself - it's not that hard.
Search for a RGSS guide on Google, and get used to it.
Then, look in the PokeBattle_MoveEffects script and have a go at making some more effects.
  #1280    
Old January 19th, 2008, 05:09 AM
sinisterbutt
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
Got a few questions here for yall. Anybody know if espeon and umbreons evolution conditions are implemented yet? And also poccil, will you be including the Vs. Seeker function?
  #1281    
Old January 19th, 2008, 07:09 AM
.houndoomed
Trainer
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Poccil, it's really cool that you can now hav 160 x 160 (80 x 80) images, but do you think you'd be able to have them already at the normal size by the next release?
  #1282    
Old January 19th, 2008, 08:44 AM
Lady Berlitz's Avatar
Lady Berlitz
Cinnamon ♪
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: An igloo in Canada
Nature: Adamant
I didn't really get an answer.
The reason for my question is, "Where EXACTLY do I find it?" and you tell me, "It comes with it."...
Well, WHERE do I find it? There are no ZIP files in the kit.

Edit: Sorry! I accidentally deleted it. Don't answer this, then. :D
But I still need help, how do I 'insert' a font? I really don't get it
__________________
_█████████_
_█▄█████▄█_
_█▼▼▼▼▼▼▼█_
██_______██
_█▲▲▲▲▲▲▲█_
_█████████_
_██_____██_

Last edited by Lady Berlitz; January 19th, 2008 at 09:35 AM.
  #1283    
Old January 19th, 2008, 09:56 AM
Backmaster
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: May 2006
Nature: Adamant
@Wichu:
I learned the basics though but still can´t do many things with it.

@Esmas: Go to your windows folder and look for the font folder copy the extracted files and paste them into the "font" folder.

Hope this helps
  #1284    
Old January 19th, 2008, 11:51 AM
Lady Berlitz's Avatar
Lady Berlitz
Cinnamon ♪
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: An igloo in Canada
Nature: Adamant
Alright, thanks Backmaster. Another question concerning fonts... how do I ADD a font? Is it possible?
__________________
_█████████_
_█▄█████▄█_
_█▼▼▼▼▼▼▼█_
██_______██
_█▲▲▲▲▲▲▲█_
_█████████_
_██_____██_
  #1285    
Old January 19th, 2008, 11:52 AM
mad.array's Avatar
mad.array
Eeveelutions... need more...
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Birmingham, UK
Age: 29
Gender: Male
Nature: Rash
@sinisterbutt: Yes, Umbreon & Espeons evolutions are sorted. Umbreon evolves if happy between 8pm and 6am, then between 6am and 8pm you'll get an Espeon.

On a separate note, I can't figure out some of the values for the moves.txt.

Number,internal name,game name,special damage(for moves with special damage calculations in PokeBattle_MoveEffects),power,Type,Phys/Spec,accuracy,PP,?,?,?,?,contestattr,description,

I'm guessing one of them defines whether the move is a direct attack, but I really can't figure it out.

Any clues anyone?
  #1286    
Old January 19th, 2008, 03:30 PM
Mrchewy's Avatar
Mrchewy
nom nom nom
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Gender:
Nature: Lax
Quote:
Originally Posted by LokiFerne View Post
PokeBattle_MoveEffects),power,Type,Phys/Spec,accuracy,PP,?,?,?,?,contestattr,description,
I'm pretty sure it might be that section there.
  #1287    
Old January 19th, 2008, 03:45 PM
mad.array's Avatar
mad.array
Eeveelutions... need more...
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Birmingham, UK
Age: 29
Gender: Male
Nature: Rash
No, that determines whether it uses Physical or Normal Attack/Defense. Whether it is classed as a direct attack is a different thing. In the Third Generation, Tackle is a Physical Attack and a Direct Attack, but Swift is a Physical Attack and NOT a Direct Attack.

Though I think poccil is using the Fourth Generation style now which, while not affecting the Direct Attack value, makes Swift a Special Attack.
  #1288    
Old January 19th, 2008, 03:58 PM
Mrchewy's Avatar
Mrchewy
nom nom nom
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Gender:
Nature: Lax
Quote:
Originally Posted by LokiFerne View Post
No, that determines whether it uses Physical or Normal Attack/Defense. Whether it is classed as a direct attack is a different thing. In the Third Generation, Tackle is a Physical Attack and a Direct Attack, but Swift is a Physical Attack and NOT a Direct Attack.

Though I think poccil is using the Fourth Generation style now which, while not affecting the Direct Attack value, makes Swift a Special Attack.
Ah, well there you go .


Anyway, poccil, I think that in the next few released you might want to start converting some of the graphics to FR/LG style (as opposed to the hybrid between, Emerald and FR/LG they are now). I've already begun working on changing the battle screen to look like FR/LG but the other things (summary screens) are gonna be very hard to change.

Also, would it be feasible to add an 'Area' feature to the Pokedex? Would it be much more complicated then just searching encounters.txt for whenever said Pokemon appears?
  #1289    
Old January 19th, 2008, 08:06 PM
NytewolfAU2k7's Avatar
NytewolfAU2k7
Game Modder & Creator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Perth, Australia
Gender:
Nature: Relaxed
Quote:
Originally Posted by EsMaS View Post
Alright, thanks Backmaster. Another question concerning fonts... how do I ADD a font? Is it possible?
I'm pretty sure that RPG Maker XP could use any windows font, provided that said font is in the fonts folder. You may have to change some script that references the Pokemon related fonts.
__________________
Shinies: 3 (Cubone, Ratatta and Bidoof)
Creator of NW's Pokémon Program Suite, An Open-Source Offline Pokémon Information tool or "Pokedex". (No longer cancelled! BETA 6 on it's way)
Administrator of Nytewolf's Game Development Site, A site devoted to showcasing my games.
  #1290    
Old January 20th, 2008, 10:23 AM
Lady Berlitz's Avatar
Lady Berlitz
Cinnamon ♪
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: An igloo in Canada
Nature: Adamant
Thanks, but maybe a step-by-step "list" would do? Just saying, because I'm sure that I know how to put the font in the fonts folder, but I don't exactly know how to make it be implemented in the game (like, actually adding it to the "Options" in the gameplay menu).
__________________
_█████████_
_█▄█████▄█_
_█▼▼▼▼▼▼▼█_
██_______██
_█▲▲▲▲▲▲▲█_
_█████████_
_██_____██_
  #1291    
Old January 20th, 2008, 11:02 AM
.houndoomed
Trainer
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
poccil, would it be possible for you to make the 160 x 160 images appear HIGHER on the screen in the next version? Because when I add the 160 x 160 ones, part of the pokemon is hidden under the health bar because it's down too far. I'd really appreciate if you could do this.
  #1292    
Old January 21st, 2008, 02:38 PM
rubyrulez's Avatar
rubyrulez
Back in Action...again...
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sonnet Town
Age: 27
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
Send a message via AIM to rubyrulez Send a message via Yahoo to rubyrulez Send a message via Skype™ to rubyrulez
OK, I get this error message every time I lose a battle, and get back to the Pokemon Center:

Code:
Exception: RuntimeError
Message: Script error within map 32 (Everwind Pokemon Center):
Section081:1256:in `pbTrainerEnd'undefined method `erase_route' for nil:NilClass
Section018:238:in `pbExecuteScript'
(eval):1:in `pbExecuteScript'
Section018:1614:in `eval'
Section018:238:in `pbExecuteScript'
Section018:1614:in `command_355'
Section018:466:in `execute_command'
Section018:190:in `update'
Section018:104:in `loop'
Section018:195:in `update'
Section020:98:in `update'

Section018:253:in `pbExecuteScript'
Section018:1614:in `command_355'
Section018:466:in `execute_command'
Section018:190:in `update'
Section018:104:in `loop'
Section018:195:in `update'
Section020:98:in `update'
Section020:96:in `loop'
Section020:109:in `update'
Section020:65:in `main'
I have my Home and Healing Spots set correctly in my metadata.txt. What could I be doing wrong?
  #1293    
Old January 21st, 2008, 03:16 PM
poccil
Trainer
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
I was recently aware of that problem on my tests. It could be fixed by editing the script section PokemonField (near line 1333):

Code:
 def pbTrainerEnd
   pbGlobalUnlock
   e=get_character(0)
   e.erase_route if e
 end
__________________
Peter O, of The Ultimate Pokemon Center (Pokemon Essentials, Donate money to restore my page)
  #1294    
Old January 23rd, 2008, 06:05 AM
victorspvl's Avatar
victorspvl
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Gender:
I put a new version of the starter kit on my game and now is appearing almost all the time the sentence.
Hangup
The script is talking too long.

What I possoa do to stop this happening?

To be more exact.
The problem is this.
Exception: Hangup
Message: The script is taking too long. The game will restart.
Compiler:2308:in `load'
Compiler:2308:in `load_data'
Compiler:2308:in `pbCompileTrainerEvents'
Compiler:2306:in `each'
Compiler:2306:in `pbCompileTrainerEvents'
Compiler:2559:in `pbCompileAllData'
Compiler:2598

What do I do to stop this happening?

Last edited by victorspvl; January 23rd, 2008 at 08:07 AM. Reason: Your double post has been automatically merged.
  #1295    
Old January 23rd, 2008, 07:12 PM
NeoStar's Avatar
NeoStar
Future Scripter Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Deep In The Depths Of hell
Age: 28
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Send a message via AIM to NeoStar Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to NeoStar Send a message via Yahoo to NeoStar
Ok guys I need help. What im trying to do is do the first rival event from pokemon crystal where your rival steals a pokemon from professor elm and you run into him. The problem im having is after you duel him he says hes going to be the best pokemon trainer like normal then after that he moves and then the whole event starts all over again. Ive tried turning off the switch that turns the event on but that just stops the movement completely. Also called the end battle script on all parts... didnt make a difference. Anyway... heres the event im talking about....

Code:
Script:Kernel.pbNoticePlayer(get_character(0))
Wait: 15 Frames
Set Movement Route: Player, Turn right,
Set Movement Route: Rival, Move Left, Move Left, Move Left, Move Left, Move Left, Move Left
Wait For Moves Completion
Text: ..... ..... .....
Text: You got a pokemon at the lab.
Text: What a waste a wimp like you.
Text: Don't you get what i'm saying?
Text: Well, I too, have a good pokemon.
Text: I'll show you what I mean!
Comment: Rival Choice 1 switch = Totodile
Conditional Branch: Switch [042: Rival Choice 1] == ON
Conditional Branch: Script: pbTrainerBattle(PBTrainers::RIVAL,"?????",_I("Humph. Are you happy you won?"),false,1)
Control Self Switch A = ON
Branch End
Branch End

Comment: Rival Choice 2 switch = Chikorita
Conditional Branch: Switch [043: Rival Choice 2] == ON
Conditional Branch: Script: pbTrainerBattle(PBTrainers::RIVAL,"?????",_I("Humph. Are you happy you won?"),false,2)
Control Self Switch A = ON
Branch End
Branch End

Comment: Rival Choice 3 switch = Cyndaquil
Conditional Branch Switch [044: Rival Choice 3] == ON
Conditional Branch: Script: pbTrainerBattle(PBTrainers::RIVAL,"?????",_I("Humph. Are you happy you won?"),false,3)
Control Self Switch A = ON
Branch End
Branch End

Script: pbTrainerEnd
Text: ..... ..... .....
My names ?????.
Text: I'm going to be the worlds greatest pokemon trainer.
Set Movement Route: Player, Move Down, Turn Up, Turn Left
Comment: Switch 0040 is what turns this event on, Switch 0045 is for a different event. 
Set Movement Route: Rival, Move Up, Move Left, Move Left, Move Left, Move Up, Move Left, Move Left, Move Left, Move Left, Move Left, Move Left, Switch 0040 OFF, Switch 0045 ON
Wait: 60 Frames
and heres the changes to trainernames and trainer.txt if you need them


Code:
83,RIVAL,?????,30,,,,Male
Code:
#-------------------
RIVAL
?????,1
1
TOTODILE,5
#-------------------
RIVAL
?????,2
1
CHIKORITA,5
#-------------------
RIVAL
?????,3
1
CYNDAQUIL,5
Normally id try to fix this myself but ive been trying for the past 5 hours and cant find what I did wrong. Also i was wondering how it would be possible to make a rival screen to insert your rival's name like you can with your own name. Cant find that anywhere in notes.html so i was wondering if that was implemented or not....
  #1296    
Old January 23rd, 2008, 10:48 PM
Wichu's Avatar
Wichu
Project Amethyst
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: North Herts, England
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Naive
If you're using Autorun or Parallel Process, you need to put Erase Event at the end, to avoid it looping. Hope that helps!
  #1297    
Old January 24th, 2008, 06:12 AM
NeoStar's Avatar
NeoStar
Future Scripter Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Deep In The Depths Of hell
Age: 28
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Send a message via AIM to NeoStar Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to NeoStar Send a message via Yahoo to NeoStar
Oh, sorry I forgot to say that I have it on event touch. Also tried it on player touch too and it doesnt make a difference. Tried erase event anyway and it didnt work T_T. Continuing as we speak messing with the event ill let you know if i get it working.

Last edited by NeoStar; January 24th, 2008 at 06:17 AM. Reason: Your double post has been automatically merged.
  #1298    
Old January 24th, 2008, 08:40 AM
Wichu's Avatar
Wichu
Project Amethyst
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: North Herts, England
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Naive
Try setting a self switch on, then having a blank event page with the switch as its condition. If that fails, try putting the trainer battles on separate pages, and have them activated by other self switches.
  #1299    
Old January 24th, 2008, 10:39 AM
NeoStar's Avatar
NeoStar
Future Scripter Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Deep In The Depths Of hell
Age: 28
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Send a message via AIM to NeoStar Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to NeoStar Send a message via Yahoo to NeoStar
starting to hate this event...... first suggestion didnt work. Second suggestion works perfectly for one of the events (the 3rd page cyndaquil one) so I was thinking... yay finally got this event to work. But when i try it on the first and 2nd page the battle doesn't start. It goes through the welcome text skips the battle conditional branch then goes to the last part which... works fine..... I've tried just copying and pasting the cyndaquil event and switching the branch to the right switch and the battle still doesnt load. Im totally stumped on this one.

*edit* oh and they are all on event touch.
  #1300    
Old January 24th, 2008, 11:04 AM
Krobelus's Avatar
Krobelus
RainbowNoodleWarrior
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Vancouver
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
@Neostar - What's the Script: pbTrainerEnd for anyway? I don't think I've ever used it, nor needed it.

-Krobe
__________________

YouTube Channel
Pokemon Pearl FC:
4296-8996-1956

Pokemon Heart Gold FC:
3009-0281-8050

Pokemon White 2 FC:
1765-0509-2291

Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 05:23 AM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.