The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > Creative Discussions > Game Development > Pokémon Essentials
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

Pokémon Essentials All questions and discussion about Pokémon Essentials, the Pokémon game kit for RPG Maker XP, go in here. Also contains links to the latest downloads and the Essentials Wiki.


Advertise here

Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #2376    
Old June 21st, 2008, 10:17 AM
Luke128th's Avatar
Luke128th
These days shall pass...
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Hardy

Advertise here
Okay, I gots a problem. I tried to edit Lickitung's evolution and it gave me an error saying that the game doesn't read the pokemon.txt file. Is there something wrong with the way I'm doing the evolution? BTW I'm using a level-up evolution.

EDIT:I'm so stupid! I wasn't using the proper code! So nevermind at my question.
__________________

They're pretty underleveled considering how far into the game I am (Over 90 hours), but I like 'em, and I wouldn't trade 'em for anything. Still have Red to beat, so it's a long road ahead, but I'm up for it.

Last edited by Luke128th; June 21st, 2008 at 03:44 PM. Reason: SO STUPID!
  #2377    
Old June 21st, 2008, 09:48 PM
fudgy's Avatar
fudgy
so i herd you liek mudkipz?
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Nature: Quiet
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to fudgy
ok on the RPG xp site, the program link is gone can some one hook me up with the latest version of pokestart/rpg xp my borther unistalled it.
__________________
credit to xxkaylabby;;

credit to fudgy;;

|my works;;| |pixel art| |paint sketchs|

  #2378    
Old June 21st, 2008, 09:53 PM
yaoimutt
Trainer
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Nature: Impish
Send a message via AIM to yaoimutt Send a message via Yahoo to yaoimutt
Quote:
Originally Posted by fudgy View Post
ok on the RPG xp site, the program link is gone :( can some one hook me up with the latest version of pokestart/rpg xp :( my borther unistalled it.
... go to the first page of this topic, click on poccil's signatures (the link that says "pokemon essentials" ) on that page, you will see the download link.

hey, does anyone know how to let someone pick an items (like in th pbChooseItem screen) and store that choice in a variable?
__________________

Name: FishieNUMBER37 (you don't want to know what happened to the other fishies)
Adopt one yourself! @Pokémon Orphanage

Geat thread here
  #2379    
Old June 21st, 2008, 10:03 PM
fudgy's Avatar
fudgy
so i herd you liek mudkipz?
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Nature: Quiet
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to fudgy
..ok thnx, but were to get rpg xp program?
__________________
credit to xxkaylabby;;

credit to fudgy;;

|my works;;| |pixel art| |paint sketchs|

  #2380    
Old June 21st, 2008, 10:07 PM
yaoimutt
Trainer
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Nature: Impish
Send a message via AIM to yaoimutt Send a message via Yahoo to yaoimutt
Quote:
Originally Posted by fudgy View Post
..ok thnx, but were to get rpg xp program?
buy it. <-----------------------------------

nm, i give up.
__________________

Name: FishieNUMBER37 (you don't want to know what happened to the other fishies)
Adopt one yourself! @Pokémon Orphanage

Geat thread here

Last edited by yaoimutt; June 21st, 2008 at 10:16 PM.
  #2381    
Old June 21st, 2008, 10:32 PM
fudgy's Avatar
fudgy
so i herd you liek mudkipz?
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Nature: Quiet
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to fudgy
well i ned to know what the latest version number is... so i can dl it from download.com er something
__________________
credit to xxkaylabby;;

credit to fudgy;;

|my works;;| |pixel art| |paint sketchs|

  #2382    
Old June 22nd, 2008, 12:54 AM
Wichu's Avatar
Wichu
Project Amethyst
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: North Herts, England
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Naive
1.02 is the latest. Hope that helps!
__________________
  #2383    
Old June 22nd, 2008, 02:03 AM
fudgy's Avatar
fudgy
so i herd you liek mudkipz?
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Nature: Quiet
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to fudgy
yup i got it thnx wichu.

and i have one (last hopefully >.<) question. when i exit the living room (from your house) in my game. it go into your home town (maple town) and then your right infront of your house, but the whole game freezes? why is this//
__________________
credit to xxkaylabby;;

credit to fudgy;;

|my works;;| |pixel art| |paint sketchs|

  #2384    
Old June 22nd, 2008, 05:45 AM
mewunlimited's Avatar
mewunlimited
is yet to be discovered
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: *insert country here*
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
the starter kit link is not working
__________________


^ Check it out, its awesome
  #2385    
Old June 22nd, 2008, 07:34 AM
PoKéMaKeR's Avatar
PoKéMaKeR
Pokemon Rancher creator!
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: The Netherlands :)
Gender:
Nature: Relaxed
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to PoKéMaKeR
I want to make an event like the lucky number show from g/s/c
but my question is how?!
I have sth like "getForeignID"
And then conditional brance script: ForeignID=ID
but It's not working.. (I didn't expect it to work btw )
Can some one help me with this?
Thanks in advance!
PoKéMaKeR
__________________
(Click for the thread)



Last update on the Rancher thread: February 26th 2009

  #2386    
Old June 22nd, 2008, 09:45 AM
Wichu's Avatar
Wichu
Project Amethyst
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: North Herts, England
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Naive
Fudgy: Check the tileset passability, and make sure that you're only deleting tiles using the top left tile in the editor, not any other blank tiles.
Pokémaker: Use the == operator to compare values. Try:
Set variable 0001 to a random number between 0 and 65535.
Display text (Today's lucky number is \v[1])
Use this script as a conditional branch:
$game_variables[1]==$Trainer.publicID(id), where id is the value of a PokeBattle_Pokemon#trainerID or $Trainer.id.
__________________
  #2387    
Old June 22nd, 2008, 09:55 AM
PoKéMaKeR's Avatar
PoKéMaKeR
Pokemon Rancher creator!
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: The Netherlands :)
Gender:
Nature: Relaxed
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to PoKéMaKeR
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wichu View Post
Pokémaker: Use the == operator to compare values. Try:
Set variable 0001 to a random number between 0 and 65535.
Display text (Today's lucky number is \v[1])
Use this script as a conditional branch:
$game_variables[1]==$Trainer.publicID(id), where id is the value of a PokeBattle_Pokemon#trainerID or $Trainer.id.
Thanks Wichu, this works

PoKéMaKeR
__________________
(Click for the thread)



Last update on the Rancher thread: February 26th 2009

  #2388    
Old June 22nd, 2008, 01:37 PM
fudgy's Avatar
fudgy
so i herd you liek mudkipz?
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Nature: Quiet
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to fudgy
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wichu View Post
Fudgy: Check the tileset passability, and make sure that you're only deleting tiles using the top left tile in the editor, not any other blank tiles.
ya thats my problem, thank you!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wichu View Post
Fudgy: Check the tileset passability, and make sure that you're only deleting tiles using the top left tile in the editor, not any other blank tiles.

nvm that isnt the problem *sob*
__________________
credit to xxkaylabby;;

credit to fudgy;;

|my works;;| |pixel art| |paint sketchs|


Last edited by fudgy; June 22nd, 2008 at 01:54 PM. Reason: Your double post has been automatically merged.
  #2389    
Old June 22nd, 2008, 04:37 PM
sonic smash down's Avatar
sonic smash down
strive for the best
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Louisiana
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Send a message via Yahoo to sonic smash down
i know someone has probally already answered this but can anyone tell me how to make sure only one pokemon is taken from the lab when you receive your first one?
__________________
Gary was here,
Ash is a loser!
  #2390    
Old June 22nd, 2008, 05:20 PM
Luke128th's Avatar
Luke128th
These days shall pass...
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Hardy
Make the pbHasSpecies? conditional branch 3 times for each different starter. Then set the event with the rival and when you get back to wherever the Pokemon was stolen, use the pbHasSpecies? command again and with that choose the ball that was stolen and erase the event.
__________________

They're pretty underleveled considering how far into the game I am (Over 90 hours), but I like 'em, and I wouldn't trade 'em for anything. Still have Red to beat, so it's a long road ahead, but I'm up for it.
  #2391    
Old June 22nd, 2008, 05:25 PM
sonic smash down's Avatar
sonic smash down
strive for the best
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Louisiana
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Send a message via Yahoo to sonic smash down
no i mean like you only take one pokemon period, and you cant take the others. but thankz for answering
__________________
Gary was here,
Ash is a loser!
  #2392    
Old June 22nd, 2008, 05:48 PM
Luke128th's Avatar
Luke128th
These days shall pass...
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Hardy
Oh I see what you mean! Just use the pbHasSpecies? command in a conditional branch three times(one for each starter), and then for the two that weren't taken leave them alone and under the condtional branch erase the ball of the starter you chose.
__________________

They're pretty underleveled considering how far into the game I am (Over 90 hours), but I like 'em, and I wouldn't trade 'em for anything. Still have Red to beat, so it's a long road ahead, but I'm up for it.
  #2393    
Old June 22nd, 2008, 05:49 PM
sonic smash down's Avatar
sonic smash down
strive for the best
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Louisiana
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Send a message via Yahoo to sonic smash down
o thankz man ill try it, goes to see if its right
__________________
Gary was here,
Ash is a loser!
  #2394    
Old June 22nd, 2008, 05:54 PM
Luke128th's Avatar
Luke128th
These days shall pass...
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Hardy
Hope it works man. I tried it with my game with success(even though there was just one starter XD)
__________________

They're pretty underleveled considering how far into the game I am (Over 90 hours), but I like 'em, and I wouldn't trade 'em for anything. Still have Red to beat, so it's a long road ahead, but I'm up for it.
  #2395    
Old June 22nd, 2008, 06:32 PM
sonic smash down's Avatar
sonic smash down
strive for the best
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Louisiana
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Send a message via Yahoo to sonic smash down
it works after you get all three. damn *goes to look at pk essential notes again*
__________________
Gary was here,
Ash is a loser!
  #2396    
Old June 22nd, 2008, 07:39 PM
yaoimutt
Trainer
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Nature: Impish
Send a message via AIM to yaoimutt Send a message via Yahoo to yaoimutt
Quote:
Originally Posted by fudgy View Post
ya thats my problem, thank you!




nvm that isnt the problem *sob*
did you check to see if you have any autorun/parellel processes that have the "wait" command in them?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sonic smash down View Post
it works after you get all three. damn *goes to look at pk essential notes again*
set a switch, make a second page that says that they already have a pokemon. and you're done. :D
__________________

Name: FishieNUMBER37 (you don't want to know what happened to the other fishies)
Adopt one yourself! @Pokémon Orphanage

Geat thread here

Last edited by yaoimutt; June 22nd, 2008 at 07:47 PM. Reason: Your double post has been automatically merged.
  #2397    
Old June 23rd, 2008, 01:16 AM
Hall Of Famer's Avatar
Hall Of Famer
Born as Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the World of Fame
I have two question to ask:

1. How can I set up specific music for Bicycle Theme and Surfing Theme just like what happens in Pokemon original game? Don't you think the music should change to specific themes when the protagonist begins surfing or cycling?

2. Is there a bug with the Warp to Map from the Debug feature? Everytime I try this option the protagonist goes to a black space of that map I choose.

3. What's going on with the Fishing Event? It still doesn't work even after upgrade and I wonder why.
  #2398    
Old June 23rd, 2008, 02:23 AM
Short Range's Avatar
Short Range
Chargin' mah Solarbeam!
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Australia
Nature: Naive
This isn't really a glitch but more of an oddity but I can see why it happens. I was looking at the Diamond and Pearl Pokemon and noticed that they have strange learnsets. For example, Dialga has Blast Burn. o.O
Will the new moves be in the next release or in a later release? thanks a bunch. :3
__________________
MSN/E-mail ~ [email protected]

Nintendo Wii Code ~ 6691-5507-3921-0167
Pokemon Platinum Code ~ 1849-2990-6860

Feel free to drop me a line on Wii Message or MSN! :D
  #2399    
Old June 23rd, 2008, 11:36 AM
crzyone9584
Pokemon: The Beginning Founder
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Lakewood, Colorado
Age: 26
Gender:
Nature: Lonely
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonic smash down View Post
it works after you get all three. damn *goes to look at pk essential notes again*
i hope this helps this is right out of my events for the three pokemon.

Code:
ConditionalBranch: Script: pbHasSpecies?(::PBSpecies::CHARMANDER) 
text 
exit event
 
Else 
ConditionalBranch: Script: pbHasSpecies?(::PBSpecies::Squritle) 
text 
exit event
 
Else 
ConditionalBranch: Script: pbHasSpecies?(::PBSpecies::BULBASAUR) 
text 
exit event
 
Else 
 Show choices do you want so and so
when yes
Conditional Branch: Script: Kernel.pbAddPokemon(PBSpecies::BULBASAUR) 
Control Self Swith: A =ON 

text: you have chossen so and so pokemon

when no
text: please choose a pokemon
 
Second event page 
make sure control switch a is turned on and the picture for the event is empty
nothing
how it works is it checks to see if they have any of the three pokemon. all you really have to change is the text is where you put professor oak: You already have a one please dont be greedy. or something like that. and change the add pokemon script ot which ever pokemon you want the user to use. hope that helps.
__________________
Killing to Live, Living to Kill.

Pokemon: The Beginning

Click link above. It's the home of My Game!
  #2400    
Old June 23rd, 2008, 01:23 PM
AJ™'s Avatar
AJ™
ANGRY FAIC!!!
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: I'm on a boat!
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Naughty
Send a message via AIM to AJ™ Send a message via Yahoo to AJ™ Send a message via Skype™ to AJ™
Quote:
Originally Posted by Short Range View Post
This isn't really a glitch but more of an oddity but I can see why it happens. I was looking at the Diamond and Pearl Pokemon and noticed that they have strange learnsets. For example, Dialga has Blast Burn. o.O
Will the new moves be in the next release or in a later release? thanks a bunch. :3
Yeah, i just realized the 4th Gen moves aren't in there.
it kind of upsets me D:
__________________

Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links


Advertise here
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 12:56 AM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.