Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > Pokémon Gaming > Advance Generation
Reload this Page The Question & Answer Thread

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Advance Generation The hallmark of sprite-based Pokémon gaming, Ruby, Sapphire, and Emerald set you off on an adventure in the watery Hoenn region with tons of diverse Pokémon to discover. Fans of Kanto can reexplore their favorite region in FireRed and LeafGreen. Here you'll find other fans who enjoy talking about the Pokémon, strategy, and techniques to master this generation.



Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1101    
Old November 26th, 2010 (07:26 PM).
Weavile05's Avatar
Weavile05 Weavile05 is offline
Currently Hacking BW
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: North Carolina
Gender: Male
Nature: Lax
Posts: 1,431
On my Sapphire game it says my Internal Battery is dead. What exactly does this affect? Also what can I do about it?
__________________
In progress

Hoenn, 1 Badge
My Youtube Channel: Check out my Pokemon Red Walkthrough
Pokemon White FC: 2322 5491 2643
Reply With Quote
  #1102    
Old November 26th, 2010 (07:36 PM).
Christopher's Avatar
Christopher Christopher is offline
Hear Me Roar
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,331
it effects the the time in-game time so you'll not be able to grow berries or enter certain areas of shoal cave in other terms the clock is broken.
you can buy another battery and replace it or you can just play it .
Reply With Quote
  #1103    
Old November 27th, 2010 (07:59 AM).
Weavile05's Avatar
Weavile05 Weavile05 is offline
Currently Hacking BW
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: North Carolina
Gender: Male
Nature: Lax
Posts: 1,431
Quote originally posted by Gearuvagen:
it effects the the time in-game time so you'll not be able to grow berries or enter certain areas of shoal cave in other terms the clock is broken.
you can buy another battery and replace it or you can just play it .
Where can I buy another battery?
__________________
In progress

Hoenn, 1 Badge
My Youtube Channel: Check out my Pokemon Red Walkthrough
Pokemon White FC: 2322 5491 2643
Reply With Quote
  #1104    
Old November 27th, 2010 (08:24 AM).
mal'akh mal'akh is offline
Hate this place. Gone for good
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Age: 22
Posts: 419
Quote originally posted by Weavile05:
Where can I buy another battery?
Soem specialty shops may have them, such as Gamestop or Best Buy. But even then, most places don't sell anymore since hardly anyone ever plays those games, and Nintendo no longer supplies them. Buying another used game with the internal battery still working would be your best bet. Where to get that, would be, yet again, at Gamestop, since they sell and buy used video games.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #1105    
Old November 27th, 2010 (09:15 AM).
Weavile05's Avatar
Weavile05 Weavile05 is offline
Currently Hacking BW
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: North Carolina
Gender: Male
Nature: Lax
Posts: 1,431
But... I don't wanna sell my games... I'll ask around in Gamestop, Best Buy, and Radioshack before I sell the game and buy a new one.
__________________
In progress

Hoenn, 1 Badge
My Youtube Channel: Check out my Pokemon Red Walkthrough
Pokemon White FC: 2322 5491 2643
Reply With Quote
  #1106    
Old November 28th, 2010 (05:04 PM).
Red1530's Avatar
Red1530 Red1530 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New York State
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,618
If you can solder, then thees steps can help you.
__________________



Platinum FC: 1849 2675 2234
HeartGold FC: 2579 5430 9434
Reply With Quote
  #1107    
Old November 30th, 2010 (12:53 PM).
takkunlove7's Avatar
takkunlove7 takkunlove7 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Gender: Female
Posts: 60
I bought my Sapphire from a used game store and it's been acting funny and since this is my first time ever playing the advance games, I wanted to know if it was normal for the battle scenes to sometimes freeze while playing with a DS? I'm only in the 2nd town and it's really annoying having to save every time I go into the grass. >.<
__________________

Follow my Gotta Catch 'Em All Challenge HERE
Reply With Quote
  #1108    
Old November 30th, 2010 (01:10 PM).
Christopher's Avatar
Christopher Christopher is offline
Hear Me Roar
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,331
The game should not completely freeze , no. there must be something wrong with the cartridge I suggest you go back to the store and return/exchange it for a new R/S/E. Did you go to gamestop? I have yet to get a bad game from there you might want to try it if you haven't already.
Reply With Quote
  #1109    
Old November 30th, 2010 (01:43 PM).
takkunlove7's Avatar
takkunlove7 takkunlove7 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Gender: Female
Posts: 60
No. I got this from a Play N Trade which I've gotten PLENTY of used games and systems from there and this has never happened. Somebody recently pointed out to me that I don't keep my Slot-2 covered and it could just be very dirty. I'm going to test drive a couple advance games that my fiance has and see if that could be the case.
It's more like it'll repeat an animation over and over again rather than completely freeze...like when entering a wild battle, the swiping animation will repeat.

Thank you! If the other advance games work then I may just go back to Play N trade and try to hunt down a Gamestop with Sapphire. For some reason Sapphires aren't traded in as much as the others (at least in my area)... :/
__________________

Follow my Gotta Catch 'Em All Challenge HERE
Reply With Quote
  #1110    
Old November 30th, 2010 (08:07 PM).
Team Fail's Avatar
Team Fail Team Fail is online now
fun in the sun
Platinum Tier
 
Join Date: May 2009
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Posts: 10,518
Quote originally posted by Gearuvagen:
it effects the the time in-game time so you'll not be able to grow berries or enter certain areas of shoal cave in other terms the clock is broken.
you can buy another battery and replace it or you can just play it .
That is, unless you have the berry update applied.

How will I know if the battery is dead if I have the patch applied?
__________________
Pair 1 Pair 2 Twitter Alt 1 Alt 2 PHO Image Source Avatar Source

"On my business card, I am a corporate president.
In my mind, I am a game developer.
But in my heart, I am a gamer."

- Satoru Iwata, 1959 - 2015
Reply With Quote
  #1111    
Old November 30th, 2010 (08:49 PM).
Christopher's Avatar
Christopher Christopher is offline
Hear Me Roar
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,331
well the clock in your room won't move the special sales at the Lillycove Dept. Store will not occur and shoal cave will not empty/fill with water respectively also it should still give you the "Internal Battery has run dry" notice when starting the game.
Reply With Quote
  #1112    
Old November 30th, 2010 (09:13 PM).
Alli's Avatar
Alli Alli is online now
Kalos Elite
Super ModeratorCS
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Alabama
Age: 22
Gender: Female
Nature: Timid
Posts: 29,292
Yeah, I turned on Ruby the other day and got this message. It's something like:

"The internal battery has died. This game can now be played, however clocked events will no longer occur."

And then you're at the options menu, and your save file should still be there. But that's what it will tell you, so you'll know.
__________________

"I'm burning up with my hatred for you, runt!"

pair
Reply With Quote
  #1113    
Old December 1st, 2010 (03:48 PM).
Weavile05's Avatar
Weavile05 Weavile05 is offline
Currently Hacking BW
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: North Carolina
Gender: Male
Nature: Lax
Posts: 1,431
How do I know what type of battery it needs?
__________________
In progress

Hoenn, 1 Badge
My Youtube Channel: Check out my Pokemon Red Walkthrough
Pokemon White FC: 2322 5491 2643
Reply With Quote
  #1114    
Old December 2nd, 2010 (02:17 AM).
Amore Amore is offline
Now stand up and begin
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Panic Station
Age: 20
Posts: 3,469
If you have a link cable, two GBAs and a copy of FireRed / LeafGreen / Emerald, there's this:


Pokémon FireRed, LeafGreen and Emerald Patch
Load FireRed, LeafGreen, or Emerald until the title screen is displayed.
Press the Select and B buttons. After the new screen loads, press A.
Insert the Link Cable so that the system that the FireRed, LeafGreen or Emerald game is connected to the Player 1 cable port and the Ruby or Sapphire game is connected to the Player 2 port. Once this is done, press A.
Turn on the device with Ruby or Sapphire while holding the Start and Select buttons.
Refer to the FireRed, LeafGreen or Emerald game display for further instructions. The patch should be transferred at this time.


Please note that this was simply copy-pasted from Bulbapedia...so sorry if there're any inaccuracies, but it's rare there are. I do know it works as I accidentally activated the screen on LeafGreen, a friend saw it and got me to fix his Ruby game :D

I may not be being helpful, as I haven't a clue how to get a battery, or what sort, however, it also says this on Bulbapedia:


Sending Game in to Nintendo
If the player has no opportunity to download the patch, the game can be sent to Nintendo to have it fixed.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #1115    
Old December 2nd, 2010 (05:17 AM).
Kaori's Avatar
Kaori Kaori is offline
tragedy
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: +
Age: 2
Gender: Female
Nature: Modest
Posts: 4,796
^ This.

Also, these steps are to solve the problem known as The Berry Glitch, so if you wanted to know how that happened, it is because of this glitch that occurs from playing the game for a year or two or having played the game up to 100 hours.
__________________

smile. paired to vrai & karpman & drew
Reply With Quote
  #1116    
Old December 2nd, 2010 (11:34 AM).
AliceBlaze's Avatar
AliceBlaze AliceBlaze is offline
Shiny Collector
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Derby, England
Age: 22
Gender: Female
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 298
There are other ways of fixing the berry glitch:
  • Link it up for battle or trade with Colosseum or XD
  • Link your game up to Pokemon Box: Ruby and Sapphire
  • Download Jirachi from Pokemon Channel (PAL version only)
Reply With Quote
  #1117    
Old December 2nd, 2010 (02:28 PM).
Alli's Avatar
Alli Alli is online now
Kalos Elite
Super ModeratorCS
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Alabama
Age: 22
Gender: Female
Nature: Timid
Posts: 29,292
Could also link it up with the Pokemon Colosseum Bonus Disc, if you happen to have that. I'm probably going to do so later.

But yeah, looks like there are plenty of ways to kill this glitch.
__________________

"I'm burning up with my hatred for you, runt!"

pair
Reply With Quote
  #1118    
Old December 4th, 2010 (08:21 PM).
Donlon's Avatar
Donlon Donlon is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 10
So, if I trade Pokemon from a bootleg game to a real game, what effect will it have? I ask because a few months back I bought a copy of Emerald that was bootleg. I was oblivious to the fact until it deleted itself and a trio of trainees from Fire Red. I also traded 80-120 eggs to Fire Red (Pokedex booster). I have hatched all the eggs, but am worried that Fire Red could be about to go the same way as Emerald. I have been searching the internet on and off for the past two months vainly seeking the answer. Any help is most welcome! Thank you all in advance for any assistance you give. Thanks also to Sydian for pointing me to the correct forum!
Reply With Quote
  #1119    
Old December 4th, 2010 (08:44 PM).
Christopher's Avatar
Christopher Christopher is offline
Hear Me Roar
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,331
To my knowledge it shouldn't cause any problems in your fire red if they came as actual eggs and hatched. If so you should be fine. (though I am not an expert)
Reply With Quote
  #1120    
Old December 5th, 2010 (03:19 PM).
Donlon's Avatar
Donlon Donlon is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 10
Is that how it works with cheating devices? If you used a cheating device to get a rare pokemon, would it affect the game negatively in any way? I just want to be very sure before I start using Fire Red again (took about 130-140 hours to get where I am currently).
EDIT: I am assuming that cheating devices and bootleg games are pretty much the same. I have never used a cheating device; never thought about it really.
Reply With Quote
  #1121    
Old December 5th, 2010 (03:23 PM).
mal'akh mal'akh is offline
Hate this place. Gone for good
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Age: 22
Posts: 419
Quote originally posted by Donlon:
Is that how it works with cheating devices? If you used a cheating device to get a rare pokemon, would it affect the game negatively in any way? I just want to be very sure before I start using Fire Red again (took about 130-140 hours to get where I am currently).
Depends. If you activate a lot of codes, like four-six, at once, it could freeze it. As long as you don't abuse the device to give you ever living Pokemon, you'll be fine.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #1122    
Old December 5th, 2010 (03:36 PM).
Donlon's Avatar
Donlon Donlon is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 10
Actually, if you look at my original post (#1120), I am more concerned with the side-effects of bootleg pokemon game trades with real pokemon games. I traded about 80 pokemon from a bootleg Emerald (I was unaware of the bootleg until it deleted itself about two months ago) to my real Fire Red. Thanks for the help all the same!
Reply With Quote
  #1123    
Old December 5th, 2010 (03:44 PM).
mal'akh mal'akh is offline
Hate this place. Gone for good
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Age: 22
Posts: 419
Quote originally posted by Donlon:
Actually, if you look at my original post (#1120), I am more concerned with the side-effects of bootleg pokemon game trades with real pokemon games. I traded about 80 pokemon from a bootleg Emerald (I was unaware of the bootleg until it deleted itself about two months ago) to my real Fire Red. Thanks for the help all the same!
If it were me, and only if it were me, I would go ahead and delete the data i have now and restart my game entirely, just to avoid the risk. This is a question barely anyone knows the answer to, so I'd be willing to avoid the risk before the possible deletion of my game occurs.
BUT ONLY IF IT WERE ME.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #1124    
Old December 5th, 2010 (05:19 PM).
Donlon's Avatar
Donlon Donlon is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 10
Quote originally posted by mal'akh:
If it were me, and only if it were me, I would go ahead and delete the data i have now and restart my game entirely, just to avoid the risk. This is a question barely anyone knows the answer to, so I'd be willing to avoid the risk before the possible deletion of my game occurs.
BUT ONLY IF IT WERE ME.
Think it's worth it to trade all the non-bootleggers over to another game and then see how long the game lasts? It might also turn out that nothing happens. I could study the phenomenon and see what happens. . .might be useful information to have. One never knows.
Reply With Quote
  #1125    
Old December 5th, 2010 (05:53 PM).
The Red Chain
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote originally posted by Donlon:
I traded about 80 pokemon from a bootleg Emerald (I was unaware of the bootleg until it deleted itself about two months ago) to my real Fire Red. Thanks for the help all the same!
Are you positive it's a bootleg? Ruby, Sapphire, and Emerald all have unstable internal batteries to the point where they may end up deleting your save file.
This is actually normal for these games, and doesn't necessarily mean it's a bootleg. It just means the battery is "dried out" and needs to be replaced.

I just want to be sure about this haha.

Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links

You may also like.. (Beta)
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 07:25 PM.