The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > Off-Topic Discussions > The Lab
Reload this Page GTAVC Problem
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Daily Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read


The Lab From the computer lab to the chemistry lab, or even the observatory, here's where we nerd out over all things science and technology!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1    
Old July 26th, 2004 (7:16 PM).
Simon's Avatar
Simon Simon is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Gender: Male
Nature: Bashful
Posts: 9,408
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Simon
I'm having problems with GTA Vice City. Everytime I exit out of the game my mouse stops working. So I use my keyboard to shut down or restart my computer but it refuses to do anything at all. So then I just switch the power button on the back of my computer and it goes back to normal. It's not that big of a problem but it gets annoying having to restart the computer everytime I finished massacring people. So anyone know how to deal with this?
Reply With Quote

Relevant Advertising!

  #2    
Old July 26th, 2004 (9:30 PM).
Sorye HK's Avatar
Sorye HK Sorye HK is offline
Looking around here and there
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 3,363
Are you sure it's not a problem while switching resolutions or too much memory use
during the game? Or maybe an infinite loop occurrence. (not likely)
Reply With Quote
  #3    
Old July 26th, 2004 (9:39 PM).
Simon's Avatar
Simon Simon is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Gender: Male
Nature: Bashful
Posts: 9,408
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Simon
I've had GTAVC for a while and I've never had problems with it. The resolutions I use are the same as my desktop. I doubt it's a memory problem because I've set Norton to give me a pop-up whenever I have only 100MB of RAM left open.
Reply With Quote
  #4    
Old July 26th, 2004 (10:21 PM).
perthskies's Avatar
perthskies perthskies is offline
Nostalgic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Age: 27
Gender: Male
Nature: Serious
Posts: 339
So pressing the keys on the Keyboard has no effect whatsoever? Are you able to get into the Task Manager and check the CPU Usage? Or see if anything isn't responding? Perhaps something has crashed or something when you exit. Also, is the game patched to the latest version?
__________________



Also known as: Optic
My Anime Fansites | Forums
Reply With Quote
  #5    
Old July 26th, 2004 (10:26 PM).
Simon's Avatar
Simon Simon is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Gender: Male
Nature: Bashful
Posts: 9,408
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Simon
I don't even know how to patch the freaking thing. Yes, my keyboard still works which is how I attempt to shut down. I did get into Task Manager and the CPU usage was only 10-20 percent.
Reply With Quote
  #6    
Old July 26th, 2004 (10:40 PM).
perthskies's Avatar
perthskies perthskies is offline
Nostalgic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Age: 27
Gender: Male
Nature: Serious
Posts: 339
Hmm... I just looked at the offical site... seems there aren't any offical patches.

Did you recently make any big changes to your system? Install any new stuff? Etc.? Perhaps it's something to do with your video or audio card drivers. How recent are they?
__________________



Also known as: Optic
My Anime Fansites | Forums
Reply With Quote
  #7    
Old July 26th, 2004 (10:50 PM).
Simon's Avatar
Simon Simon is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Gender: Male
Nature: Bashful
Posts: 9,408
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Simon
I have a NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200 128MB video card an a C-Media audio card which my computer gives a crazy name (CMI8738/C3DX) so I have no idea what it's specs are. I spent half an hour today looking for stuff to add-on to my cards like updayes or something but I haven't found anything. I went on to the offical websites but I can't figure anything of what they say. Only thing I've installed recently is MSN Messenger, Messenger Plus!, Ad-Aware, SpyBot and...yeah. I think that's all.
Reply With Quote
  #8    
Old July 26th, 2004 (11:09 PM).
Gr8person62.2 Gr8person62.2 is offline
*Insert_Evil_Music_Here*
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Right here, dumbazz
Age: 27
Gender:
Posts: 618
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Gr8person62.2
Thats my Video card! How fun

You know, I doubt it's any form of hardware problem. It's most likely just one of the many common bugs that you come accross in an OS. If your using Windows, I'l say no more. Don't bother fixing the problem, it could be caused by thousands of things. I say put up with it until you get bored of the game..
__________________
Meh~ I've really found so much better things to do than PC. It's not that I left, I just have better things to do right now and also for the next 8 or so months. I havn't "left" left.. just "kinda" left. I may post once or twice...
Reply With Quote
  #9    
Old July 26th, 2004 (11:11 PM).
Simon's Avatar
Simon Simon is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Gender: Male
Nature: Bashful
Posts: 9,408
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Simon
Get bored? Get bored!?! GET BORED!?!?!?! I WILL NEVER GET BORED OF THE GAME. DO YOU KNOW HOW FUN IT IS KILLING PEOPLE? RUNNING PEOPLE OVER WITH TANKS? SHOOTING ROCKETS AT RANDOM PLANES WITH A MILTARY WHIRLY? BEATING UP HOOKERS?? GETTING SHOT AT??? RIDING A PCJ-600 AND THEN HITTING A POLE TO BE SENT FLYING SOME 100 YARDS AWAY??? DO OYU KNOW HOW FUN ALL OF THAT IS!?!?! I WILL NEVER GET BORED!!!! AHAHAHAH!! *head explodes*

Until GTA San Andreas comes out anyways...
Reply With Quote
  #10    
Old July 26th, 2004 (11:16 PM).
perthskies's Avatar
perthskies perthskies is offline
Nostalgic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Age: 27
Gender: Male
Nature: Serious
Posts: 339
=P

Well, the only thing I can suggest is to try re-installing the game... back-up your save games, uninstall, and reinstall.
__________________



Also known as: Optic
My Anime Fansites | Forums
Reply With Quote
  #11    
Old July 26th, 2004 (11:30 PM). Edited July 27th, 2004 by demonchaos916.
Simon's Avatar
Simon Simon is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Gender: Male
Nature: Bashful
Posts: 9,408
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Simon
I just finished re-installing it. Not sure if it's fixed yet though. Haven't played it since the reinstallation.

Okay, it's working now. Seems like it. I just opened it up and exited right away without actually playing though. I have another question. What's Direct Texture Compression? I just read the ReadMe for GTAVC and it mentioned that extra space would be needed for the installion if my video didn't support Direct Texture Compression. So what is it and does a NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200 128MB support it?
Reply With Quote
  #12    
Old July 27th, 2004 (1:45 AM).
Gr8person62.2 Gr8person62.2 is offline
*Insert_Evil_Music_Here*
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Right here, dumbazz
Age: 27
Gender:
Posts: 618
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Gr8person62.2
My guess is that it does have this "direct texture compression". I threw out the box last week, I wish I hadn't, but I'm guessing that it does. I'm not sure what it is.. it's probably what it says. It does texture compression.. directly.. Um.. I dunno!
__________________
Meh~ I've really found so much better things to do than PC. It's not that I left, I just have better things to do right now and also for the next 8 or so months. I havn't "left" left.. just "kinda" left. I may post once or twice...
Reply With Quote
  #13    
Old July 27th, 2004 (1:51 AM).
perthskies's Avatar
perthskies perthskies is offline
Nostalgic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Age: 27
Gender: Male
Nature: Serious
Posts: 339
It looks like it's used for texturing 3-D models...

http://msdn.microsoft.com/archive/default.asp?url=/archive/en-us/ddraw7/directdraw7/imover_192c.asp
__________________



Also known as: Optic
My Anime Fansites | Forums
Reply With Quote
  #14    
Old July 27th, 2004 (1:23 PM).
Simon's Avatar
Simon Simon is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Gender: Male
Nature: Bashful
Posts: 9,408
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Simon
Yeah...I don't understand a single thing that page just said. Anyways...would a NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200 128MB video card have it?

And as for my GTAVC problem, it's partially fixed. My mouse and everything works after exitting it and I can do other stuff. But I still can't shut down. The shutting down problem might not be the GTAVC causing it though. I leave my computer on for 18 hours everyday and half the time I'm not even there. *goes to play GTAVC*
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 9:39 PM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2016 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2016 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.

Acknowledgements
Use of PokéCommunity Assets
vB Optimise by DragonByte Technologies Ltd © 2016.