Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > Tools, Tutorials & Resources
Reload this Page [Tutorial] Palette Editting for Dummies

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #1    
Old January 20th, 2008 (10:17 PM).
/Circa's Avatar
/Circa /Circa is offline
a face in the clouds.
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 881

The easy way to edit the palettes of ANYTHING!

What we're using

In this tutorial we will use beleive it or not, only three things.
They are the following:
• A Rom, doesn't matter which, this works with all kinds.
• APE (Advance Palette Editor) - Can be found in - HackMews - Toolbox.
• A VBA
Yes, these are the only tools we'll be needing, and the tutorial is fairly simple,
I beleive anyone could learn from this and edit palettes of anything.

But, we will be editting the palettes of Tileset 0 and Tileset 1, plus the indoor palettes.
So without further ado, the tutorial!

Step One
• Open your VBA.
• Go to the map that has the palettes you'll be editting.
• Click Tools -> Palette Viewer.

The screen should look like this:


• Click Save BG, and save it as a Paint Shop Pro palette, as shown:


• Read onto step two.
Step Two: Palette Editting!
• Open APE.
• Load your rom.
• Click load by searching.
• Go To Edit -> Actual Palette -> Import.
• This is what it should look like:

Edit your palettes away!

Showcase of Funky Palettes





- Both submitted by Crashink.


If you have any troubles, feel free to ask here!
__________________
dragging himself, forw
ard again, the pain has
still not diminished. E
ventually though, he e
merges inside a v
ery large room w

here everything about

the house

suddenly

changes.
  #2    
Old January 21st, 2008 (07:41 AM).
Nytkoi's Avatar
Nytkoi Nytkoi is offline
Pokemon Copper!
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: In your charasmatic fantasy.
Posts: 1,637
this will definily help, Nice job!
__________________
Pokemon Copper Version - Now on PC!
New pokemon, new region, new adventure!

i am a graphic designer :: want to help me w/ pokemon copper?
  #3    
Old January 21st, 2008 (01:50 PM).
ShyRayq's Avatar
ShyRayq ShyRayq is offline
Unprofessional Unprofessional
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 849
um i'm confused when i press SEARCH what is supposed to happen?
__________________
3DS Friend Code: 5069-3944-3902
IGN: Peter, (Pokemon Y, Pokemon OR)
Friend Safari: (Fighting) Throh, Meditite, Breloom
Live Pokedex (Y) Completed as of 02/03/14 (718), 10/11/14 (719)
Live Pokedex (OR) Completed as of 25/12/14 (719)
Big thanks especially to DestinedJagold, Xerneas_X, Elements1 and ~RNC~

PM me if you want to trade, or add my FC.
  #4    
Old January 21st, 2008 (01:54 PM).
ryan123456789019's Avatar
ryan123456789019 ryan123456789019 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 87
when i did that after i pallte edit it to what i want i cant play the game now

when i put it in the visual boy all what appears is a white screen
  #5    
Old January 21st, 2008 (02:52 PM).
/Circa's Avatar
/Circa /Circa is offline
a face in the clouds.
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 881
Quote originally posted by Dragoon:
um i'm confused when i press SEARCH what is supposed to happen?
When you search for the palette, an offset should appear in the offset box, click load by offset and edit your palette, it's actually pretty simple once you get used to it.

Quote originally posted by ryan123456789019:
when i did that after i pallte edit it to what i want i cant play the game now

when i put it in the visual boy all what appears is a white screen
Thats called a Rom Crash.
You have to get a new one.
__________________
dragging himself, forw
ard again, the pain has
still not diminished. E
ventually though, he e
merges inside a v
ery large room w

here everything about

the house

suddenly

changes.
  #6    
Old January 21st, 2008 (04:28 PM).
Darthatron's Avatar
Darthatron Darthatron is offline
巨大なトロール。
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 1,152
Great guide, now us 'dummies' don't have to feel silly. :D You know, I never thought of saving the palette, I always searched for it manually. I'm a goose.
__________________
あなた は しきしゃ です
わたし は ばか です
  #7    
Old January 21st, 2008 (04:38 PM).
+Sneasel™'s Avatar
+Sneasel™ +Sneasel™ is offline
It's a meeee, itman!
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: None of your business!
Age: 21
Gender:
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 1,037
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to +Sneasel™
Wow, i was doing it way wrong.
This guide really helped!
Thanks!
__________________
Intentions that were pure have turned obscure,
Seconds into hours, minutes into years.
Don't ask me why,
PLEASE DON'T CRY!
I can't tell you lies...

Don't click this!

PPH - A great hacking forum
  #8    
Old January 31st, 2008 (07:54 PM). Edited January 31st, 2008 by Tyrantrum.
Tyrantrum's Avatar
Tyrantrum Tyrantrum is offline
ʕ´•ᴥ•`ʔ
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: New Jersey
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 5,810
Send a message via Skype™ to Tyrantrum
It wont work.
do i need to keep the pallete viewer on?
it keeps saying run time error 13 and closes itself

nevermind, i got it.

P.S.-sorry for double post
__________________




(x) Tumblr
(y) Twitter
Previously Eeveon
  #9    
Old March 2nd, 2008 (10:35 AM).
mitsubushi1098's Avatar
mitsubushi1098 mitsubushi1098 is offline
UBER DOOBER GOOBER POOH BEAR
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: In your pants
Gender:
Nature: Naughty
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to mitsubushi1098
whenever i save bg, it doesn't save it as a pal file, and then when i open APE the SEARCH button i not click-able
__________________
How would you like to suck my balls, Mr. Garrison?
Cartman is COOL

[url="http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=103357"][IMG]http://img77.imageshack.us/img77/6144/bannerag8.png[/IMG][/url]
  #10    
Old March 18th, 2008 (02:38 AM).
Master_Track's Avatar
Master_Track Master_Track is offline
ROM Reaverz Scripter
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austria
Age: 22
Gender:
Nature: Brave
Posts: 916
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Master_Track
I don't know how to bring the changed palette into the game.
pls help

@above: there is a drowdown arrow beside the savetype. klick it and change the savetype to pal.
And the search button isn't klickable for me too. So I just do it the way described above: Import.
__________________

*Busy with school*

  #11    
Old April 1st, 2008 (08:19 AM).
Tim_0wnz Tim_0wnz is offline
ROM Hacker
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: The Netherlands.
Gender:
Nature: Naughty
Posts: 6
I saw allot of threads where you need to use your VBA.
But my problem is: My VBA doesn't shows any "Tools" or something.
Is that because I got a newer version?
__________________

Tim_0wnz's PokePet

Dray the level 76 Dragonite!

  #12    
Old April 1st, 2008 (09:00 AM).
greenozano's Avatar
greenozano greenozano is offline
Master of Pokemon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: i live in Detroit,Mi,USA,interior plains
Age: 21
Gender:
Nature: Calm
Posts: 36
Quote originally posted by Darthatron:
Great guide, now us 'dummies' don't have to feel silly. :D You know, I never thought of saving the palette, I always searched for it manually. I'm a goose. :)
I know even when making a quick hack I forgot that their was an easy way out of it I think it was explained in one of the past tutorials I forgot to look again.
__________________


Kevin's PokePet

crisscross the level 55 Electivire!


Cna yuo raed tihs? Olny 55% of plepoe can.

I cdnuolt blveiee taht I cluod aulaclty uesdnatnrd waht I was rdanieg.
The phaonmneal pweor of the hmuan mnid, aoccdrnig to a rscheearch
at Cmabrigde Uinervtisy, it dseno't mtaetr in waht oerdr the ltteres in a
wrod are, the olny iproamtnt tihng is taht the frsit and lsat ltteer be in the
rghit pclae. The rset can be a taotl mses and you can sitll raed it whotuit
a pboerlm. Tihs is bcuseae the huamn mnid deos not raed ervey lteter
by istlef, but the wrod as a wlohe. Azanmig huh? yaeh and I awlyas tghuhot
slpeling was ipmorantt!
fi yuo cna raed tihs, palce it in yuor siantugre
I feogrt who ollanirigy had tihs but wohveer did. TAHNKS
Reply With Quote[/sig-reason]
  #13    
Old April 3rd, 2008 (05:37 AM).
Yoshimad123's Avatar
Yoshimad123 Yoshimad123 is offline
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: England
Nature: Naive
Posts: 15
It wont work. Well done
  #14    
Old April 5th, 2008 (01:06 AM).
atoms2ashes's Avatar
atoms2ashes atoms2ashes is offline
All and Nothing at All
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Philippines
Gender:
Nature: Modest
Posts: 121
Uh, so you can't do this without Paint Shop Pro? Gawd, living in the Philippines sometimes has its disadvantages.
  #15    
Old April 17th, 2008 (07:06 PM).
Hardy Har Har's Avatar
Hardy Har Har Hardy Har Har is offline
Oh dear, oh my...
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In a Swinub family-free area with Lippy the Lion
Age: 21
Gender:
Nature: Timid
Posts: 258
Send a message via Yahoo to Hardy Har Har Send a message via Skype™ to Hardy Har Har
i tried to load the palette but it said invalid palette loaded
__________________
My DS is broken, I need a new one. Help me gain credits here:
http://www.xpango.com?ref=91393867
You might know me as Shaggy Typhlosion.
I support:
Attention, all Fire Pokémon Fans! There is now a game for you, known as Pokémon Flame of Destiny! Click the userbar to go there:

My deviantArt
My GPX+ eggs
My friend's eggs
My RMXP Pokémon fangame website (under construction)
Shoddy Battle - Hardy_SSC4: 5/23
  #16    
Old May 4th, 2008 (08:06 PM). Edited May 4th, 2008 by Zaptinex.
Zaptinex's Avatar
Zaptinex Zaptinex is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Gender:
Posts: 43
Say what would you do if you wanted to change the pallete of your characters sprite? Also if you wanted to change yours pokemons pallete?
  #17    
Old May 5th, 2008 (03:40 PM).
cloudffvii2696's Avatar
cloudffvii2696 cloudffvii2696 is offline
hmmm...What should I put here?
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: wherever i feel like
Age: 21
Gender:
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 30
....my rom broke...
can somebody help me more with this so i end up not breaking my rom?
  #18    
Old May 6th, 2008 (07:45 AM).
Ruubje's Avatar
Ruubje Ruubje is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Gender:
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 13
Quote originally posted by cloudffvii2696:
....my rom broke...
can somebody help me more with this so i end up not breaking my rom?
Mine did too... :(
I changed the heroine backsprite (FR) palette into the backsprite palette of May (Ruby). And yes, I saved the OBJ (Object) instead of the BG (Background). Any other way to do this?
__________________


  #19    
Old May 6th, 2008 (03:47 PM).
<~F.M.P~>'s Avatar
<~F.M.P~> <~F.M.P~> is offline
I got you whistling Blue Box!
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Mild
Posts: 640
Send a message via AIM to <~F.M.P~> Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to <~F.M.P~>
Hmmmm...Im back...Its been like 6 months since i stopped makin my game!!!

Question, for the pokemon trainers in firered do they share the same pallete or can
u edit them seperatly like in ruby version?
  #20    
Old May 7th, 2008 (06:08 PM).
kr3shn1k kr3shn1k is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: I live in the use
Gender:
Nature: Hasty
Posts: 4
Where do you donwload ape =(
  #21    
Old May 8th, 2008 (08:14 AM). Edited May 8th, 2008 by Platinum Lucario.
Platinum Lucario's Avatar
Platinum Lucario Platinum Lucario is offline
The Legendary Master of Light!
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Warrnambool, Victoria, Australia.
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 1,515
Quote originally posted by kr3shn1k:
Where do you donwload ape =(
Did you read the first post? :\


EDIT: I have a problem with APE, when I load a .pal file... I get
an "Invalid palette loaded!" error, then when I load it again,
I get a runtime error, then it closes. What do I have to do...
because I don't know what to do, please HELP!
__________________
[Platinum Lucario's Signature]
Researching the NDS ROMs...

sure does feel like a brand new adventure!

I'm gradually learning to use Microsoft Visual Studio!

Always focus on the present, best thing to do! Never look back into the past and never worry about anything bad of the future!
  #22    
Old May 8th, 2008 (08:36 AM).
Chimchar 9's Avatar
Chimchar 9 Chimchar 9 is offline
(:
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England, Southampton.
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 1,621
its so easy to make tiles but it can mess games up some times so be careful
  #23    
Old May 8th, 2008 (10:10 PM).
Platinum Lucario's Avatar
Platinum Lucario Platinum Lucario is offline
The Legendary Master of Light!
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Warrnambool, Victoria, Australia.
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 1,515
Quote originally posted by chimchar 9:
its so easy to make tiles but it can mess games up some times so be careful
It usualy messes up the tileset, however to fix it you just have
to insert a .bvd file, but not from the one that's messed up.
__________________
[Platinum Lucario's Signature]
Researching the NDS ROMs...

sure does feel like a brand new adventure!

I'm gradually learning to use Microsoft Visual Studio!

Always focus on the present, best thing to do! Never look back into the past and never worry about anything bad of the future!
  #24    
Old May 9th, 2008 (08:46 PM).
<~F.M.P~>'s Avatar
<~F.M.P~> <~F.M.P~> is offline
I got you whistling Blue Box!
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Mild
Posts: 640
Send a message via AIM to <~F.M.P~> Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to <~F.M.P~>
Question, for the pokemon trainers in firered do they share the same pallete or can
u edit them seperatly like in ruby version?
  #25    
Old May 11th, 2008 (05:02 AM).
dragonarche's Avatar
dragonarche dragonarche is offline
Is back :D
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: New bark town
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Posts: 459
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to dragonarche
when i click search it says pallet not found
__________________

Experienced Vb.net and C# Dev
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 05:58 AM.