Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > Tools, Tutorials & Resources
Reload this Page [Tutorial] XSE Scripting Tutorial

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #201    
Old September 25th, 2008 (10:33 PM).
durenloveanju's Avatar
durenloveanju durenloveanju is offline
Pokemon Lover
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 9
Thank you, You are help me.
  #202    
Old September 27th, 2008 (12:26 PM).
bittenka's Avatar
bittenka bittenka is offline
Brazilian User's ®
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 18
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to bittenka
Just tell how is the give pokemon script in XSE
__________________
Good Mapper Skills
Poor Scripting Skills
Good Spriting Skills
Great Beta tester
____________________________________________



____________________________________________
  #203    
Old September 27th, 2008 (12:33 PM).
Hiche.. Hiche.. is offline
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 979
Quote originally posted by bittenka:
Just tell how is the give pokemon script in XSE
givepokemon 0x<pokemon number in hex> 0x<pokemon level> 0x<item held> 0x0 0x0 0x0

For example:

givepokemon 0x25 0x5 0x13 0x0 0x0 0x0

It's giving you a level 5 vulpix. It's carrying Potion.
  #204    
Old September 27th, 2008 (03:32 PM). Edited September 27th, 2008 by bittenka.
bittenka's Avatar
bittenka bittenka is offline
Brazilian User's ®
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 18
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to bittenka
thanks, i already done it!

how can make when the player pass in the script, the script run, like no clicking!
Sorry for terrible english
__________________
Good Mapper Skills
Poor Scripting Skills
Good Spriting Skills
Great Beta tester
____________________________________________



____________________________________________
  #205    
Old September 28th, 2008 (09:03 PM).
0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
Im comin' home...
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Superjail Penitentiary
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 1,816
Quote originally posted by bittenka:
thanks, i already done it!

how can make when the player pass in the script, the script run, like no clicking!
Sorry for terrible english
Try assigning the script to a "Script" event in Advance Map, then set the first "Unknown" setting to 0300, and the "Var Number" under that to 5040

then, when the player steps on it, the script will work.
__________________
>Boot Jailbot
>Pass *****
.
.
Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
Greetings Warden
of Superjail Penitentiary
Awaiting user input...

>Display User_Info
╠══User Info══╣
Username:
0m3GA ARS3NAL
Age: 18
Sex: Male ♂
Race: Caucasian
Quote:
"What is this
I don't even..."

M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
╠══End of File══╣
Awaiting user input...

>
  #206    
Old September 29th, 2008 (07:28 AM).
-DarK- -DarK- is offline
Hold Your Colour
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belgium
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Posts: 185
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to -DarK-
Quote originally posted by 0m3GA AR$3NAL:
Try assigning the script to a "Script" event in Advance Map, then set the first "Unknown" setting to 0300, and the "Var Number" under that to 5040

then, when the player steps on it, the script will work.
Um, isn't it 0003 instead of 0300?
__________________
  #207    
Old September 29th, 2008 (07:56 AM).
Hiche.. Hiche.. is offline
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 979
Quote originally posted by DarkSalamence:
Um, isn't it 0003 instead of 0300?
I think both can work. It doesn't matter, like it can be: 0003, 0300, 0030.
As long the unknown doesn't remain 0000.
  #208    
Old September 29th, 2008 (11:54 AM).
bittenka's Avatar
bittenka bittenka is offline
Brazilian User's ®
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 18
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to bittenka
How can i ''give the pokedex'' to the player?
__________________
Good Mapper Skills
Poor Scripting Skills
Good Spriting Skills
Great Beta tester
____________________________________________



____________________________________________
  #209    
Old September 29th, 2008 (12:30 PM).
Hiche.. Hiche.. is offline
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 979
Quote originally posted by bittenka:
How can i ''give the pokedex'' to the player?
For fire red, it's setflag 0x829.

If you want the national dex, do this:
setflag 0x829
special 0x16F
  #210    
Old September 29th, 2008 (02:01 PM).
0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
Im comin' home...
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Superjail Penitentiary
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 1,816
Quote originally posted by DarkSalamence:
Um, isn't it 0003 instead of 0300?
Well, I learned my first scripting language from The^4's tutorial (very informative BTW) and he said to use Unknown 0300 and Var Number 5040, and it has always worked for me. and since I have yet to have a problem with it, I continue to use it.
I don't know about other variables, cause I stick with what works for me! ^-^
__________________
>Boot Jailbot
>Pass *****
.
.
Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
Greetings Warden
of Superjail Penitentiary
Awaiting user input...

>Display User_Info
╠══User Info══╣
Username:
0m3GA ARS3NAL
Age: 18
Sex: Male ♂
Race: Caucasian
Quote:
"What is this
I don't even..."

M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
╠══End of File══╣
Awaiting user input...

>
  #211    
Old October 2nd, 2008 (06:15 AM).
j_legolas j_legolas is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Gender:
Posts: 7
can anyone help me with the move script?

#dynamic 0x71B15C

#org @stop
message @better
boxset 0x6
applymovement 0xFF @back
waitmovement 0x0
end

#org @back
#raw 0x10 0xFE

#org @better
= Better take my Larvitar first.

I step on the tile and my body just froze forever.
I alr set unknown 0300 var number 5040
  #212    
Old October 2nd, 2008 (06:51 AM).
Hiche.. Hiche.. is offline
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 979
Quote originally posted by j_legolas:
can anyone help me with the move script?

#dynamic 0x71B15C

#org @stop
message @better
boxset 0x6
applymovement 0xFF @back
waitmovement 0x0
end

#org @back
#raw 0x10 0xFE

#org @better
= Better take my Larvitar first.

I step on the tile and my body just froze forever.
I alr set unknown 0300 var number 5040
Try this:

Spoiler:

#dynamic 0x71B15C

#org @stop
checkflag 0x828
if 0x1 goto @done
message @better
boxset 0x6
applymovement 0xFF @back
waitmovement 0x0
setflag 0x200
release
end

#org @done
release
end


#org @back
#raw 0x10 0xFE

#org @better
= Better take my Larvitar first.
  #213    
Old October 2nd, 2008 (07:58 AM).
j_legolas j_legolas is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Gender:
Posts: 7
okay thanks. the hang body thing was solved by dunno how, not by editing script.

anyway,
i used your edited script and the script just does not activate when i walk on the tile.
what's the problem now?

Thx for your help alot :D
  #214    
Old October 2nd, 2008 (08:03 AM).
Hiche.. Hiche.. is offline
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 979
Quote originally posted by j_legolas:
okay thanks. the hang body thing was solved by dunno how, not by editing script.

anyway,
i used your edited script and the script just does not activate when i walk on the tile.
what's the problem now?

Thx for your help a lot :D
Did you put the unknown: 0003
and the varnumber: 5040
  #215    
Old October 2nd, 2008 (08:07 AM).
j_legolas j_legolas is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Gender:
Posts: 7
YES i've tried:
0300 5040
0003 5040

i also tried 4050 instead of 5040, but the script still does not activate.
  #216    
Old October 2nd, 2008 (08:14 AM).
Hiche.. Hiche.. is offline
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 979
Try removing the setflag 0x200.
And change the #dynamic 0x71B15C to another.
Like #dynamic 0x800000
Find another offset that holds more bytes(free space)
  #217    
Old October 2nd, 2008 (02:32 PM).
j_legolas j_legolas is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Gender:
Posts: 7
okay now my body freezes when i step on that tile. dang. i switched the dynamic to a 150byte space one. is that enough or shld i just go 200?

#dynamic 0x71B888

#org @stop
checkflag 0x828
if 0x1 goto @done
message @better
boxset 0x6
applymovement 0xFF @back
waitmovement 0x0
release
end

#org @done
release
end

#org @back
#raw 0x10 0xFE

#org @better
= Better take my Larvitar first.
  #218    
Old October 3rd, 2008 (06:46 PM).
MasterZman's Avatar
MasterZman MasterZman is offline
The Shadow...
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: The Darkness...
Posts: 96
Spoiler:

Thanks for this i needed this info now i can do it!
  #219    
Old October 4th, 2008 (03:41 AM).
opeious's Avatar
opeious opeious is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: India
Age: 21
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 62
Send a message via Yahoo to opeious
Any idea what wrong with this:-

#Dynamic 0x800000
#org @Startscript
Lock
Faceplayer
message @AskMe
boxset 0x6
giveitem 0x44 0x1 (shows error in this line)
Release
end

#ORG @AskMe
= Here have a RareCandy.
__________________

Rayqke the level 99 Rayquaza!

  #220    
Old October 4th, 2008 (04:12 AM).
Darthatron's Avatar
Darthatron Darthatron is offline
巨大なトロール。
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 1,152
Quote originally posted by opeius:
Any idea what wrong with this:-

#Dynamic 0x800000
#org @Startscript
Lock
Faceplayer
message @AskMe
boxset 0x6
giveitem 0x44 0x1 (shows error in this line)
Release
end

#ORG @AskMe
= Here have a RareCandy.
You're missing the Message Type param. So, just change that line to either...
Code:
 giveitem 0x44 0x1 0x0
for the message "Player obtained Rare Candy."
Or change it to...
Code:
 giveitem 0x44 0x1 0x1
for the message "Player found Rare Candy."
__________________
あなた は しきしゃ です
わたし は ばか です
  #221    
Old October 4th, 2008 (04:19 AM).
opeious's Avatar
opeious opeious is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: India
Age: 21
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 62
Send a message via Yahoo to opeious
Quote originally posted by Darthatron:
You're missing the Message Type param. So, just change that line to either...
Code:
 giveitem 0x44 0x1 0x0
for the message "Player obtained Rare Candy."
Or change it to...
Code:
 giveitem 0x44 0x1 0x1
for the message "Player found Rare Candy."
K ty, The compile was successful though in game the message box doesn't come and the player freezes

EDIT:We have to put the XXXXXX in #Dynamic 0xXXXXXX as the offset in Advance Map, right?
__________________

Rayqke the level 99 Rayquaza!

  #222    
Old October 4th, 2008 (06:00 AM).
Darthatron's Avatar
Darthatron Darthatron is offline
巨大なトロール。
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 1,152
Quote originally posted by opeius:
K ty, The compile was successful though in game the message box doesn't come and the player freezes

EDIT:We have to put the XXXXXX in #Dynamic 0xXXXXXX as the offset in Advance Map, right?
No, when you compile a script, you should get a popup that has all the Dynamic values. You need to select the main one, copy it. That's the value you need to put in AMap.

__________________
あなた は しきしゃ です
わたし は ばか です
  #223    
Old October 4th, 2008 (07:28 AM).
HackMew's Avatar
HackMew HackMew is offline
Mewtwo Strikes Back
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,314
Quote originally posted by Tamerhaidar:
And change the #dynamic 0x71B15C to another.
Like #dynamic 0x800000
Find another offset that holds more bytes(free space)
Wrong. There's no real need to change the #dynamic offset since XSE would scan the whole ROM, starting from its value.
Finding free space is XSE's job, not yours.
The only reason to change the #dynamic offset would be to speed up the free space research.
But speed gains aren't going to be dramatic anyway (especially with the coming updated version).
__________________
  #224    
Old October 4th, 2008 (07:37 AM).
Hiche.. Hiche.. is offline
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 979
Quote originally posted by HackMew:
Wrong. There's no real need to change the #dynamic offset since XSE would scan the whole ROM, starting from its value.
Finding free space is XSE's job, not yours.
The only reason to change the #dynamic offset would be to speed up the free space research.
But speed gains aren't going to be dramatic anyway (especially with the coming updated version).
Thanks for clearing that.
I have a question, in XSE and I think PKSV, I saw a command called loadbytefrompointer, and writebytetooffset.
What are the job of these two?
Does it have to do with the RAM thing of the rom?
  #225    
Old October 5th, 2008 (07:12 AM). Edited October 5th, 2008 by Daniel A..
Daniel A.'s Avatar
Daniel A. Daniel A. is offline
PokePower!
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Washington DC
Gender:
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 82
I have a question, How do I assign a person to say the text? like once we compile it, where is the script offset so we can add it advance map?

EDIT:

YES YES YES YES!!
SCRIPTING FINALLY WORKSS!!!

I'm GONNA FALL IN LOVE!
JEEZ, THANKS!!! SO MUCH!!
__________________



Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 01:47 AM.