Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > Tools, Tutorials & Resources
Reload this Page [Tutorial] Indexing and Inserting Sprites

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #51    
Old September 11th, 2008 (06:42 PM). Edited September 13th, 2008 by Kaizer-X.
Kaizer-X's Avatar
Kaizer-X Kaizer-X is offline
RoM HaCkeR
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Look outside your window and you will see me there
Age: 24
Gender:
Nature: Bold
Posts: 391
i mean my frontsprite appear in the position of the backsprite instead , but nw when i go to the grass when a pkm appear the game crashes ...nvm i fixed the problem nw thks for the tutorial
__________________








LINKS:
MY HACK:
Pokemon Twilight: Road to Dreams
MY TEAM:
Rom Tempest Crew
NEWLETTER:
Rom Hacking Newsletter
Credit to Rényui for theme
Reply With Quote
  #52    
Old September 19th, 2008 (02:40 PM).
master morty's Avatar
master morty master morty is offline
Master Spriter
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The world I created yesterday
Gender:
Nature: Mild
Posts: 93
wow now we can put in huge pokemon sprites this tutorial helped me a lot thanks I have a question (I hope I'm not being off subject) how do you edit pokemon's cries?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #53    
Old September 22nd, 2008 (08:06 AM).
Darkrai Lv.1000's Avatar
Darkrai Lv.1000 Darkrai Lv.1000 is offline
Has a tendency to figure things out
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Aboard the Arc-Gurren
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 653
Send a message via AIM to Darkrai Lv.1000
i'm trying to insert Darkrai's Platinum sprite in FireRed, but i'm stuck on the step where you have to edit the palettes and fix it. how exactly do u "fix" it? thnx to the person who answers this big problem for me.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #54    
Old September 22nd, 2008 (02:35 PM).
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold destinedjagold is online now
Oh Hai Thar~ 'ω'
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Posts: 7,292
Quote originally posted by Darkrai Lv.1000:
i'm trying to insert Darkrai's Platinum sprite in FireRed, but i'm stuck on the step where you have to edit the palettes and fix it. how exactly do u "fix" it? thnx to the person who answers this big problem for me.
er, use MS Paint and fix it... :\
__________________


FC: 0061-1111-6462
TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)

Reply With Quote
  #55    
Old September 22nd, 2008 (03:18 PM).
Darkrai Lv.1000's Avatar
Darkrai Lv.1000 Darkrai Lv.1000 is offline
Has a tendency to figure things out
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Aboard the Arc-Gurren
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 653
Send a message via AIM to Darkrai Lv.1000
thnx, i thought i would have to use the paint functions in Irfanview, which takes too long.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #56    
Old September 25th, 2008 (01:51 AM).
Perfect_Palkia_10's Avatar
Perfect_Palkia_10 Perfect_Palkia_10 is offline
Ruler of Space
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Between Dimensions
Age: 19
Nature: Naive
Posts: 28
This is a great tutorial. I have one question though. I replaced an Unown with a Chimchar and repointed it on a FireRed rom. I set it as a starter and the rom crashed on me. What happenned?
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #57    
Old September 30th, 2008 (04:01 PM).
Kaz33154's Avatar
Kaz33154 Kaz33154 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Gender:
Posts: 7
Hey Jagold How come when i try adding a mewtwo from pokemon red and when am at unLZ it says compressed size is 678 which is too big aborting YYYYYY anyways nice tut. just need help o yea and how do u get the Giratina to hav a green transparent thing am new to hacking anyways cya.
__________________


What Dot Hack GU Character are you?

My Results:


Haseo Congratulations You are Haseo "The Terror of Death." Strong but reserved, builds friendships but doesn`t show it, you kill PKers but don`t PK others.

Which element person are you?

My Results:


Water boy Silent.Can be kind and can be like a rebel.You are secretly kind and have a soft side.You say many things.There is more only you can find out..........................
Reply With Quote
  #58    
Old October 5th, 2008 (12:43 PM).
DarkShadow's Avatar
DarkShadow DarkShadow is offline
When darkness falls
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Canada
Nature: Calm
Posts: 263
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to DarkShadow
when u trye to get the new hex thing i get an error like sharing some i dont no how to fix it im using a fire red rom
__________________
Go to www.freewebs.com/pkmnhackers and check out my game also tell my if u can help me in making it!!

Making a Mix Cd of rap songs pm me if you want to hear them.
i need a scripter so please pm me thank you.




Reply With Quote
  #59    
Old October 5th, 2008 (01:21 PM).
NTA's Avatar
NTA NTA is offline
Where?
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 265
Quote originally posted by xx1hacker1xx:
when u trye to get the new hex thing i get an error like sharing some i dont no how to fix it im using a fire red rom
when u had unlz open u also had a hexeditor it says sharing violation so just to avoid that copy the free spce or whatever onto notpad if u cant remeber it then close the hexeditor then use it the hex numbers or whatever XD

also nice new avatar
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #60    
Old October 5th, 2008 (01:28 PM).
DarkShadow's Avatar
DarkShadow DarkShadow is offline
When darkness falls
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Canada
Nature: Calm
Posts: 263
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to DarkShadow
i dont understand what to do there because to inser tthe sprit i need to get a free offset so ya
__________________
Go to www.freewebs.com/pkmnhackers and check out my game also tell my if u can help me in making it!!

Making a Mix Cd of rap songs pm me if you want to hear them.
i need a scripter so please pm me thank you.




Reply With Quote
  #61    
Old October 9th, 2008 (04:35 AM).
pool92 pool92 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 8
Good but i use Photoshop for Color!
Reply With Quote
  #62    
Old October 16th, 2008 (10:27 PM).
Skull Gamer Skull Gamer is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Gender:
Posts: 4
Yes, before, I used Photoshop 7.0 for colors, but Irfanview is very good, finallly!

But I want to know: How insert pokemon sprites in Emerald (FR version, or US...)?

I try with 64x128, but It does not walk...

So, how to insert pokemon sprites in emerald, with the animations?
Reply With Quote
  #63    
Old October 17th, 2008 (01:21 AM).
AmineX's Avatar
AmineX AmineX is offline
Music Expert
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Algeria
Age: 26
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 151
Send a message via ICQ to AmineX Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to AmineX Send a message via Skype™ to AmineX
Quote originally posted by Skull Gamer:
Yes, before, I used Photoshop 7.0 for colors, but Irfanview is very good, finallly!

But I want to know: How insert pokemon sprites in Emerald (FR version, or US...)?

I try with 64x128, but It does not work

So, how to insert pokemon sprites in emerald, with the animations?
Hey skully told i'll show why you ask?
__________________
AmineX


All my pokemon music related videos here:
http://www.youtube.com/user/LHV1?feature=mhee
Reply With Quote
  #64    
Old October 19th, 2008 (02:37 AM).
-DarK- -DarK- is offline
Hold Your Colour
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belgium
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Posts: 185
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to -DarK-
Okay, I did a little recoloring on the shiny Gengar sprite. After that, I did everything as said in the tutorial, and the shiny gengar I replaced has messed up palletes... How come?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #65    
Old October 23rd, 2008 (10:56 PM).
GoldFlareon's Avatar
GoldFlareon GoldFlareon is offline
Flareon Lover
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: The world of pokemon.
Age: 21
Gender: Female
Nature: Naive
Posts: 47
Send a message via AIM to GoldFlareon
Hm...I have a problem. When I try to import my sprite, it tells me that it is not indexed, although it has a palette of 16 colours, it is 64x64, and it is saved in PNG. Why doesn't it recognise it as indexed when I have made sure it is? (I am using Sapphire version).

~Flareon.
Reply With Quote
  #66    
Old January 29th, 2009 (06:41 AM).
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold destinedjagold is online now
Oh Hai Thar~ 'ω'
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Posts: 7,292
oh, er hi everyone.
Well, since I'm the owner of this thread, it's okay for me to revive it, right?
If not, then may a mod close this and infract me it needed.

Anyways, I have updated the first post.
It'll be more helpful than the previous one, though, I think. :\
__________________


FC: 0061-1111-6462
TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)

Reply With Quote
  #67    
Old January 29th, 2009 (06:55 AM).
Vrai Vrai is offline
can you feel my heart?
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 2,890
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Vrai
Quote originally posted by destinedjagold:
oh, er hi everyone.
Well, since I'm the owner of this thread, it's okay for me to revive it, right?
If not, then may a mod close this and infract me it needed.
Uh, even if this does get closed, you wouldn't get infracted, I think. Infraction for revival of threads only happens if you do it too often, like 5 or more times. :D

Also, I hate being the first person to come up with a problem, but, well, I have one. xD



How do I fix that? Every time I try to insert a sprite, if comes up as something similar to that, and it's starting to bug me. I'm not sure if it's just my rom or if it's something I'm doing, but.. uh, help?

Thanks, DJG.
__________________
aka Zebraiken | pairs; Ω & ζ | bffl; λ | now; Ϟ | twin; ξ | brother; φ | sister; Ψ | neeks; Ϫ
Reply With Quote
  #68    
Old January 29th, 2009 (07:01 AM).
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold destinedjagold is online now
Oh Hai Thar~ 'ω'
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Posts: 7,292
hm... what's it's size? is it in .png format?
also, ya didn't messed with clicking those + and - buttons on Unlz-GBA while you're inserting that, right?
__________________


FC: 0061-1111-6462
TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)

Reply With Quote
  #69    
Old January 29th, 2009 (07:20 AM).
Vrai Vrai is offline
can you feel my heart?
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 2,890
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Vrai
It's 64x64, and it's in PNG. I don't think I've touched either of those buttons, either..
__________________
aka Zebraiken | pairs; Ω & ζ | bffl; λ | now; Ϟ | twin; ξ | brother; φ | sister; Ψ | neeks; Ϫ
Reply With Quote
  #70    
Old January 30th, 2009 (02:41 PM).
Kyle Gilmore Kyle Gilmore is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Gender:
Posts: 4
Thank you, you are the first person to explain it correctly!

But the Export Pallete thing isn't working, I don't understand why it isn't
Reply With Quote
  #71    
Old February 6th, 2009 (07:12 AM).
Aethestode's Avatar
Aethestode Aethestode is offline
Hacker
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Australia
Gender: Male
Nature: Serious
Posts: 1,338
When i try it, my pokemon didn't get the colour i wanted. Oh well
Reply With Quote
  #72    
Old February 27th, 2009 (07:33 AM).
874521's Avatar
874521 874521 is offline
School days again...
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Philippines
Age: 17
Gender: Female
Nature: Naughty
Posts: 507
When I put the offset, and click OK, there's nothing popped up? please answer my question.
Reply With Quote
  #73    
Old February 27th, 2009 (07:57 AM).
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold destinedjagold is online now
Oh Hai Thar~ 'ω'
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Posts: 7,292
Quote originally posted by Kyle Gilmore:
But the Export Pallete thing isn't working, I don't understand why it isn't
The export pallete doesn't work?
it should have.
After you inserted the sprite, uncheck the automatically search for offsets, uncheck the Export Image and check the Export palletes.

Quote originally posted by rockmanmegaman:
When i try it, my pokemon didn't get the colour i wanted. Oh well
same as Kyle Gilmore...

Quote originally posted by 874521:
When I put the offset, and click OK, there's nothing popped up? please answer my question.
that means you replaced an offset which was already used by your ROM.
__________________


FC: 0061-1111-6462
TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)

Reply With Quote
  #74    
Old March 18th, 2009 (09:47 PM).
Curt_09's Avatar
Curt_09 Curt_09 is offline
Also known as Chozo
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Oklahoma
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Posts: 499
Hey great tutorial, really helped out a lot.
__________________
Old hacks I liked back in the day:



Reply With Quote
  #75    
Old March 20th, 2009 (07:16 PM).
thesilentpyro thesilentpyro is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Gender:
Posts: 2
I'm hacking Ruby, and I replaced the grass starter with Bulbasaur, then replaced Bulbasaur's sprite, got the 'good' confirmed message box, and went to test. When I went to select Bulbasaur as my starter, the game reset. Any help, please?
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links

You may also like.. (Beta)
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 08:06 PM.