Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > Tools, Tutorials & Resources
Reload this Page [Tutorial] Indexing and Inserting Sprites

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #76    
Old March 22nd, 2009 (09:30 AM).
Destroyer232's Avatar
Destroyer232 Destroyer232 is offline
Ace Hacker
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Inside PokeTronic
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 3
Can you be more clear about the palletes thing? Because i dont get it.
__________________
I will hack a ROM even if three haunters corner me!!!!






VS
Reply With Quote
  #77    
Old March 31st, 2009 (07:47 AM).
onyx79's Avatar
onyx79 onyx79 is offline
Red Dead Revolver
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orange Islands (=
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 503
Quote:
2. Find the old PKMN sprite you want to replace.
how can I do that?,is there any program or something else for this?
Reply With Quote
  #78    
Old April 6th, 2009 (05:31 PM).
Kouten-D Kouten-D is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2
On step 3 do you save it as .png?
Reply With Quote
  #79    
Old April 7th, 2009 (04:25 AM).
Tropical Sunlight's Avatar
Tropical Sunlight Tropical Sunlight is offline
The Faltine
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Slovenia
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Posts: 3,578
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Tropical Sunlight
Am I missing something or am I going to have to do it the old way?
I reduce the colors, change the pallete and cahnge the background color.
Then, I don't get it anymore...
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #80    
Old April 7th, 2009 (03:37 PM).
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold destinedjagold is offline
Oh Hai Thar~ 'ω'
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Posts: 7,247
Quote originally posted by Kouten-D:
On step 3 do you save it as .png?
yep.

Quote originally posted by ~Watermelon:
Am I missing something or am I going to have to do it the old way?
I reduce the colors, change the pallete and cahnge the background color.
Then, I don't get it anymore...
what is it that you don't understand..?
__________________


3DS FC: 0061-1111-6462
TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)

~Serge,
Chrono Cross


Reply With Quote
  #81    
Old April 7th, 2009 (09:58 PM).
Tropical Sunlight's Avatar
Tropical Sunlight Tropical Sunlight is offline
The Faltine
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Slovenia
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Posts: 3,578
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Tropical Sunlight
When I save the "indexed" sprite, the pallete and the color reduction doesn't save with it...
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #82    
Old April 8th, 2009 (03:13 PM).
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold destinedjagold is offline
Oh Hai Thar~ 'ω'
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Posts: 7,247
Okay...
So I have uploaded a video tutorial of 'How to Insert Sprites'...

Hopefully, that video can be helpful to you all~
__________________


3DS FC: 0061-1111-6462
TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)

~Serge,
Chrono Cross


Reply With Quote
  #83    
Old April 9th, 2009 (12:09 AM).
Tropical Sunlight's Avatar
Tropical Sunlight Tropical Sunlight is offline
The Faltine
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Slovenia
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Posts: 3,578
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Tropical Sunlight
So... This helps!
And I was doing the palletes by myself in APE...
Thanks! You made my life easier!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #84    
Old April 9th, 2009 (07:24 AM).
Dragonmaster91's Avatar
Dragonmaster91 Dragonmaster91 is offline
It's just common sense!
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 220


Ripped directly from platinum. If you do what I did, you might have to edit a bit more. At least, I did not have to palette edit.

Yeah, I replaced those ?? pokemon.
Reply With Quote
  #85    
Old April 9th, 2009 (08:02 AM).
Pokepal17's Avatar
Pokepal17 Pokepal17 is offline
More cowbell~
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Steeltown
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 1,517
This is a very good tutorial and the video makes life a lot easier
__________________
Pokémon Stardrop
Reply With Quote
  #86    
Old April 9th, 2009 (11:37 PM).
victor_raymond victor_raymond is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1
I need help, I am having problem with offset number...

The unLZ-GBA program seem to not work consistently I open the pokemon fire red rom and enter random number (yes random number cause I don't know how you would look at hex number and get out a decimal number? cause I did use a a hex to decimal calc and so did not get the right number...) But once i found it the number around the 2630 zone, I edit import the image but i can't see seem to overwrite the offset of the picture that i want. But make trouble worse, when I close the program unLZ-GBA and delete the modified (wrongly) rom, then re-open the same source rom, it doesn't even go to the exact number that i take over 30 min to randomly find (why does this happen?)


Aside from the using hex editor to find the offset number which to be use in the program unLZ-GBA, the rest is clear to my eyes but when i did it, it just doesn't work.

I am not a computer noob but it seem to me like this program: unLZ-GBA have problem.


Unless i am wrong, please help me.

Thank you,
- Victor
Reply With Quote
  #87    
Old April 10th, 2009 (08:38 AM).
Dragonmaster91's Avatar
Dragonmaster91 Dragonmaster91 is offline
It's just common sense!
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 220
Quote originally posted by victor_raymond:
I need help, I am having problem with offset number...

The unLZ-GBA program seem to not work consistently I open the pokemon fire red rom and enter random number (yes random number cause I don't know how you would look at hex number and get out a decimal number? cause I did use a a hex to decimal calc and so did not get the right number...) But once i found it the number around the 2630 zone, I edit import the image but i can't see seem to overwrite the offset of the picture that i want. But make trouble worse, when I close the program unLZ-GBA and delete the modified (wrongly) rom, then re-open the same source rom, it doesn't even go to the exact number that i take over 30 min to randomly find (why does this happen?)


Aside from the using hex editor to find the offset number which to be use in the program unLZ-GBA, the rest is clear to my eyes but when i did it, it just doesn't work.

I am not a computer noob but it seem to me like this program: unLZ-GBA have problem.


Unless i am wrong, please help me.

Thank you,
- Victor
966, that is mews number. When you search for a certain pokemon, look around there through 1400.
Reply With Quote
  #88    
Old April 13th, 2009 (06:13 PM).
luker05 luker05 is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Canada
Nature: Calm
Posts: 32
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to luker05 Send a message via Yahoo to luker05
Kay so my sprites go in fine, especially the front sprites. But when I have to import a sprite that is too big or whatever and I have to open the hex aditor to find free space (im asuming those are the large areas in the middle with lots of FFFF's) and i copy the offset, and do it that way, the game freezes when it attempts to load the sprite. Is there a certain area in the hex stuff that i should be getting the offset from?
Reply With Quote
  #89    
Old April 13th, 2009 (09:39 PM).
874521's Avatar
874521 874521 is offline
School days again...
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Philippines
Age: 17
Gender: Female
Nature: Naughty
Posts: 507
When you're inserting backsprite, is it the same as you insert frontsprite?
Reply With Quote
  #90    
Old April 13th, 2009 (11:42 PM). Edited April 14th, 2009 by mineowyn.
mineowyn's Avatar
mineowyn mineowyn is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Gender:
Posts: 145
How big would the trainer profile sprite be? If I wanted to insert a replacement trainer sprite?

Also, I can't find the in-game trainer sprites for the main characters and rival (profile or backsprite using unzl.gba)
Reply With Quote
  #91    
Old April 14th, 2009 (03:24 AM).
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold destinedjagold is offline
Oh Hai Thar~ 'ω'
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Posts: 7,247
Quote originally posted by ~Watermelon:
So... This helps!
And I was doing the palletes by myself in APE...
Thanks! You made my life easier!
You are welcome~

Quote originally posted by Dragonmaster91:
Ripped directly from platinum. If you do what I did, you might have to edit a bit more. At least, I did not have to palette edit.

Yeah, I replaced those ?? pokemon.
um, yeah.
so what? :\

Quote originally posted by Pokepal17:
This is a very good tutorial and the video makes life a lot easier
thanks~

Quote originally posted by victor_raymond:
(Message too long)

Thank you,
- Victor
Do I still need to answer or does Dragonmaster's answer is enough?

Quote originally posted by luker05:
Kay so my sprites go in fine, especially the front sprites. But when I have to import a sprite that is too big or whatever and I have to open the hex aditor to find free space (im asuming those are the large areas in the middle with lots of FFFF's) and i copy the offset, and do it that way, the game freezes when it attempts to load the sprite. Is there a certain area in the hex stuff that i should be getting the offset from?
Did you clicked the Automatically Fix Pointers checkbox?
Also, you might notice that in the Image offset, there, example, is 00123456... You should not remove those two 0's...

Quote originally posted by 874521:
When you're inserting backsprite, is it the same as you insert frontsprite?
yep, but if you already insert the pallete of the front sprite, then you don't need to import the pallete to the backsprite.

Quote originally posted by mineowyn:
How big would the trainer profile sprite be? If I wanted to insert a replacement trainer sprite?

Also, I can't find the in-game trainer sprites for the main characters and rival (profile or backsprite using unzl.gba)
the same size as the pokemon sprites.
__________________


3DS FC: 0061-1111-6462
TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)

~Serge,
Chrono Cross


Reply With Quote
  #92    
Old April 14th, 2009 (03:27 AM).
Pokepal17's Avatar
Pokepal17 Pokepal17 is offline
More cowbell~
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Steeltown
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 1,517
I just used this tutorial for inserting a trainer and worked amazingly which meant no messing about with palettes. This is definitely the best tutorial on sprite indexing and inserting I've read
__________________
Pokémon Stardrop
Reply With Quote
  #93    
Old April 14th, 2009 (03:47 AM).
mineowyn's Avatar
mineowyn mineowyn is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Gender:
Posts: 145
No it is not the same size as Pokemon... I mean the trainer profile sprite - the sprite you see of the hero/your own character during the intro and on your trainer card..

This is what I get:
Spoiler:


from this:

Spoiler:
Original:
Resized:
Reply With Quote
  #94    
Old April 14th, 2009 (03:50 AM).
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold destinedjagold is offline
Oh Hai Thar~ 'ω'
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Posts: 7,247
Quote originally posted by mineowyn:
No it is not the same size as Pokemon... I mean the trainer profile sprite - the sprite you see of the hero/your own character during the intro and on your trainer card..
oh, that.
are you using FireRed or Ruby?
If Ruby, then it's the same size.
If you're hacking FireRed, then this is the wrong tutorial.
__________________


3DS FC: 0061-1111-6462
TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)

~Serge,
Chrono Cross


Reply With Quote
  #95    
Old April 14th, 2009 (03:51 AM).
Tropical Sunlight's Avatar
Tropical Sunlight Tropical Sunlight is offline
The Faltine
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Slovenia
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Posts: 3,578
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Tropical Sunlight
I got it now!
Thanks!
Worked on Ramackin!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #96    
Old April 14th, 2009 (04:32 AM).
874521's Avatar
874521 874521 is offline
School days again...
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Philippines
Age: 17
Gender: Female
Nature: Naughty
Posts: 507
What do you mean by I don't need to import the pallete to the backsprite?
Reply With Quote
  #97    
Old April 14th, 2009 (04:34 AM).
Pokepal17's Avatar
Pokepal17 Pokepal17 is offline
More cowbell~
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Steeltown
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 1,517
Quote originally posted by 874521:
What do you mean by I don't need to import the pallete to the backsprite?
He means that since you've done the front sprite, you will have imported the palette. So there's no need to import it for the backsprite because the palette wil already be there.
__________________
Pokémon Stardrop
Reply With Quote
  #98    
Old April 14th, 2009 (06:32 AM). Edited April 14th, 2009 by mineowyn.
mineowyn's Avatar
mineowyn mineowyn is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Gender:
Posts: 145
Quote originally posted by destinedjagold:


oh, that.
are you using FireRed or Ruby?
If Ruby, then it's the same size.
If you're hacking FireRed, then this is the wrong tutorial.
Yeah I'm hacking Fire Red..

But do you have any idea though, for Fire Red I mean..

I managed to get something like this:
Spoiler:


Any help would be appreciated..
Reply With Quote
  #99    
Old April 14th, 2009 (07:03 AM).
Pokepal17's Avatar
Pokepal17 Pokepal17 is offline
More cowbell~
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Steeltown
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 1,517
Quote originally posted by mineowyn:
Yeah I'm hacking Fire Red..

But do you have any idea though, for Fire Red I mean..

I managed to get something like this:
Spoiler:


Any help would be appreciated..
Ahh, there's a tutorial for this made by >Dante< called called Changing the intro Hero in FR correctly. Use that for help.
__________________
Pokémon Stardrop
Reply With Quote
  #100    
Old April 14th, 2009 (07:30 AM).
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold destinedjagold is offline
Oh Hai Thar~ 'ω'
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Posts: 7,247
Quote originally posted by mineowyn:
Yeah I'm hacking Fire Red..

But do you have any idea though, for Fire Red I mean..

I managed to get something like this:
Spoiler:


Any help would be appreciated..
Sorry but I am not hacking FireRed, and as I said, this is the wrong tutorial for your concern.
And as Pokepal17 stated, search for Dante's tutorial.
Thank you~
__________________


3DS FC: 0061-1111-6462
TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)

~Serge,
Chrono Cross


Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links

You may also like.. (Beta)
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 02:43 PM.