< >
Hello, guest! Please log in or register.

The PokéCommunity

Go Back     The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub How to Properly Run A Platinum ROM in No$GBA

Notices

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.

Reply Post Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1    
Old September 12th, 2008 (4:15 PM).
Virtual Chatot's Avatar
Virtual Chatot Virtual Chatot is offline
Ça m'énerve
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Rockies
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Posts: 3,518
So I know most of you who have been lucky enough to have the means of running a Pokemon Platinum ROM have gotten it. I know some of you have run the normal ROM error screen when trying to load the Platinum Rom, here's just the proper settings you should have in order to run it perfectly ( It does for me anyways )

This seems to be the best setting for steady gameplay. I got perfectly clear sound and video with no clipping.

Many thanks to Forgotten Memory for the image!
Seven weeks until I graduate


Most certainly going to die


I'm so tired of reading and writing papers.


This is God's way of punishing me


At least I'm getting married this summer


I'm going to need a job


The hell are you reading these for?


<3
Reply With Quote

Relevant Advertising!

  #2    
Old September 13th, 2008 (9:42 AM). Edited September 13th, 2008 by Penumbra.
Penumbra's Avatar
Penumbra Penumbra is offline
Do you enjoy reading this?
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Uranus, UP
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 373
Could you make one for 2.6a?

There's only one difference in the set up thing between versions, but you never know.. anyway I switched it to your options. Not that different from the youtube tutorials except for the DS Back up cartridge thing..

Also, the sound laggs. I have the exact same as yours.. The sound seems to lag especially when you step out into the city and the animation is jumpy as if it was skipping a few frames, but then again I am running other programs..
Reply With Quote
  #3    
Old September 13th, 2008 (11:58 AM).
Infamous Amos's Avatar
Infamous Amos Infamous Amos is offline
ALL BIDOOF IN MY WAY WILL FALL
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Age: 26
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by Awakening View Post
Could you make one for 2.6a?

There's only one difference in the set up thing between versions, but you never know..
Just have the 3d renderer set to "nocash".
Reply With Quote
  #4    
Old September 13th, 2008 (12:39 PM).
Bludycomicsinc's Avatar
Bludycomicsinc Bludycomicsinc is offline
If you can read this.....
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: trapped in torn world.unable to move 1 boulder.
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 517
How do I get to that options page?

HeartGold Is AWESOME!
Reply With Quote
  #5    
Old September 13th, 2008 (12:46 PM).
Infamous Amos's Avatar
Infamous Amos Infamous Amos is offline
ALL BIDOOF IN MY WAY WILL FALL
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Age: 26
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by bludycomicsinc View Post
How do I get to that options page?
Its under "Emulation Setup" on version 2.6 right by the options for color.
Reply With Quote
  #6    
Old September 13th, 2008 (12:49 PM).
Virtual Chatot's Avatar
Virtual Chatot Virtual Chatot is offline
Ça m'énerve
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Rockies
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Posts: 3,518
Quote:
Originally Posted by bludycomicsinc View Post
Wha..?
Fillllllllllllllllllllllllllller.
You need to select Emulation setup from the No$GBA program screen...Not that complicated '
Quote:
Originally Posted by Awakening View Post
Could you make one for 2.6a?
It would be unnecessary, because the same options are there, just in a different format.
Seven weeks until I graduate


Most certainly going to die


I'm so tired of reading and writing papers.


This is God's way of punishing me


At least I'm getting married this summer


I'm going to need a job


The hell are you reading these for?


<3
Reply With Quote
  #7    
Old September 13th, 2008 (12:52 PM).
Bludycomicsinc's Avatar
Bludycomicsinc Bludycomicsinc is offline
If you can read this.....
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: trapped in torn world.unable to move 1 boulder.
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 517
Quote:
Originally Posted by Virtual Chatot View Post
You need to select Emulation setup from the No$GBA program screen...Not that complicated 'It would be unnecessary, because the same options are there, just in a different format.
I don't see anything like that.

HeartGold Is AWESOME!
Reply With Quote
  #8    
Old September 13th, 2008 (12:52 PM).
Kittyipawd's Avatar
Kittyipawd Kittyipawd is offline
Waiting to see red again
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 457
even with these settings i cannot get it too work

Friend Code 0705-2846-7850 , Fighting type safari (I have a Riolu)
Reply With Quote
  #9    
Old September 13th, 2008 (12:59 PM).
Virtual Chatot's Avatar
Virtual Chatot Virtual Chatot is offline
Ça m'énerve
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Rockies
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Posts: 3,518
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kittyipawd View Post
even with these settings i cannot get it too work
If you're not even loading the ROM at all, You may need a different Platinum ROM.
Post a screenshot of what error you're coming up with.
Seven weeks until I graduate


Most certainly going to die


I'm so tired of reading and writing papers.


This is God's way of punishing me


At least I'm getting married this summer


I'm going to need a job


The hell are you reading these for?


<3
Reply With Quote
  #10    
Old September 13th, 2008 (1:06 PM).
Kittyipawd's Avatar
Kittyipawd Kittyipawd is offline
Waiting to see red again
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 457
Well I first came up with a blue screen then put it at 512 but now everytime I try to go pass intro it will turn white.

Also im a nooblet so please tell me how to take a screenshot .

Friend Code 0705-2846-7850 , Fighting type safari (I have a Riolu)
Reply With Quote
  #11    
Old September 13th, 2008 (2:56 PM).
Virtual Chatot's Avatar
Virtual Chatot Virtual Chatot is offline
Ça m'énerve
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Rockies
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Posts: 3,518
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kittyipawd View Post
Well I first came up with a blue screen then put it at 512 but now everytime I try to go pass intro it will turn white.

Also im a nooblet so please tell me how to take a screenshot .
You probably need a better Platinum ROM, google is your friend here.
Seven weeks until I graduate


Most certainly going to die


I'm so tired of reading and writing papers.


This is God's way of punishing me


At least I'm getting married this summer


I'm going to need a job


The hell are you reading these for?


<3
Reply With Quote
  #12    
Old September 13th, 2008 (5:07 PM).
Archer's Avatar
Archer Archer is offline
a.k.a: ethan.
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: NSW, Australia
Nature: Modest
Posts: 3,955
Everyone should keep in mind that decent computer specs are required to run at full speed.
You could run it without other programs or give the process a higher priority.
Reply With Quote
  #13    
Old September 13th, 2008 (11:49 PM).
Lover's Kite Lover's Kite is offline
the age of empathy
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Texas / California
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 734
Send a message via Skype™ to Lover's Kite
It is recommended that you have only 1 other program running besides NO$GBA, for the best speed and quality. For best results only have NO$GBA open, no messengers, browsers and other applications such as image editors or music players.

Most players get this error...




To setup NO$GBA to compatible with any Platinum ROM, open NO$GBA. After opening it, go to "Options" > "Emulation Setup" or just push "F11".




A window should pop up that looks like the one below...



The above settings are not compatible with Platinum.



It should look like this:

The above settings are compatible with Platinum.


Hope this helps :D
— lovers' kites are flown on beaches for public sight —
Reply With Quote
  #14    
Old September 14th, 2008 (8:19 AM).
ryan123456789019's Avatar
ryan123456789019 ryan123456789019 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 87
I have everything the same has above. the save setting are right but I can not press start at all. I tried changing the start butten to be enter,home and other keyboard buttens but it will not let me press start which means I can not save. Can anyone help me.
Reply With Quote
  #15    
Old September 14th, 2008 (8:29 AM).
Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
Banjora Marxvile Banjora Marxvile is offline
hOI!!!!!! i'm tEMMIE!!
 
Join Date: May 2008
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 3,461
X is the menu button on DS, not Start. My problem is that the ROM crashes, saying microphone Wave failure. Any tips on stopping that?


Temmie vibrates intensely.

awwAwa cute!! (pets u)

OMG!! humans TOO CUTE (dies)

can't blame a BARK for tryin'...

RATED TEM OUTTA TEM.

Reply With Quote
  #16    
Old September 14th, 2008 (8:31 AM).
Tensa Zangetsu Tensa Zangetsu is offline
Bankai
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 162
Did you save the settings, under Emulation setup and Control setup there's 'Save Options' click that to save the options.

That should fix it so you dont lose your changes.
Too much school work, bye guys D:
Reply With Quote
  #17    
Old September 14th, 2008 (8:39 AM).
Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
Banjora Marxvile Banjora Marxvile is offline
hOI!!!!!! i'm tEMMIE!!
 
Join Date: May 2008
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 3,461
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turtwigtoon View Post
X is the menu button on DS, not Start. My problem is that the ROM crashes, saying microphone Wave failure. Any tips on stopping that?
Can anyone solve this? I can't get very far unless someone helps me.


Temmie vibrates intensely.

awwAwa cute!! (pets u)

OMG!! humans TOO CUTE (dies)

can't blame a BARK for tryin'...

RATED TEM OUTTA TEM.

Reply With Quote
  #18    
Old September 14th, 2008 (1:19 PM).
Tentacruel13's Avatar
Tentacruel13 Tentacruel13 is offline
PM me f you want to contact me
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 248
Does anyone know of any tools for Platinum though?
Reply With Quote
  #19    
Old September 14th, 2008 (3:59 PM).
SonicBlazePlatinum's Avatar
SonicBlazePlatinum SonicBlazePlatinum is offline
/)^3^(\
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Cloudsdale, Equestria
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 1,041
I Have a question.If you save then turn off the no$gba will you have to restart again?
Reply With Quote
  #20    
Old September 14th, 2008 (9:49 PM).
Postman Postman is offline
.
 
Join Date: May 2008
Age: 6
Posts: 446
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turtwigtoon View Post
Can anyone solve this? I can't get very far unless someone helps me.
The most common cause of this is no$gba's mic emulation picking up sounds from other applications. You're best bet is to mute everything else. Another solution would be to open your "recording settings" in windows volume control and select a source like AUX, Line-in, or something you don't use if you don't have a microphone. That way, no interference will get in the way.

Reply With Quote
  #21    
Old September 16th, 2008 (4:05 AM).
Virtual Chatot's Avatar
Virtual Chatot Virtual Chatot is offline
Ça m'énerve
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Rockies
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Posts: 3,518
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tentacruel13 View Post
Does anyone know of any tools for Platinum though?
Pokespam is currently doing some Platinum Research, but it'll be a while. If its similar to D/P as we think it is, won't be that long.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlazeTehKin View Post
I Have a question.If you save then turn off the no$gba will you have to restart again?
You save like your normally would, by hitting X and then saving the game.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryan123456789019 View Post
I have everything the same has above. the save setting are right but I can not press start at all. I tried changing the start butten to be enter,home and other keyboard buttens but it will not let me press start which means I can not save. Can anyone help me.
Settings are just like a real DS, so you would hit the X button to open the start menu.
Seven weeks until I graduate


Most certainly going to die


I'm so tired of reading and writing papers.


This is God's way of punishing me


At least I'm getting married this summer


I'm going to need a job


The hell are you reading these for?


<3
Reply With Quote
  #22    
Old September 16th, 2008 (5:12 AM).
Platinum Lucario's Avatar
Platinum Lucario Platinum Lucario is offline
The Legendary Master of Light!
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Warrnambool, Victoria, Australia.
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 1,536
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turtwigtoon View Post
X is the menu button on DS, not Start. My problem is that the ROM crashes, saying microphone Wave failure. Any tips on stopping that?
I have the same problem too, and I don't have any Microphone interfering with it, it just happens randomly while playing the ROM, always make sure you save the game and close No$GBA just incase it happens. You will get an error saying "Microphone wave in failure".
There is nothing that can fix it, it's just something that randomly occurs.
Reply With Quote
  #23    
Old September 16th, 2008 (7:31 AM).
Red-The-First-I's Avatar
Red-The-First-I Red-The-First-I is offline
Make a Wish...
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Austria
Gender:
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 36
How do I open these rar files. I KNOW about Winrar but which file should i extrackt? There is the file but when I extrackt them there are more rar files in there. if I extract the one without any number (all other files are numbered "filename"01.rar ...) NO$GBA is running currently with 500%
A Pokémon with th Key to everything appears!
All the Pokémon will be led to the Light of Gratitude!
The Bouquet of the Sky Shaymin!
Reply With Quote
  #24    
Old September 16th, 2008 (6:20 PM).
Red1530's Avatar
Red1530 Red1530 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New York State
Age: 25
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,618
Quote:
Originally Posted by Red-The-First-I View Post
How do I open these rar files. I KNOW about Winrar but which file should i extrackt? There is the file but when I extrackt them there are more rar files in there. if I extract the one without any number (all other files are numbered "filename"01.rar ...) NO$GBA is running currently with 500%
You can download the free program called 7-Zip.



Platinum FC: 1849 2675 2234
HeartGold FC: 2579 5430 9434
Reply With Quote
  #25    
Old September 16th, 2008 (7:21 PM).
SonicBlazePlatinum's Avatar
SonicBlazePlatinum SonicBlazePlatinum is offline
/)^3^(\
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Cloudsdale, Equestria
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 1,041
If the settings not on 512 will the game restart after you beat Cynthia,or will you be able to go to Battle Park and the national dex?
Reply With Quote
Reply Post Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


  All times are GMT -8. The time now is 9:46 PM.


Contact Us Archive Privacy Statement Terms of Service Top