Community

The PokéCommunity

We are still working on a better slogan!

Visit Index



Advertise here

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > Tools, Tutorials & Resources
Notices

Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.

Post Reply
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #51    
Old December 10th, 2008, 04:40 PM
poddish's Avatar
poddish
Spirit Of Radio
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Earth
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to poddish

Advertise here
wow... the first tut. on how to delete maps, hope you continue making this.
I believe children are the future.
As such, we can do whatever we want, and in the future, when it's time to clean up our mess, they will have to do it for us.
  #52    
Old December 10th, 2008, 06:57 PM
amtrax's Avatar
amtrax
Pheonix will rule the world...
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Age: 20
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to amtrax Send a message via Skype™ to amtrax
Quote:
Originally Posted by link12552 View Post
The cave is a little ummmmmm.....

Try making it look more like this:



__________________________________________________________________________

the gap up the side is for an item
  #53    
Old December 11th, 2008, 12:14 AM
Spherical Ice's Avatar
Spherical Ice
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Send a message via Skype™ to Spherical Ice
Quote:
Originally Posted by Korronensu View Post
Okay... For adding wild pokemon... how do you determine which pokemon are meetable with which rods?
I'm pretty sure that's defined in the Pokémon's stats, so you can't edit that via AMap, I think. Try using YAPE. Also, I think it's the same for how rare the Pokémon are.
  #54    
Old December 11th, 2008, 05:21 PM
link12552's Avatar
link12552
just tired, that's all
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The not so distant future
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Check out the new section:

Map scripts

Just started!
  #55    
Old December 19th, 2008, 08:31 AM
shot571
Guest
 
im not sure that youll no the answer to this but i want to make a bulbasur garden thing in pallet town on fire red. i can make the maps just fine and the warps but when i go out of the place it always goes out of the door of the house in which you live.
if u dont understand that ill put in simple terms. when i go in bulbasuar garden everything is fine but when i leave i come out of the wrong place pleaseeeee help me.
  #56    
Old December 19th, 2008, 09:31 AM
Hiche..'s Avatar
Hiche..
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by shot571 View Post
im not sure that youll no the answer to this but i want to make a bulbasur garden thing in pallet town on fire red. i can make the maps just fine and the warps but when i go out of the place it always goes out of the door of the house in which you live.
if u dont understand that ill put in simple terms. when i go in bulbasuar garden everything is fine but when i leave i come out of the wrong place pleaseeeee help me.
That's a simple problem in warping. Can you show us the map bank, number, and the warp number of the map you want to leave the garden to?
  #57    
Old December 22nd, 2008, 10:27 PM
landus
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
hey sweet tutorial this helped alot
  #58    
Old December 23rd, 2008, 05:00 AM
swampert249's Avatar
swampert249
finally got his braces off! :D
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Our planet Earth (Just in case u think Im an alien)
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Send a message via Yahoo to swampert249
I do not get it! How do u insert d/p map tiles?
Here is my website:
http://www.joshb1z.webs.com/
[spoiler]Josh's PokePet

Beware the level 99 Swampert!
Hacks i support...
  #59    
Old January 7th, 2009, 11:34 AM
MegaMaccer's Avatar
MegaMaccer
If a tree falls in a forest
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: New Zealand
Age: 24
Great Tutorial, this'll help new comers alot. keep it up!
Latest Torzach Updates:

The Hero sprite and Heroine overworlds, and Torzach's own Forum!
  #60    
Old January 8th, 2009, 12:28 PM
shazaam33's Avatar
shazaam33
Assassin Cross/Lord Knight
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Yanille,Kandarin (RuneScape)
Age: 20
Gender:
Nature: Relaxed
Thanks link12552 for this awsome tutorial. This one is the first out of a lot that is easy to understand.☺
  #61    
Old January 8th, 2009, 02:43 PM
TheNerdyPotato's Avatar
TheNerdyPotato
Feraligatr is actually a Croc!
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Idaho
Age: 20
Nature: Rash
is there any easy way to get a pokemon from the Prof Oak pokeballs without using the event, like I want to just walk up and press it, see the pokemon and get it.
Also im a newb at this
  #62    
Old January 10th, 2009, 04:19 AM
V's Avatar
V
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Gender:
Nature: Calm
Warps only work for me if they're in front staircases or on doors. They won't work for me when I try connecting forest levels. Is there a restriction on warp events that will only allow them to work on certain tiles?



*EDIT*
Quote:
Originally Posted by swampert249 View Post
I do not get it! How do u insert d/p map tiles?
Edited tilesets? Sections 3-4
Spoiler:
Quote:
Originally Posted by link12552 View Post

3) Create new tiles


1. Click the puzzle piece.
2. Go to Picture > Save tileset1 and Save tileset2
3. Save them somewhere you can remember
4. Open them in paint
5. They should be in the palette color that was open, so set it accordingly
6. Look for a black block on the bottom
7. Draw your new tile
8. Make sure that the colors you use are the same as other ones in the image

[Can't include the picture in the quote because I haven't made 15+ posts D=]

___________________________________________________
4) Insert those tiles


1. Click the puzzle piece.
2. Go to Picture > Load tileset1 and Load tileset2
3. Select the image files
4. Click save


Also, when I went back, I think I found the answer to my question in section 6. Please disregard my n00b-ness

Last edited by V; January 10th, 2009 at 04:28 AM.
  #63    
Old January 10th, 2009, 08:36 AM
GuyNamedSean's Avatar
GuyNamedSean
Cobalt Scizor
 
Join Date: May 2008
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Is there a way to edit what the region map looks like? Or maybe just the town map?

!!!SEANSCIZOR!!! YES! I HAVE EVOLVED!!!

Yes, the Scyther and Quilava are RED with BLUE highlights...
No, I'm not crazy... I think...



  #64    
Old January 10th, 2009, 03:54 PM
HentaiHentai
Booted out - don't be like me!
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Washington, USA
Age: 25
Gender:
Nature: Calm
I liked this new most of it, however it would be cool if you could give greater examples of map scripts. Oh, btw ty for the tiles behaviour part that is something I hadnt noticed yet.
  #65    
Old January 11th, 2009, 11:06 AM
deathscythe
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Great Tutorial... Thumbs up!

I need a little help on the inserting new map.

Using Ruby version... I've recreate a map 24,14 and resize it to Width [ 35 ] and Height [ 100 ].



Once everything is done, I've always test out everything from the beginning and I encounter this major bug.



Any tips or idea on how to fix this, or avoid it?
  #66    
Old January 11th, 2009, 06:59 PM
V's Avatar
V
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Gender:
Nature: Calm
That's one of the many reasons why I don't play around with scripts
I've tried reading tutorials about scripting various things, but once I start reading all of the random gibberish and all of those numbers... well, everything just goes in one eye and out the other.
  #67    
Old January 13th, 2009, 02:16 PM
link12552's Avatar
link12552
just tired, that's all
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The not so distant future
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheNerdyPotato View Post
is there any easy way to get a pokemon from the Prof Oak pokeballs without using the event, like I want to just walk up and press it, see the pokemon and get it.
Also im a newb at this
First can you tell me which scripting language you are using?

(ie: XSE, PKSV, Pokescript)

Quote:
Originally Posted by deathscythe View Post
Great Tutorial... Thumbs up!

I need a little help on the inserting new map.

Using Ruby version... I've recreate a map 24,14 and resize it to Width [ 35 ] and Height [ 100 ].



Once everything is done, I've always test out everything from the beginning and I encounter this major bug.



Any tips or idea on how to fix this, or avoid it?
This is not neccisarily a mapping error, but a scripting eror.

This happens when you put any new scripts in without using a new pionter for texts,

Solutions:
  • Open advance map save the map and add it to a fresh rom
  • Open all the scripts from the rom and look for problems in text/messages
  • Use advance map and correct the error.
To aviod the problem in the futture, use free space finder(s) to look for offsets to use.

Last edited by Blazichu; January 14th, 2009 at 11:12 PM. Reason: Double Posting!
  #68    
Old January 15th, 2009, 02:14 PM
Snyser's Avatar
Snyser
Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Forgotten!! LOL
Gender:
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Snyser
your tutorial helped me alot!!
Supporter

Join http://www.pokemon-metropolis.co.cc/ TODAY!!
its has alot of features and its free to join you can even play cool games all in one + Its updated a lot!! so join and ask all you'r friends to come allong (JOIN NOW!!)
  #69    
Old January 16th, 2009, 11:55 PM
deathscythe
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
This is not neccisarily a mapping error, but a scripting eror.

This happens when you put any new scripts in without using a new pionter for texts,

Solutions:
  • Open advance map save the map and add it to a fresh rom
  • Open all the scripts from the rom and look for problems in text/messages
  • Use advance map and correct the error.
To aviod the problem in the futture, use free space finder(s) to look for offsets to use. [/QUOTE]


"This happens when you put any new scripts in without using a new pionter for texts"

Fyi, I did not put any new script. All I adds was a couple of WARP. Eitherway, even I redo it again from a backup rom, the problem starts when I resize the map larger then it's original size. Which now, give you a hint that map resizing will not be 100% safe.

Question:
1. How do OPEN ALL SCRIPT from the ROM? Are you mean to say in the map itself or the whole entire rom? There's no program so far which I seen has that capability. Will you please elaborate.


2. The error which I have is coming from the Starting Introductions, and AMAP does not go that far. AMap only edit maps. How do I correct the error using AMap?


3. I've using #dynamic 0x800000 method for my scripting so FSF is quite useless for me. Even so, how do you actually calculate how much space you wanted for the new MAP?
I SUPPORT!





  #70    
Old January 23rd, 2009, 06:27 AM
link12552's Avatar
link12552
just tired, that's all
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The not so distant future
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm


"This happens when you put any new scripts in without using a new pionter for texts"

Fyi, I did not put any new script. All I adds was a couple of WARP. Eitherway, even I redo it again from a backup rom, the problem starts when I resize the map larger then it's original size. Which now, give you a hint that map resizing will not be 100% safe.

Question:
1. How do OPEN ALL SCRIPT from the ROM? Are you mean to say in the map itself or the whole entire rom? There's no program so far which I seen has that capability. Will you please elaborate.


2. The error which I have is coming from the Starting Introductions, and AMAP does not go that far. AMap only edit maps. How do I correct the error using AMap?


3. I've using #dynamic 0x800000 method for my scripting so FSF is quite useless for me. Even so, how do you actually calculate how much space you wanted for the new MAP?[/quote]

In the post I meant to say Advance Text sorry for the typo

Secondly when your scripting in XSE the dynamic tells it where to start the scripts offset. FSF finds an unused offset so that when you're compilling it doesn't erase or even mess up your script.

Also AMAP 1.90 & 1.91 have a map ressising error. For best results use 1.92.

IMPORTANT: when inserting a new map or any thing in AMAP, caution yourself from ussing the first offset you see.
The first sometimes leads to errors in the rom.

________________________________________________

Notice: I do most of my scripting in pokescript, I am still familiar with using XSE, but it's just that I use more for ediiting or revising my scripts.

If you have any more questions about this error PM me.
  #71    
Old January 25th, 2009, 04:25 PM
Chibi Robo's Avatar
Chibi Robo
of the entire epoch!
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cali
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Im having a problem when Im saving the tileset on my computer it says when I open it on paint that it cant work with the saved format
Pair: Vrai
  #72    
Old January 25th, 2009, 04:37 PM
link12552's Avatar
link12552
just tired, that's all
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The not so distant future
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Quote:
Originally Posted by HFI View Post
Im having a problem when Im saving the tileset on my computer it says when I open it on paint that it cant work with the saved format
1st make sure that your picking the right option:
You have to be under "Picture"





______________________________________________
MSPaint should be able to open the image file.

P.S. Isn't this in my tutorial?

  #73    
Old January 26th, 2009, 07:24 AM
Chibi Robo's Avatar
Chibi Robo
of the entire epoch!
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cali
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Ohhhhh thanks thats going to help a lot more!
Pair: Vrai
  #74    
Old January 28th, 2009, 06:35 PM
V.L.'s Avatar
V.L.
The site's biggest noob
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: CANADA!
Gender:
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to V.L. Send a message via Skype™ to V.L.
Is it possible to add a flying position to a place that doesn't normally have one?
*is a noob here*

Well, this signature blatantly sucks. It'll be better someday, I swear.


  #75    
Old January 30th, 2009, 04:53 AM
ZX_Fear
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Gender:
I have a problem. I can't Prof. Oak to follow me. He can't go to the lab properly. I also go to some place automatically and I appear inside the lab! Anyway on how to fix this?
Post Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links


Advertise here
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 02:27 PM.

About Us
© 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com. Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.

Copyright
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com. PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator. Header artwork by Jordanice of deviantART.

Social Media
If you would like to stay up-to-date with us on the go, when we're down, or other such things, follow us on social media sites--most notibly Twitter, Facebook, and Google Plus--by clicking on the links provided.

Design presented by Peitharchia. Special thanks to Hiroshi Sotomura and Ausaudriel.