Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #3651    
Old April 18th, 2010 (11:07 AM).
Hyouri's Avatar
Hyouri
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: UK
Gender: Female
Nature: Gentle
Send a message via AIM to Hyouri
AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH!!!

IT WORKED!!

Thank you so, so much! Stupid me wasn't saving it correctly!!! Oh man, thank you so, so much!!! I'm so grateful!!! THANK YOU!!!!
  #3652    
Old April 18th, 2010 (11:12 AM).
forestw785's Avatar
forestw785
I divide by 0.
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Gender: Male
Quote originally posted by Hyouri:
AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH!!!

IT WORKED!!

Thank you so, so much! Stupid me wasn't saving it correctly!!! Oh man, thank you so, so much!!! I'm so grateful!!! THANK YOU!!!!
You weren't stupid haha. You just didn't know. It's okay, glad we could help you.

Bumping my question, now...


Need help with this:

Spoiler:
Okay, I set up a trainerbattle script with two characters so far. One works perfectly fine, no problems.

The other, however, I have problems with. I chose 0x05A as the first battle's trainer ID, and 0x05B as the second, and I know I compiled them separately (redone a few times), but no matter how much I do it, the second trainer still shows up with the same text and battle as the first one.

The first one is a female and the second is a male battle. I can easily tell the difference from the sprites.

I ended up changing the trainder ID to 0x05E to test that out, and the second trainer STILL was fighting as the first. I even deleted and remade the sprite 3 times. No dice. Anything specific I should change? Maybe I have the wrong trainerbattle 0x0? Before yesterday it had been about 2 or 3 months since I last scripted, so I'm a little rusty.

Spoiler:
#dynamic 0x800000

#org @start
trainerbattle 0x0 0x05E 0x0 @before @after
msgbox @beaten 0x6
release
end

#org @before
= Before battle text

#org @after
= In battle text

#org @beaten
= After battle text
__________________


  #3653    
Old April 18th, 2010 (11:26 AM).
Binary's Avatar
Binary
え?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Age: 20
Quote originally posted by forestw785:
You weren't stupid haha. You just didn't know. It's okay, glad we could help you. :)

Bumping my question, now...


Need help with this:

Spoiler:
Okay, I set up a trainerbattle script with two characters so far. One works perfectly fine, no problems.

The other, however, I have problems with. I chose 0x05A as the first battle's trainer ID, and 0x05B as the second, and I know I compiled them separately (redone a few times), but no matter how much I do it, the second trainer still shows up with the same text and battle as the first one.

The first one is a female and the second is a male battle. I can easily tell the difference from the sprites.

I ended up changing the trainder ID to 0x05E to test that out, and the second trainer STILL was fighting as the first. I even deleted and remade the sprite 3 times. No dice. Anything specific I should change? Maybe I have the wrong trainerbattle 0x0? Before yesterday it had been about 2 or 3 months since I last scripted, so I'm a little rusty.

Spoiler:
#dynamic 0x800000

#org @start
trainerbattle 0x0 0x05E 0x0 @before @after
msgbox @beaten 0x6
release
end

#org @before
= Before battle text

#org @after
= In battle text

#org @beaten
= After battle text
Which trainer editor are you using?
__________________
  #3654    
Old April 18th, 2010 (11:32 AM).
Buzimu's Avatar
Buzimu
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Game: Fire Red
Type: Person Event
Editor: Advanced Map/Pokescript
Script: The man is supposed to dissapear on fadescreen and the pokeball
is supposed to dissapear on interaction.

Spoiler:
#org $getPikachu
lock
faceplayer
givepokemon 25 5 0xCA
removesprite 7
setflag 0x1200
message $pop
$pop 1 = You Recieved A Pikachu!
boxset 6
applymovement 6 $move
$move 1 ; #binary 0x02 0x62 0x1F 0x1E 0xFE
pausemove 0x0000
message $plea
$plea
1 = Oh, you will take care if it,\nwon't you?\pThat Pikachu is my
prized\nPokemon.......\pNot only that, it is considered\nrare now a
days ever since\lthose Team Rocket thugs started\lhunting them all
down...\pPlease take good care of it!
boxset 6
fadescreen 1
removesprite 6
setflag 0x1201
pause 0x10
fadescreen 0
release
end

Screenshots and/or Videos: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pf0Vog88k2s
  #3655    
Old April 18th, 2010 (11:51 AM).
forestw785's Avatar
forestw785
I divide by 0.
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Gender: Male
Quote originally posted by Binary:
Which trainer editor are you using?
a-trainer.

is there a different one I should be using?

Quote originally posted by Buzimu:
Game: Fire Red
Type: Person Event
Editor: Advanced Map/Pokescript
Script: The man is supposed to dissapear on fadescreen and the pokeball
is supposed to dissapear on interaction.

Spoiler:
#org $getPikachu
lock
faceplayer
givepokemon 25 5 0xCA
removesprite 7
setflag 0x1200
message $pop
$pop 1 = You Recieved A Pikachu!
boxset 6
applymovement 6 $move
$move 1 ; #binary 0x02 0x62 0x1F 0x1E 0xFE
pausemove 0x0000
message $plea
$plea
1 = Oh, you will take care if it,\nwon't you?\pThat Pikachu is my
prized\nPokemon.......\pNot only that, it is considered\nrare now a
days ever since\lthose Team Rocket thugs started\lhunting them all
down...\pPlease take good care of it!
boxset 6
fadescreen 1
removesprite 6
setflag 0x1201
pause 0x10
fadescreen 0
release
end

Screenshots and/or Videos: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pf0Vog88k2s
You should use XSE scripting. It's easier, more support, and less buggy. Here's one of my starters script for XSE...

Spoiler:
#Dynamic 0x800000

#org @start
lock
faceplayer
checkflag 0x250
if 0x0 goto @want
if 0x1 goto @sorry
release
end

#org @want
showpokepic 0x01 0x0A 0x03
message @question 0x5
compare LASTRESULT 1
hidepokepic
if b_true goto @give
compare LASTRESULT 0
hidepokepic
if b_true goto @no
release
end

#org @question
= Do you want a Bulbasaur?

#org @give
setflag 0x828
setflag 0x250
givepokemon 0x01 0x5 0x0 0x0 0x0 0x0
fanfare 0x13E
waitfanfare
setflag 0x828
msgbox @yay 0x6
hidesprite 0x01
end

#org @no
msgbox @nope 0x6
release
end

#org @nope
= Please pick another Pokémon.

#org @sorry
msgbox @sry 0x6
end

#org @yay
= You got a Bulbasaur!

#org @sry
= I can't take anymore.



Good XSE Tutorial:
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=164276
__________________


  #3656    
Old April 18th, 2010 (12:12 PM).
Binary's Avatar
Binary
え?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Age: 20
@forestw785:
No, A-Trainer is fine.
My only suggestion for you is to use a different ID since I see nothing wrong with the script.
__________________
  #3657    
Old April 18th, 2010 (01:22 PM).
Buzimu's Avatar
Buzimu
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
i dont want to use a different script maker. can u just help me with the one i already have?
  #3658    
Old April 18th, 2010 (01:25 PM).
forestw785's Avatar
forestw785
I divide by 0.
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Gender: Male
Quote originally posted by Buzimu:
i dont want to use a different script maker. can u just help me with the one i already have?
No go buddy. Foullump is probably one of the few people who really knows how to (and still uses) use pokescript all that well anymore.
__________________


  #3659    
Old April 18th, 2010 (01:34 PM).
Buzimu's Avatar
Buzimu
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
all right.. :/ how do i get XSE scriptor?
  #3660    
Old April 18th, 2010 (01:39 PM).
Binary's Avatar
Binary
え?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Age: 20
Hackmew's thread in the toolbox!
Hackmew's thread in the toolbox!
__________________
  #3661    
Old April 19th, 2010 (04:10 PM).
shadix
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Gender: Male
Hi, I have a problem with setmaptile .... Namely, the problem is that, with the blocks and will turn now to the example I will come home and go out the blocks again, returning to previous form ... It may be possible that these blocks are not returned to previous form after the disappearance of sight?

Here is the script XSE:

Quote:
#dynamic 0x800000

#org @start
lock
faceplayer
checkflag 0x1008
checkflag 0x1003
if 0x1 goto @end
msgbox @text1 0x6
setflag 0x1008
release
end

#org @end
checkflag 0x1009
msgbox @text2 0x6
msgbox @text3 0x6
fadescreen 1
setmaptile 0x0C 0x03 0x01 0x0
setmaptile 0x0D 0x03 0x68 0x0
setmaptile 0x0C 0x04 0x01 0x0
setmaptile 0x0B 0x03 0x72 0x0
setmaptile 0x0D 0x04 0x78 0x0
setmaptile 0x0B 0x04 0x7A 0x0
pause 0x90
fadescreen 0
msgbox @text4 0x6
if 0x1 goto @end2
release
end

#org @end2
msgbox @text5 0x6
release
end

...........

TEXT

Sorry for Google translate. :( Please help me...
  #3662    
Old April 19th, 2010 (07:18 PM).
Shiny Quagsire's Avatar
Shiny Quagsire
I like .short's because they're comfy and easy to wear.
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Hoenn Safari Zone
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Ok, I have a question:

I need to find out how to make a trading script. I searched for some tutorials on xse, but none had a trading command.
Is there a specific xse command I can use?
__________________



  #3663    
Old April 19th, 2010 (11:51 PM).
HackMew's Avatar
HackMew
Mewtwo Strikes Back
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote originally posted by shiny quagsire:
Ok, I have a question:

I need to find out how to make a trading script. I searched for some tutorials on xse, but none had a trading command. :(
Is there a specific xse command I can use?
Why don't you just decompile an in-game trade script? Also, the XSE guide has some info about it.
__________________
  #3664    
Old April 20th, 2010 (03:25 AM).
Tropical Sunlight's Avatar
Tropical Sunlight
The Faltine
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Slovenia
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Tropical Sunlight
Quote originally posted by shadix:
Hi, I have a problem with setmaptile .... Namely, the problem is that, with the blocks and will turn now to the example I will come home and go out the blocks again, returning to previous form ... It may be possible that these blocks are not returned to previous form after the disappearance of sight?

Here is the script XSE:



Sorry for Google translate. Please help me...
I think you need a special 0x8E after those setmaptiles
__________________
  #3665    
Old April 20th, 2010 (04:38 AM).
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold
Oh Hai Thar~ 'ω'
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Quote originally posted by shadix:
Hi, I have a problem with setmaptile .... Namely, the problem is that, with the blocks and will turn now to the example I will come home and go out the blocks again, returning to previous form ... It may be possible that these blocks are not returned to previous form after the disappearance of sight?

Here is the script XSE:



Sorry for Google translate. Please help me...
you only need one special command if you want all new tiles to show up at one time.

Code:
#org @end
checkflag 0x1009
msgbox @text2 0x6
msgbox @text3 0x6
fadescreen 1
setmaptile 0x0C 0x03 0x01 0x0
setmaptile 0x0D 0x03 0x68 0x0
setmaptile 0x0C 0x04 0x01 0x0
setmaptile 0x0B 0x03 0x72 0x0
setmaptile 0x0D 0x04 0x78 0x0
setmaptile 0x0B 0x04 0x7A 0x0
special 0x8E
pause 0x90
fadescreen 0
msgbox @text4 0x6
if 0x1 goto @end2
release
end
__________________
#495 Snivy
Supporter Collab January 2015



  #3666    
Old April 20th, 2010 (06:36 AM). Edited April 20th, 2010 by shadix.
shadix
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Gender: Male
Thats no help....:( Special 0x8E don't help me...

Quote originally posted by destinedjagold:


you only need one special command if you want all new tiles to show up at one time.

Code:
#org @end
checkflag 0x1009
msgbox @text2 0x6
msgbox @text3 0x6
fadescreen 1
setmaptile 0x0C 0x03 0x01 0x0
setmaptile 0x0D 0x03 0x68 0x0
setmaptile 0x0C 0x04 0x01 0x0
setmaptile 0x0B 0x03 0x72 0x0
setmaptile 0x0D 0x04 0x78 0x0
setmaptile 0x0B 0x04 0x7A 0x0
special 0x8E
pause 0x90
fadescreen 0
msgbox @text4 0x6
if 0x1 goto @end2
release
end
Look et this:



Help.
  #3667    
Old April 20th, 2010 (01:26 PM).
Shiny Quagsire's Avatar
Shiny Quagsire
I like .short's because they're comfy and easy to wear.
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Hoenn Safari Zone
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
@shadix

Maybe you can put rocks there, and after you talk to that guy, they dissapear or your rival breaks them or something. It's just that mountains or hills don't vanish. :\
__________________



  #3668    
Old April 20th, 2010 (02:07 PM).
Binary's Avatar
Binary
え?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Age: 20
@shadix:
The fourth parameter must be set to 0x1 for the block to be blocked off. That's the problem with the second screen.
And for the tiles to be set permanently, you're going to have to make it a level script.
__________________
  #3669    
Old April 21st, 2010 (06:12 AM).
shadix
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Gender: Male
Hello.I have a question what exactly is the setvar function?
  #3670    
Old April 21st, 2010 (07:41 AM).
metapod23's Avatar
metapod23
Hardened Trainer
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Quote originally posted by shadix:
Hello.I have a question what exactly is the setvar function?
setvar means "set variable." A variable is a 4-digit number, like 0x5000. All variables are set to 0 when the game starts. The setvar command sets them to a different number. So:

setvar 0x5000 0x1

sets the variable to 1. What this does is allows scripts to be activated when you want them to be. If a script in A-Map is set to variable 5000 and 0000, it will activate whenever you first step on it, because variable 0x5000 is set to 0x0 from the start. However, if in the script you put "setvar 0x5000 0x1" the script won't activate any time afterwards, because it will now be set to 1, and the script in A-Map is saying to only activate when it's set to 0.

I hope that makes some sense.
__________________
  #3671    
Old April 21st, 2010 (08:19 AM).
saintsalive
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Gender: Male
Hey,
I don't have the time to read through the thread to see if this has been asked before and I'm panicking right now, so please just answer my question. PLEASE.
I downloaded your AdvanceIntroEd, and used it to remove the truck from Ruby. Now whenever I start the rom, I'm stuck in the truck. I need to know how to reverse this, or all my hard work has just been flushed down the toilet.
  #3672    
Old April 21st, 2010 (09:03 AM).
shadix
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Gender: Male
Quote originally posted by metapod23:
setvar means "set variable." A variable is a 4-digit number, like 0x5000. All variables are set to 0 when the game starts. The setvar command sets them to a different number. So:

setvar 0x5000 0x1

sets the variable to 1. What this does is allows scripts to be activated when you want them to be. If a script in A-Map is set to variable 5000 and 0000, it will activate whenever you first step on it, because variable 0x5000 is set to 0x0 from the start. However, if in the script you put "setvar 0x5000 0x1" the script won't activate any time afterwards, because it will now be set to 1, and the script in A-Map is saying to only activate when it's set to 0.

I hope that makes some sense.

Can you give an example of a script? :

To human 2 said something else after talking with the human 1
  #3673    
Old April 21st, 2010 (11:58 PM).
Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
Satoshi Ookami
Memento Mori
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Quote originally posted by shadix:
Can you give an example of a script? :

To human 2 said something else after talking with the human 1
It's nothing hard
The setvar 0x**** (random numbers) 0x1 can be put right after #org @something command
And as for the explanation... Just think of it as a setflag command for tile scripts :D
So once you put it into the script and you activate that script, that script will disappear from game =)
Just like setflag for NPC
__________________
ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack. | Previous Sign 2 | Previous Sign

Anime List | PSN Trophy List
  #3674    
Old April 22nd, 2010 (02:47 AM). Edited April 22nd, 2010 by shadix.
shadix
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Gender: Male
Quote originally posted by Ash493:
It's nothing hard ;)
The setvar 0x**** (random numbers) 0x1 can be put right after #org @something command ;)
And as for the explanation... Just think of it as a setflag command for tile scripts :D
So once you put it into the script and you activate that script, that script will disappear from game =)
Just like setflag for NPC :)
Can you specify a script? Example?
  #3675    
Old April 22nd, 2010 (03:13 AM).
Zeffy's Avatar
Zeffy
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: District 4
Gender: Other
Send a message via Skype™ to Zeffy
Quote originally posted by shadix:
Can you specify a script? Example?
Its not that hard. >.>

setvar is mostly used in level scripts. And an example, sure open the spoiler.

Spoiler:
Like HackMew always says:
Quote originally posted by HackMew:
What about decompiling some in-game scripts and figuring it out yourself?
__________________
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 05:57 PM.