Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub > Beginner’s Lounge
Reload this Page Script Help Thread (DO NOT REQUEST SCRIPTS)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Beginner’s Lounge Where all good (and bad) ideas start. This is the Beginner’s Lounge, where if you need a helping hand or want to develop your small ideas, you bring it here. We won't bite.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #3726    
Old April 29th, 2010 (12:06 PM).
locoroco's Avatar
locoroco locoroco is offline
Ginga Densetsu Weed ANIME PWNS
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Manati, Puerto rico
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 251
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to locoroco
how would i go to make a script that allows me to collect 8 badges in 4 different regions and register does badges per region?
also how to make it so it recognizes that iv'e collected 32 badges for pokemon fire red
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
Signature needs to be kept to a 600px x 400px area. Your long line of text pushes it over the limit. Put a few enters there and you will be able to get it inside the limits.
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
  #3727    
Old April 29th, 2010 (12:51 PM).
Binary's Avatar
Binary Binary is offline
え?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Age: 20
Posts: 3,994
@locoroco: You don't actually script that. In fact, I think it's not possible for 4 regions in a hack. You could give and check the badges using 'setflag' and 'checkflag'.
__________________
  #3728    
Old April 29th, 2010 (05:45 PM).
Shiny Quagsire's Avatar
Shiny Quagsire Shiny Quagsire is offline
Double Agent for Team Johto
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Hoenn Safari Zone
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 691
Is there any way to display a variable in a message box without a buffer? I've tried to combine buffers, but it doesn't work.
__________________



  #3729    
Old April 29th, 2010 (06:09 PM).
NarutoActor's Avatar
NarutoActor NarutoActor is offline
The rocks cry out to me
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Brooklyn/Marlboro
Age: 21
Gender: Female
Nature: Bashful
Posts: 1,975
Send a message via AIM to NarutoActor Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to NarutoActor
buffer string. so place your variables in the order of 8000-800A and buffer that string of data. Hope that helped.
__________________
~There are those people who understand hex, F the rest
  #3730    
Old April 30th, 2010 (04:13 AM).
Collen Collen is offline
I have returned.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 71
Ok... I need help with a trainer.
When I talk to him from the side it works...
But if I go in front of him, he walks up to me and the screen turns red and freezes.

I checked "Trainer", wrote veiw radius "0003" made Unknown "0003", everythioing, but it still freezes!
Also, after I beat him he sees me again and it freezes.

Here is my script:
Spoiler:
'---------------
#org 0x805B57
textcolor 0x0
trainerbattle 0x0 0x1E 0x0 0x8805B72 0x8805BAF
msgbox 0x8805BC2 MSG_NORMAL '"I still need to train, though!"
release
end


'---------
' Strings
'---------
#org 0x805B72
= I study at Smogen University!\nMy Pokémon are really smart!

#org 0x805BAF
= Nooo! Not again!

#org 0x805BC2
= I still need to train, though!
__________________

  #3731    
Old April 30th, 2010 (05:37 AM).
locoroco's Avatar
locoroco locoroco is offline
Ginga Densetsu Weed ANIME PWNS
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Manati, Puerto rico
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 251
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to locoroco
well i think your problem is the unknown value set it back to 0000 and the text color thing dont use it i pretty much copied/pasted your script the only difference is that i dint put the unknown value and the text color try it and tell me oh and it work flawlessly
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
Signature needs to be kept to a 600px x 400px area. Your long line of text pushes it over the limit. Put a few enters there and you will be able to get it inside the limits.
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
  #3732    
Old April 30th, 2010 (08:06 AM). Edited April 30th, 2010 by Nikolai Fox.
Nikolai Fox's Avatar
Nikolai Fox Nikolai Fox is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 200
I think my head is going to explode! I've been trying to get this ONE script to work for hours now. Little help please?

First here is the script:

-----------------------------
'---------------
#org 0x8001FD
lock
faceplayer
msgbox 0x880021E MSG_KEEPOPEN '"My name is Red. Let's battle[.]"
trainerbattle 0x3 0x1 0x0 0x880023E
fadescreen 0x1
fadescreen 0x0
hidesprite LASTTALKED
setflag 0x2000
release
end


'---------
' Strings
'---------
#org 0x80021E
= My name is Red. Let's battle[.]

#org 0x80023E
= [.]

------------------------------


Now the problem:

What I want to happen is: Battle the trainer, trainer disappears, jobs a good 'un.
Here's what happens: Battle the trainer, trainer disappears, leave area, come back and he's there again.

Also, sometimes he doesn't even show up first time. Sometimes I can enter where he is (viridian forest) and he's not there (on a new game), then I can leave and come back and he's there. Strange...

Person event number 12 and Person ID 2000, if that helps...
  #3733    
Old April 30th, 2010 (09:39 AM).
locoroco's Avatar
locoroco locoroco is offline
Ginga Densetsu Weed ANIME PWNS
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Manati, Puerto rico
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 251
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to locoroco
i think you forgot checkflag
checkflag 0x2000
if 0x1 goto @battled or watever pointer u wanna use
And in @battled or watever you just do this
#org @????
release
end

and find something to clear the sprite not hide it and that should help you a bit also that person id 2000 is kind of freaky but i dont know im not a expert scripter butttt i hope i helped a bit
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
Signature needs to be kept to a 600px x 400px area. Your long line of text pushes it over the limit. Put a few enters there and you will be able to get it inside the limits.
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
  #3734    
Old April 30th, 2010 (09:57 AM).
Xela's Avatar
Xela Xela is offline
Do you believe in yourself?
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: You know where.
Posts: 349
Quote originally posted by Nikolai Fox:
I think my head is going to explode! I've been trying to get this ONE script to work for hours now. Little help please?
Spoiler:

First here is the script:

-----------------------------
'---------------
#org 0x8001FD
lock
faceplayer
msgbox 0x880021E MSG_KEEPOPEN '"My name is Red. Let's battle[.]"
trainerbattle 0x3 0x1 0x0 0x880023E
fadescreen 0x1
fadescreen 0x0
hidesprite LASTTALKED
setflag 0x2000
release
end


'---------
' Strings
'---------
#org 0x80021E
= My name is Red. Let's battle[.]

#org 0x80023E
= [.]

------------------------------


Now the problem:

What I want to happen is: Battle the trainer, trainer disappears, jobs a good 'un.
Here's what happens: Battle the trainer, trainer disappears, leave area, come back and he's there again.

Also, sometimes he doesn't even show up first time. Sometimes I can enter where he is (viridian forest) and he's not there (on a new game), then I can leave and come back and he's there. Strange...

Person event number 12 and Person ID 2000, if that helps...
You need to add this after faceplayer or at the start of the script
Code:
checkflag 0x2000
if 0x1 goto @end
Then add this somewhere in the script
Code:
#org @end
release
end
Then it won't repeat itself.

And if you want the trainer to disappear in the fadescreen, you gotta have the hidesprite LASTTALKED between the fadescreen scripts.
__________________
  #3735    
Old April 30th, 2010 (10:15 AM).
Nikolai Fox's Avatar
Nikolai Fox Nikolai Fox is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 200
Thanks Alex. It worked perfectly but...Then I left the area, came back, he's still gone. Did the same about 5 more times and he just randomly re-appeared again?

'---------------
#org 0x8001E1
lock
faceplayer
checkflag 0x2000
if 0x1 goto 0x880020B
msgbox 0x880021E MSG_KEEPOPEN '"My name is Red. Battle me[.]"
trainerbattle 0x3 0x1 0x0 0x880023E
fadescreen 0x1
hidesprite LASTTALKED
fadescreen 0x0
setflag 0x2000
release
end

'---------------
#org 0x80020B
release
end


'---------
' Strings
'---------
#org 0x80021E
= My name is Red. Battle me[.]

#org 0x80023E
= [.]


There's the updated script. I've also attached a picture of how the person script is set up in A-Map.
Attached Images
File Type: png A-Map.png‎ (183.1 KB, 6 views) (Save to Dropbox)
  #3736    
Old April 30th, 2010 (10:47 AM).
Collen Collen is offline
I have returned.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 71
Quote originally posted by locoroco:
well i think your problem is the unknown value set it back to 0000 and the text color thing dont use it i pretty much copied/pasted your script the only difference is that i dint put the unknown value and the text color try it and tell me oh and it work flawlessly
Yeah, that worked.
Thanks!

@Nikolai Fox
After you talked to him, did you talk to anyone else?
You might have cleared the flag.
__________________

  #3737    
Old April 30th, 2010 (10:56 AM). Edited April 30th, 2010 by Nikolai Fox.
Nikolai Fox's Avatar
Nikolai Fox Nikolai Fox is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 200
I hadn't, and when I tried it does the exact same thing. It's just behaving really strangely, and the same happens when I try to make the script from scratch again. Here's what happens in detail:

I get to the end of Viridian Forest and there's like a 50% he will be there. If I leave and come back in, he will either still be there or have vanished. If I leave then return same again. So sometimes he's there sometimes he's not. I don't get it

Edit: I'm uploading a youtube video of it now, it's going to take about an hour though, I have terrible up speed :/
  #3738    
Old April 30th, 2010 (11:22 AM).
Binary's Avatar
Binary Binary is offline
え?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Age: 20
Posts: 3,994
@Nikolai Fox: Did you set the 'person ID' correctly?
__________________
  #3739    
Old April 30th, 2010 (11:25 AM). Edited April 30th, 2010 by Nikolai Fox.
Nikolai Fox's Avatar
Nikolai Fox Nikolai Fox is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 200
Edit: This problem has been solved. Thanks SwiftSign
  #3740    
Old April 30th, 2010 (11:39 AM).
Mana's Avatar
Mana Mana is offline
ARCHER
ModeratorCS
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK
Gender: Male
Posts: 6,157
Quote originally posted by Nikolai Fox:
I have no idea Binary. I have it set how it is in that picture I attached, I just named the person ID the same as the setflag. I got the event ID right I know that much :/

flag 0x2000 may be too high, change it to the 1000 region.
__________________
#teamHOENN
Moderator of The Roleplay Theatre
  #3741    
Old April 30th, 2010 (12:00 PM).
0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
Im comin' home...
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Superjail Penitentiary
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 1,816
Quote originally posted by SwiftSign:
flag 0x2000 may be too high, change it to the 1000 region.
Good clean flags range from 0x1000 to 0x3FFF, so I don't see why 0x2000 would be too high.
__________________
>Boot Jailbot
>Pass *****
.
.
Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
Greetings Warden
of Superjail Penitentiary
Awaiting user input...

>Display User_Info
╠══User Info══╣
Username:
0m3GA ARS3NAL
Age: 18
Sex: Male ♂
Race: Caucasian
Quote:
"What is this
I don't even..."

M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
╠══End of File══╣
Awaiting user input...

>
  #3742    
Old April 30th, 2010 (12:15 PM).
Nikolai Fox's Avatar
Nikolai Fox Nikolai Fox is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 200
I'm not sure Omega, but changing it from 2000 to 1000 worked a treat
  #3743    
Old April 30th, 2010 (02:57 PM).
Ninja Caterpie's Avatar
Ninja Caterpie Ninja Caterpie is offline
Sitting by the back window
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Best City OCE
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 5,989
You don't need the checkflag stuff, either. It's a waste of space, seeing as after you set the flag to 1000, he's gone forever and you're not talking to him again.
__________________
Brony represent.
  #3744    
Old May 1st, 2010 (10:33 AM).
Nikolai Fox's Avatar
Nikolai Fox Nikolai Fox is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 200
Quick question: How do you make it so a sprite starts off hidden, and becomes un-hidden when a script is activated? (A perfect example being Gary on S.S. Anne, I've looked at that script thoroughly and can't seem to find it :/)

Thanks.
  #3745    
Old May 1st, 2010 (11:12 AM).
NarutoActor's Avatar
NarutoActor NarutoActor is offline
The rocks cry out to me
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Brooklyn/Marlboro
Age: 21
Gender: Female
Nature: Bashful
Posts: 1,975
Send a message via AIM to NarutoActor Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to NarutoActor
set the sprite behavior to hidden. then in the beginning of the script applymovement @person @move

@move
#raw 0x61(show)
__________________
~There are those people who understand hex, F the rest
  #3746    
Old May 1st, 2010 (11:39 AM). Edited May 1st, 2010 by Nikolai Fox.
Nikolai Fox's Avatar
Nikolai Fox Nikolai Fox is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 200
Sorted :D please ignore this message.
  #3747    
Old May 2nd, 2010 (12:14 AM).
dr4g0n12's Avatar
dr4g0n12 dr4g0n12 is offline
Δράκος
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: The past
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 172
What is the special number for a move camera script in r\s?
__________________

DON’T LET THE SPIRIT OF ROCK DIE!!


Friend code: 0732 2275 5722

Pokemon Online Username: dr4g0n12
  #3748    
Old May 2nd, 2010 (02:27 AM).
Binary's Avatar
Binary Binary is offline
え?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Age: 20
Posts: 3,994
Quote originally posted by dr4g0n12:
What is the special number for a move camera script in r\s?
A move-camera script would look something like this.
Spoiler:

.
.
lockall
special 0x113
applymovement MOVE_CAMERA @mc2
waitmovement 0x0
special 0x114
releaseall
.
.
.

It's a portion of my script..
'lockall' locks all the OWs in the map. After 'lockall' you need special 0x113.
A special 0x114 after the movements, then 'releaseall'. Pretty simple, eh?
__________________
  #3749    
Old May 2nd, 2010 (01:45 PM).
Nikolai Fox's Avatar
Nikolai Fox Nikolai Fox is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 200
Game: Fire Red(US)

Okay I'm back..now with a movement script problem. Here is my script:

Spoiler:
'---------------
#org 0x16069F
lock
checkflag 0x64
if 0x1 goto 0x81607FD
msgbox 0x816081D MSG_NORMAL '"[blue_fr]Dad: Hey, where are you g..."
applymovement 0xFF 0x816081B
release
end

'---------------
#org 0x1607FD
release
end


'---------
' Strings
'---------
#org 0x16081D
= [blue_fr]Dad: Hey, where are you going? I\ntold you I need to speak to you.


'-----------
' Movements
'-----------
#org 0x16081B
#raw 0x11 'Step Up (Normal)
#raw 0xFE 'End of Movements


I want the message box to show up when the player steps on a tile, then move up one. The message box shows up but the player doesn't move :/
  #3750    
Old May 2nd, 2010 (01:59 PM).
Mana's Avatar
Mana Mana is offline
ARCHER
ModeratorCS
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK
Gender: Male
Posts: 6,157
Quote originally posted by Nikolai Fox:
Game: Fire Red(US)

Okay I'm back..now with a movement script problem. Here is my script:

Spoiler:
'---------------
#org 0x16069F
lock
checkflag 0x64
if 0x1 goto 0x81607FD
msgbox 0x816081D MSG_NORMAL '"[blue_fr]Dad: Hey, where are you g..."
applymovement 0xFF 0x816081B
release
end

'---------------
#org 0x1607FD
release
end


'---------
' Strings
'---------
#org 0x16081D
= [blue_fr]Dad: Hey, where are you going? I\ntold you I need to speak to you.


'-----------
' Movements
'-----------
#org 0x16081B
#raw 0x11 'Step Up (Normal)
#raw 0xFE 'End of Movements


I want the message box to show up when the player steps on a tile, then move up one. The message box shows up but the player doesn't move :/
you need waitmovement 0x0 after the applymovement.
__________________
#teamHOENN
Moderator of The Roleplay Theatre
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links

You may also like.. (Beta)
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 08:46 PM.