The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.


Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #6976    
Old June 15th, 2012, 03:24 PM
Teh Blazer's Avatar
Teh Blazer
Divider of Zero
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: 'MERICA
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrystalStatic View Post
You can do a "hidesprite" command on the sprite you want to change then right after that command do a "showsprite" command on the sprite you want the 1st sprite to change into.

EX:

......
hidesprite 0x03
setflag 0x1200
showsprite 0x04
......
Well, I wanted to avoid doing that, but if there isn't another way I guess I'll opt-out for that one. Thanks for the help.
__________________
Coming soon...
  #6977    
Old June 18th, 2012, 03:20 AM
lJdudel's Avatar
lJdudel
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Gender: Male
Game: Pokemon Fire Red
Type: Recieve Pokemon
Editor: PKSV
Script:
Spoiler:
#org 0x874029F
'-----------------------------------
lock
checkflag 0x200
if true jump 0x87402D9 ' Flag is set
setflag FR_POKEMON
countpokemon
compare LASTRESULT 0x6
if == jump 0x87402DB ' Equal To
setflag FR_POKEMON
setflag 0x291
addpokemon LARVITAR 5 NONE 0x0 0x0 0x0
setflag 0x200
storepokemon 0x0 LARVITAR
message 0x874030F ' You got a \v\h02!
release
end

#org 0x87402D9
'-----------------------------------
release
end

#org 0x87402DB
'-----------------------------------
msgbox 0x87402E5 ' You don't have enoug...
callstd MSG_NOCLOSE ' Non-closing message
release
' Release commands close any open messages
end


#org 0x874030F
= You got a \v\h02!

#org 0x87402E5
= You don't have enough room in your party.

Screenshots and/or videos: NA

The game freezes after I try and get my Pokemon, with this script.
  #6978    
Old June 18th, 2012, 04:33 AM
Magic's Avatar
Magic
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by lJdudel View Post
Game: Pokemon Fire Red
Type: Recieve Pokemon
Editor: PKSV
Script:
Spoiler:
#org 0x874029F
'-----------------------------------
lock
checkflag 0x200
if true jump 0x87402D9 ' Flag is set
setflag FR_POKEMON
countpokemon
compare LASTRESULT 0x6
if == jump 0x87402DB ' Equal To

setflag FR_POKEMON
setflag 0x291
addpokemon LARVITAR 5 NONE 0x0 0x0 0x0
setflag 0x200
storepokemon 0x0 LARVITAR
message 0x874030F ' You got a \v\h02!
release
end

#org 0x87402D9
'-----------------------------------
release
end

#org 0x87402DB
'-----------------------------------
msgbox 0x87402E5 ' You don't have enoug...
callstd MSG_NOCLOSE ' Non-closing message
release
' Release commands close any open messages
end



#org 0x874030F
= You got a \v\h02!

#org 0x87402E5
= You don't have enough room in your party.


Screenshots and/or videos: NA

The game freezes after I try and get my Pokemon, with this script.
I don't normally use PKSV but you can remove some parts of the script to make it simpler, which in turn might make it work.

Since it is your first Pokémon (judging by the Pokémon menu flag you asked for) there is no way the person will already have a full party, so we can totally remove the parts in bold (in the quote spoiler above).

Does the script freeze before the 'You got a Larvitar!' message? Do you get the message and then freezes? Does the script freeze as you leave the message? Any extra information would be helpful.

With:

addpokemon LARVITAR 5 NONE 0x0 0x0 0x0

Should the NONE be 0x0 instead? Looking at this tutorial it might be the possible cause.
__________________
  #6979    
Old June 18th, 2012, 05:26 AM
lJdudel's Avatar
lJdudel
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by SwiftSign View Post


I don't normally use PKSV but you can remove some parts of the script to make it simpler, which in turn might make it work.

Since it is your first Pokémon (judging by the Pokémon menu flag you asked for) there is no way the person will already have a full party, so we can totally remove the parts in bold (in the quote spoiler above).

Does the script freeze before the 'You got a Larvitar!' message? Do you get the message and then freezes? Does the script freeze as you leave the message? Any extra information would be helpful.

With:

addpokemon LARVITAR 5 NONE 0x0 0x0 0x0

Should the NONE be 0x0 instead? Looking at tutorial it might be the possible cause.
I deleted and edited what you said, and it still freezes. Also, it freezes the instant I hit "A" on the Pokeball.
  #6980    
Old June 18th, 2012, 11:54 AM
Ach7AC's Avatar
Ach7AC
Mime Jr.
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Gender: Male
Technically, my script is working as intended, except for the last part. My message appears and the move command works, but after the script is done, the player character freezes and does not move. Any help here?

#dynamic 0x162173

#org @start
lock
faceplayer
checkflag 0x1000
if 0x0 goto @hey
release
end

#org @hey
applymovement 0xFF @move
waitmovement 0x0
msgbox @safe 0x6
release
end

#org @move
#raw 0x1
#raw 0x12
#raw 0x3

#org @safe
= For your safety, I cannot allow\nyou to leave COVE TOWN without a\lPOKEMON.
  #6981    
Old June 18th, 2012, 12:15 PM
Magic's Avatar
Magic
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ach7AC View Post
Technically, my script is working as intended, except for the last part. My message appears and the move command works, but after the script is done, the player character freezes and does not move. Any help here?

Spoiler:
#dynamic 0x162173

#org @start
lock
faceplayer
checkflag 0x1000
if 0x0 goto @hey
release
end

#org @hey
applymovement 0xFF @move
waitmovement 0x0
msgbox @safe 0x6
release
end

#org @move
#raw 0x1
#raw 0x12
#raw 0x3

#org @safe
= For your safety, I cannot allow\nyou to leave COVE TOWN without a\lPOKEMON.
Here is your problem:

#org @move
#raw 0x1
#raw 0x12
#raw 0x3
#raw 0xFE

You always need to end your movements with #raw 0xFE, as that ends the movement pointer and returns to end your script properly.
__________________
  #6982    
Old June 20th, 2012, 01:02 AM
qwerty1232123
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Gender: Male
i wrote script- person event. just that the person will say Hello. but in the game when i talk with the person it writes what he say in strange symbol (5 same symbols). i changed the text for Hi and it writes 2 same symbols. anyone know what is the problem? i think that maybe it doesnt succeed to read the text...
any solutions?
thank you
  #6983    
Old June 20th, 2012, 02:51 AM
Magic's Avatar
Magic
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by qwerty1232123 View Post
i wrote script- person event. just that the person will say Hello. but in the game when i talk with the person it writes what he say in strange symbol (5 same symbols). i changed the text for Hi and it writes 2 same symbols. anyone know what is the problem? i think that maybe it doesnt succeed to read the text...
any solutions?
thank you
Posting the script is the best way to look for help.

But from what I can tell this is probably a compiling error.

If using XSE make sure you are using #dynamic 0x800000 and blank @pointers rather than numbers which you got from FSF or otherwise.
__________________

Last edited by Magic; June 21st, 2012 at 02:39 PM.
  #6984    
Old June 20th, 2012, 11:41 AM
Renegade's Avatar
Renegade
Time for real life...
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United States
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Quote:
Originally Posted by SwiftSign View Post


Posting the script is the best way to look for help.

But from what I can tell this is probably a compiling error.

If using XSE make sure you are using #dynamic 0x80000 and blank @pointers rather than numbers which you got from FSF or otherwise.
You mean #dynamic 0x800000? Haha, you might want to fix your reply...
  #6985    
Old June 20th, 2012, 12:42 PM
thanethane98's Avatar
thanethane98
Self Proclaimed Expert
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Nature: Relaxed
Hello! I'm trying to make a script that causes a message to display after the battle, and then have the screen fade to black. Afterwards, it needs to fade back in and all of the sprites/people on the map need to be gone. I tried looking at the script at Silph Co., but when I try to recreate it I get an error. After the battle, they just vanish for a second and reappear when you take a step. I'm sorry if I've made some very bad mistakes with my script, I'm very knew to trying to script. So how would I make the script work correctly?
Game: Pokemon Firered
Editor: PKSV
Type: Person Event
Script:
Spoiler:
trainerbattle 0x0 0xD3 0x0 0x874117D 0x87411C1
msgbox 0x87411E6 ' Humph. Go ahead and ...
callstd MSG_NOCLOSE ' Non-closing message
closemsg
fadescreen FADEOUT_BLACK
disappear 0x1
disappear 0x2
disappear 0x3
fadescreen FADEIN_BLACK
setflag 0xFB
releaseall
end

Last edited by thanethane98; June 20th, 2012 at 12:50 PM.
  #6986    
Old June 20th, 2012, 09:08 PM
hinkage's Avatar
hinkage
Go make some new disaster
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Age: 18
I've expanded my Emerald ROM to 32 MB. No script editor lets me use any offset greater than 0xFFFFFF; if I try to, it glitches and assigns everything to offset 0x10000001. What the hell do I do.
  #6987    
Old June 21st, 2012, 12:08 AM
tajaros's Avatar
tajaros
Hi I'm dawg
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philippines
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to tajaros
Quote:
Originally Posted by hinkage View Post
I've expanded my Emerald ROM to 32 MB. No script editor lets me use any offset greater than 0xFFFFFF; if I try to, it glitches and assigns everything to offset 0x10000001. What the hell do I do.
Then don't use an offset greater than 0xFFFFFF simple as that....
__________________
  #6988    
Old June 21st, 2012, 02:11 AM
lJdudel's Avatar
lJdudel
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Gender: Male
Game: Pokemon Fire Red
Type: Movement
Editor: PKSV
Script:
Spoiler:
#dyn 0x740000
#org @start
lock
faceplayer
msgbox @text ' Hey! You should see\nProffesor Crane to get\na POK\eMON!
callstd MSG_NORMAL
release
end

#org @text
= Hey! You should see\nProffesor Crane to get\na POK\eMON!

#org @applymovement
m walk_right walk_right walk_down end

#org @applymovement
m walk_up walk_left walk_left end


The problem is, after I compile the script and insert it, it turns into

Spoiler:
#dyn 0x740000
#org @start
lock
faceplayer
msgbox @text ' Hey! You should see\nProffesor Crane to get\na POK\eMON!
callstd MSG_NORMAL
release
end

#org @text
= Hey! You should see\nProffesor Crane to get\na POK\eMON!


It gets rid of the movements! What can I do to fix it?
  #6989    
Old June 21st, 2012, 05:51 AM
hinkage's Avatar
hinkage
Go make some new disaster
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Age: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by tajaros View Post
Then don't use an offset greater than 0xFFFFFF simple as that.... :)
If I DON'T use my expanded space, music gets corrupted. Emerald does that. Common knowledge.
  #6990    
Old June 21st, 2012, 09:46 AM
Hadesminion13
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Gender:
Quote:
Originally Posted by hinkage View Post
If I DON'T use my expanded space, music gets corrupted. Emerald does that. Common knowledge.
How exactly would you use an offset above 0xFFFFFF? In the hex 'alphabet' it doesn't go past 'F,' sorry if I just don't understand it but it seems the only logical way to continue from that point would be for the program to go back to 0x1... etc...

(I actually do want to know this, because I plan on making my own hack from Emerald and I didn't even know you could expand the ROM :/)

ANYWAYS...

Kind of related to my issue above, I'm scripting a new beginning for the game. I'm not that far, but I found a program to change the starting location for the game and that worked out, so I have two questions:

1) Is there any way to remove the 'earthquake' animation and the stopping and pausing that happens in the truck from my new map? I cleared out all the map scripts but it still happens :/

2) I have a script:

Code:
#dynamic 0xE00000

#org @start
lockall
applymovement 0xFF @jump
waitmovement 0xFF
fadescreen 0x1
warpmuted 0x24 0x52 0xFF 0x06 0x06
fadescreen 0x0
releaseall
end

#org @jump
#raw 0x0C 0xFE
This is on a tile, and the tile isn't the actual problem... This is what happens:

My character jumps down into the 'hole' like he's supposed to and then the screen fades... like it's supposed to.

Here's the problem, after it fades it just crashes the game, not freezes but completely crashes.

The new map I'm trying to warp to is a 13x13 map overwriting the entrance to New Mauville, using the same tilesets as it. The whole map is just black tiles (Except for a sign), with script tiles making a circle around where the player warps to on the ground, there are 26 script tiles in the circle, so my thought is that there are way to many scripts in one map, but that's kind of a problem because I want the player to be able to 'play a part' in the entrance to the game.

I might add that I have absolutely no idea what the exit # is in the warp command, I just saw a few in-game scripts using that and it worked in my re-make of the 'getting out of the truck, talking to your mom, and going into the house' sequence.

Also, do scripts keep going after you warp? That would be really useful because I could make a whole 'cutscene,' but if not that sucks because then I have to use a level script just to frickin' fade the screen back to normal :/

Sorry for the novel, just have a lot of problems and I'm running on my phone's Wifi tethering (Stupid step dad disabled the cable) so I need to hit around 10-20 birds with one slow-moving stone lol.
__________________

Feed Me!

Adopted from Valenth
  #6991    
Old June 21st, 2012, 02:41 PM
Magic's Avatar
Magic
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hadesminion13 View Post
Code:
#dynamic 0xE00000

#org @start
lockall
applymovement 0xFF @jump
waitmovement 0xFF
fadescreen 0x1
warpmuted 0x24 0x52 0xFF 0x06 0x06
fadescreen 0x0
releaseall
end

#org @jump
#raw 0x0C 0xFE
From the looks of it, unless you have loads and loads of maps, you have put the map bank and map number in decimal, rather than hex.

Try:

warpmuted 0x18 0x34 0xFF 0x6 0x6
__________________
  #6992    
Old June 21st, 2012, 06:59 PM
thanethane98's Avatar
thanethane98
Self Proclaimed Expert
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Nature: Relaxed
Hey everyone, sorry for making a second post. After posting a couple of days ago to try and get help with my script, I started doing a bit more looking around and was able to fix up my script a bit. I've managed to make it work a bit better by using applymovement (which involved me completely switching over to using XSE instead of PKSV), but now I'm stumped on how to fix another problem I have with the script. When I, say, go to a different room and come back, the sprite that vanished is there again. I thought that by having my flags set up I'd be able to stop this, but apparantly not. Can anybody point out what I'm doing wrong here?

Game: Pokemon Firered
Type: Movement/Person Event
Editor: XSE
Script:
Spoiler:
'---------------
#org 0x806E58
lock
faceplayer
checkflag 0x200
if 0x1 goto 0x8806E84
trainerbattle 0x0 0xD3 0x0 0x8806E87 0x8806EC5
goto 0x8806E77

'---------------
#org 0x806E84
end

'---------------
#org 0x806E77
fadescreen 0x1
applymovement 0x2 0x8806F53
fadescreen 0x0
setflag 0x200
release
end


'---------
' Strings
'---------
#org 0x806E87
= I'm the best GRUNT on this floor!\pDo you think you can win?

#org 0x806EC5
= MAGIKARP, why did you fail me?


'-----------
' Movements
'-----------
#org 0x806F53
#raw 0x60 'Hide
#raw 0xFE 'End of Movements
  #6993    
Old June 21st, 2012, 08:23 PM
Hadesminion13
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Gender:
Ugh I feel sooo stupid, thank you soo much SwiftSign I'd still be stuck if not for you. :D


Thane, did you set the sprite's PID to the flag? Also, lmao @ "Magikarp, you failed me!"
__________________

Feed Me!

Adopted from Valenth
  #6994    
Old June 21st, 2012, 09:18 PM
tajaros's Avatar
tajaros
Hi I'm dawg
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philippines
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to tajaros
Quote:
Originally Posted by thanethane98 View Post
Hey everyone, sorry for making a second post. After posting a couple of days ago to try and get help with my script, I started doing a bit more looking around and was able to fix up my script a bit. I've managed to make it work a bit better by using applymovement (which involved me completely switching over to using XSE instead of PKSV), but now I'm stumped on how to fix another problem I have with the script. When I, say, go to a different room and come back, the sprite that vanished is there again. I thought that by having my flags set up I'd be able to stop this, but apparantly not. Can anybody point out what I'm doing wrong here?

Game: Pokemon Firered
Type: Movement/Person Event
Editor: XSE
Script:
Spoiler:
'---------------
#org 0x806E58
lock
faceplayer
checkflag 0x200
if 0x1 goto 0x8806E84
trainerbattle 0x0 0xD3 0x0 0x8806E87 0x8806EC5
goto 0x8806E77

'---------------
#org 0x806E84
end

'---------------
#org 0x806E77
fadescreen 0x1
applymovement 0x2 0x8806F53
fadescreen 0x0
setflag 0x200
release
end


'---------
' Strings
'---------
#org 0x806E87
= I'm the best GRUNT on this floor!\pDo you think you can win?

#org 0x806EC5
= MAGIKARP, why did you fail me?


'-----------
' Movements
'-----------
#org 0x806F53
#raw 0x60 'Hide
#raw 0xFE 'End of Movements
Instead of using #raw 0x60 and applymovement to person event #2 try doing a "hidesprite" command so instead of using that use hidesprite 0x2 and input a flag so the person wont appear again...
__________________
  #6995    
Old June 22nd, 2012, 04:04 PM
Boyd's Avatar
Boyd
Beginning Scripter
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Hey everyone, I'm having a little problem with changing Text Color in FireRed.

It seems that whenever I introduce a color change in a line of text, it just mashes all other text in the script together whenever I run the game... For example:

Code:
#org 0x8007F2
= [green_fr][player][black_fr]: Huh? Who are you?\nWhere am I?
Will turn into:
Code:
#org 0x8007F2
= [green_fr][player][black_fr]: Huh? Who are you?\nWhere am[orange_fr]Stranger[black_fr]: Aha! Good you are\nfinally here!\pI don't have too much time to\nexplain, meet me further in the\lforest and all will soon be cle[green_fr][player][black_fr]: What a weird guy!\nI wonder what this place is...\pShould I follow him?\nI guess I have no other choice...
The other text is two completely seperate messages within the same script that just seems to be thrown into this when I compile, and the same thing happens for the other 2 messages. In-game it is just a complete mess of random text...

If anyone knows how to fix this, or why this error occurs, that would be greatly appreciated! I can also post the whole code if needed to clarify, but like I said this only happened when I added color, it originally worked fine.

Thanks! -Boyd

P.S. Wasn't sure if this should be in "Script Help" or here, since it's still a quick question so sorry if I chose the wrong spot!

Last edited by Boyd; June 22nd, 2012 at 04:13 PM.
  #6996    
Old June 22nd, 2012, 04:15 PM
tajaros's Avatar
tajaros
Hi I'm dawg
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philippines
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to tajaros
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boyd View Post
Hey everyone, I'm having a little problem with changing Text Color in FireRed.

It seems that whenever I introduce a color change in a line of text, it just mashes all other text in the script together whenever I run the game... For example:

Code:
#org 0x8007F2
= [green_fr][player][black_fr]: Huh? Who are you?\nWhere am I?
Will turn into:
Code:
#org 0x8007F2
= [green_fr][player][black_fr]: Huh? Who are you?\nWhere am[orange_fr]Stranger[black_fr]: Aha! Good you are\nfinally here!\pI don't have too much time to\nexplain, meet me further in the\lforest and all will soon be cle[green_fr][player][black_fr]: What a weird guy!\nI wonder what this place is...\pShould I follow him?\nI guess I have no other choice...
The other text is two completely seperate messages within the same script that just seems to be thrown into this when I compile, and the same thing happens for the other 2 messages. In-game it is just a complete mess of random text...

If anyone knows how to fix this, or why this error occurs, that would be greatly appreciated! I can also post the whole code if needed to clarify, but like I said this only happened when I added color, it originally worked fine.

Thanks! -Boyd

P.S. Wasn't sure if this should be in "Script Help" or here, since it's still a quick question so sorry if I chose the wrong spot!
This happened to me alot of times....
Try repointing the offsets and see if it works....
__________________
  #6997    
Old June 22nd, 2012, 04:23 PM
DrFuji's Avatar
DrFuji
repeat repeat repeat
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Upside-downia
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boyd View Post
Hey everyone, I'm having a little problem with changing Text Color in FireRed.

It seems that whenever I introduce a color change in a line of text, it just mashes all other text in the script together whenever I run the game... For example:

Code:
#org 0x8007F2
= [green_fr][player][black_fr]: Huh? Who are you?\nWhere am I?
Will turn into:
Code:
#org 0x8007F2
= [green_fr][player][black_fr]: Huh? Who are you?\nWhere am[orange_fr]Stranger[black_fr]: Aha! Good you are\nfinally here!\pI don't have too much time to\nexplain, meet me further in the\lforest and all will soon be cle[green_fr][player][black_fr]: What a weird guy!\nI wonder what this place is...\pShould I follow him?\nI guess I have no other choice...
The other text is two completely seperate messages within the same script that just seems to be thrown into this when I compile, and the same thing happens for the other 2 messages. In-game it is just a complete mess of random text...

If anyone knows how to fix this, or why this error occurs, that would be greatly appreciated! :) I can also post the whole code if needed to clarify, but like I said this only happened when I added color, it originally worked fine.

Thanks! -Boyd

P.S. Wasn't sure if this should be in "Script Help" or here, since it's still a quick question so sorry if I chose the wrong spot!
After inserting the scripts into your ROM, are you opening them through Advance Map and trying to edit them from there? That's what I believe you are doing, which isn't good practice and is the reason why your commands are becoming garbled.

You need to have dynamic pointers (@talk, @move etc.) rather than static pointers (0x8801199, 0x880115A etc.) which you receive when you open a script from Advance Map. If you are working with static pointers, like you have shown by posting your scripts here straight from being opened in Advance Map, then you can't make them longer at all - This is because XSE will automatically overwrite what ever data you have at the address that you have specified with static pointers. Here is an example of what I'm talking about:

Code:
#org 0x80004E
lockall
applymovement 0x1 0x8800064
waitmovement 0x1
msgbox 0x8800067 0x2
releaseall
end

#org 0x800064
#raw 0x11
#raw 0xFE

#org 0x800067
= Hello world!
In this fake script I have opened straight from Advance Map and cleaned up a little you see that I am using static pointers that tell me what offset parts of the script are assigned to. If I suddenly realised that the OW I'm moving needs to step upwards three more times and subsequently added three more 'raw 0x11's to his movements and then compiled the script again, this is what it would look like once I reload it:

Code:
#org 0x80004E
lockall
applymovement 0x1 0x8800064
waitmovement 0x1
msgbox 0x8800067 0x2
releaseall
end

#org 0x800064
#raw 0x11
#raw 0x11
#raw 0x11
#raw 0x11
#raw 0xFE

#org 0x800067
= Ù\nllo world!
As you can see, the text in the message box has now been corrupted and is unusable, as the extra movement data that I added has overwritten three bytes of what was otherwise perfectly legible text. This is the problem with static offsets, you can't add any data that would otherwise expand the size of your script. It is good for quickly altering small things like changing values, variables used and stuff that won't lengthen your script, but it is otherwise improper for everyday scripting use.

Once you've finished writing a new script (with dynamic pointers, not static pointers from Advance Map), I would advise saving it as a .rbc file, which is as easy as going to 'File > Save As' and saving your script as you would any other program. This way you can open up your script in the future with your dynamic pointers already in place and reinsert it again if you need to lengthen it.
  #6998    
Old June 22nd, 2012, 04:51 PM
Boyd's Avatar
Boyd
Beginning Scripter
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Oh okay yes I understand what you are saying, and Yeah as you can tell I'm a rookie

Thank you for your help in explaining this and for the quick reply, it makes sense as to why it wasn't working, it was driving me crazy! I've been trying to save the .rbc files as I go, so it shouldn't be too much trouble to fix it up. I'm just making a hack for the fun of it, and it's nice to have helpful people willing to give you a hand when you need it

Thanks again!
- Boyd
  #6999    
Old June 23rd, 2012, 02:41 PM
shareosman
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Gender: Male
Firstly, sorry for my bad grammar.

What the script to change the sprite of player during the game? Is it really possible?

Game: Fire Red

Thanks for helping.
  #7000    
Old June 23rd, 2012, 02:44 PM
Magic's Avatar
Magic
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by shareosman View Post
Firstly, sorry for my bad grammar.

What the script to change the sprite of player during the game? Is it really possible?

Game: Fire Red

Thanks for helping.
Changing the sprite in FR needs ASM, or you can use a ROM patched with JPAN's FireRed Engine.
__________________
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 02:45 AM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.