Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > Tools, Tutorials & Resources
Reload this Page [Tutorial] diegoisawesome's MEGA-HUGE XSE Scripting Tutorial

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #626    
Old June 18th, 2011 (12:20 AM).
Rickk12345's Avatar
Rickk12345 Rickk12345 is offline
Wants to Map and Sprite!!
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Posts: 60
Quote originally posted by Spherical Ice:
Well the script's fine. Are you sure you set the Unknown of the script to 03 and the Var of the script to 4050?
Well, I didn't do that, because it isn't a script tile, but a sprite tile. You can give a sprite tile a unknown number but you can't give it a var number. So that's probably where it went wrong?

Btw thanks for all your help!!!!
__________________
Come and join PHG! If you're fast, you can be a Moderator!
Reply With Quote
  #627    
Old June 18th, 2011 (12:22 AM).
Spherical Ice's Avatar
Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is offline
Team Rocket Grunt would like to battle!
ModeratorCS
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Leicester, UK
Posts: 3,694
Oh, it's a person script? damn I need to read more. Um...not sure why it's not working.
__________________

"Develop amnesia conveniently and forget everything you've heard!"
spheal clicker | rom hacking | pokémon gaia
staff antagonists collab 2015
Reply With Quote
  #628    
Old June 18th, 2011 (12:25 AM).
Rickk12345's Avatar
Rickk12345 Rickk12345 is offline
Wants to Map and Sprite!!
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Posts: 60
Quote originally posted by Spherical Ice:
Oh, it's a person script? damn I need to read more. Um...not sure why it's not working.
Haha okay. I think it's really obvious, a really dumb mistake XD çause not even a simple talk script works :\
__________________
Come and join PHG! If you're fast, you can be a Moderator!
Reply With Quote
  #629    
Old June 19th, 2011 (05:28 AM).
jvpski3 jvpski3 is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: 739 Long Street, Eterna City
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 177
Where can I find XSE? I'm helping Drayano with some new hacks, but I need to know where is XSE?
Reply With Quote
  #630    
Old June 20th, 2011 (06:21 AM).
Rickk12345's Avatar
Rickk12345 Rickk12345 is offline
Wants to Map and Sprite!!
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Posts: 60
Hey I have a problem. I can't make text scripts. But when I make a script which moves the player, and then display a message (textbox) only thing that happens, is the moving part. It works smooth and correct, only no message Any help?
__________________
Come and join PHG! If you're fast, you can be a Moderator!
Reply With Quote
  #631    
Old June 20th, 2011 (12:40 PM).
soulryu's Avatar
soulryu soulryu is offline
Pirate Trainer
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Argentina,Mendoza
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 35
Send a message via Skype™ to soulryu
How can you find Flags value and know which ones are being used??? is there a tool 4 that???
Reply With Quote
  #632    
Old June 21st, 2011 (12:20 AM).
Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is offline
Memento Mori
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 13,289
Quote originally posted by Rickk12345:
Hey I have a problem. I can't make text scripts. But when I make a script which moves the player, and then display a message (textbox) only thing that happens, is the moving part. It works smooth and correct, only no message Any help?
We'd like to see your script. That way we can help you more.

Quote originally posted by soulryu:
How can you find Flags value and know which ones are being used??? is there a tool 4 that???
Just check diegoisawesome's scripting tutorial thread =)
I think it's in XSE but that thread is easier :D
__________________
ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack. | Previous Sign 2 | Previous Sign

Anime List | PSN Trophy List
Reply With Quote
  #633    
Old June 21st, 2011 (05:49 AM).
[I]-Hac*ker.'s Avatar
[I]-Hac*ker. [I]-Hac*ker. is offline
Touko Fan <3
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Posts: 36
Quote originally posted by Ash493:
We'd like to see your script. That way we can help you more.


Just check diegoisawesome's scripting tutorial thread =)
I think it's in XSE but that thread is easier :D
Thanks! It's just a simple script like this:

Code:
#dynamic 0x800000

#org @start
lock
faceplayer
msgbox @hi 0x6
release
end

#org @hi
= Hi!
And when I made a script with applymovement and a textbox, the applymovement part went great, but still no textbox. I also tried replacing msbox with message, didn't help either. And I also used another ROM: still no luck
Reply With Quote
  #634    
Old June 24th, 2011 (10:18 AM).
aperso's Avatar
aperso aperso is offline
Please feel free to VM rndom fruit types.
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: I live nowhere
Age: 16
Nature: Brave
Posts: 170
Quote originally posted by [I]-Hac*ker.:
Thanks! It's just a simple script like this:

Code:
#dynamic 0x800000

#org @start
lock
faceplayer
msgbox @hi 0x6
release
end

#org @hi
= Hi!
And when I made a script with applymovement and a textbox, the applymovement part went great, but still no textbox. I also tried replacing msbox with message, didn't help either. And I also used another ROM: still no luck
there should be nothing wrong with that script. must be a bug on the rom
__________________
Visit ROM Hackers Online, the next best thing in ROM Hacking covering all video games with research, guides and tutorials to help you become a better hacker.

Reply With Quote
  #635    
Old June 24th, 2011 (11:22 PM).
Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is offline
Memento Mori
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 13,289
It must be ROM because there's really nothing wrong with it...
But there is one thing you can try.
Instead of msgbox @hi 0x6 write this:
Code:
msgbox @hi
callstd 0x6
I know callstd is additional command and it occupies 1 byte more but it might fix your problem.
__________________
ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack. | Previous Sign 2 | Previous Sign

Anime List | PSN Trophy List
Reply With Quote
  #636    
Old June 30th, 2011 (07:02 AM). Edited June 30th, 2011 by Mr.Alabas.
Mr.Alabas's Avatar
Mr.Alabas Mr.Alabas is offline
The Beloved, The Esteemed
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Alabama
Gender: Male
Nature: Naive
Posts: 2
Okay so I made this script for a character in the protagonist's house at the beginning of the game, but every time I click "New Game" to start the ROM returns to the opening screen. I'm sure that I've done something wrong with the script, but can someone tell me what that might be? Thanks.

Btw, the top script is the one I get when I click VIEW SCRIPT on Advance Map of the character I've inserted. The one I wrote is below it.

Quote:
'---------------
#org 0x8007E5
lock
faceplayer
checkflag 0x201
if 0x1 goto 0x8800865
msgbox 0x8800808 0x6 '"Oh, hello there.\pYou must be the ..."
applymovement 0x2 0x880085B
waitmovement 0x0
setflag 0x201
release
end

'---------------
#org 0x800865
release
end


'---------
' Strings
'---------
#org 0x800808
= Oh, hello there.\pYou must be the owner of this house.\n...\pI'll be on my way now.


'-----------
' Movements
'-----------
#org 0x80085B
#raw 0x8 'Step Down (Normal)
#raw 0xB 'Step Right (Normal)
#raw 0xB 'Step Right (Normal)
#raw 0xB 'Step Right (Normal)
#raw 0xB 'Step Right (Normal)
#raw 0x9 'Step Up (Normal)
#raw 0x9 'Step Up (Normal)
#raw 0x9 'Step Up (Normal)
#raw 0xFE 'End of Movements
Quote:
#dynamic 0x8007D7
#org @start
lock
faceplayer
checkflag 0x201
if 0x1 go to @done
msgbox @1 0x6
applymovement 0x02 @move
waitmovement 0x0
release
end

#org @1
= Oh, hello there.\pYou must be the owner of this house.\n...\pI'll be on my way now.

#org @move
#raw 0x08
#raw 0x0B
#raw 0x0B
#raw 0x0B
#raw 0x0B
#raw 0x09
#raw 0x09
#raw 0x09
#raw 0xFE
And, of course, there's a

#org @done
release
end

at the end of both scripts.
Reply With Quote
  #637    
Old July 1st, 2011 (09:12 AM).
[I]-Hac*ker.'s Avatar
[I]-Hac*ker. [I]-Hac*ker. is offline
Touko Fan <3
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Posts: 36
Quote originally posted by Mr.Alabas:
Okay so I made this script for a character in the protagonist's house at the beginning of the game, but every time I click "New Game" to start the ROM returns to the opening screen. I'm sure that I've done something wrong with the script, but can someone tell me what that might be? Thanks.

Btw, the top script is the one I get when I click VIEW SCRIPT on Advance Map of the character I've inserted. The one I wrote is below it.



And, of course, there's a

#org @done
release
end

at the end of both scripts.
In my experience, it only works when I'd do this:

Code:
#dynamic 0x8007D7
#org @start
lock
faceplayer
checkflag 0x201
if 0x0 go to @notdone
release
end

#org @notdone
msgbox @1 0x6
applymovement 0x02 @move
waitmovement 0x0
release
end

#org @1
= Oh, hello there.\pYou must be the owner of this house.\n...\pI'll be on my way now.

#org @move
#raw 0x08
#raw 0x0B
#raw 0x0B
#raw 0x0B
#raw 0x0B
#raw 0x09
#raw 0x09
#raw 0x09
#raw 0xFE
So instead of pointing it to @done (where it won't do anything) when the flag is set, I made it go to notdone when the flag isn't set.
I can't tell you why, but out of personal experience I can say that pointing to somewhere where it doesn't have to do anything, doesn't work (with me). I hope this helped you.

I have got a question myself. Great guide, and good tutorial on Level scripts. But how can I make 2 level scripts in 1 map? I set different variables, but when I put level script 1 at the left of the map, I test it, works fine, and if I would put level script 2 at the right, when I'd test it, on the left (where script 1 would be) it will run script 2. So it overwrites the previous level script on that map, I'm guessing. But I can't believe there can only be one level script on a map... And also, the second script has to be activated after a trainer battle, are the settings the same as when entering a house etc.?
I tried messing around with it, no luck.
How can I implement 2 level scripts in 1 map?
__________________





Quote originally posted by [I]-Hac*ker.:
You know you're a computer nerd, when at a certain point in real life, you've actually thought: "Damn, I screwed up, where's CTRL + Z?"...
Reply With Quote
  #638    
Old July 1st, 2011 (10:44 AM).
Tranitar's Avatar
Tranitar Tranitar is offline
Working on Pokémon Wraith
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Why does this computer need to know where I live?
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 123
This is the script i'm trying to get a person to use
#dynamic 0xE3D000

#org @start
lock
faceplayer
msgbox @test
release
end

#org @test
= My tests wont\nwork, if they\lkeep failing i'm\lgoing to eat\ltheir babies.



but whenever i try to talk to them it goes "beep" and ends... so i have do idea whats going on...
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #639    
Old July 1st, 2011 (11:07 AM).
[I]-Hac*ker.'s Avatar
[I]-Hac*ker. [I]-Hac*ker. is offline
Touko Fan <3
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Posts: 36
Quote originally posted by Tranitar:
This is the script i'm trying to get a person to use
#dynamic 0xE3D000

#org @start
lock
faceplayer
msgbox @test
release
end

#org @test
= My tests wont\nwork, if they\lkeep failing i'm\lgoing to eat\ltheir babies.



but whenever i try to talk to them it goes "beep" and ends... so i have do idea whats going on...
Side Note: it has to be msgbox @test 0x6 (or 0x4)
I had the same problem. You have the wrong version of XSE. Open up XSE, goto help, then info. In the popup window, look to the bottom right, I had v1.0.1 or something, it didn't work. I downloaded v1.1.1 and now it does. So you need to download v1.1.1.
Search this thread, that's where I got the DL link.
__________________





Quote originally posted by [I]-Hac*ker.:
You know you're a computer nerd, when at a certain point in real life, you've actually thought: "Damn, I screwed up, where's CTRL + Z?"...
Reply With Quote
  #640    
Old July 1st, 2011 (11:41 AM).
Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is offline
Memento Mori
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 13,289
And I wouldn't use offsets like 0xE3... you know there's plenty of space on offsets 0x900000, 0xA00000 etc. =)
__________________
ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack. | Previous Sign 2 | Previous Sign

Anime List | PSN Trophy List
Reply With Quote
  #641    
Old July 1st, 2011 (07:38 PM).
Mr.Alabas's Avatar
Mr.Alabas Mr.Alabas is offline
The Beloved, The Esteemed
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Alabama
Gender: Male
Nature: Naive
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by [I]-Hac*ker.
So instead of pointing it to @done (where it won't do anything) when the flag is set, I made it go to notdone when the flag isn't set.
I can't tell you why, but out of personal experience I can say that pointing to somewhere where it doesn't have to do anything, doesn't work (with me). I hope this helped you.
Okay, so I added the script you made. Maybe I'm just an idiot (that's probably the case, as we've already proven it), but something's still not working. It continues to switch back to the title screen, which obviously tells me that there's still something wrong with the ROM.

I might be compiling the ROM incorrectly? That is, I'm not following the right procedure? This is what I get when I click "view script" through AdvanceMap:

Quote:
'---------------
#org 0x8007D7
lock
faceplayer
checkflag 0x201
if 0x1 call 0x12B5A6A
end
So then I follow that "call" offset . . . (which I didn't write in the script btw, so how did it get there?)

Quote:
#org 0x12B5A6
warp4 0x19 0x0 0x78 0xF702 0xFF31
compare 0x4978 0x819
braille 0xE01C2201
checktrainerflag 0x24E
end
And I get that. I think this has gotten a little bit over my head. Can you tell me what I'm doing horribly wrong? Please, you can be harsh.
Reply With Quote
  #642    
Old July 1st, 2011 (11:41 PM).
[I]-Hac*ker.'s Avatar
[I]-Hac*ker. [I]-Hac*ker. is offline
Touko Fan <3
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Posts: 36
Quote originally posted by Mr.Alabas:
Okay, so I added the script you made. Maybe I'm just an idiot (that's probably the case, as we've already proven it), but something's still not working. It continues to switch back to the title screen, which obviously tells me that there's still something wrong with the ROM.

I might be compiling the ROM incorrectly? That is, I'm not following the right procedure? This is what I get when I click "view script" through AdvanceMap:



So then I follow that "call" offset . . . (which I didn't write in the script btw, so how did it get there?)



And I get that. I think this has gotten a little bit over my head. Can you tell me what I'm doing horribly wrong? Please, you can be harsh.
Hmm. That is strange. Have you tried getting a clean ROM and implementing it in there? Also, if it is a scripting tile, you have to put (in A-Map) the var number 5340 and the var value 0300.

The problem is it points to a part of the ROM that is already written and used in the ROM while you want it to execute the code you made. I don't think it's going to help, but you could try to change the pointers names to something else. But that won't work because I myself have used pointers like @1 and @move, and it worked.
So my best guess would be getting a clean ROM, and if that doesn't work, check if you have XSE v1,1,1 as I said earlier to someone else. With v1.0.1 I couldn't even get a talking script to work. You can view it by going to help --> info and then down right in the popup screen.
__________________





Quote originally posted by [I]-Hac*ker.:
You know you're a computer nerd, when at a certain point in real life, you've actually thought: "Damn, I screwed up, where's CTRL + Z?"...
Reply With Quote
  #643    
Old July 1st, 2011 (11:42 PM). Edited July 2nd, 2011 by Satoshi Ookami.
Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is offline
Memento Mori
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 13,289
If you really want script to "jump" into that location, then instead of "call" use "goto".
If you want something else, you might want to specify what that is =)
By the way Hacker, I have XSE 1.0.1 and it works just fine... though I'd like to see the link for 1.1.1 version =)
__________________
ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack. | Previous Sign 2 | Previous Sign

Anime List | PSN Trophy List
Reply With Quote
  #644    
Old July 2nd, 2011 (12:16 AM). Edited July 2nd, 2011 by [I]-Hac*ker..
[I]-Hac*ker.'s Avatar
[I]-Hac*ker. [I]-Hac*ker. is offline
Touko Fan <3
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Posts: 36
Quote originally posted by Ash493:
If you really want script to "jump" into that location, then instead of "call" use "goto".
If you want something else, you might want to specify what that is =)
By the way Hacker, I have XSE 1.0.1 and it works just fine... though I'd like to see the link for 1.1.1 version =)
Really? Weird...
When I had 1.0.1 a message script didn't even work. I can't find the link so I uploaded it. Here is the download link for XSE v1.1.1.

XSE v1.1.1



Off-Topic: @Ash493 Damn I like your avatar (=
Little Less Off-Topic: And, do you maybe know how to implement 2 level scripts in 1 map? I messed around with the dropdown list in the header view and such, no luck You're an experienced / advanced scripter, you have an idea? One is on entering, other is after trainerbattle.
Anyway Thanks.
__________________





Quote originally posted by [I]-Hac*ker.:
You know you're a computer nerd, when at a certain point in real life, you've actually thought: "Damn, I screwed up, where's CTRL + Z?"...
Reply With Quote
  #645    
Old July 2nd, 2011 (09:19 AM).
Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is offline
Memento Mori
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 13,289
Thanks :D That avatar was made by my buddy NatureKeeper :D
As for the question... I'm not experienced with level scripts that much (I need to practice more xD) but did you do adding like this?:
First script: script type: "On entering map...." and then offset with flag
Then add and put second script.
Second script: script type: "Validates value..."
Also you might find more answers here.
__________________
ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack. | Previous Sign 2 | Previous Sign

Anime List | PSN Trophy List
Reply With Quote
  #646    
Old July 2nd, 2011 (10:42 AM).
[I]-Hac*ker.'s Avatar
[I]-Hac*ker. [I]-Hac*ker. is offline
Touko Fan <3
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Posts: 36
Quote originally posted by Ash493:
Thanks :D That avatar was made by my buddy NatureKeeper :D
As for the question... I'm not experienced with level scripts that much (I need to practice more xD) but did you do adding like this?:
First script: script type: "On entering map...." and then offset with flag
Then add and put second script.
Second script: script type: "Validates value..."
Also you might find more answers here.
Okay thanks, Imma check it out, and I just followed the Diegoisawesome tutorial, which suggests only validates value...., but I tried on map entering etc, but it either did not work (other script got executed) or just a black screen on entering the map.

Off-Topic again : I checked the site out where your avatar was from (in your sig) and that's a cool site Lots of cool pictures and such.
__________________





Quote originally posted by [I]-Hac*ker.:
You know you're a computer nerd, when at a certain point in real life, you've actually thought: "Damn, I screwed up, where's CTRL + Z?"...
Reply With Quote
  #647    
Old July 2nd, 2011 (10:47 AM).
Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is offline
Memento Mori
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 13,289
Glad to be of help but I must say this...
The XSE in that link is not working... you see it does not have command.dat file that I presume is necessary... so I couldn't get it to work.
And I also googled like crazy but did not find any working link for 1.1.1 XSE...
__________________
ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack. | Previous Sign 2 | Previous Sign

Anime List | PSN Trophy List
Reply With Quote
  #648    
Old July 2nd, 2011 (10:56 AM).
[I]-Hac*ker.'s Avatar
[I]-Hac*ker. [I]-Hac*ker. is offline
Touko Fan <3
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Posts: 36
You're right, there is no command.dat, and in the folder of my old XSE there is. But it's working with mine =O
I'm going to copy the commands.dat to my XSE v1.1.1 folder, see if it makes any difference. It is weird... maybe my pc is reeeeaaallly screwed up
__________________





Quote originally posted by [I]-Hac*ker.:
You know you're a computer nerd, when at a certain point in real life, you've actually thought: "Damn, I screwed up, where's CTRL + Z?"...
Reply With Quote
  #649    
Old July 3rd, 2011 (08:53 AM). Edited July 3rd, 2011 by timaeus222.
timaeus222's Avatar
timaeus222 timaeus222 is offline
MegaMan/Pokemon ROM Hacker
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 47
Is there a command that makes a person pause in the middle of a sentence? Like for example:

Sorry kid, I'm on the job, you know? [Pause]
I keep hearing that that dastardly [\n or \l]
Team Rocket got new Pokemon!
__________________
~Timaeus.EXE

http://m-pcr.co.cc/
http://youtube.com/timaeus22222

Working on FireRed eXtreme Patch [hard mode with tile edits and extras]

Reply With Quote
  #650    
Old July 3rd, 2011 (08:59 AM).
Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is offline
Memento Mori
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 13,289
What kind of pause is in your mind?
Did you it try this way?:
msgbox @1 0x6 (the first sentence)
msgbox @2 0x6 (the rest)
__________________
ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack. | Previous Sign 2 | Previous Sign

Anime List | PSN Trophy List
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links

You may also like.. (Beta)
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 10:11 PM.